PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Fluval(r) SPEC Desktop Glass Aquarium Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Fluval(r) SPEC Desktop Glass Aquarium Kit

Enhance your home or office's decor with this desktop aquarium kit. The kit includes a tank, a pump, a filtration system, filter media and LED lighting to get you started.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
11 of 12(92%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Fluval(r) SPEC Desktop Glass Aquarium Kit
Review 1 for Fluval(r) SPEC Desktop Glass Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews

Nice compact aquarium but poorly designed

November 13, 2013
by Jakobi938
fromPennsylvanis
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
I bought this aquarium for a Betta but it is not an ideal Betta tank. Might be better as a guppy or platy tank?? Here's my reasons I'm not pleased with this purchase:
Pros:
Nice appearance
Reasonable price
Fits nice on kitchen counter or desk
Nice light that is bright and burns cool
Seperate compartment in back of tank for filter/motor
Cons:
Filter too powerful for tank, swirled Betta around tank
Cover is plastic and opening in center is too large
Light has to be removed with key to clean filter
No opening for heater cord in tank area
My biggest issue is with the powerful filter. I covered the filter outlet with nylons/plastic zip tie which solved the Betta swirling however, it sucks fish food into filter area quickly where Betta can't get it so I have to closely supervise feeding so he is able eat. I purchased a Betta Stik heater which is small enough to fit in filter area so the cord could be fed out of tank with the filter motor cord. The 25w Hydor heater I had purchsed would not fit in filter compartment and the the cord interfered with the lid fitting properly with heater in the tank area. Removing the light to clean filter for maintenance is a pain, not very well thought out. The plastic cover looks cheap and gives our cat the opportunity to put his paw in the water when we are not looking. Not sure if he is after the Betta or just playing in the water? To avoid this I have to put a heavy book over the cover opening at night and when we are not at home, another pain. Your money would be better spent on another aquarium!!
Cons: hard to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fluval(r) SPEC Desktop Glass Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Nice classroom aquarium

September 24, 2013
by bettamother
fromUpstate NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is a beautiful small aquarium, and seems to be the perfect size for my male betta. The tank and it's parts were well packaged, the quality of the whole set-up is exceptional, the directions for setting up the tank and filter were clear and easy to follow. I had everything up and running in minutes. The only disappointment of the whole experience was to discover the aquarium in stock at my local Petsmart after I had ordered it online because the website said it was not available locally, so I had to pay shipping and wait for it to arrive. That said, the five star rating is for the aquarium and I'm extremely happy with this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fluval(r) SPEC Desktop Glass Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Love this tank!

September 21, 2013
by Laurie999
fromWestchester, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is a great desk top tank! The filter is incredibly quiet and the tank looks and feels well made. I made the mistake of buying another brand 2 gallon tank a few weeks ago and the filter was so loud I could hear it from another floor in my house!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fluval(r) SPEC Desktop Glass Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

My friend has this

July 31, 2013
by KennyPL
fromGreenwich, CT
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
My friend has this and likes it. its small. i'm thinking of getting one because its so much CHEAPER on here than in my local fish store
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fluval(r) SPEC Desktop Glass Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Amazing and Quiet

July 7, 2013
by JoCee
fromMidwest City, OK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have a full size loft bed and my betta sits on the desktop under my bed. Thus I would need a super quiet tank for me to be able to sleep at night and study during the day. This tank is perfect for anytime. I had to actually stick my hand near the pump to see if it was even on! It's amazingly quiet, really easy to set up, and has a beautiful LED light.
The pump also has a setting adjuster, which I had put it to the lowest setting and he swims around just fine without the current pushing him.
(I uploaded a picture for all to see!) [:
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fluval(r) SPEC Desktop Glass Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Very well built and designed

