PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck Dog Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck Dog Food

Blue Buffalo Wilderness is a high-protein, low carbohydrate food that contains a higher concentration of the delicious duck you know your dog will love. Inspired by the diet of wolves, true omnivores whose endurance is legendary, Blue Buffalo Wilderness is specially formulated by animal nutritionists.
Overall rating:
4.833 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
42 of 42(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck Dog Food
Review 1 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

Great food

March 10, 2014
by JayMig
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews
My boys love this and they are much healthier now that they are eating a better quality food.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

Great product!

January 22, 2014
by GusandBo
fromVirginia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 42 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Our Yorkies like your duck and sweet potato mix. They are choosey about the vitamin pellets but will eat them as a last resort.
Pros: high quality
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

great food for dogs with food allergy

December 30, 2013
by nunu
fromToronto, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews
my nunu is a westie mix, who's been having food allergy for 2 yrs. we tried different brands, didn't work well. his doc recommended to give him some food with duck recipe , so I found this one in petsmart, worked perfectly fine, his doesn't have his skin rash anymore. if your baby have the same food allergy, try this one then.
Pros: high quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

Great choice

December 27, 2013
by sancalgal
fromBoston, MA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 42 reviews
My black lab has been on a variety of dog foods over 5 years due to dry skin which may be caused in part by grains. Blue Buffalo was my third and final choice this year as we moved cross country and his prior dog food was not available to us. Then my #2 choice got recalled for potential salmonella. Dog food adviser showed comparisons that led me to Blue Buffalo. It is the best choice we've made. My dog loves the flavor. Our two dachshunds kept stealing his food, so now all 3 happily eat Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck flavor. The bits are NOT too big for the miniature dachshunds, to our surprise.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

Great for my dog

December 21, 2013
by Wyatt91
fromWashington, DC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews
This food is a blessing for my dogs digestive system. He cannot handle chicken based food, but this is the ticket.
Pros: digestible
Cons: price, smell
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

the best

December 17, 2013
by codyssister
fromTobyhanna, PA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
tried others, wilderness for my dog
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

Gone to the dogs

December 4, 2013
by Pistol
fromOregon
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews
The dogs love this food. I am not so fond of it myself. They like Blue Buffalo brand because they can switch from one flavor to another without transition mixing. Good product. Good for the dogs. However, the chicken flavor does give them serious gas.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

GREAT PRODUCT

November 22, 2013
by DEBRAR
fromToledo, Ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have 3 goldendoodles, one with an allergy. That is why we changed to Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck which is grain free. Since using this product, she has stopped itching and her white fur no longer has red spots on it from her scratching till she bled. It was too hard to separate the three for feeding, so they all are enjoying the same food. I wish you could buy it in bigger bags or get a discount for large orders. We go through 3 bags every 5-6 weeks and it gets expensive. But my dogs are happy!
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 42 reviews

All The Good Stuff!

November 17, 2013
by TCDSOCAL
fromSouthern CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I chose BLUE WILDERNESS after my 3 year old Shar-pei was ill and I suspected diet may have played a part. Although she loved the canned version, she didn't seem to take to the dry food. I will continue to try, but she does love the canned BLUE Duck with Chicken version. After researching online, PetSmart has the best prices and offers. Shipping and service was top-notch! I will order from PetSmart online again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

Great product

November 15, 2013
by Happy2013
fromLouisburg, Ks
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My dogs love the grain free Blue Buffalo duck and chicken. They eat less and coats are softer and brighter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

Duck dog food it;s the best

November 11, 2013
by Carmine
fromChula Vista, Ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My dogs love it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

Blue Buffalo the Best!

