PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Healthy Weight Adult Dog Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Healthy Weight Adult Dog Food

Blue Buffalo Large Breed Healthy Weight Chicken and Brown Rice Recipe is holistically formulated to help large breed dogs achieve a healthy weightand stay there.
Overall rating:
4.944 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 17
17 of 18(94%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Healthy Weight Adult Dog Food
Review 1 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Healthy Weight Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Stages of life food

March 8, 2014
by Madisontom
frommadison, wi
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Our lab/golden cross has filled out a little too much. We started her on this food, and she loves it. We'll see if it leads to any weight loss.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Healthy Weight Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Dog's digestion problems solved!

March 5, 2014
by TXLizzie
fromDenver, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
My Chesdor puppy constantly had issues with diarrhea and soft stools. We tried several dog foods with no luck. Finally we tried Blue Basics and her digestion problems were solved! She has normal stools and much less gas. She's now a happy girl as we are also.
Pros: price, high quality, digestible, taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Healthy Weight Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

My dog seems happier with this food!

January 28, 2014
by MB12
fromMorgantown, KY
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
My dog seems to be a lot more satisfied and has a lot less gas since I have been feeding him Blue Buffalo.
Pros: high quality, digestible
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Healthy Weight Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Our 3 year old Labradoodle LOVED the change.

October 20, 2013
by PJBILLT
fromJacksonville, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Our service dog Tango a 3 year old Labradoodle was like she found a new best friend after my wife Pamela fed her with Blue Buffalo.
Glad to have found a really good product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Healthy Weight Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Love the product

October 17, 2013
by Bucky9
fromVancouver, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have shepard and a dingo! They love this product and it keeps them healthy!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Healthy Weight Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

My two dogs love this food!

October 11, 2013
by MickeyG
fromIllinois
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My two dogs are rescued Rottweiler brothers who had a really terrible start in life. I got them when they were eight m/o and had lived outside in the Illinois weather enclosed in a 6' X 12' X 10' chain link kennel using a tarp for the cover and a long heat lamp for warmth. They scrapped for every morsel they could get to eat. Their food at the time was the absolute minimum that the backyard breeder would afford, and they looked like it too.
I started out using a name brand but after a while I suspected they may have been having an unhealthy reaction to that food and began looking for an alternative. After doing some research I felt that the ingredients in BB looked pretty good, not too much or too little of one thing or another. And now, since eating BB they have nice shiny coats, good energy levels (@ 7 y/o) and are all around healthy. At a recent annual wellness visit, their Vet noted that they both have nice hour glass shapes. ;-)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Healthy Weight Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

First day to feed my dog Blue

October 8, 2013
by Manon
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Today is the first day I fed my 4 dogs this food. Two of my dogs are very picky!!! I decided to try feeding my dog this food because one of my dog's have a skin issue caused by other foods we've been feeding her. I want to see how long it will take to clear up with Blue (I will post another review in a few week with the results) But, meanwhile, I gave this food to all my dogs this morning and I was shocked to see my two fussy eaters scoff it up like it was candy. Hollllly mollllie!!!! For the first time I didn't have to include chicken broth to their food so they could eat it. I am a happy camper right now!!! I hope it takes care of my dog's skin issue, if so, it will save me $$ for vet bills. I have spent so much to clear up her issue, nothing worked so far. I love this food!! I don't care if it cost more, It will save me money in the long run if I don't have to take them to the vet as often.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Healthy Weight Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Terrific food for my picky Dane

April 3, 2013
by Gr8DaneLove
fromCattaraugus, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My 5 year old great Dane just loves this food. She is picky and was getting bored with her other brand. We were sick of her needing "people food" to make her other kibble enticing. Since we switched her she can not get enough of this food. She has lost weight and is feeling better. I also love that we can get this shipped to our front door since none of the stores in my town carry this particular Blue Buffalo flavor. My Dane and I highly recommend this kibble. It may seem more expensive than other kibbles, but it is worth every penny to have a high quality food that my girl will actually eat!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Healthy Weight Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Awesome food!

