PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Prevue Wrought Iron Small Animal Cage

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Prevue Wrought Iron Small Animal Cage

The small wire spacing and solid metal ramps and platforms make this an ideal cage for rats and chinchillas, as well as baby ferrets.
Overall rating:
3.958 / 5
4
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
18 of 24(75%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Prevue Wrought Iron Small Animal Cage
Review 1 for Prevue Wrought Iron Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Ideal set-up for single chinchilla

December 31, 2013
by ChinChinsMama
fromNew York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
We chose this cage because it features ALL metal ramps and platforms, which is essential when you are housing a chinchilla, as they will chew through plastic.
I found it to be way less frustrating to put together than some of the reviewers before me indicated, and Im not really spatially-minded, so unassembled things are usually pretty frustrating for me. Pretty straight-forward instructions, and you could figure out how to put it together without instructions if you had to because there are not many parts.
Our chin is very happy in this cage. Im trying to figure out a way to buy another one and add it to the top of this one because we are getting two more chins and none of the larger cages out there feature solid metal ramps as opposed to open ladder-types, which can be dangerous for chin feet.
All in all, Im very happy with our choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Prevue Wrought Iron Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Nice cage

October 25, 2013
by crackerfactory
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Could use some extra "safe" grip on the ramp and shelves. It was a little bent when it arrived but nothing major. The second one was definitely easier to put together-but still a little difficult. Best cage that I have found for bunnies--so far.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Prevue Wrought Iron Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

I love this cage for my Chinchilla!

July 25, 2013
by ILOVEMYCHIN
fromLake Elsinore, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I love this cage for Chubbs, my Chinchilla, I have purchased a few other cages in the past, and the shelves were always plastic, and didn't fit in the cage well, this cage has metal shelves, and they fit properly, and since they are metal, they also keep my Chin. nice and cool too (: There's lots of space for him to jump around, and I like the removable plastic pan at the bottom of the cage, now I don't have to take him out to clean it, and the excrement go through the grate, so he's not walking around and sleeping in it! I would suggest something to hold the hay though, the hay falls through the grate, and is wasted. All around, it's a great cage for a Chinchilla!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Prevue Wrought Iron Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Poorly made...falling apart!

May 12, 2013
by MostUnhappy
fromEvansville, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
With in the first week two of the cage bars popped off the welding. Also, the paint began to peel off and is now rusting on the platforms and ramps. The litter tray at the bottom barely fits. I have to be very careful when sliding it back in because it frequently falls off it's tracks.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Prevue Wrought Iron Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Spotty workmanship

February 22, 2013
by monkeytreey
fromMarquette, MI
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I needed a new cage otherwise this would have been returned. Some of the wires came bent as well as a dent in the frame of the cage. I fixed most of it with pliers and a hammer but cage pieces were in a wreck. Once set up the cage seems sturdy but the thin gage of the wires and bad welding will be a problem in the future.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Prevue Wrought Iron Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

Excellent

February 13, 2013
by SuggieMommy
fromCharleston, SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Ok- was hard to put together... But so worth it!! My Sugar Glider absolutely LOVES it (had a bird cage before but w/this one she's playing like I've never seen!). The bars are small enough that she can climb EVERYWHERE, hop from side to side etc. If you've got a new suggie, hedgehog or other lil critter, this is the cage for you!! A little cleaning needed for the platforms, but they're perfect for food bowls & blankets.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Prevue Wrought Iron Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Amazing cage!

February 11, 2013
by ccole93
fromClifton Park, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Nothing to say other than this cage is fantastic. It's huge, great for my rats, and they love climbing all over the place in it. Assembly isn't that bad; you just need to be patient and having two people helps. But it's VERY high quality and there's tons of room on the bottom to put toys or whatever else. The metal grate means they can't chew on the plastic pan and cleanup is a cinch. I love it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Prevue Wrought Iron Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

Good but...

