PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Fluval(r) C4 Power Filter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Fluval(r) C4 Power Filter

Give your finned friends a clean and healthy underwater home with this filter. The filter is designed for use in aquariums measuring up to 70 gallons and provides 5 stages of filtration.
Overall rating:
3.778 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
6 of 9(67%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Fluval(r) C4 Power Filter
Review 1 for Fluval(r) C4 Power Filter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews

ok

March 17, 2014
by slob02
fromConn.
What is your gender?F
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
This is my second C-4. I have a 55gal. community tank. I found that one C-4 didn't quite keep my tank as crystal clear as Fluval said it would. It should take care of up to 70 gals. For me it didn't. I keep my tank very clean no algae or waste matter. Since I added the second C-4 now my tank is crystal clear. Fish seem to enjoy the added water movement. One thing that is the greatest thing about the C-4 is the ease of changing the charcoal, and filter pad. I haven't had a filter that was easier, and I've had many, I'm into my 30th. year at this hobbie. I would recommend this filter, for that reason. I feel for a 30 gal. tank the C-4 would work well.
Pros: easy to install, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fluval(r) C4 Power Filter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews

noisy

January 9, 2014
by Jeffers
fromSLC area, UT
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Looks like a great design for filtration and ease of maintenance. My problem is that it is very noisy, so noisy that it bothers me while watching TV. Its to bad because except for the noise fluval has a good design here. I think I'm going to return it for a fluval 306 canister filter.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fluval(r) C4 Power Filter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews

Powerfull but noisy

June 18, 2013
by swimmingwithfishes
fromOntario
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
I bought this filter yesterday, after reading mixed reviews about it online I decided to chance my luck. I was excited, it's a cool filter, I like the design and the specs are great. I washed all the media, assembled the filters, set it up and... It's loud. It's really loud. It sounds like a small plane is constantly trying to take off. It filters very well, I only have it in a 10 gal at the moment, but it's moving a ton of water. The problem, I think, lies in the removable motor which you can twist off to clean, this doesn't create as strong a bond as most conventional filters. The impeller base is magnetic, the shaft and blades are plastic, I removed the motor and impeller and tried to lubricate the shaft with some Vaseline, but it only helped reduce noise by a small amount. The casing it's self creates a lot of rattle noise too, running it without the top cover does help reduce this. I'm returning this tomorrow and I am going to try the Aquaclear 110 instead, which I've read a lot of positive reviews about. Bit of a let down as I think it has great potential.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fluval(r) C4 Power Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews

what a let down

April 24, 2013
by CurtisR
fromBaltimore Maryland
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
I was so pumped about ordering this filter. It came yesterday. I rushed home and set it up. This part was easy, and I like how it all goes together inside the filter. The sad part was when I pluged it in. it was so loud I could here it in my bed room with the door shut. the tank is in my living room. Bummer because I really like it. anyway it goes back today after just one day of use. I will be getting the fluval aquaclear like I had before. they work great, cant hear them and lasted me 12 years.
Pros: easy to install
Cons: didn't work
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fluval(r) C4 Power Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

Just one thing to add

February 17, 2013
by Dino454
fromLexington,SC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I will not copy the other reviews, but just add my 2 cents. It IS an amazing filter, but it was too loud. I was replacing a cheap HOB with a bad impeller. The C4 was almost as loud as the old one. My tank is in my bedroom, so I wanted a quiet filter. I keep my water level up where it is supposed to be, so there is no waterfall noise from the filter. When you put the lid on the filter, it turns it into a resonation chamber that I could hear from outside the room. I went with a canister filter, and now all I can hear is the faint hum from the air pump.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fluval(r) C4 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Works great, no problems, excellent filter

January 25, 2013
by toban
fromCanada
What is your gender?F
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
I bought this to replace another HOB filter for my 55 gallon tank. The setup is easy and I like that I can easily access the carbon bag, especially if you need to medicate the tank. I've experienced zero problems such as leaking or heavy humming noises.There is a faint humming noise which I think is common with most filters and definitely not annoying. Overall happy with this filter and would recommend it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fluval(r) C4 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

January 22, 2013
by AquaGuy
fromBoston, MA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
I purchased this product for my 55 gallon saltwater aquarium to replace another HOB filter. I am very happy with the Fluval C4 Power filter. The filter is designed very well and runs relatively quiet. It has five stages of filtration, which are easy to access and clean due to the design of the filter.
I am running the filter with the dual layer filtration pad, bio-screen, and c-nodes that were included with the filter. I have decided against using the included carbon and have instead used Purigen (another fine product available at PetSmart). The basket for the chemical filtration is a decent size and could probably house a number of options (including more biological media).
If I set up another tank, I will definitely be purchasing the Fluval C4 Power filter again.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fluval(r) C4 Power Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

Excellent "Power Filter"

January 15, 2012
by freshwaterFINS
fromBaltimore, MD
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have owned both the C4 & C3 models from Fluval, they work very well and the only issue that I have had so far is the impeller on the C3 unit stalls occasionally. The C4 filter is definitely the best one to get, works the best and of course costs a bit more......but that is life, sometimes the better item costs a little more.
Once I run out of the smaller filter pads for the C3 unit, I will be replacing it with the slightly larger C4 model for better overall performance.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fluval(r) C4 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Amazing...

July 30, 2011
by Subtle
fromChesapeake, VA.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I absolutely love this filter. I couldn't be more satisfied.
This power filter is much quieter than my previous one, I really wish that I could stress how quiet this thing is. Before I purchased this product I had read other reviewers complaining that it was loud, I sleep in the same room as this filter is in and in the dead of night with no other noise what-so-ever, you can hardly hear the filter at all, it does make a feint noise, but it's not louder than the water that is pouring back into the tank, which isn't at all loud either.
This filter has 5 different filtration steps, which again I'm impressed with. On top of that, the carbon bag can be removed and the rest of the filter will continue to run. Thus you can treat for ich without having to turn off all of you filtration. Others I've owned had the carbon built into the filter pad.
The water flow adjustment knob and the filter change pop up indicater are other great features. The water flow adjustment knob works great on this filter, other filters I've owned I couldn't tell a differance. However this one works like a charm. I haven't had this filter long enough to see the pop up indicator work just yet, but to my understanding when the water creates more pressure due to a dirty filter the indicator will pop up.
I did have to read the instructions with this one, I didn't quite know what went where, but the instructions were very easy to follow and are illustrated. Setup time, about 8-10 minutes.
All in all I love this Fluval power filter. I really can't think of any real cons.
Pros: easy to clean, easy to install, works great
+12points
21of 30voted this as helpful.