PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Albino Tiger Oscar Cichlid

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Albino Tiger Oscar Cichlid

Diet: Flake, Frozen, Spirulina Maximum size: 14" Water temperature: 72-82 degree F Swimming level: Middle Experience level: Intermediate Tank Setup: 40+ gallons, plus rock and/or driftwood Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price above for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 17
18 of 18(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Albino Tiger Oscar Cichlid
Review 1 for Albino Tiger Oscar Cichlid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Awesome fish

March 7, 2014
by Cujo0777
fromSC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I've owned my Albino Oscar for almost a year and is 8 inches in length and still growing . Her marking's are beautiful compared to when she was a baby. I have my Oscar in a 55g tank and is doing just fine . She also has an amazing personality as do many other cichlids that I have owned .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Albino Tiger Oscar Cichlid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

amazing

February 14, 2014
by jamesbirdliker
fromontario
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I rescued one that was 7 inches long and had a crooked spine so no one wanted him but I took him and now he is eating like a champ and I soon hope to get him a buddy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Albino Tiger Oscar Cichlid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Clay

July 7, 2013
by Clay3
fromCulpeper,va
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have three oscars in my 180 gallon aquarium and they are all awesome but I feed them minnows every other month .!!! O highly recommend this fish !!!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Albino Tiger Oscar Cichlid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

June 27, 2013
by Anonymous
fromSouth jersey.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Great fish, I love Oscars there my favorite fish... I went to Petsmart to get medicine for my other Oscar I had for 2 years, he was 13 inches... He was hand fed he was great. I went to look for something to give to them and my sister has 2 baby oscars in a bag... So I was kinda stuck with them. The other one passed a few months back, but this one I have now is great.. My other fish has 79 babies (there all in the same tank) the Oscar didn't even go after the babies. They do make great pets... But if you don't have the time and the tank I would not recommend this fish... I have her in a 55 gallon and I am looking to get another Oscar and I'm going to get a 75 gallon. However, they really are great fish. I love them!❤
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Albino Tiger Oscar Cichlid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

AWESOME CICHLID

June 23, 2013
by animalguy
fromJacksonville,FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My Albino Tiger Oscar is as big as my hand AKA: 8 inches. He never got in a fight with any other cichlids. He is actually kind of peaceful to be a cichlid. But most of the time they are semi aggressive-aggressive. But overall they are AWESOME fish. I definetly recommend this AWESOME cichlid. :)
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Albino Tiger Oscar Cichlid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Great personality and intelligent

June 5, 2013
by Boujii
fromCape May, NJ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a 4 inch albino tiger oscar with an medium red tiger oscar and a variety of other cichlids in a 300 gallon tank. As mentioned by others you need a pretty good filter system for these guys. The albino is the largest of them all. It seems to have an eye out for the bala sharks. Maybe because they are bright and shiny. It hasn't got them yet but chases them about. It gets along great with the other semi aggressive fish in the tank and even the few smaller cichlid that I have. I expected as he got larger my small yellow electric labs would have become a snack. But the smaller ones come right up to his mouth and nudge it and doesn't bother it at all. Although you can guarantee if one of the bala tried that or stayed still long enough it would be a different story.
It is very intelligent and I feed both the albino and red tiger earthworms by hand. They are always ready to greet with a hand out look saying "hey where's my food". None of the other cichlids have quite the personality these do.
Don't ever worry about left over food with these. The bottom feeders are lucky if they get anything when they are on the prowl.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Albino Tiger Oscar Cichlid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Best fish purchase I have made yet.

March 17, 2013
by coconutoreo
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I picked up one of these medium size for $12, and I am very pleased with it. This fish is very hardy. When the employee was fishing it out with a net, the fish jumped out the net and I caught it and put it in. The man asked if I wanted another but I decided to keep it and help it recover instead of the possibility of it dying. Later, when I acclimated it and left it for the night, I woke up to find it gagging on a spiny cory catfish. I had to do a mini surgery to pull the catfish out with tweezers, and after I finished that, I put the fish back in. It is now doing fine and is already eating voraciously. I recommend this fish but don't be fooled, it may look slow but it can easily chase down fish half its size and eat them
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Albino Tiger Oscar Cichlid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

January 2, 2013
by BraBra
fromHillsbrough, NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
These fish is alsome. It is cool to see him eat other smaller fish. Very friendly to the pacu,even though the pacu is bigger than him. Nice to other fishes. But grows big. A twenty gallon tank is enough for him.
-21points
4of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Albino Tiger Oscar Cichlid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Very Lovable and Lots of Personality!

