PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Bahaman Anole

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Bahaman Anole

For ages 10 & up Communal Insectivores Hails from a tropical environment Diurnal Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.222 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 17
15 of 18(83%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Bahaman Anole
Review 1 for Bahaman Anole
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews

Good to know

May 13, 2013
by nonactive
fromphiladelphia,pa
They hold up for a year than sit around and hide all day. I suggest dont get one if they digest to much its a pain getting it out of their mouths. :) :(
-16points
3of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bahaman Anole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

February 25, 2013
by billy101
fromcompton, ca
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
amazing big healthy animals should sell them 4 100 dollars ay least the color is amazing
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bahaman Anole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

nice

January 28, 2013
by daniobettaexpert
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
they live long and dont require lots of care but they are interesting to watch
+14points
18of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bahaman Anole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Awesome lizard

January 28, 2013
by Woohooreptiles09
fromFirestone. Colorado
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I love these lizards they are pretty amazing. I have 2 right now.its not rare that you see these guys well at least mine,flapping there red skin.these lizards are easy to take care of. They are in my fourth 10 gallon.overall great and easy pet.
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bahaman Anole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Good beginner lizard

November 23, 2012
by sam29
fromNew Brunswick, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
They are VERY quick and VERY smart! Mine has escaped once and was very difficult to catch but if you make sure your tank is secure then they are great! Very active during the day and a lot of fun during feeding time! Great little lizard to learn with!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bahaman Anole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Wonderful pets!

July 13, 2012
by anolegirlgracie
fromDelta, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
mine isn't mine its my sister's but we just got him today, he has beautiful coloration on his neck flap. His name is Dragon. He is a male. All they need is a daytime light, a nighttime light, a spray bottle filled with FILTERED water, a water bowl filled with FILTERED water, a few plants, bedding, and very small crickets. Spray them with the bottle twice a day. I also have a female Green anole, but she is from the mason dixon fair. But I recommend these for beginners.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bahaman Anole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Good pets

July 12, 2012
by Dodobird13
fromOrlando,fl
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I live in Florida so I can just go outside and catch these easily.there really fast and jumpy especially when there babies.As they grow up there easier to take care of. They are less jumpy and a little easier to take care of.Great for beginners
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bahaman Anole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

Good

May 28, 2012
by ReptileMan528
fromSalt Lake City, UT
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought 2 of these guys to put in with my green anoles. They were cool, but slightly aggressive.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bahaman Anole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

good pets

March 3, 2012
by lorski
fromalbuquerque new mexico
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
they are good pets and your really only should have one male per cage but if you have more then one male then i mean thats okay but there may be more violence in your cage but if you only have one light and say two males then that would not be very good because males need some Domination so if you had one light and two males then you would need two lights so every male that you have you need a light for every male and green and bahaman anoles can have up to three females each so if you have two males then you would need six females
+7points
14of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bahaman Anole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Big Red

September 8, 2011
by MrJC445
fromOntario
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Big Red was a great pet, I recommend it for starters, and anyone who wants a cool lizard, whos active, and attractive, I could hold mine!! He was awesome
+15points
24of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bahaman Anole
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews

ok

January 6, 2011
by fishy1999
fromW
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
these are great lizards but over priced. well i guess most people can't get them free from family. but the care sheet doesn't say they should have flying insects. a moth every now and then is great exercise and they love them. these lizards are great pets and can be held
Pros: con
Cons: non
-4points
9of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bahaman Anole
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews

Good Easy Pet to take care of.

