PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Paw Orthopedic Dog Bed in Assorted Colors

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Top Paw Orthopedic Dog Bed in Assorted Colors

Available in Blue, Brown, Burgundy and Green Featuring the "egg crate" Orthopedic Foam for a firm, comfortable rest Fleece-top cover is removable for an easy wash Made exclusively for PetSmart.
Overall rating:
2.763 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
13 of 38(34%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Paw Orthopedic Dog Bed in Assorted Colors
Review 1 for Top Paw Orthopedic Dog Bed in Assorted Colors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Great bed!

November 14, 2013
by FirstTimeAussieMommy
fromDearborn, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My Australian Shepherd has NEVER liked sleeping, laying or sitting in a bed if I wasn't sleeping in it too.
The first bed that I tried with him, he shredded it in weeks (and I mean stuffing everywhere and a very proud puppy behind the fluff!)
When I decided to get another dog bed, my dog was with me to 'try' it out in the store for I was not going to spend $40 on a bed he would not use (I got it on sale, which is the only reason I would buy this bed. I refuse to spend more than 40 on a doggie bed). He put one paw on it and fell asleep on it in the store (in about 5 minutes).
He LOVES this bed! We've had it for a week and everything it still together!
We have washed the cover once and it seems to have a snug fit after being dried. I have decided to put my dogs 'blankie' ontop of the bed so I can avoid needing a new cover. Other than that slight issue, he and I both love this bed!(I sit on it with him while working on my laptop). Definitely recommend this bed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Paw Orthopedic Dog Bed in Assorted Colors
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 38 reviews

Not so great for Big Dogs

November 14, 2012
by NMULadybug
fromDenver, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have a 9-year-old 130lb Great Dane and while he absolutely LOVES this bed, his size makes it difficult to maintain the "egg crate" effect. After about 3-4 months, the center is completely "broken down" and he is basically laying on the floor with an inch of padding underneath him. Our first one didn't last 6 months because he scratched/pawed a hole in the center of it. Because he likes this bed so much, we have bought 3 of them in the past 2 years. The fleece top usually is gone in less than a month because of the circling, scratching, pawing, etc. We have washed the cover several times and seems to hold up well in the wash (until there is a hole).
It is a fine bed, but we have switched to a more durable brand.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Paw Orthopedic Dog Bed in Assorted Colors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Perfect for my Mastiff

November 7, 2012
by katrn09
fromBloomington, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I just bought this last night after going through numerous pet beds for my 6 year old, 150 lb English Mastiff. She is in love with it already (which says a lot since she normally destroys a bed within 36 hrs). She's even choosing this bed over the couch (her typical resting place during the day). Will definitely be purchasing a second one for the downstairs soon.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Paw Orthopedic Dog Bed in Assorted Colors
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 38 reviews

cover not durable

September 24, 2012
by ruthey
fromFlowood, MS
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased this bed for my dog who has arthritis. She loves it, but the first time I washed the cover, it shrunk, and the second time I washed the cover, the zipper broke! We are still using it, but not happy with the fact that the cover won't close! But, my dog still loves it. I just think it's a shame to pay that much (we got the largest) for a bed that won't hold up.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Paw Orthopedic Dog Bed in Assorted Colors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

Dissapointed

September 18, 2012
by Devidas
fromMontclair, NJ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
In a month the foam is half sunken in, in the middle. I thought this was a high quality foam. Apparently not. Secondly, despite my careful technique, the zipper has detached for about 4".
It does wash good, but this is overall dissapointing for $60.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Paw Orthopedic Dog Bed in Assorted Colors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

My Annistacia loves this mattress!

August 2, 2012
by Sharoo
fromSeattle, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this bed to put in the Kong Double Door Crate for our long cross country road trip. My Anni loved this so much it was hard to get her out of her crate/bed. Now we have 4 puppies and they love sleeping in their crate because each has one of these in it. You cannot go wrong getting this bed for your pet, dog or cat. Mistakes do happen with 4 puppies and the washable top is perfect! One reviewer said to avoid the indention you get in the mattress, just flip it over every so often and it will stay in good shape. I have not had any trouble with seams ripping or coming apart. This is a very soft, comfortable little bed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Paw Orthopedic Dog Bed in Assorted Colors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews

Doggone comfy

July 28, 2012
by Maree
fromEast Coast
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought the Top Paw bed 2.5 years ago and it's still going strong. My 30 lb dog absolutely loves this bed, there are no dent issues in the eggshell material like I saw in the other reviews.
The outside is easy to unzip and throw in the wash. Threads and seams are still intact after multiple washings. I've had to vacuum the top a few times as the material traps little bits of lint and grass that don't come out in the wash. That one annoyance is fine though since my dog is happy and comfy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Paw Orthopedic Dog Bed in Assorted Colors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Good for large dogs

July 25, 2012
by GreatDanes4Dobies
fromSan Diego, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i use the x-large, blue bed for my great dane who live outside on a tie-out(he's a guard dog). This is very durable and styish. I new I wanted an orthopedic bed because great danes need joint support, great bed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Paw Orthopedic Dog Bed in Assorted Colors
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 38 reviews

