PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Ball Python

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Ball Python

For ages 12 & up Can reach approximately 60"L Can live 30 years or more Carnivores Solitary Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.74 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(96 reviews) 90
90 of 96(94%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Ball Python
Review 1 for Ball Python
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

Love him!

March 14, 2014
by Chasta
fromSt. George, UT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I gained the ability to get a snake about a year ago, and decided on a Ball Python after doing some research. Checked out all the stores in the area and the ones that had the best care were found at my local PetSmart, so I got one of theirs. They were well taken care of, well-fed, lovely scale quality, and overall quality snakes. As I was handling each one, the staff member helping me told me each individual personality of all the boys as I dealt with them and even pointed out the one that had a tendency to strike. Got my boy Fenrir at about 8 inches long and now, a year later, he's pushing 2 1/2 feet and the only problem I had was that he got picky after 3 months and decided he wouldn't eat unless it was live. This is quite common with these guys, though. He's very friendly and greets me with a bop to the nose with his.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ball Python
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

BPS are amazing!

February 19, 2014
by ladybyrd
fromMesquite, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have two and want more!!! One of mine is about 4 ft long and 1000 g right now and the other is a baby (2ft long about 100 g). Docile and sweet. Be ware though, if you get one, you will want more and then you will get curious about the morph bps and want them too!!!!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ball Python
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

Amazing.

February 9, 2014
by BamC
fromSt. Catharines, ON
What is your gender?F
I'm hoping to purchase a ball python soon. I went into Petsmart and held their ball python. He was so friendly and docile. Definitely an A+ pet! :)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ball Python
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 96 reviews

horrable

February 5, 2014
by cloechloe
frombillerica mass
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
got it a month ago i've only tried to hold it 4 times has plenty of food but still friend to constrict me
-26points
2of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ball Python
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

GREAT PET

January 28, 2014
by wewerwers
fromBelleview, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
awsome pet I can already hold her whenever I want she is so cute. she wraps around my arm and explores the cave I bought for her. I named her Lady. This is day 3! =D
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ball Python
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

January 8, 2014
by Ayden111
fromFresno, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I really recommend ball pythons. They are extremely docile and never bite.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ball Python
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

loveable pets

January 6, 2014
by daddysbuddy
fromarkansas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I purchased my ball python in may of 2013 at petsmart. I never had any problems with my snake. He eats very well, loveable, lays around my neck while doing chores, loves baths, and has never BITTEN no one!..Very well tempermental with everyone!...Love to have another one from petsmart...hopefully a female..haha...so he can have a girlfriend...lol......but, overall...I encourage anyone to go to petsmart for a great ball python!...
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ball Python
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

I recommend Ball Pythons!

December 25, 2013
by Spike20
fromRaymond, NH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have a Ball python named Spike. He is absolutely amazing and really nice and tame and I can handle him all the time! He has NEVER bit me or the other owner! I just love handling him because he allows me to pet his head allot. I 110% recommend Ball pythons as your first/ new snake :)
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ball Python
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

Absolutely Wonderful

December 7, 2013
by PaigeE7
fromRochester, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got my ball python from a Petsmart in Kanas about two years ago. My experience there was wonderful. I had spent a few months shopping around for the "right" python, as well as one that was active and healthy.
When I wandered into this Kansas City store after moving there, I was greeted right away and received great service from a young man who was clearly passionate about animals. This level of personal attention surpassed what I found everywhere else.
I picked my particular python because he had a very "inquisitive" manner about him, if that can be said for a snake. He was always stopping and looking around and very alert - he wasn't the fastest moving or the biggest one - but he was the right one for me.
His name is Tungsten, and he has since become a bit of a famous python among my friends. Even those who were once afraid of snakes are now happy to see him. Ball pythons are known to be docile and would rather hide than bite, generally speaking. Taking your new friend out often to socialize/handle him only emphasizes your connection and keeps them tame/gentle.
I would definitely recommend this animal to someone interested in owning a snake. Ball pythons are slow moving and don't "sneak" about like other smaller snakes. They also have a very gentle/shy personalities, making them much less likely to ever strike and MORE likely to become eager for time outside of their tank being held. Also, the adorable button eyes.
If you are SURE that you can commit to the long life span of a ball python, I would probably recommend this as the best starter snake or a snake for a child who is gentle. I also think this is the best pet snake for a child whose parents are still nervous about having one in the house because they are so calm compared to other snakes - ball python owners know what I am talking about.
Tungsten has made many people happy, especially me. Thank you Petsmart for my wonderful friend! He has a very enriching life now, is an eager eater, and has become a real part of the family.
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ball Python
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

PetSmart Pythons are excellent.