January 24, 2013
by roscoesmama
fromHahira, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My Roscoe loves this food! We have tried several brands and he would eat it, but not as good as this. He's a big boy, so in about 5 bites, its gone! He loves it!
Pros: high quality
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Healthy Weight Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Excellent Prodcut

January 20, 2013
by AussieMals
fromSpringfield, VA
How many pets do you have?5 or more
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
I have a 5 year old Alaskan Malamute. He really loves the food and I love it because it keeps the weight off him. When we first adopted him about 2 years ago he was 125 lbs. We had him on a weight management control food and then once he lost all that weight, we put him on Blue Buffalo Healthy Weight. After we put him on the Health Weight, he went from 95 lbs to 86 lbs.
Pros: high quality, taste
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Healthy Weight Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

January 7, 2013
by Fussy
fromHarvard, mass.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My anatolian shepherd/great pyreneese mix loves this food. He is four years old and has enjoyed this food for two years. After trying a number of different brands we finally tried the large breed healthy weight formula and he can't get enough of it.
He was putting on some weight and now he lost a few pounds and looks great.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste, price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Healthy Weight Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Great product

January 6, 2013
by Fizzy
fromCoral springs, Florida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My dogs coat is so shiny and healty due to this great dog food. I get so many comments on what a nice coat she has
Pros: high quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Healthy Weight Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

We love Blue Buffalo

August 1, 2012
by midunn3
fromMesa, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
When we got our first dog we were feeding him a cheap dog food. After a few months a lady in Petsmart from Blue Buffalo told us about how the food we were feeding our dog had by-products in it. We switched to BB and will never use anything else. The way we see it, if we as humans don't want to eat by-product, then why would we feed it to our beloved animals. We have two 85 pound dogs and we go through 2.5 thirty pound bags a month, and yes it is more expensive, but it's worth it to know they're eating good food.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Healthy Weight Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Great Product

February 20, 2012
by Highflyer
fromBoynton Beach, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
My 3 yr old yellow lab mix loves the food and he is not gaining any more weight. He is healthy with a beautiful coat. I like the ingredients in the food and I know I am not feeding him junk that does do him any good.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
Cons: price
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Healthy Weight Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

I'm loving this food.

February 3, 2011
by paws24
fromOgden, UT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have a 7 year old brittany spaniel-lab mix. She recently hurt her knee on a walk and I had to take her to the vet for x-rays and found out that shes got the begining stages of hip dysplasia. I was told by the vet she needed to be on a diet because she is severly over wieght. That day I found out she was 84 lbs and she should be around 65 lbs. I had heard about Blue Buffalo so I went right to PetSmart and bought the healthy weight formula. She loves it, she use to be gassy and always had a bloaded gut. 13 days later i took her back to the vet to get weighed and she was 76 lbs I was so supprised that she lost 8 lbs. She looks so much better now has not been gassy at all her bloated gut is gone. Even her fur looks so much better. This is the most amazing food ever. I've tried putting her on all sorts of diets in the past even medications and nothing made much of a difference. I will never go back to a different brand of dog food. I will recommend this food to everyone I know with a dog or cat.
I love this food!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Healthy Weight Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Happy Dog!

December 20, 2010
by Jackieroo
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Jack, our 107 pound Lab-Malamute mix has been eating the original large breed formula and loved it. I switched him to the Healthy-Weight to hopefully help him lose a few pounds. He still loves the food and eats the same portion. He lost 4 pounds with the first bag. This food has given him more energy and helped him shed the weight. Thanks for the great products Blue!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Healthy Weight Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

At Ease Knowing...

June 15, 2010
by JazzyMonroe
fromHouston
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I am so at ease knowing my German Shepherd is now on a great food that treats him in more ways than I have the time to list.
I had the luck of speaking with an in-store nutritionist about my 2 year old GSD who'd only eaten Eukanuba (Great Brand also) but grew tired of it.
I wanted to be sure he was still going to get a diet that would do more than just satisfy his hunger.
We both are very pleased!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Healthy Weight Adult Dog Food
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
0 out of 1 recommend this product