PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Zilla Basic Tropical Starter Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Zilla Basic Tropical Starter Kit

Ideal starter kit for juvenile tropical animals Premium quality 10 gallon glass terrarium water-tight habitat Dome light fixture & bulb provides healthy amount of light Temperature/humidity guage for monitoring your pets environment
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 13
11 of 14(79%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Zilla Basic Tropical Starter Kit
Review 1 for Zilla Basic Tropical Starter Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews

Alright, Might Want to Upgrade.

January 9, 2014
by Perrytastic
fromWashington State
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 14 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews
The kit doesn't come with too much, and some of the things just aren't worth it. You do need to invest in bowls and various decor! I was under the impression it came with a bowl because of the pictures on the box, but it didn't. When I unexpectedly got a gecko, I had to improvise for a few days.
The screen clips were a pain to work with, and I just didn't keep them. I house a crested gecko in this tank, and although he throws himself around at night, he has never once moved the top off. I have even put the top on wrong on a few occasions, and he hasn't escaped.
The thermometer/hygrometer isn't worth keeping. You want an electric one, they're the most reliable ones, and not much more expensive than the dial ones. Worth the investment!
The terrarium liner is an ease to clean, although the one I got didn't seem to fit quite right. It was slightly too long for the tank. However, I invested in two because they're just so easy to clean, and I can rotate them out while one dries after being washed.
The ten gallon tank can only fit so many kinds of reptiles. It is the minimum for cresties (20 gallons is much more popular), and they're a reptile that takes up some of the least amount of space. Be aware that you might have to upgrade eventually, and therefore need a new tank, screen top, and liner!
I would say this set is worth the price, but you really should replace the humidity/temperature gauge, and toss out the clips!
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zilla Basic Tropical Starter Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

meh

December 15, 2013
by Merk23
fromOntario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
my corn snake yearling escaped from this tank WITH the secure lid locks on...I wouldn't recommend this for climbers or snakes. I found my snake, but it was still quite a scare. I relocated my snake to a zoo med, which is what I would recommend you get if you get a started kit.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zilla Basic Tropical Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Excellent Product

July 28, 2013
by guineapiggal34
fromwestminster, sc
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
I love this cage!! I bought this cage for my baby corn snake. I am a first time reptile owner and this cage works great! its very easy to clean and I like that it came with clips instead of having to buy them seperately. although I will have to buy a bigger cage soon, I would recommend this product to anyone! but the green liner stuff was rolled up and wouldn't unroll all the way so I didn't use that.
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zilla Basic Tropical Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

perfect for a small reptile

January 30, 2013
by tigress17
fromwhite cloud, mi
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
bought this for a small corn snake and she loves it. the tank is easy to clean, and the lamp works nice. perfect for a small snake
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zilla Basic Tropical Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

Great for Green Anoles

January 9, 2013
by Zinothium
fromFort Wayne, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews
I got this terrarium for my green anole Severus (along with the tropical decor kit) and it is a really great starter kit. I only with it was not as long so that it could be taller so she could climb more.
I managed to fix the humidity problem (for which I took off one star) by using aluminum foil over the top, I painted it black so it didnt look quite so trashy but its worked really well thus far. I gave it an average quality though because the gauge that comes with it broke on me in the first day, but other then that everything is perfect.
Besides the decor kit I supplemented it with two more lamp domes so that she could also get uvb and a red night lamp because of how cold it gets in Indiana in the winter.
All in all it is a great little starter home for a budding anole enthusiast.
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zilla Basic Tropical Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Good Cage. Iguana Loves it.

December 1, 2012
by IggyOwner
fromCroswell, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I decided that I was going to get an Iguana but my dad (as I'm only 17) said they were too expensive because of all the stuff needed. So I was going to have to wait... until I found this. It literally saved a ton of money. I just needed a food and water dish, and a few decorations. I've heard a few complaints about that, but it's still way cheaper overall. It gets you by until you have to advance as your reptile grows (which I most definitely will have to). But you'll still have all the supplies for your next one, or you could move most of the stuff to the next cage. The tank could have been bigger, but both me and my Iguana (Bido) love it so far! :) Doesn't hold humidity the best though. Only con I have.
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zilla Basic Tropical Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

October 14, 2012
by reptoracer
fromUtica,MI
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
it is a good starter kit but the screen clips arent the greatest the carpet is eazy to clean all you have to do is scrape with a sponge and youre good to go although it dosent come wit plants or anything i love it.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zilla Basic Tropical Starter Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Not a good starter kit

September 26, 2012
by KT22
fromChicago, Illinois
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this kit thinking I'd have everything I needed for my crested gecko. The tank itself is poorly constructed, and I needed to replace everything else. None of the items I bought are what I really need, so this was basically a waste of money. For a crested gecko, I really should have gotten a vertical terrarium and heat lamp, humidifier, decor, etc. to go with that.
-11points
0of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zilla Basic Tropical Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

awesome

July 12, 2012
by 1GreenAnole
fromPhoeniz, AZ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
this is an awesome cage i got a green anole and saw this cage and thought it would be perfect it loves it new home. You need to get a background other wise it fights with its reflection.
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zilla Basic Tropical Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

Great for what I needed it for

December 5, 2011
by RDCH
fromCharlotte, NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought it for a tree frog and it's pretty much as advertised. Works well, and the accessories were perfect. Only minor complaints I have are that the heat pad keeps detaching from the underside of the tank (doesn't stick well enough), and like someone else mentioned, the humidity doesn't hold well. I found it better to keep the light a few inches above the lid instead of directly on it as shown in the manual, as doing it that way seems to keep the correct temperature and the moisture in the tank doesn't evaporate as quickly. The temperature/humidity indicator that comes with the kit is great.
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zilla Basic Tropical Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

Needs better lid

January 25, 2011
by geckosrock
fromtexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have to take one star off this because I think this could use a better lid. It says "tropical" however it doesn't hold humidity in well. Would be better if it include a partial plastic lid which would keep in more humidity.
Also should include some plants.
Overall it's okay to start since the items would cost more separately. I will be getting a different tank when my gecko gets bigger to allow more climbing room.
+5points
11of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zilla Basic Tropical Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

Great starter; pet might outgrow it too soon

January 3, 2011
by Yeswerecrazy
fromUSA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is a nice little complete starter kit; the only concern is make sure you research the growth rate of the pet it's intended for as some lizards/dragons grow quickly and this little set might be too small in a very short time. With that in mind, the kit has everything needed to get started except for climbing branches and a water dish, which is OK. The day light and dome are very good, and the heater pad works well. Definitely all items included are cheaper purchased as this kit as opposed to buying separately.
Pros: everything needed to get started
Cons: pet might outgrow it too quickly
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zilla Basic Tropical Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

just great!!!!

December 4, 2010
by JOSU
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
i still havent got it yet cause im still trying to convince my dad to get me a ball python but my friend has it and is just great...by the way buy aspen bedding or coconut husk reptile liner is very high maintenance...
Pros: excellent
Cons: reptile liner instead of aspen or coconut husk
-11points
4of 19voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Zilla Basic Tropical Starter Kit
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews