PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Exo Terra Moss Ball

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Exo Terra Moss Ball

The Exo Terra Moss Ball helps provide clear water and reduce odors. Designed to resemble its natural counterpart, the Exo Terra Moss Ball contains an absorption resin that helps reduce many of the compounds that encourage organic matter accumulation. By absorbing and trapping phosphate, nitrite and nitrate within its core, the Exo Terra Moss Ball helps to create ideal conditions for animals and plants, making aqua-terrarium maintenance easy.
Overall rating:
4.818 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
11 of 11(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Exo Terra Moss Ball
Review 1 for Exo Terra Moss Ball
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews

Fun Fuzzy Toy (that probably works)

December 18, 2013
by TurtleMaster
fromNJ
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I've had this product before, so I bought it again. Does it work? Probably! I'm sure it absorbs odors as described. I have an actual pump/water filter doing the job of keeping the tank clean, so it's hard to tell what this Moss Ball is achieving on its own.
Really, I just got this cool fuzzy ball for my turtle to interact with.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Exo Terra Moss Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Moss ball

January 17, 2013
by kwixson
fromAlger, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This product was recommended to me by a fellow aquatic turtle lover. I have to say that this is an excellent product! Since I started using the moss ball, there is no smell, no algae build up and the water stays perfectly clear. I highly recommend this product as a Must Have to anyone considering setting up an aquarium.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Exo Terra Moss Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Great Product!

January 7, 2013
by Anabella
fromBoston, MA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
looks great in my tank! looks like a little ball of fur! great purchase!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Exo Terra Moss Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

This is the best

October 1, 2012
by GeckoTurtleLover
fromkentuky
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
I use this alot. I love it
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Exo Terra Moss Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

AMAZING!

July 8, 2012
by RedEar
fromUSA, Earth
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Before I got this my tank smelled so bad. In just a day with the moss ball, my tank smells like we just cleaned it. And looks like it.
I got this for my turtles, and at first I was worried they would eat it. But they don't! :)
I would recommend this to anybody!
Pros: works great, smell
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Exo Terra Moss Ball
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews

amazing moss ball

June 16, 2012
by robzer
fromGarnet Valley, Pennsylvaina
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
My turtle tank sometimes gets foggy from algae so I bought the moss ball to see if it really works and it did because the next day the water was crystal clear. And it lasts for a full two months!
Pros: works great, smell
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Exo Terra Moss Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Good product

May 24, 2012
by DerpyTurtle
fromElk Grove, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
At first, I had mixed emotions about this moss ball.
I looked at all the reviews first,and i'm glad I did. The minute I put it in my tank, I thought it was a waste of money, and not what was promised. But after several hours, my tank's water looked much more clear than before. The little bit of algae in the corner of the tank was all gone. I DO recommend this to everyone . :D
Pros: works great
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Exo Terra Moss Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

This Moss Is Amazing

September 11, 2011
by Kved
fromAnaheim, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
We were very skeptical, but also desperate to get rid of the algae problem in our tank, so we took the petsmart employee's advice, and bought 5 of these moss balls for our 46 gallon tank. When nothing else worked, including bi-daily water changes, constant cleaning, and perfect PH levels and temp, and reducing the light in the tank, low and behold these moss balls did the trick! In two weeks our tank was back to perfectly clear as opposed to so green you couldn't see the back of the tank. I honestly am amazing. I went to clean the filter today, and it wasn't slimy at all, and the filters were much cleaner than usual, so apparently not only does this clear up the algae in the tank, but seems to help the entire ecosystem runs cleaner, which means happy fish and happy owners!
From now on I will be sure to keep these in all of my fish tanks. The fish don't mind them at all either just in case you were wondering. Forgo the chemicals that are expensive and don't work, and can potentially harm your fish, and get a few of these. The benefits will outweigh the cost, when your tank is better than normal and easier to clean going forward.
Pros: works great
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Exo Terra Moss Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

June 3, 2011
by kas814
fromCharlotte, NC
I have an aquatic turtle, and before I used this product the tank was absolutely covered in algae. It was such a pain, but as soon as I started using the moss ball I've had hardly any algae problems at all! Wonderful product; very useful and effective.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Exo Terra Moss Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Surprisinglly realistic!

November 27, 2010
by Sookie
fromSoCal
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I love Marimo Moss Balls, and I have them in almost all of my tanks. The thing is, two of my smaller betta tanks won't seem to suport them, they always end up browning and dying.
I saw these and immediatlly grabbed them. They're the size of an actual medium Marimo Moss Ball, and have a velvet texture so they move with the waters current a bit.
I tossed them in my tanks and was surpreised at how realistic they looked! I got a few more and placeed them in my tanks beside the actual living Marimo Moss Balls, they looked identical! If you didn't know what to look for, they really can't be told apart! There's a slight seam were the fabirc meets, but it's hardly noticible and can be faced away from the viewing front.
I also love natural driftwood in my tanks, and have noticed a gradual darkening from the tanin leached from it. The carbon in the moss balls has actually begun to lighted the water noticibally in just a few days!
Overall I highlly recomend this product to everyone from aquatic reptile owners to fish tank owners, it's an incredible buy!
Pros: realistic, removes discoloration and smell
Cons: slight seam in fabric but it's not that noticable
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Exo Terra Moss Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

July 23, 2010
by 365cherry
fromYukon, Oklahoma
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
The Moss Ball can get up to 12" long but if you dont want it that way you can roal it up back in to a ball again. My Batta Fish loves it. He will move it with his nose like a soccer ball.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.