December 2, 2010
by Anpetlvr
fromMiddleburg, PA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
An anole is a very average pet for me. It is very easy to take care of, does not eat much, and it is fun to feed. Although I think they are very boring mine hardly moved and didn't interact much at all. I was neat if you would give it live crickets though because it would run around with its mouth wide open.
Pros: easy to take care of, doesn't eat much
Cons: boring, no interaction
+7points
18of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bahaman Anole
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews

Houdini

October 30, 2010
by Reviweist
fromBoston,MA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Got a Bahaman anole for my little brother and we named it Houdini for a reason. When it was in the container that they put it in at petsmart for you to take it home, it wasn't moving at all. So we opened it up and petted it to make sure it was alive, on instant it jumped out of the container and ran into the living room and hid in our heater! We had to block off holes for pipes that lead down into the basement and push Houdini out with a pencil (we caught him eventually). This is a look no touch kind of pet, it's nearly impossible to pick it up or even touch it.
Pros: you can look at it -.-
Cons: can't touch, can't hold, super fast
-10points
4of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bahaman Anole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Bahaman Anole

August 21, 2010
by Lizard228
fromBiloxi, MS
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Bahaman anoles are very cool to look at and to play with. Most people say they bite and it's not good to hold them, but myne has NEVER bitten me and she likes running around my hands. I think that bahaman anoles are easy to care for and are GREAT picks for new reptile owners. A few more things, if they turn really dark or blackish looking, that means that they are stressed out and will ussually not eat, so I don't think it is cool when myne turns black and sits there like some of the other reveiwers do. females like haveing a male in the cage with them. dont put 2+ males in a cage together, they will litterally kill each other.
Pros: easy to care for inexpensive and playfull
Cons: none really
+13points
19of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bahaman Anole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

July 17, 2010
by piggirl
fromnj
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i had a single green anole in the cage but we felt like he was lonely so we decided to get another one but when we got to petsmart they only had the bahaman anole at that time but we decided to get it anyway it outlived all our other anoles (soon after the green anole died and we replaced it with another green anole) it even outlived the new one he was very fun to watch and exciting unfortunetly he got a fungus o his mouth and died but he was a wonderful pet and if you travel a lot and want an anole i would recommend the bahaman anole over the green anole
+12points
19of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bahaman Anole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

Cute but No Touchy

May 20, 2010
by HorseAngel
fromJacksonville OR
How many pets do you have?5 or more
I got a bahaman Anole about a month ago. He is very cute and I love him to death but he seems to be a look don't touch little guy. He is very cool looking and can change color really cool but is very skittish. If your worried about crickets don't be its not that hard to get over that fear. He is a good begginer lizard if you don't mind not playing with him also be prepared to spend around 60 bucks. Just something to keep in mind they are cheap but it still adds up. Very cute though.
Pros: cute, cool looking
Cons: skittish/look no touch, set up does cost but what setup doesn't?
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bahaman Anole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

Brown Anoles Are Cool To Look At But...

December 27, 2009
by PetOwingIndividual
fromPennsylvania
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
They can be very aggressive. Brown anoles can follow the same rules of care as their cousin the Green anole, but only one thing should be left out, handling. Female brown anoles are much more aggressive than green anoles so males are only worse. Owners should not house brown anoles and green anoles together because the brown anole will bully the green anoles during feedings and over basking spots etc... I have tried this and it did not work out. Both of my green anoles ended up dying, but my brown anole is still alive. Brown Anoles are great to look at due to their unique patterns, shades of brown, and colorful dewlaps, but they should not be handled at all. For example, during one of the routine cage cleanings, my brown anole attempted to bite me, then proceeded to jump out of the cage, run across the table, down the wall, and across my bed where i then fought to catch her, yes I typed it her. She did loose half of her tail in the process but she is still going strong. I do not recommend brown anoles to amateur lizard owners, or children, just to experienced lizard owners who know what they are doing and then some. These unique specimens are great to look at but not so great to handle. Update: the hand to lizard contact during cage cleanings has dwindled down to me scooping her up in the container I bought her in. It takes about 10 minutes between her running, jumping, and climbing but it works out and we havent had any problems using this method.
Pros: great to look at, cool designs
Cons: a bit aggressive, will not hesitate to bite you, not for amateurs
-3points
6of 15voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Bahaman Anole
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product