November 1, 2013
by PetCareEmployee
fromAuburn Hills, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
As a PetSmart pet care employee, i have the opportunity to love on all our babies, furry, feathered, or scaley, and i can assure you that our Ball Pythons are excellent creatures. In my store, we love on all of our animals to ensure that they don't give their pet parent a hard time after adopted.
As long as your hands are clean, you move slow so not to frighten them, and are patient with them, they'll warm up to you. you can't rush a python, they work on their own time
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ball Python
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 96 reviews

Do not buy this product.

October 19, 2013
by RachelManchesters
fromFL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got one of these recently. Ive had one before and they are a terrible pet. At least be 18+ when buying one. I had one before and it was amazing. The ones at Petsmart are very angry and mean. But i bought one in Asia and it was very tame and nice. Ive took it to the vet and the vet said its okay. Ive took this snake to the vet about 4 times at different vets but they say its very healthy. I recently bought another Snake from Petsmart and still the same problem. Ive changed foods, cages, ect. I have no idea. I try diffrent mice all the time and feed it all the time. To much to handle. Also, the other day i was sleeping and heard a slithering near my bed so i woke my husband up and he said the snakes out and when he went to pick it up it bit him. So we put locks on the cage and it still happends. But we dont wanna get rid of them so my aunt is taking it to someone in Alaska.
-65points
5of 75voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ball Python
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

Ball pyhtons are amazing

September 30, 2013
by Conanthesnake
fromEdmonton, AB
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought my snake, Conan, July 17th 2013, and he is absolutely amazing! Great to handle he comes out about 5 times a week except when digesting or shedding. He is a great eater and has great personality. Absolutely amazing for beginners :)
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ball Python
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

My snake arrow

September 23, 2013
by Arrow
fromRoswell ga
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My snake is vary social and loves to come out of his cage.He is so sweet and love to slither around.I got him a year ago and he has grown so much.there were no problems.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ball Python
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

Perfect snake

August 31, 2013
by snakelover777
fromCA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I got my first ball python (Optimus) about a year ago now. He is an amazing eater and very calm. He will not miss a feeding day though. I hold him nightly, except after feeding, and he just slithers around very happily. I would highly recommend this snake to any new beginner because of how easy they are to handle and take care of.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ball Python
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

feeding

August 9, 2013
by monster25
fromfort montgomery ny
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
monster is a good snake but when I go too feed no body comes to help me so I am all alone too do it and I know my family is scared of him its like there going too have to touch him or something but I always tell them I will do the touching part but no help just all alone.
-15points
2of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ball Python
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

Buy It!!!

July 13, 2013
by PetLoverJosh
fromFL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I just got mine on July 12 2013 I love her/him (cant tell yet) she is very nice and curious if you love snakes get one they're amazing!
+19points
21of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ball Python
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

Amazing Snake

June 29, 2013
by Ballpython83
fromtexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I Bought a female ball python and i named her Athena. Athena is a wonderful pet snake! The employee told me she was aggressive. I decided to give her a chance and i took her home :) A week after i had her, I tried feeding her. She ate it right away! She is in shed right now. Athena hasn't bitten me since i have had her. I would recommend a ball python to anyone out there who wants a pet snake.
+23points
26of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ball Python
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

June 27, 2013
by dudewithsnake
fromJersey City, NJ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got my ball python today and he's a totally chill snake. I grabbed him out of the carrying case without him being aggressive. He's just a bit curious and always moving around.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ball Python
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

Amazing Snakes

June 13, 2013
by bunnyxx1
fromWest Valley City, UT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got my lovely Ball a few days ago for my 13th birthday. They are the sweetest snakes. Honestly way better then the Garter snakes I've caught in my backyard.
My snake loves to be petted under it's chin and the top of his head. He'll curl around my wrist or my neck, and he loves wrapping around the humidity and temperature thermometers. He loves slithering through my hair also. They have wonderful personalities too. Mine hasn't bit me once. Wonderful snakes, I plan on getting another in the future. (:
+29points
33of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ball Python
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

Hydro

June 7, 2013
by daniellehydro
fromMt. PLeasent
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Greatest snake ever! He was cute and corky he loved to kill the mice then throw them in his water bowl then eat them after they soaked in there for about 20 min then I had to change his water, but that's ok. Great snakes I recommend them!
+1point
10of 19voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next