April 8, 2013
by Patroness
fromChicago suburb
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
I bought one of these for my desk at work and was impressed enough to buy another for home. Glass is the way to go it will live a very very long time. The filtration process is great it is so quiet you cant hear anything running. You don't have to buy expensive filters nearly everything is reusable except the carbon which is cheap. The filtration is part of the design so you get everything you need when you buy it minus fish and food. I think you even get water conditioning treatments and coupons for more. You can adjust the water flow and direction. My betas love it. I have angled the water flow down and that pushes left over food up and into the sponge filter. You can use this tank safely for baby fish. It looks great. The light works great I have mine on a timer for the weekends when Im away.
Pros: easy to install, easy to clean, sturdy
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fluval(r) SPEC Desktop Glass Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Absolutely amazing

March 3, 2013
by Rokiman
fromAlbuquerque, New Mexico
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
this is one of those tanks that is a must have at a desk/ work area. i m in love with how professional it looks, how bright the led is, how its a built in filter, its just too cool. I fell in love with and it receive compliments on it daily. I currently have a twin tail half moon betta in it and he loves it. everything about this tank is oh so beautiful. Loved it so much that I went ahead and bought my girlfriend one. expensive little thing but sure is worth every penny in my honest opinion.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fluval(r) SPEC Desktop Glass Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Super Quiet Filter System

December 10, 2012
by Betta101
fromSeattle, WA
Great aquarium for a desktop. Super quiet pump and easy to maintain.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fluval(r) SPEC Desktop Glass Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Love this tank

December 5, 2012
by LeilaNC
fromApex, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Just got my tank a week ago and set it up on my desk at work. My betta is very happy in it and has plenty of room to swim around. The filter is completely silent which is wonderful in a work environment. Fyi - there is a small switch on the motor that adjusts the water flow from high to low. I set mine to low since I have a beta.
The tank is very attractive and is glass so it will not scratch up like the acrylic ones.
Highly recommend!!!
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fluval(r) SPEC Desktop Glass Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

Pretty Good Tank

November 24, 2012
by Kate870000
fromHouston, TX
Overall I have to say this is a good aquarium. I was sick of cleaning my two gallon betta bowl every week so I did my research and came up with the Fluval Spec. It's not the prettiest thing out there but, hey it works. I like the fact that it's very sturdy. I've hit mine by accident several times when cleaning it. No cracks, or scratches. The pump is a pain to get in and out of the small slot provided but it's doable, and after the first few times it's no problem. I did have to cut several holes in the air hose because the flow was just a little too string for my betta but the holes did the trick. I currently have one male veiltail betta and four ghost shrimp and all seem to be doing very well. The Spec also has a pretty good filtration system on it. As far as the light goes, I tend not to use it too much. I only have two plugs available and I'm currently using them for the pump and heater (which fits perfectly in the air pump chamber of the aquarium). I've heard several people complain that their lights went out within a month or so of use. I don't use mine too much but I haven't noticed any flickering lights or dead bulbs. So, basically it's a very good starter aquarium and honestly pretty perfect for bettas (after you cut a few holes in the air hose).
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fluval(r) SPEC Desktop Glass Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Nice

August 30, 2012
by Penalope
fromHanover, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I wanted to buy this a couple months ago and now I finally did and already love it! I actually like this Spec better than the Aqueon Evolve 2 gallon. I guess with the Aqueon I got, the pump was noisy and I tried putting some foam under it and cutting the tubing so it would hang but it was still noisy. The Spec's pump is very quiet. I have to put my ear on the glass to hear it! I like the LED light better on the Spec also, it seems softer than the Aqueons. It is perfect for a betta or MAYbe 3 to 5 SMALL fish like cardinal tetras. I am hoping to get a second Spec soon for my other betta!
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fluval(r) SPEC Desktop Glass Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

July 8, 2012
by aquahobby
fromAlbuquerque, New Mexico
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Great little nano tank. Use it for keeping cherry red shrimp. Keep it right next to my bed, makes no noise at all. I don't use substrate on the bottom, the anubias (purchased at petsmart) are attached to lava rocks. There are a few moss balls which i also purchased at petsmart. This tank has been running for over 8 months now. Filtration is overkill, but when is that a bad thing in aquariums. Did replace the light, as the stock light went out after 4 months.
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.