PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredients Turkey & Potato Dog Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredients Turkey & Potato Dog Food

For dogs with food sensitivities, the ingredients they don't eat are just as important as the ones they do. Blue Buffalo Basics contains No Corn, Wheat, Dairy, Soy or Eggs.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 30
32 of 32(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredients Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Review 1 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredients Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

March 9, 2014
by doglady1956
fromtexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
blue wilderness is amazing in the amount of
ingredients. i was looking for a dog food without
that proprylene glycol etc in it. everything is
full of vitamins berries vegetable and turkey
my dog loves it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredients Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Happy pup

March 6, 2014
by RhythmsMom
fromAsheville, nc
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
What a convenient service... ordering our dog's food online is awesome. As soon as it arrived, he knew it was for him. His tail was wagging and he was happily sniffing the box. We will definitely order from you again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredients Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Blue Buffalo Basics is the best.

February 25, 2014
by HarleyD
fromGeorgia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My 2.5 yr old English Bulldog was throwing up daily and also losing weight. I changed to another brand for sensitive stomachs and he did improve, some, but was still throwing up and losing weight. Since changing to Blue Basics, he hasn't thrown up and he has gain 13 lbs. I know it cost more but the rewards of having a healthier dog is worth it. I would highly recommend Blue Buffalo Basics.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredients Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

I use this product for my red-nosed pit bull

February 23, 2014
by DbHansen9
fromSandy, Oregon
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I absolutely love the convenience of ordering this product online and having it delivered to my residence. The closest store is several miles away and my choice of product for my allergic pit bull was very limited. Upon learning that I could get it delivered was a godsend. Getting the product I want, at a sale price, delivered for free within 3 days rates over 5 stars for me. I have recommended ordering from PetSmart to several people and will continue spreading the word!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredients Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Excdellent product My dog loves it.

February 23, 2014
by Katie11
fromKentucky
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My little Yorkie suffered from monthly "G.I. tract infections" until my daughter suggested feeding her kibble for dogs with sensitive stomachs. Since all my other dogs eat Blue Buffalo Grain-free Wilderness kibble, I chose Blue Buffalo Basic kibble for dogs with sensitive stomachs for my Yorkie.
It works wonderfully! She has not had an incident since she moved to this food 100%.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredients Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Highly Recommend

February 9, 2014
by MFields
fromLas Vegas NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Blue Buffalo is the only thing we feed our furbabies.
Fast Free Delivery from Pet Smart is a BONUS!
Thank you!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredients Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Great, esp. for dogs with sensitive stomach

February 6, 2014
by KECG
fromIllinois
We switched to Blue Buffalo Basics after months of having our dog struggle with gastrointestinal issues. The limited ingredient list means we know what he is ingesting, and it helped get him on track almost immediately. Since switching to this food almost two years ago, his issues are all but gone.
I will say that though he loves the main element - the turkey and potato kibble - he does not like the small, black "Life Bits" or whatever they're called. He will eat them, but he will also leave many of them in and around his bowl.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredients Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Our healthy dog loves it!!

January 19, 2014
by ThePuhs
fromReading, PA
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
We've been feeding our Collie this food for several years now and she loves it. After we mix some wet food in with it, she gobbles it right down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredients Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

our cockers love this

January 7, 2014
by nccockers
fromnorth carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Our cockers love this and it makes their coats shine - great!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredients Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Great product for corn/chicken/grain allergies

December 31, 2013
by Cesarspeshka
fromMinneapolis, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My dog loves his limited basics blue buffalo brand of food you know how I know? Because his skin is clear and shiny and glossy. His eyes are no longer pink and irritated. He has energy and still loves his naps. This food is great for dogs that suffer from food allergies such as dairy, grain or chicken.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredients Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Great product

November 10, 2013
by JuliaAmilee
fromOklahoma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
We spent three months searching for the right food for our dane. She had vomiting and diarrhea with every food we tried, Until this one. Although a bit pricey it is worth it. She likes it and it has made a difference in her coat she is so soft and soothe, no more diarrhea and vomiting.
Pros: high quality, digestible
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredients Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Highly Recommend This Product

June 9, 2013
by Charliemama
fromArkansas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I adopted Charlie, a miniature poodle, from a foster home about 2 months ago. I stuck with the dry food that the foster mother was giving him. Two days later I had to take him to the vet for a generalized rash he had developed and he was placed on steroids. The vet suggested it might be food allergies and I had also noticed that Charlie really didn't like the food I was giving him. So, I tried another brand's food for sensitive skin. It was a salmon and rice formula that smelled awful. The food gave him terrible acid reflux and he threw up a few times. Finally, I got the Blue Buffalo turkey and potato dry and canned food and Charlie LOVES it!! No more skin rashes or reflux. I highly recommend this formula for any dog who has stomach issues and/or prone to food allergies.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredients Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

My dog used to be sick, now he's better!

