PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Aqueon Mini Bow 5 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Aqueon Mini Bow 5 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit

Brighten up a small space with the Aqueon Mini Bow 5.0 Aquarium Kit. The compact size of the aquarium makes it great for use on a desktop, in a dorm room and in other small spaces, while the bow-front design still provides fish with plenty of swimming room. The aquarium is easy to set up and maintain for a fun, hassle-free hobby, and the kit includes everything to get started, making this a great starter aquarium.
Overall rating:
3.857 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
18 of 21(86%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Aqueon Mini Bow 5 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Review 1 for Aqueon Mini Bow 5 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Great product

January 21, 2014
by JamesB
fromDenver, CO
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Always used this tank for saltwater, nano tanks. Just watch out for the fixture; it's not the best design so I usually open the feeding hatch to prevent moisture from accumulating under the hood and breaking the light fixture. Otherwise, I do hope they start making ten gallon versions of this tank.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqueon Mini Bow 5 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Great for a betta

January 10, 2014
by cfp1
fromSan Antonio, TX
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is a great setup for a betta. I added a heater, some gravel, silk plants and a little bridge for him to swim under. The filter works great. Part of the plastic surrounding the filter broke off literally as soon as I touched it, but I was able to use clear packing tape to secure it back in place and it works fine. Five-gallon tank + filter + heater = betta paradise.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqueon Mini Bow 5 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews

Lots of stuff missing!

December 26, 2013
by Meagan7010
fromColorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this starter kit for my sister for Christmas, but when she opened it up and was getting ready to set it up we noticed that the entire filter housing, cartridge, pump and tube housing were missing. The only things even in the box were the aquarium and hood. The box said that the filter supplies were included but I don't know if someone shopping at the store opened the box or if the items weren't packed in the box to begin with. It would just be nice if the manufacturer or even the stores themselves would tamper-proof their supplies.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqueon Mini Bow 5 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews

Bad Lighting System

November 4, 2013
by seastorm
fromLenox, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I haven't had the Aqueon Bow 5 Galloon Aquarium for a year yet and the light doesn't work. Sad part of it is that the aquarium was only used for a very short time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqueon Mini Bow 5 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Good for Betta

May 29, 2013
by Forkeh
fromCA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pretty decent setup. But you need to get a heater too. Yes even Betta need them! They are tropical fish! Just because they can live without them, doesn't mean they will thrive.
I find the filter to be adequate. It's not very strong, but Betta don't do well with strong filters unless they're the under gravel variety. That's why I suggest this tank for Betta.
But there are things you'll need. This doesn't come with everything. Like I said, you definitely want a heater. I can't remember if it comes with water conditioner, if not, you'll need that. Food of course. Extra filters and bulbs (they die quickly!). Water condition test strips or kit. This is important! Your fish will die if the PH is too low, or too high. You may need to get some PH adjusting products if you can't get the water right with the conditioner. You'll want a net, some plants, and gravel or sand too. Wouldn't be a bad idea to get some meds for common ailments and have them on hand either. When fish get sick, timely treatment is everything.
Oh! I just remembered, those of you who are having problems with a loud buzzing from the filter, there's not enough water in your tank! You can't just submerge the detachable bit, the square thing (for lack of a better word) needs to be submerged too. Otherwise you get a terrible sound, and it doesn't work. This took me a while to figure out.
But overall, it's a decent little unit. Not the best, but it'll do you just fine, especially for a Betta. I don't know about you, but I can't, in good faith, put even a Betta in less than a 5 gallon tank. That just seems cruel.
Pros: easy to install, sturdy
Cons: hard to clean
+11points
16of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqueon Mini Bow 5 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Amazing

March 23, 2013
by Zappa
fromBeaverton,OR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My kids love it and will watch the 4 fish swim around forever. Great for first time fish owners and great present for kids.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqueon Mini Bow 5 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews

Good Tank

January 20, 2013
by Evelyn083
fromWisconsin
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This was a very decent product, although it doesn't come with any rocks or decorations, and the filter's very soft. I would recommend this but do make sure that you remember to get some decorations.
The filter disappointed me a lot, it's very soft and it sometimes makes a loud buzzing sound, in which you have to sort of... hit it to make it stop, and then the sound comes back. One night I had to unplug it because it was keeping me awake.
I think that it could be a little cheaper, but compared to other tanks it's pretty reasonable. Other than the filter, everything worked just fine for me, and I would recommend getting this product!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqueon Mini Bow 5 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

January 8, 2013
by irridescentbetta
fromUS
I bought this to upgrade my betta from his former half-gallon cube;
you would not believe how much more active he is!
the filter is working fine for me, the only caveat with this tank is that there is a large gap in the cover, as has been mentioned in other reviews, which is making me nervous as fish have been known to jump through holes in the lids of their tanks.
Otherwise this is a great tank!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqueon Mini Bow 5 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Perfect for a Betta Fish!

January 6, 2013
by PuppyLover3261
fromHamilton, Ontario
This tank is perfect for a single Betta Fish. The filter, which has too light of a current for most fish, is perfect for them, and it is just the right size!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aqueon Mini Bow 5 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews

Good size but the filter is awful!