July 15, 2012
by Pazoldy
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My English Mastiff loves this bed! However, after I washed the cover several times, the zipper split open and I was unable to salvage it. I ended up throwing the cover away in hopes that I can just purchase a replacement. Unfortunately, after researching... I unable to find a replacement for this specific bed. I can find replacement covers from Brand Name stores but it doesn't come in the exact size, so it looks like I'll have to buy a cover that is 5" too big on all sides.
XL dog beds aren't cheap but now I regret not ordering from one of the better companies where I have the option of ordering a replacement cover.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Paw Orthopedic Dog Bed in Assorted Colors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

When the bed collapses there is a way to fix this

June 27, 2012
by quiltcrazey
frommichigan/alabama
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
When the bed collapses there is a way to fix this get bag big enough for the bed to fit in.
Take you vacuum cleaner hose and place the hose into the bag with the bed inside, hold the bag around the hose when the vacuum is turned on will collapse the bed flat turn off the vacuum cleaner.
Take the bed out of the bag the bed will re inflate good as new you can vacuum the top of the bed to clean out the dirt/dust you pulled out of the middle of the bed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Paw Orthopedic Dog Bed in Assorted Colors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Love it and still using it two years later!

April 17, 2012
by Lisafl
fromTampa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought the xlg for my GSD and the lg for my Border Collie and two years later after lots of abuse: teething, washing and vacuuming it they are both still going strong! Easy to take apart to wash and easy to stand on to vacuum :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Paw Orthopedic Dog Bed in Assorted Colors
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 38 reviews

Not stiff enough for an orthopedic bed

March 4, 2012
by EricT
fromNJ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this dog bed at my local petsmart to be used in my SUV for traveling. Within just a couple of hours use, there's already a slight indent on the bed. I don't recommend it unless you have a small dog.
I never really understood why dog beds are so expensive. So instead of looking for another dog bed, I went out and bought a baby crib mattress supported with spring coils for my 100lb dog. Sure the size is a little big for my purpose. But the stiffness is 2 to 3 times stronger than any orthopedic dog beds offered for half the price. It fits the cargo area of my SUV fine also.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Paw Orthopedic Dog Bed in Assorted Colors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

HUGE waste of money

February 28, 2012
by LDLTYL94
fromChesapeake, Va
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought the largest bed in the store. We have a 1 1/2 year old lab that we are trying to be proactive in taking care of his joints. We would not normally spend this much money on a dog bed but believed it would help protect his hips. We stupidly assumed it was of good quality because of the price. I wish we had gone on the website and read the reviews. The bed had a "well" in the middle within a week and continues to deteriorate. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Top Paw Orthopedic Dog Bed in Assorted Colors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

Waste of money

February 26, 2012
by Rugger
fromBiloxi MS
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This was the biggest waste of money. I spent $80 for the big bed and in a week it was paper thin from my 75lb Lab laying on it. You will like it at first then kick yourself in a week. Hope you have better luck returning it than I did.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Top Paw Orthopedic Dog Bed in Assorted Colors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

Junk

February 22, 2012
by MisterA
fromSacramento, Ca
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Don't be decieved. It looks good and the dog loves it at first. I have it less than a week and it is flattened out
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Top Paw Orthopedic Dog Bed in Assorted Colors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

Waste of Money!!

February 13, 2012
by Aimers
fromEdmonton, AB
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Brutal bed. Lost its shape in 2-3 months. I bought the large one and it has a huge dip in it already. Also cover can't be washed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Top Paw Orthopedic Dog Bed in Assorted Colors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

Saggy Orthopadic matress

January 28, 2012
by Funghiwoman
fromAtlanta, GA
This Top Paw doggy bed leaves a lot to be desired even if the dog loves it. Our 52 pound dog got the large bed for her overall comfort. Within 6 weeks, the center of the matress had colllapsed to conform to the shape of her body. This is not orthopadic foam in my opinion. It starts out feeling very nice but has no bounce-back or memory so we now have a matress that looks like its been around 100 years. We were hoping for comfort and support and that is not what we got.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Top Paw Orthopedic Dog Bed in Assorted Colors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

Top PAW

January 10, 2012
by mhorse1
fromClay NY
purchased in store - $90. within 3 months, cover completely worn and torn. memory foam sunken where he lays
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Top Paw Orthopedic Dog Bed in Assorted Colors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

AMAZING! My dogs and cats LOVE it!

December 7, 2011
by ilovemypets08
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My husband and I bought this bed in the store it was on sale and we just couldn't pass it up. I don't regret getting it either. My cats and dogs love it. I have already cleaned it and the fabric stayed together and still looks great. I've also have had it for a couple months and it gets daily use and it's still in great condition. I read some of the other reviews and I'm happy I didn't go by what they said.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Top Paw Orthopedic Dog Bed in Assorted Colors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

Would not buy again

November 14, 2011
by MongosMom
fromBuffalo, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased this dog bed due to the fact that it came in a good size for my Rottweiler and had a removable cover that I could easily wash. After a few days the top of the cover has been almost destroyed. The material is extremely thin and poor quality. It has also already started to flatten out. The only positive is the heavier fabric on the underside but I would not buy this type of bed again. I could go to the store and purchase egg crate foam and sew a better cover myself for the same cost or even less.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next