PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Marina Slim Power Filters

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Marina Slim Power Filters

With Bio-Guard filtration Ultra quiet operation Instant start system Compact design
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 11
10 of 12(83%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Marina Slim Power Filters
Review 1 for Marina Slim Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Silent

September 23, 2013
by rrf81
fromAbbotsford BC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Have had the s20 on my 15 gallon for about 2 month now. The filter runs completely silent. It is very easy to change out a filter cartridge or two, when needed. Very pleased with this little filter.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marina Slim Power Filters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews

Mixed Blessings

September 1, 2013
by DennSedai
fromPhiladelphia, PA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
The filter's price is good, so are the prices on the filter pads.
Sadly, it clogs very easily. When I finally cleaned the main filter tube recently and replaced it, it stopped working. I've had it for barely six weeks. So I can only say that I'm extremely, extremely unimpressed.
I've spent over an hour now trying to get it to work, with no success. Thankfully I still have the old filter that it replaced and I'm going to use that for now and I'll pick up replacement filters for it tomorrow. Over all I'm rather unhappy and I expect that I'm not going to be shopping much anymore for fish or fish products at Petsmart.
Pros: easy to clean
Cons: hard to clean, didn't work
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marina Slim Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

GREAT FILTER

January 10, 2013
by awesometankmaster13
fromquarryville,pa
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
i bought the s10 a few months ago when i still had a 5 gallon.[ i know have a 20 gallon]. it works fine, for a 5 gallon, and if u have a 15 gallon the s15 would do wonders, but if u have a 20 gallon tank, i suggest u buy a bio-wheel. but for the 5 gallon i had it did awesome. its easy to set up, works great, and has great quality. its also super quiet. also, its cheap, and so is the media. in the end, buy it unless u have a 20 gallon tank.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marina Slim Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

Great for price

November 22, 2012
by FishAddict
fromOntario, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
This filtre was on the cheaper side of what GOOD Filtres normally are.. but I have to say... considering it was only $21.99, it was an easy buy and i got it 50% off so that makes it even better! :D the lid shakes just a little bit from the motor, but I just put an elastic around it an it's quiet as a mouse! :)
Pros: works great, easy to install
Cons: hard to clean
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marina Slim Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Good filter

November 11, 2012
by mygoldfish
fromVancouver, BC
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
I have this product over 2 yrs ( 10g). It's so easy to use, I mean to chang the filter,just slip them in and out that is easy. it slim and have see throught plastic insert, you can easy to check it and easy to clean, the filter just $4.99/ 3pac (before), now price up to $5.99/3pac, but still affordable.
one reason is : it's looks not really powerful, sometimes it can not suck in the waste, they just flowed away. But anyway, I have couples messy goldfish and I can't expect this little slim power filter does every things for me.
Still recommend this product. Easy use, easy clean, no much connet that's mean never leaking, cheap and quiet.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marina Slim Power Filters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews

Filter is easily clogged

August 5, 2012
by KrysK
fromHamilton, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews
I love how slim this filter is, it easily fits between the tank and the wall, which I like. I also like how the current can be controlled. I have a Betta in the tank so gentle flow is important.
However, with the sponge section of the filter on the outside (It sits in the tank and is an eye sore) It does not do its job very well and debris tends to be sucked into the filter and get clogged in the intake, and with the sponge on one end and the other end going into the filter, I have to take the whole filter out and take it apart in order to clean it.
I thought this filter would be great when I bought it but it is difficult to clean and easily clogs.
Pros: easy to install
Cons: hard to clean, didn't work
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marina Slim Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

Good Filter

March 18, 2012
by Pheonix
fromNH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
I use this filter in my tank after hearing how you can change the flow of the water. My betta had such a hard time swimming and I always felt so bad for him. But now he can swim fine and can even go right up to where the water comes out and stay there.
The only problem is that the valve that controls the flow came off after awhile. But I fixed that with a rubber band. And just to warn you this can be a challenge to clean.
Pros: works great, easy to install
Cons: hard to clean
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marina Slim Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Great product!

February 29, 2012
by BettaBettaBoy
fromCumming, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
A few weeks ago i was reading these reviews and i decided to go get one of these for my bettas. This has a padding around it so small fish can't get sucked in. What really made me want this was the ability to reduce or improve water flow. Mine is set to just alittle more than medium and its not affecting my two female bettas. This works great for fish like bettas up to cichlids and goldfish. ( with regulating water flow of course ) :) The reason it does not say the gallons per hour is because it can be changed.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marina Slim Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

One of THE best!!

July 12, 2011
by ecrz1992
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Since this product had little reviews I was a little skeptical of buying it. But WOW this filter is amazing! It takes little space and I love how the actual pump is in the water and it has a sponge to gather the beneficial bacteria. Also this pump is ultra quiet that I sometimes think its not working until I get close to it...I barely hear it at night! I highly recommend this filter to anyone with a 10 gallon tank that wants to to get an awesome filter for such a great price!!! Its great for Bettas too since you can regulate the water flow
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marina Slim Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Great Filter

July 3, 2011
by RSCK
fromFredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Have had other filters in the past. I am currently getting these for all my other tanks and future tanks. These you do not have to worry about the power going out and having to siphon the pump. Self priming as the pump is in the tank. No more burnt up pumps when the power goes out. Also from a fish breeder you do not have to purchase the filters. My self I get scotch bright pads and cut to same size of filter and install. Remove one, rinse, and replace a week. the next week move to the next one. I use different color pads so I just write down what color I did instead of remembering what position the filter I did. I use the S20 even in my 10 gallon tank. I have no issues with ammonia and have healthy and profitable fish :o)..
I had issues with my tank at first and talked to other breeders and was advised to do this with the scotch bright pads as this keeps the benefactress bacteria in your tank. Other wise you are depleting your tank every time you change your filters. Thus putting stress on your fish. GREAT Product.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marina Slim Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

More like an internal filter.

May 6, 2011
by jessicabc
fromBC, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
There aren't any other reviews for this filter yet. Before buying it I tried to find some and it was pretty hard, so this review is for anyone else that's trying to find some!
I just set this filter up today, I have it as some extra/back up filtration on a 25 gallon tank.
I've tried a bunch of other filters and aside from the Fluval internal filters, I think this one is a favorite.
It's quiet-it does have a little hum but it's very bearable. No rattling or vibrating, none of those annoying sounds. The motor is inside the water so it's more like an internal filter that way-most of the sound is muffled nicely.
It also comes with a sponge over the filter intake which is great-an extra spot for beneficial bacteria to grow, and helps prevent little fish or longer fins from getting sucked in. I normally cover intakes with pantyhose but I don't need to with this one.
Overall I'm very happy with it. Only thing is I don't think I'd use these filters on a larger tank unless there's another filter. The box doesn't say how many gallons per hour, I would recommend going up a size for your tank. I think the s10 would even work well in a 5 gallon tank, the flow is adjustable so you can adjust how much current there is from it. On my 25 gallon I turned it down about halfway.
Hopefully it holds up and stays quiet for me, I'm very pleased.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Marina Slim Power Filters
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product