November 26, 2012
by CrazyOscarFishGuy
fromOrlando, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I have two of these and they are currently 1.5 years old. They are territorial and produce a lot of waste so they live in a 135 gallon pond (72"x36"x12").
I have quite a few fishes but the Oscars are my favorite due to their personality and hardiness.
In terms of food, my 2 Oscars love pellets and fresh market shrimp. They get fed once every other day (this helps to keep the waste level down).
In terms of water maintenance, I do an approximate 40% water change every 2 weeks for my pond. I used to do that weekly when they were in a 43 gallon tank.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Albino Tiger Oscar Cichlid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

This fish is awesome!

February 29, 2012
by Johny111
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This cichlid is one of a kind. Easy to care for, you just need a aquarium 55 gallons +. This fish has a lot of personality, but warning they do get large (14"). So if you are planning to keep this fish please have the right size tank. My oscar personally does well with live plants. Another thing, have a very strong filter. They produce a lot of waste and are very messy eaters. Please do consider trying out this fish. :)
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Albino Tiger Oscar Cichlid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Amazing fish! I love these guys!

February 26, 2012
by LTCavaliers78
fromLake Travis, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
First off, Ive had many aquariums throughout my years and I must say these guys are amazing fish! I have three now, 1 albino and 2 black, and theyre about 10 inches now and they get along great! They are sort of lethargic when you first buy them because of new tank adjustments but after about a week they are so full of energy! Id also like to add that they get MUCH bigger than they are advertised I once had one that got to 18-19 inches and I had to have one of my buddies hold him for me in his tank while i got a new one! So just be prepared for a massive fish to be in your tank, I would start out with atleast a 60 gallon for one of them, I keep mine in a 120 gal tank and theyre fine. Its a bit of a challenge to find tankmates for them but with oscars you never know, unfortunately I havent been able to find a fish other than another oscar that will go in with my three oscars but like i said you never know. I feed mine rosy red minnows and Hikari cichlid pellets and it keeps there color really bright, I always get compliments on how beautiful they look.They are very intelligent and will remember their owner, I come home after my classes and they will immediately come to the front of the tank, I also found it interesting that they will let me pet them on the head, that has never happened to anyother fish Ive had so it suprised me. I clean the tank about twice a week just to make sure it stays show-quality but you could get by with bi-weekly cleanings. Thanks for reading, hope this helps!:)
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Albino Tiger Oscar Cichlid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

January 26, 2012
by petable
fromtx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
beautiful and fun to watch
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Albino Tiger Oscar Cichlid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

best oscar

January 8, 2012
by jcchick
fromgeorgia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
this is the best oscar fish ever. i have made it nip my finger and it feels pretty good
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Albino Tiger Oscar Cichlid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Very social fish!

July 21, 2011
by Bryce
fromPennslyvannia,PA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I love these fish because they are large, and highly intelligent. If you're persistent enough, you can teach your Oscar how to do tricks such as jumping or even going through hoops! Oscars have colorful personality's so don't always expect to get the personality you want. The only problem is that they get large and belligerent enough to harm or eat their tank mates. They seem to ignore fish if they are introduced at a young age, but for the most part they prefer to be kept with other Oscars. So as my last words that I have to say about these fish are that they are a "must get fish!"
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Albino Tiger Oscar Cichlid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Albino Tiger Oscar Cichlid

June 11, 2011
by Flemming
fromcalifornia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have 2 albino tiger oscars and one reg tiger oscar they out grew there 28 gallon home so there new home is a 75 gallon aquarium
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Albino Tiger Oscar Cichlid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Incredible fish

June 22, 2010
by koste
fromCleveland, OH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The albino oscars are unique fish. they are entertaining; they always like to greet you when you walk in the room. they are a little aggresive so be careful; NOT A COMMUNITY FISH.
but are really relaxed with there keeper after a while. you can even touch them!!!!! overall great fish but be sure you do your research first about them.
Pros: greets you as you walk in, can touch them if desired
Cons: haven't found one yet
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Albino Tiger Oscar Cichlid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Great fish

March 31, 2010
by AngieR
fromHome
Would recomend extra filters and nothing smaller then a 75 gallon. They grow way to fast to do the "Ill get new tank as it grows". Just buy the tank first then the fish. Save money, easier to take care of too.
Pros: its like owning a wet puppy.
Cons: very very messy., cant keep in anything smaller then a 75.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Albino Tiger Oscar Cichlid
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product