November 6, 2012
by latriana465
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this tank to upgrade my betta to a larger space. The size is really nice but I have had problems. The filter is just terrible. It does not keep the water clean and I am getting an oil slick on the top of my water that I can't get rid of. Also, the light bulb died within a few months and I didn't even use it that often... It's a shame that the tank is a bit expensive and now I have to go out and buy a different filter.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aqueon Mini Bow 5 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Awesome Tank!

November 1, 2012
by CatKat
fromGuelph, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I love this tank - the filter, the lighting, the hood - everything!
I have not experienced a single problem with this tank, and I have had it running for over 1 1/2 years. The filter does a great job and does not make a huge current, and the bow front design really enhances the fish.
I would not reccommend this tank for goldfish - but for a betta, its perfect. My tank is housing my long-finned female betta, ad she's doing wonderfully!
This is the ideal tank for a single betta!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aqueon Mini Bow 5 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews

great tank awful filter and lighting however.

September 23, 2012
by nikitia
fromMississauga, ON, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I've had this 5 gal for my bettas for over a year now, however in the last month i have gone through 6 replacement bulbs that were reccomended to me by the manufacturer. at first i thought it was a bad batch and went to a different store other then petsmart with the same results. I would reccomend if you can get a small submersable filter and perhaps submersable led lights.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aqueon Mini Bow 5 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews

TERRIBLE FILTER

August 9, 2012
by DDGAME
fromNEW HAMPSHIRE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
NICE TANK - GOOD SIZE, BUT THE FILTER IS TERRIBLE.
THE DESIGN OF THE FILTER HOLDER IT MAKES IT VERY DIFFICULT TO USE OR GET ANOTHER FILTER ...EVEN ONE BY THE SAME COMPANY.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aqueon Mini Bow 5 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

great

July 17, 2012
by hammielover567
fromNY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
amazing my fish loves it
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aqueon Mini Bow 5 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Beautiful and big

June 6, 2012
by AnimalLoverCare
fromKingman AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I love this tank! This tank can fit mollies, ghost shrimps and a snail perfectly :)
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aqueon Mini Bow 5 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Nice, but

March 6, 2012
by MisterJ167
fromChicago, IL
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
The filter is entirely inadequate, and if you want to upgrade to a larger filter (say an Aqueon QuietFlow10), you have to either cut the hood or cut the lip that holds the smaller filter. I don't know if it's possible to remove the top portion of the tank and flip it over, but either way it's a very bad design.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aqueon Mini Bow 5 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews

Do your research.

October 23, 2011
by AnswerInquisition
fromPortland, OR
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
READ THIS IF THIS MIGHT BE YOUR FIRST TANK: I'd like to start with some helpful warnings. If this is going to be your first tank, BEWARE. Smaller tanks are inherently more difficult to maintain proper water conditions. The less water available (5 gallons is a very small amount), the less it takes to make a large impact on water chemistry. Similarly, if you have a larger (say 20-30 gallon) tank, a mistake will result in less severe consequences. That being said, it is very possible to maintain the tank, just realize you should test water parameters often to avoid unhealthy levels. I strongly suggest researching fish-less cycling prior to adding fish.
Now for the product review:
The tank itself is very nice.
Be aware that the tank is acrylic which really gives a crystal clear (clearer than glass) view into the tank. However, acrylic scratches more easily than glass, so be gentle.
The filter that comes with the tank is not of great quality, especially if you have messy fish. My filter broke and I replaced it with a 10 gallon filter (more filtration is never bad).
This tank should NOT be used for goldfish. Almost all goldfish, if kept properly, will outgrow this tank. My tank has 1 goldfish (the only inhabitant) and I am currently facing this problem. I would recommend you stick with fish that have full grown sizes from 1.5 to 3 inches.
The only reason this gets 3 Stars is because of the breakdown of the original filter. BUT, If you are short on space to put an aquarium this product would be a great choice! However, if you have the space, I would recommend starting with a larger tank.
Research, research, research!
+24points
33of 42voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aqueon Mini Bow 5 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Nice tank

October 6, 2011
by tayqwe100
fromsarasota Fl.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This tank is great!I would recomend getting a bigger filter for it though because the filter that comes with it is a bit small.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aqueon Mini Bow 5 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Very Quiet, Good for Platys

June 12, 2011
by Omaginity
fromSwartz Creek, Mi
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have this tank on my dresser and I hardly notice it is there.I have 3 platys all diffrent colors they each find one space and stay there. The filters curent is a little too strong but other than that it is perfect.
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aqueon Mini Bow 5 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Very good smaller tank

March 7, 2011
by MonstersMom
fromMinnesota
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews
I keep this in the corner of my kitchen and it has held up very well. The size is great and the look is fantastic! I ended up getting rid of the filter it came with and the Aqueon filter that is one size bigger will fit perfectly in the back if you cut out the space for it, the filter it comes with is almost useless for fish that produce alot of waste. Just upgrade the filter and you're good to go!
Pros: easy to install, sturdy, easy to clean
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
1 2 next