PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Marina i25 Internal Filter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Marina i25 Internal Filter

Marina i25 is a compact yet powerful internal filter that easily clips onto the Marina goldfish aquariums or can fit any other goldfish or tropical tank that is up to 6.6 US Gallon (25 liters) with its secure suction cups.
Overall rating:
4.462 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
23 of 26(88%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Marina i25 Internal Filter
Review 1 for Marina i25 Internal Filter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 26 reviews

Good Fliter, Beware of price of cartridges!

July 3, 2013
by fishlover19
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
I used this filter for a temporary 3.5 gallon tank I had. The filter works well, is quiet, and is efficient. However, the cartridges are sold in packs of 2 and are almost as expensive as the filter itself! I spend about as much on the cartridge inserts (for a pair of them) as I do for the cartridges for my 10 gallon tank (come in packs of 5).
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marina i25 Internal Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews

very noisy

June 9, 2013
by bettafish1234
fromgainesville, fl
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews
i got this filter today and have had it on for a couple hours now- but i'm unplugging it now and putting it back in the box because mine is very noisy! i see other people have said theirs are quiet- so maybe mine is just a bad one. either way i'm going to return it and get a different filter.
Pros: easy to install
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marina i25 Internal Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Best filter on the market

May 4, 2013
by LoveMyBettas10
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
I noticed a specific review that gave only 1 star due to cloudiness. You have to wash the filter cartridge very well before using. The cloudiness is from the particles of the charcoal and won't hurt the tank. This little filter saved my bettas (have 10) during the Super Storm Sandy with a battery backup air pump. LOVE this product. Highly recommend it to everyone. Best buy I've made so far.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marina i25 Internal Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Great for goldfish!

April 3, 2013
by PetReviewer
fromGreer, SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
I have two of these filters going in my ten gallon goldfish aquarium, and they keep the water very clean! Not crystal clear (these are goldfish), but surprisingly clean for a goldfish tank. It's quiet and runs the water through the air in a waterfall so that your tanks stays oxygenated. My goldies like to play in the water current.
One downside is that you remove most of your biological filter every time you change the cartrige. You have to add a lot of bio additives every cartrige change. The cartiriges are also rather expensive to buy every month.
Pros: works great, easy to install
Cons: hard to clean
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marina i25 Internal Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

An excellent filter for small aquariums.

February 6, 2013
by mlpnola
fromLA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
This is an excellent filter for small aquariums or as a supplemental or secondary filter on a larger aquarium. It works very well and is very quiet. The cartridges have an ammonia absorbing media along with activated carbon which is rare in a filter this size. The cartridges are also relatively easy to find and are fairly inexpensive. For people complaining about cloudy water You have to rinse the cartridge well before installing. For it's effectiveness, ease of use and price it would be difficult to find a better filter in such a small package.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marina i25 Internal Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

January 28, 2013
by hobo
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Great product because it is so quiet! It cleans the tank very well and would recommend it to anyone.
Pros: works great, easy to clean
Cons: hard to clean
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marina i25 Internal Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Simple inexpensive filter

December 31, 2012
by Lutherz
fromHamilton, On
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
I bought this filter as a secondary filtration system for my ten gallon tank. I wanted the ability to service my main filter and replace cartridges with peace of mind that im not wiping out a large portion bacteria population that we all know is one of the, if not the most important aspect of a healthy aquarium. If you have a small tank this is a powerful and inexpensive little filter with very easy installation and inexpensive cartridge replacements. For anybody contemplating buying this as a secondary filter in a larger tank (10 - 15 gal) DO IT! This product has made maintenance in my aquarium quite easier and helps support the ever so crucial bacteria populations.
If you're using just this filter in a aquarium you're definitely going to need a airstone for proper aeration since the flow speed and water turbulence is low. Overall great product tho!
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marina i25 Internal Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Wow.

November 2, 2012
by Maggielynn
fromGreen Bay, Wi
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
I have been a betta owner for years and have used many eh filters. I really am impressed with this one. I like how quiet it is, it is gentle enough for my baby betta and I like that the cartridge because it will hold debris from the water and filter ammonia. I plan to go back and get more for my other tanks. Also make sure to rinse the cartridge well because that is why tanks are getting cloudy I saw some charcoal dust rinse off.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marina i25 Internal Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Excellent little filter

September 18, 2012
by bubbabluebetta
frompa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have had many tanks of all different sizes from 55 to 3.5 gallons. This filter rocks. Very quiet. If you are hearing noise it is just vibrating against something. Move it around until it stops.If you are getting cloudy water when you first start it up you didn't read directions. The filter cartridge needs to be rinsed! I have it in my 5.5 gallon tank with a betta and 3 neon tetras. It is perfect. I always make a diffuser for my bettas even though this is fine without one. Cut the middle piece out of a 36oz plastic bottle than cut one slit. You can place this over the filter to difuse the water. You tube it and see. I would diffently buy this filter again, again and again.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marina i25 Internal Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