January 23, 2013
by Codi
fromLayton, UT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got this cage 2nd hand from the people I adopted my 1st rat from. It's a good cage, good size, easy to clean. Recently though my girls, Fola and Sosho, have begun chewing a large hole in the bottom of their cage and that plastic tray needs to be replaced. This product would be better if it were provided with a metal tray or perhaps one that is heavier duty.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Prevue Wrought Iron Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

A wonderful cage for your little critter!

December 1, 2012
by Rattielover122
fromIndiana, Indianapolis
I received this cage for my 3 pet Dumbo Rats, I could not recommend it enough! The bar spacing is perfect so they cannot go through and escape and the door is large so I can get all of my hidey houses, wheel and even my litter box in with no hassle! Also, the bottom is great! I am not worried about bumblefoot at all just because if I wanted to I could make a cage liner. Alot of people are disappointed because the bars break, this has never happened to me but you could super-glue them back together. But this cage is perfect size for my rat's and also my living situation!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Prevue Wrought Iron Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 24 reviews

I REALLY DISLIKE THIS CAGE TO PUT IT MILDLY

October 22, 2012
by TOOMANYANIMALS88
fromLONG BEACH, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
THE BEST THING I LIKE ABOUT THIS CAGE IS THE SIZE. I BOUGHT THIS CAGE LESS THAN A WEEK AGO IN THE STORE BECAUSE I WAS TIRED OF MY DAUGHTERS RABBIT SITTING IN ITS OWN WASTE. I THOUGHT IT WAS CONVIENT BECAUSE I COULD SLIDE THE BOTTOM OUT TO CHANGE THE LITTER. IT TOOK THE RABBIT ABOUT A DAY TO GET USED TO THE METAL GRATE IN THE NEW HOME BUT AS SOON AS IT ELIMINATED I REALIZED THAT THE BOTTOM BARS ARE TOO SMALL FOR HER #2 TO DROP INTO THE PAN. THE FIRST DAY I THOUGHT I FED THE RABBIT TOO MUCH SO I GAVE IT LESS BUT THE #2 IS STILL TO BIG TO DROP DOWN. THE RABBIT IS CONFUSED NOW, SHE GOES #2 ON THE LEVELS AND WHEN I GOT HOME TODAY I SEEN SHE PEED ON THE PLATFORM WHICH OF COURSE LEAKED OUT OF THE CAGE ONTO THE FLOOR! I WOULDN'T RECOMMED THIS CAGE FOR LARGER RABBITS!! IF YOU HAVE A SMALL BUNNY WITH SMALL "BUSINESS" THEN I SAY GO FOR IT. BUT IF YOUR RABBIT HAS BIG ONES IT WILL BE A WASTE OF TIME TO PURCHASE THIS ITEM.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Prevue Wrought Iron Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

Great for small pets

October 5, 2012
by bipolarsummer
fromnd
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is an nice cage for rats they have a nice amount of room to play and live and it is nice having the bottom pullout like it does. This is the cage my adult rats came in and I like it alot. The only thing I would change is that the door is to small for me to be able to adjust the floors and move they toys and beds around.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Prevue Wrought Iron Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

Good but messy

August 4, 2012
by KendallR
fromFountain Valley, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
it was a good cage but the bottom let all the bedding fall out but my rats loved hoping around in it but there litter also stained the steel and it stuck to the bars but overall ok cage
Pros: good size for rats, easy to clean
Cons: price, absorbs litter
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Prevue Wrought Iron Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Wonderful cage for rats

May 19, 2012
by CuriousRatties
fromHouston, Tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This cage is fantastic for rats and my two ratties love their new home. It has plenty of room for customizing accessories and I'm thinking about putting in a tunnel along the top left of it leading down to the bottom level.
The only thing you have to do if you get this cage for rats is to remove the bottom wire removable shelf and replace it with the black litter pan. The wire bottom is bad for rat feet. You can also cover it with fabric or whatever you need, but definitely don't let them walk on it alone because it can lead to bumblefoot and isn't very comfortable to begin with.
One problem that I've noticed is the door has room to wiggle a little so it makes the cage seem very loud if the rats climb on it. I have my rat's cage in my room so at night I just use a string to tie the door to the cage so it won't move around as much and it's fine.
This cage could fit 4 rats comfortably and I'm already thinking of buying another to keep my two ladies company.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Prevue Wrought Iron Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Awesome!

