PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for GNC Ultra Mega Skin and Coat Essentials for Cats

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

GNC Ultra Mega Skin and Coat Essentials for Cats

Delicious soft chew with omega- 3, 6 & 9 fatty acids to support a glossy & silky coat Added nutrients for healthy skin Plus antioxidants GNC Gold Card discount not valid on purchase of GNC Pets items.
Overall rating:
3.091 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
6 of 11(55%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for GNC Ultra Mega Skin and Coat Essentials for Cats
Review 1 for GNC Ultra Mega Skin and Coat Essentials for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews

Seems to be Working

December 8, 2013
by Rob79
fromSouthern California
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I tried a mail order product food additive because one of my elderly cats was scratching her neck into a bloody mess. None of the cats liked it, so I needed something I could give just this cat in a treat form. Found these a few weeks ago and she seems to like them, and I am noticing her coat is getting softer and no more scratching. The other cats don't seem to need a supplement but I give them one here and there as a treat. I like this type of product because it is easy to administer and I am not wasting canned food mixed with a supplement that they won't eat.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for GNC Ultra Mega Skin and Coat Essentials for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews

Neither delicious nor soft!

December 8, 2013
by KDCStL
fromSaint Louis, MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I agree with other reviewers that these 'treats' are large, hard, and unappealing to cats. My cat is usually a treat hound, but she merely sniffed at these and walked away. I've started chopping them up into small bits and sprinkling them in with her dry food. It's just day two, so results are yet to be seen, but I'm hoping these will help reduce her dry skin and dandruff, and maybe also help with the static in her fur, now that it's winter and the air is dry. Once the package is gone, however, I'll be looking into an alternative that requires a little less work on my part.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for GNC Ultra Mega Skin and Coat Essentials for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Ick

June 16, 2013
by midicat
fromCincinnati, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased these for a cat that has allergy issues hoping the Omega 3 would help out, she wouldn't touch them. One of my other cats was interested in the smell and did eat one, but then wouldn't touch another one after and he eats pretty much everything. The smell seems appealing to them but the taste, not so much.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for GNC Ultra Mega Skin and Coat Essentials for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Definetely works!

January 29, 2013
by OscarTheKittycat
fromVA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews
I've only been giving these to my cat for a few days and his dandruff is nowhere to be seen! Works wonders for dry winter skin and his coat has already gotten shinier! The only problem is that my cat doesnt like them as a treat at all. I crumble them up and put them in his favorite canned food.
Pros: price, works great
Cons: Hard to Administer, Taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for GNC Ultra Mega Skin and Coat Essentials for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Worked great for my cats feline acne!!

January 25, 2013
by timon
fromharlingen, tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
I bought this for my cat cause he had persistent feline acne & i hated seeing him scratching it all the time. After about a week of using it all the black acne spots he had around the bottom of his lips are gone & contrary to what everyone else is saying my cat actually loves the flavor. Every time i take them out he gets excited cause he thinks they are a treat. I can say they are rather large but he chews them fine & he is only about 8 months old.
Pros: easy to administer, works great, taste, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for GNC Ultra Mega Skin and Coat Essentials for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews

Cat doesn't care for it, but it works...

January 1, 2013
by Anonymous
fromClinton, MS
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 11 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Item definitely isn't soft and my cat only ate one- the 1st time it was offered and wouldn't touch it after another sniff (doesn't smell appealing at all). I ended up wrapping a pill pocket around that and he ate it ...then got smart and wouldn't take it with the pocket over it so I assumed he didn't like the taste either. So, now how I get him to eat it is to cut the supplement into 3's, cover with a pill pocket and then roll that into crushed treats making sure to embed the treats into the pocket. I place 6-8 in his treat bowl twice a week and he'll eat them readily in that form. Alot of work (a lil fun actually) for a supplement cats are "supposed to like" but won't eat. The only reason I'd buy them again is because my cat's skin isn't as dry, I see less flakes and less sensitivity in affected area. Buh'der will be 12 (70yrs old:) in March.
Pros: price
Cons: Taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for GNC Ultra Mega Skin and Coat Essentials for Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 11 reviews

Meh...

December 20, 2012
by BrianDC
fromWashington, DC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 11 reviews
While I disagree with the other reviewer who said that these are too big (a food process, really?!), my cat (who is not a finicky eater) is batting somewhere around 1 for 10 with these (meaning she's eaten it once out of the 10 times that I've offered it to her). The smell is HORRIBLE for us human folks, but for some very strange reason there's something about it that attracts my cat like a moth to a flame (but then she just stares at it).
Save your receipt.
Pros: easy to administer
Cons: Taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for GNC Ultra Mega Skin and Coat Essentials for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

August 11, 2012
by skogvakter
fromwashington, nj
you need to let the soften and then crumble them over the food. you can't feed directly as a treat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for GNC Ultra Mega Skin and Coat Essentials for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Hard as a rock

May 6, 2012
by BoneCrusher
fromTexas
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My cat wouldn't eat these. They are huge. I put them in a food processor to grind them up and she still would not eat this. They have an awful medicine smell to them. Total waste of money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for GNC Ultra Mega Skin and Coat Essentials for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews

Not so sure yet

January 14, 2012
by PuggleLovz
fromConnecticut
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 11 reviews
I agree with the consistency of these treats as the previous review. My cat would not eat these. I also wonder if she doesn't like the duck flavor because she loves the GNC joint treats, but those are chicken flavor, and can also be a little hard. As a trick I empty the bag into a tupperwear container, this seems to soften the treats and makes them easier to chew. I can't rate the results because it's only the first day.
Pros: price
Cons: Hard to Administer, Taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for GNC Ultra Mega Skin and Coat Essentials for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

she wouldn't eat them

September 3, 2011
by spyroworld
fromBeckley, WV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
We bought these for our itchy cat. She loves treats but she would not eat these. I thought maybe they were a little too big so I cut them into pieces. On the package it said "soft chews" but they were so hard they crumbled when I cut them. Maybe they were outdated but I don't know since there was no expiration date on the package. Our cat is not at all picky about what she eats but she wouldn't take even one bite of these.
Cons: Hard to Administer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.