April 4, 2013
by clk0082
fromDallas, TX.
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My five year old dachshund began having health problems about two years ago. He was constantly getting ear infections, and would develop a strange rash on his inner thigh area which would turn into sores. We were spending so much money at the vet on ear ointment and antibiotics every month. I couldn't for the life of me figure out what was going on with him. Additionally, his coat would get very dull and have dandruff. I began researching pet allergies and found that these could all be symptoms of a pet with food allergies. (He was previously on a mid-grade food, or so I thought). After switching him to Blue Basics, ALL of his problems have dissapeared. We haven't had to visit the vet at all (besides regular checkups). I am fairly certain that his allergy is to wheat. I would strongly reccomend trying this food if you have a pet with allergies.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredients Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Awesome food!

February 1, 2013
by Melbag
fromCleveland, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
One of our dogs has MANY allergies, so its hard to find a dog food that she can eat. This product is great! They love it, and we can tell because at meal time, they both have their heads in their bowls. Their breath has completely lost all bad scents as well, which is just an added bonus. Its a little more costly, but seems like the best choice for our dogs.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredients Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

love love love

January 24, 2013
by brown28
fromSavannah, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My mini schnauzer and standard schnauzer love this food. It is easy on stomach for both of my babies.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredients Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Best diet available

January 13, 2013
by Douglass
fromKansas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Unfortunately we just found out my younger dog is allergic to most types of meat. We were so lucky to find this diet, as she is doing so much better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredients Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

FINALLY...A GREAT DOG FOOD FOR MY LAB!

December 11, 2012
by PacificNWLabLover
fromSeaattle, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My 14 month old yellow Lab, Aksel, had food issues from day one. Wouldn't eat the Eukanuba the breeder said to feed, just two bites and then he screamed to go outside and have explosive diarrhea. Tough start. Off to the vet and put him on I/D dry dog food, which worked, but I didn't like the ingredients - chicken by product meal, corn gluten meal, etc. YUCK! Find out, through many trials of different puppy and dog food, he is most likely allergic to chicken in dog food. Hard to find a dog food without chicken in some form. He ate Merrick Cowboy Cookout (beef based) for awhile, then they changed the formula and the protein was too high (he has a heart problem). Did a lot of research over this past year that we've had him and countless bags of dog food that went back to the store, too many to count. Decided to try the Blue Buffalo Basics Turkey and Potato for sensitive/allergies. He is doing really well on it! Still mixing in a little I/D until we get to 100%, but no more diarrhea and loose stools, he doesn't have gas, he likes the food, and his coat is amazing! Really soft and full. He isn't biting and scratching his feet anymore. I am appalled at the terrible ingredients in a lot of the dog food out there - ethoxyquin (sp), propylene glycol (antifreeze!), by products, meat and bone meal, artificial flavors and colors. Blue has NONE of that! Just good healthy ingredients. Yes, it is expensive, but so is everything else these days. I'd rather pay more money for a good dog food that I can feel confident feeding my boy. I highly recommend this food and the whole line of Blue seems to be great, across the lines. Good job, Blue Buffalo!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredients Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

AWESOME!!!

September 20, 2012
by GdogsMama
fromFarmington, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Our 11 yo shorthair had developed what turned out to be food allergies. After months of diarrhea and multiple visits to the vet, we figured out it was his food. The simplicity of the ingredients on This dog food cleared up his diarrhea within days! It has helped us salvage our carpets and given our dog is energy back! I can't recommend this highly enough.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredients Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Awesome Food

August 1, 2012
by Nolce
fromOakland, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My Silky Terrier has skin allergies to most items in many dog foods! When this food was recommended to me by a PetSmart associate I didn't know it was going to be this good! He has been eating it for almost a year and he no longer scratches his skin! It is an AMAZING food for dogs with and without food sensitivities! He really likes the turkey and potato flavor!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredients Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

February 20, 2012
by fg2000
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have a cocker spaniel that has suffered from allergies and ear infections over the years. She would constantly lick at her paws to the point of getting open sores on them. She had no energy and would sleep the day away. I have paid thousands of dollars in vet bills trying to figure out what was causing her skin conditions, ear infections, goopy eyes, scabs on nose etc. Within days of switching to Blue Buffalo Basics Turkey and Potato Recipe there was such a noticeable difference in my dog. All of the scabs on her nose disappeared, she hardly licks her paws anymore, her ear infection is clearing up (her entire ear canal was closed and is opening up again). She is almost 12 but acting almost like a pup again. She is up and alert most of the day now. I know it seems unbelievable, but it is true. I cannot recommend this dog food enough. It is more expensive, but what I think I may save in vet bills by feeding my dog this food over her previous dog food will more than make up for the price. And my dog loves it! Please do yourself and your beloved pet a favor and try this food if your dog suffers from allergies.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
1 2 next