March 26, 2012
by SirPufferson
fromLincoln, Ne
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this cage when I got my chinchilla. She loves this cage. I can fit everything she needs inside and it looks nice.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Prevue Wrought Iron Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Great Cage!

March 1, 2012
by RattieMommy
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I love this cage so much. My two rats, Minerva (Mini) and Prim love their new home. There is so much room for toys and hideaways. The only con is that it is a little difficult to put together. It's pretty much a two person job.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Prevue Wrought Iron Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS CAGE!!

February 25, 2012
by Ninjadude1
fromPennsylvania
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We purchased the cage for our growing rabbit and it is so easy to assemble, it stays looking new, and it is easy to use and clean. Our rabbit loves the multiple levels and absolutely appreciates the room to spread out! He has his own little condo and loves it! I love it because the tray gathers all the dropped food and it is easy to clean. The rather narrow profile makes it easy to place along the wall w/o an intruding footprint. We love it!!!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Prevue Wrought Iron Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

I LOVEEEEEE IT!!!!!!!

January 2, 2012
by Sunisslips96
fromGreensboro, Md
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i absolutly love this cage and so do my 2 rats bret and spot . i got this cage cause their other one broke and i wasnt gettin them another one like it soo i decided to get this one . the hard part was putting it together but other than that they love it .!!!!!! soo if your thinking about getting a cage get this one ...
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Prevue Wrought Iron Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Never again

November 25, 2011
by DarkVixen
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
This cage is such a waste of money. 3 bars broken right of the box and Prevue wouldn't replace it. 4 bars not soldered down right. Pieces bent. It was a nightmare to put together. Once I can get the money together I'm buying a new cage for my little ratties.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Prevue Wrought Iron Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

A great cage for ratties

October 24, 2011
by Lyhra
fromAustin, Tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I got this cage when I had only two rats. It was a royal pain to put together. It is very akward and the directions are not very clear, but once the 2-3 hour task of figuring out how to put it together I loved it and so did my girls. It is very spacious and easy to clean.It is also extemely sturdy. it has been through two moves with movers who were not to gentle with it, and it survied without a scratch or a dent. The one thing I don't like is that there isn't alot of usable space to put hammocks. So even though this tecnicaly has enough space for 7 rats I wouldn't sugest putting more than 4 in it. My two rats has turned into 6 and I am currently in the market for a larger cage. All in all I really love this cage, and If you can get through putting it together, and you don't plan on having more than 4 ratties I would highly recomend it.
Pros: stylish, sturdy, easy to clean
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Prevue Wrought Iron Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

Hedgehog home

September 2, 2011
by larlar2011
fromlexington,ky
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews
I use this cage for my hedgehog and he loves it!
I think it should have more room at the bottom for a big wheel.
I use a cat pet bed at the bottom so he doesn't have to feel alot of the bars on his little feet, so if you get this please put some kind of bed/thick blanket on half of the bottom so there feet can rest! I love this cage cause it is super easy to clean!! It has wheels and thats awesome. I really wish the shelf on the bottom was more taller cause my hedgehog food and toys are having a really hard time fitting down there. I like the look of this cage but I wish there was more of a pink color cause you can hardly tell it's pink at all! I love love love did I mention love the stairs! The stairs are great on his feet cause its sealed up nice and has it to where he can grip it real good. overall its a really great easy to clean cage that is kinda small. I think it's way to have of a price though!
Pros: stylish, easy to clean
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next