October 21, 2013
by FosterDad
fromCarolinas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews
Our 3 dogs and 37 fostered rescues are Schnauzers. Allergies lead to costly vet visits for shots and meds. We have tried all dog foods. Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck stops the allergies, shots and meds. Huge vet cost savings for us and dogs love the food. Plus PetSmart sales and free shipping allow us to stock up at reduced prices. The dogs win with top quality food and we win with savings on vet care and food cost. Thanks PetSmart and Blue Buffalo.
Pros: price, high quality, digestible, taste
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 42 reviews

Picky pup loves it

October 21, 2013
by ohan
fromTX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews
My rescue black lab/boxer mix has been a picky eater from day one. He had a case of mange when I first brought him home, so when the vet suggested high quality grain-free food to help with his skin and coat, I put him on BB wilderness large breed chicken formula. He was finicky about it, wouldn't really eat it unless I mixed it with half wet food, and he wouldn't really get excited about mealtime. Since he just turned a year old, I switched him to adult duck formula, and HE LOVES it. He actually gets excited about mealtime, doesn't think twice about eating, and licks the bowl clean. Guess he just didn't really like the chicken. He was always on the skinny side, and he's already put on a few good pounds since starting the duck formula. This food sometimes gives my pup gas, but I continue to feed him BB because it gives him great energy, good muscle tone, and makes his coat look like black velvet.
Pros: high quality, taste
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

Great and fast

October 8, 2013
by ozzydog3
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews
Easy transaction, fast delivery. Same price as driving to the store and buying without getting off the couch.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

Great For My Golden

August 12, 2013
by Anonymous
fromNC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I own a golden retriever and we hunt duck together now i can feed him what he catches for me. and he loves it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

Can't go back to other food...

February 26, 2013
by Husky5000
fromTexas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My Husky loves this stuff. I had someone watch her for a weekend and forgot to bring her food so I picked up a small bag. She loves it. It's great food, but a bit pricey. Only problem is she wont eat anything else now.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

I'm Impressed

January 31, 2013
by Br1an
fromCharlotte, NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Well I've had my 8 month Blue Pit Bull since he was 8 weeks, I started him on Orijen he ate it normally but didn't eat extra or more than the packet says feed him. Then I wanted to switch to something cheaper since he wasn't crazy about it so I bought Merrick which is another 5 star dog food, his teeth started getting yellow then and his farts were horrible lol, he didn't care for that either, he just ate it because he had to like the Orijen brand. Just yesterday I wanted to try the Blue Wilderness Duck, it's around the same price as the Merrick so I tried it. Gave him some when I got home, he smelled it and ate it, then he started sniffin the bowl like he wanted more, so I gave him 2 more cups, tore that up I was like hmmm maybe I'm on to something, he just ate 4 cups in less than 30min, he's only 65 pounds and he never ate that much so fast He only use to eat about 3 cups a day giving him 1cup 3 times with the other brands and here he eats 4 cups in less than 30 minutes, I would say he likes it, wouldn't you lol. WINNER, Blue Wilderness....after 8 months smh.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

Blue Buffalo Wilderness dog food is amazing!

January 30, 2013
by MrsA620
fromWinnebago, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Our dog is a rescue pet and when we first got him he was very thin and under-weight. The food the shelter was feeding him went straight through him. We believe in all natural food for our children, so why would we want anything less for our newest addition? After one week on Blue Buffalo Wilderness our puppy had gained 5 lbs, had more energy and overall seemed healthier. He no longer had runny stools, he seemed to be satisfied, instead of constantly looking in the food dish to see if there was more.
I would recommend Blue Buffalo to anyone. This product truly helped save my dogs life! Thank you Blue Buffalo, for making such a great product for our pets!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

My dog won't eat anything else!

January 27, 2013
by kartmom
fromTaos,NM
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Tried other grain free dog foods as they were cheaper but my weimaraner wouldn't eat them w/o me adding chicken broth. She gobbles this down like she's eating a real duck. She has a shiny coat and muscle definition like a body builder. I believe the high protein content of this food, the highest on the market, will lead to the longest possible life span for my dog. Evidenced based medicine proves a low carb high protein diet is best for humans why should it be different for my Weim.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

January 15, 2013
by Rtip
fromHigginson, Ar
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Both of my dogs had some skin issues, but no more since feeding Blue Buffalos Wilderness brand. Also Cosmo is pretty finicky but he always chows done on the Duck and Salmon flavors. Great food!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next