PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Oasis Wet-Tail Drops

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Oasis Wet-Tail Drops

Oasis Wet-Tail Drops are an effective liquid treatment for the condition commonly known as "wet tail". Wet tail is a stress induced diarrhea that is very debilitating on the hamster and often fatal. Early diagnosis and intervention is the best course of curative action.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 11
11 of 12(92%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Oasis Wet-Tail Drops
Review 1 for Oasis Wet-Tail Drops
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

AWFUL NEVER USE

December 22, 2013
by chinchillachick
fromCrystal lake,IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectivenesss 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
You may think that you hammies wet tail is gone but all this product dose is hides the symptoms.ASK A REAL VET!(NOT ONE AT PETSMART) This can be used to PREVENT wet tail but not treat it THERE IS NO INSTORE TREATMENT FOR WET TAIL
Pros: price
Cons: didn't work
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Oasis Wet-Tail Drops
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

Good as a preventative

April 13, 2013
by PetCrazy919
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectivenesss 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews
This product works great! I use it whenever I have a new hamster or a hamster in a stressful situation. As long as I use this preventative, they're fine! My first Syrian loved the taste, but my Chinese dwarfs hate it.
However much I love this as a preventative, I would NOT recommend this as a main medication. Although I know many hamsters have gotten well with it, the antibiotic may not be strong enough for some cases. Wet tail is a potentially fatal disease that can kill your pet within 24 hours.
That said, I would encourage you to buy this to ensure that your hamsters don't contact wet tail. An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.
Pros: works great, price
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Oasis Wet-Tail Drops
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Keep Some of This on Hand

January 3, 2013
by SweetStar
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?F
Effectivenesss 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
I highly recommend having a bottle of this on hand for the first sign of illness. I used this to treat my syrian hamster's mild wet-tail by placing a few drops in a spoon and putting some oats (her favorite treat) on top to absorb the medicine. She gobbled it down and loved it.
I also used this later to treat her eye infection. I was thankful I had kept the leftover bottle and could treat the infection at the first sign of it.
The medication is the same ingredient in Neosporin, only in a liquid form.
Pros: easy to administer, works great, price
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Oasis Wet-Tail Drops
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

So Far, So Good!

December 30, 2012
by Hamsterlover2012
fromFlorence , Kentucky
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectivenesss 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Me and my grandmother recently bought this product for my hamster Paisley who just had her first litter 5 days ago. I first used this product and she loved the flavor and drinking from the dropper! I've used it for 3 days and her bottom is all clean, and I am seeing normal droppings now and she is looking better now! I caught it a bit late but it looks like with three days left of using it sheis doing great! I also am giving her Ecotrition vitamin supplement to help her body recover and to help the babies! I would also recommend using Timothy hay and vitamin supplement while using this! Thank you pets mart for saving my little girl and her pups!
Pros: easy to administer, works great, price
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Oasis Wet-Tail Drops
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Saved my hammy!

October 14, 2012
by Farmgal13
fromLakeville, Mn
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectivenesss 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
Firstly, i recommend you get this right when you get your hammy. I did, and am so happy i did. After about a year of having my hamster, she got wet tail. I caught it late, and there was a slim chance of her survival. I had this on hand, and used it. She hated the taste, but it worked better than i expected. She is now alive and well! I highly recommend this! I had the tablets that you put into the water. All you do is change the water, and put 1 tablet in, and shake. The tablet will disolve and you can put the water bottle back on your cage. I am so happy i had this.
Pros: easy to administer, works great, price
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Oasis Wet-Tail Drops
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