Great little filter

July 26, 2012
by Anonymous
fromSpokane, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This filter works great. I have it in a custom 5.5 gallon tank I built that measures 30" long x 6" wide x 8" tall. I put this tank right in the middle on the back and it works very well. The only complaint I have is that the cartridge clogs up fast, and isn't customizable. I don't use carbon or ammolock, but about half of the filter cartridge is wasted with these. I wish there was an option to have nothing but filter sponge inside.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marina i25 Internal Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews

Filter is noisy to me

July 18, 2012
by GoldfishFairWinner
fromCalifornia
We just purchased a Goldfish kit with this filter, and it's too noisy for me. I see the reviews about it being quiet, and I'm wondering if "quiet" is relative. Maybe experienced fish owners are used to noisy filters?
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marina i25 Internal Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

<3 the filter

June 12, 2012
by bettababy123
fromMcDonough, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have this filter and it works great cuz i got it with my new marina 2.66 gal. fish tank and it cleans everything up... its like a vacuum that is really quiet
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marina i25 Internal Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

Good for Turtles too

June 11, 2012
by MrsMars
fromSacramento, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I lovve this filter! it is soo cool! I not only use this for my fish but I also use it for my red eared slider turtle Bruno and he loves eating the air bubbles that come out! i totally recommend this!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Marina i25 Internal Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Thank you for the recommendation!

April 1, 2012
by dunklekatze
fromTempe, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I had purchased a 3.5 gallon tank kit from my local Petsmart about 2 months ago and I got a killer deal on the set up! Unfortunately the filter that came with the kit wasn't functioning correctly. I had contacted the manufacturer and they were nice enough to send a replacement.
I went into another local Petsmart, and was recommended this filter. THANK YOU!!! Not only is it quieter than the previous one, but it actually works and it works well! It's not incredibly strong where my little guys wouldn't be able to swim like the previous one and it fits perfectly. I really can't be more thankful!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Marina i25 Internal Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Best sub-filter....

March 8, 2012
by John60
fromSt. Charles, Mo
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Best little filter I have ever owned. Have it in a 5 gallon and it keeps it spotless! Super quiet and easy to maintain. Really like the filter cartridge, not just foam. Soft enough for a Betta, not a torrential current.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Marina i25 Internal Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Great little filter

February 15, 2012
by BettaMomInKC
fromKansas City
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I purchased a 3.5 gallon tank with filter. However, the included filter had too strong of a water flow for that small of a tank.
I purchased the Marina i25 by recommendation from another website and I am so glad I did! The filter is ultra quiet and has a very low flow. It only creates a very gentle current.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Marina i25 Internal Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Great Internal Filter!!!

February 4, 2012
by Keywork78
fromMount Airy, NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought a 1.5 gallon tetra tank, it came with a internal filter that was powered by a air pump, did ok for about a week and decided it wanted to clog up... So I bought this Marina i25 internal power filter, I actually used the air pump from the old filter with a airstone for bubbles. Anyway, I have had the marina i25 now close to prob 9 months, It is Amazing!!! It has kept my water crystal clear, make hardly any noise whatsoever just puts off a slight humm, I have a dwarf gourami and a couple of neons (i know to many fish for such a small aquarium) but the i25 kept it clearer than the first day i put it in!!! the unit and the cartriges are very inexpensive and works wonders! i would highly highly recomened this filter to anyone with a tank 1-6 gallons!!! U will not go wrong!!! Note: unplug filter before u remove the filter cartrige!!! Lol i learned the hard way, it shot water up like a fountain and got everywhere!
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Marina i25 Internal Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Best small filter

January 25, 2012
by stevenjohn21
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is the best filter money can buy for a 2.5 or 5 gallon glass aquarium. I have tried other name brands and they have been to big or bulky for that size tank.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Marina i25 Internal Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Great Filter!!

January 25, 2012
by Sarah4545
fromRocky River, Ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I was skeptic about this filter at first and I read some reviews online and decided since the price was decent to give it a try. Since I used it in a 2.5 gallon tank I saw the results almost instantly! I don't have any substrate so the debris on the bottom was just floating around in the tank and within about 10 minutes the tank was nearly free of anything! Unlike what others said, this filter did not make my tank cloudy at all. It was super easy to set up and it is silent. 3 days after setting it up it is still working perfectly and my tank is clear as can be. This filter really impressed me and I would definitely use it in another small tank if I happen to get one.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Marina i25 Internal Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

I didn't think it could work...

September 4, 2011
by Davethebetta
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a lushly planted tank. A ten gallon to be exact. This filter was the smallest I could find, so I promptly bought it. My tank water was black, REALLY black. The water was black from the floramax that I had put in earlier for my plants. I was absolutely HORRIFIED. However, I set the filter in anyways and an hour later the water was still cloudy BUT A HECK OF A LOT CLEARER!
Another hour later it was even less cloudy. When I woke up in the morning, THE WATER WAS FREAKING SUPER CLEAR! I was so excited, because this filter was so affordable for a 14 year old without a reliable source of income. I recommend this product wholeheartedly!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 next