PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Seachem Alert Combo Pack

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Seachem Alert Combo Pack

Continuous freshwater pH and ammonia readings.
Overall rating:
2.333 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
3 of 9(33%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Seachem Alert Combo Pack
Review 1 for Seachem Alert Combo Pack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

completely unreliable

June 5, 2013
by RichW
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
I tried the combo pack pH and ammonia meters last year, the ammonia meter always registered too low...and the pH meter's color-changing center dot didn't resemble any of the color wheel.
Gave these a second chance yesterday, and the pH registers 8.0, but two other tests with different test kits showed 6.8 pH. My tap water is about 6.0...so I tried the meter in a clean container of just tap water, and still read 8.0 pH.
Won't buy these again.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: didn't work
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Seachem Alert Combo Pack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

Doesn't work

January 2, 2013
by Niesia
fromMount Vernon, WA
After 2 months of having it in my tank, I removed it. The color dot in the pH meter was always the same, indescribable color and totally different than all the colors indicated on the chart. The ammonia alert never changed from safe, even though I had some ammonia spikes during cycling. I'm glad that I didn't relay solely on this product and kept on testing with API drops.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Seachem Alert Combo Pack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

Promising concept; poor product.

December 1, 2012
by AnonymousReview
fromWI
This review only serves as an echo of other reviews... I was drawn to the prospect of having such simple and convenient means of monitoring these two essential levels in my aquarium- only to find the concept, didn't follow through in the design. I waited well over the estimated amount of time for both sensors to acclimate to the water, and provide something of an accurate reading. The PH Alert turned a deeper shade of red than given on the reading key- (which never changed- and would indicate a high PH) -and the Ammonia Alert turned a slight blue- (indicating a small alert of slight ammonia.) I did seperate PH & Ammonia tests with different products- and the results showed my PH was fine. The Ammonia test showed my ammonia was over 4.0! These sensors are too inaccurate, and are worthless to entrust the health of your fish to.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Seachem Alert Combo Pack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

Worthless- Entirely to inaccurate

March 29, 2012
by siteracknet
fromDouglasville, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
I great concept if it worked.
Completely inaccurate. Says my tank PH is 7.4.
Other test kits indicate 6.2(quick strips) and 6.5(drops).
If you just want a quick "good enough" test, stick with the strips. These in-tank sensors are just plain horrible. If my PH was as bad as it indicated, my Discus would all be dead.
Complete waste of ~$12
Cons: didn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Seachem Alert Combo Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

Seachem Alert works as described

March 9, 2011
by JudyD
fromLima, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I bought the combo pack from PetSmart (price for both is less than I paid for the Ammonia alert from a local fish store). A very good value! I wanted to try the pH alert anyways, so now have the ammonia alert on both of my freshwater aquariums - and the pH only on my 75 gallon.
I agree with another review - do not abandon your traditional test kits. Having these alerts saves me lots of time. I had been checking both pH and ammonia almost daily (and 2 times a day if pH fluctuates). If pH drops much below 6.5, you are in danger of the good bacterial dying - causing your ammonia to spike. My pH alert didn't detect the drop in pH fast enough in my opinion (hence the 4 star rating overall). I did see a slight drop to 6.8 in color - so tested. My pH had dropped to almost 6! Yikes? My ammonia was still at zero (according the the alert and my liquid test kit). I had to do an emergency water change and gradually brought pH back up to 7.0. My fish were all fine. I still check pH daily with my liquid test kit as I don't want my pH to drop below 6.8. You really should not adjust your pH more than .2 in a 24 hour period.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Seachem Alert Combo Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Easy to read, wonder if completely accurate

January 15, 2011
by DallasPetMom
fromIrving, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Great thing to own! Sometimes I wonder how accurate it can be, but so far secondary tests prove accuracy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Seachem Alert Combo Pack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews

pH Alert Fails

December 11, 2010
by SkipS
fromAbington, MA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Basically, I bought this "Alert" pack to help me monitor my 30-gallon tank as I brought it down to a safe pH level. Since the day I placed it in the tank it has read a very deep red - not even on the chart red. Over the past several days I have gradually lowered the pH level in the tank with the help of other test kits and it is finally at a safe level... that is unless you look at the Seachem pH Alert sensor. That still reads a very deep red - not even on the chart red (see photo).
So, I've tested the pH levels with 3 different test kits earlier today. The Seachem pH Alert is the only one that reports a high pH level (somewhere above 8.2). The other two tests completed at a pH level of 7.
The Ammonia Alert sensor has not drifted away from reading "safe" and that has been confirmed with other test kits. The Ammonia Alert sensor is the only reason I am giving this combo pack rating of 2 stars, but truthfully I wouldn't buy it again and I don't recommend this product to anyone.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Seachem Alert Combo Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Works just fine if you know what it does

December 2, 2010
by Kitana
fromHuntsville, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
I have the ammonia alert tester, and so far I've been very impressed with how well it works. HOWEVER, I've seen people give it a bad reputation due to the fact that they don't understand what it does.
As it states right on the package, the reader measures the amount of FREE ammonia in the water, not TOTAL ammonia. Free ammonia the kind that is toxic to fish, as opposed to ionic ammonia. Ionic ammonia is a non-toxic form of ammonia, and together the two make up total ammonia.
Furthermore, the ammonia reader is NOT designed to be a stand-alone test of ammonia levels, but rather a supplementary reader. In other words, you DO need to continue test your water on a regular basis for total ammonia in addition to anything else.
However, that isn't to say that the reader is useless. In fact, I've found that it makes a great first-warning system should an ammonia spike occur. In addition, as it also states on the package, a new reader may take a few days before it starts working correctly, although mine seemed to work right out of the package. I've also been very careful not to touch the sensor dot, so not to influence it with any chemicals from my hands.
All in all, it does its job well, and should be viewed as a first line of defense in the case of a spike in free ammonia, rather than a fix-all measure of total ammonia, as that's not what it tests for. Furthermore, I will probably be getting the pH reader as well once I get my new tank, and I've already recommended the ammonia reader to my roommate.
Pros: great first warning for ammonia spikes, reads changes in free ammonia almost instantly, can be used multiple times and lasts up to a year, non-obtrusive and easy to place
Cons: only reads free ammonia not total ammonia
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Seachem Alert Combo Pack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

Doesn't work

November 26, 2010
by teetsymomo
fromThe Carolinas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
When I first purchased this (I only have the ammonia alert) I was so surprised that my new tank was ammonia free. I had not cycled my tank and was shocked it was clear. Today, I received my master test kit and guess what??? It told me that my ammonia reading was 2.0. So now, I'm doubting this is working, so I put it in a glass of water with some Lysol and it finally worked. I don't know if the reason this doesn't work is because my ph is 7.2 and technically 2.0 wouldn't be considered toxic, but isn't it supposed to detect ammonia? If it did not read it due to the ph level, then perhaps I will reconsider my review.
Pros: suction cup
Cons: doesn't read ammonia content
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.