A Guide to Wet-Tail Recovery

March 9, 2012
by HamiMom
fromDelaware
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectivenesss 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
When my Syrian hamster got "wet-tail", I looked all over the web for best recommendations and any information I could find on how to give our beloved pet her best chance at survival. ((BTW- She survived and is doing great! )) We couldn't afford a vet at the time, so here is what I did:
* Use (Oasis) Wet-Tail Plus drops - one drop at 10 am and one at 10 pm directly into the mouth every day for at least 6 days (up to 10). She hated the flavor and I had to chase her all over to get them into her, but they work great. One trick that I found (when she was particularly difficult about taking it) was to put a tiny amount on her paw. Then, she would lick it off to clean off her paw.)
* I took out her regular food for the first 2 days and spoon fed her 1-3 pea-sized drops of active/live-culture yogurt (with a drop of honey in it) twice a day after the medicine. She LOVED it! I highly recommend this. (We will be continuing this as a healthy treat to help keep her balanced. She likes to eat it off the end of a wooden popsicle stick or small spoon.) Only make enough for one feeding at a time (1/2 tsp max. total ) as it has to be eaten right away and can go bad fast if left out in the cage.
* She refused to drink the water with the medicine in it like the package suggests (or even the Pedialyte mix suggested online) so I had to try just straight cold water with a dash of salt, and it did the trick. Making sure that your pet stays hydrated is the most important thing. Then, I noticed that her tongue seemed sore and she started to avoid the bottle on day 2. I had to switch to using a water dish, and then she was fine. (A clean plastic peanut butter lid is just the right size and depth for an emergency food or water dish. Make sure any dish lays flat on the cage bottom and not on the bedding.)
* On day 5, we started reintroducing some foods, starting with a tsp. of basic hamster seed mix and items high in vital nutrients that her body would need to recover; like B1 (thiamine mononitrate), which is in high quantities in most breads and some cereals (She likes Total flakes), and saltine pieces.
* On day 6, she was acting her normal self (with normal droppings and cleaning herself) and showing a healthy appetite. The medicine suggests for us to continue dosing for a few more days to prevent re-infection.
---> I should mention that most hamsters will not chew on things while they are ill, so monitor how long their teeth are growing and make sure to re-introduce new clean chew toys as soon as they seem ready. Apple/fruit tree branches are a favorite, as are the (Vitakraft) mini-pop corns/cobs. Another unexpected great find was (Champion- Essentials)dried Sweet Potato Chips treats (for dogs). They have starches and potassium for a quick recovery and are nice for her to chew on to boot and even a good size.
*Don't forget: Try not to handle or hold your pet while it's sick to minimize their stress, and wash your hands with antibacterial soap any time you even touch the cage. I highly recommend buying a big box of latex-free (un-powdered, if possible) gloves from a local hardware store and using fresh ones each time. Throw out any infected toys and anything else that can't be cleaned with the bleach solution. Clean and change food and water daily. You should be spot cleaning daily. Totally clean the cage out by washing everything down with a 1/2 bleach and water solution every 3rd day. Follow that up with a light soap, rinse, and dry well before refilling with all new bedding and fresh chew toys.
* If you pet's tail-end needs cleaning off (as it most likely will), then wear latex-free gloves and use warm water on cotton balls to gently wipe off what you can. Then, use a disposable soft towel to dry your pet. Hair dryers can burn their delicate skin and be traumatic for them causing more stress and weakening them further.
There are never any guarantees of recovery, even if you do everything right (and even get your pet to a vet), but we owe it to them to give them the best chance of recovery that we can. It's important to know that the 4 main types of bacteria that cause the condition have an average incubation time of 7 days before onset of symptoms. They can even cause similar symptoms in humans, including cramping, diarrhea, fever, and fatigue. Syrian long-haired hamsters are particularly susceptible to wet-tail, but all hamsters can get it, even dwarfs ( though that's far less common). Not all cases of "wet-tail" actually are it, however. In some cases, it's a stress-induced condition, food allergy, or food poisoning that causes it. Only a vet can tell which it is, but both cases can turn deadly fast if not treated right away.
Best of Luck to you and your "furry little friend" for a speedy recovery and long happy life!
Pros: works great, price
Cons: Hard to Administer
+34points
35of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Oasis Wet-Tail Drops
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

SAVED HIS LIFE!!!

January 31, 2012
by mbetty7
fromCouncil Bluffs, IA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectivenesss 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
HAD TO USE THIS ONCE AND IT SAVED HIS LIFE MY HAMSTER IS BACK EATING RUNNING AND SLEEPING NORMALY!
Pros: easy to administer, works great, price
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Oasis Wet-Tail Drops
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

Respiratory Infection

January 25, 2012
by animalover90
fromhesperia,ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectivenesss 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I got this treatment because I "rescued" a baby rat that couldn't be more than 4 or 5 weeks old from the feeder cage at a pet store, the poor thing was being crushed by all the other rats in the cage and they all obviously had respiratory infections. So I got this product because all it basically is, is a low does of antibiotics. The main ingredient is Neomycin which is also one of the main ingredients in Neosporin. That is exactly what she needed to clear up the infection. She has made such good progress. I only hear her sneeze a few time during the night and she doesn't wheeze every time she breathes anymore. The reason I gave it 4 out of 5 stars is because the made it orange flavor. I don't know about hamsters but oranges are poisonous to rats.
Pros: price, easy to administer, works great
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Oasis Wet-Tail Drops
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

December 24, 2011
by beaglesrock296
fromTX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
I just bought these for my hamster who has wet tail at first i fed it to her straight from the dropper and she didn't like it but then came back to it and wanted more. I love how its flavored and its safe and very easy to use this morning was the first time to use it so I cant rate if how it effects her but so far so good! Thanks Petsmart! for saving my baby.
Pros: easy to administer, works great, price
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Oasis Wet-Tail Drops
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Awesome

June 18, 2011
by dolly917
fromBaltimore, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectivenesss 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
i haven't had to use this yet, and hopefully never will, but its great to have on hand for emergencies. I have 2 bottles still un-opened on hand just-in-case. "it better work!" <---my hamster said that xD
=) Just Call Me Crazy (=
Pros: works great, price, easy to administer
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Oasis Wet-Tail Drops
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

thankyou for saving my hamstes life!

January 31, 2011
by animalgal67
fromlakeville MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectivenesss 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
i have this is the tablets. my hamster had to suffer wet tail a few days ago for the first time. i had this stuff on hand (glad i did!) and i dropped the tablet 1 in his water that day tablet 2 the next day............... i dont know if he is improving (I dont see him drink??) but at least he made it through the night. :) we caught wet tail late but my hammy is already starting to feel better. thankyou petsmart :)
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Oasis Wet-Tail Drops
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Effectivenesss 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews