PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Sand Boa

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Sand Boa

For ages 12 & up Reaches up to 40"L Docile & rarely bite Solitary Carnivores Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.857 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Sand Boa
Review 1 for Sand Boa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 7 reviews

Wonderful!!

February 25, 2013
by AmberJ2
fromGarrett, IN
I get to pick my Boa up on Thursday, his name is Sherman. I am so excited to get him home! I've been in the store multiple times since i first met him, holding him and getting to know him and i dont even like snakes. But Sherman is the best little guy you could ever meet.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sand Boa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 7 reviews

August 31, 2012
by BOBOA
fromWV
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
WE GOT OUR SAND BOA BO ALMOST A YEAR AGO.HE HAS BEEN A NICE ADDITION TO THE FAMILY.TOOK HIM A BIT TO EAT,BUT NOW HE IS UP TO RAT PINKIES.HE'S NEVER BITTEN ANYONE,DOESNT SHY FROM OUR DOGS AND ACTUALLY WATCHES TV.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sand Boa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 7 reviews

June 6, 2012
by blazesowner
fromarizona
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
i got this like2 months ago and i just fed her today so cool this is the first she dragged the mouse under. by the way her name is Blaze. easy to car for does not bite has not bitten me before. reccomend to any person any age
+2points
14of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sand Boa
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 7 reviews

Best Boa for All!

August 26, 2011
by FallNinLuv
fromAB,Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My Sand Boa's are great! They are not only one of my most favorite snake breeds, but probably one of the best reptiles I keep! PetSmart rarely has them (at least where I live), but I snatch 'em up whenever I have the chance! There are many different sorts of Sand Boa's (Kenyan, Rough Scale, Persian, Saharan and more...), so proper care is based on whichever sort they are! (Ex: Rough scale prefer small enclosures to feel more secure- usually no more than a 10gal, or 20,10,12, for both male/female)
Down-Sides: Love to hide. You won't see them climbing and scavenging during the day as they're nocturnal- not diurnal as some may believe. They require high temperatures. They should be kept separately, never in the same enclosure. Have a specific range of temperatures. Cannot withstand high humidity. More difficult to feed pre-killed prey.
**Any creature with teeth can bite and sand boas often do. They are more apt to bite than many snake species, but only when provoked. Don't mistake this wondrous snake as a monster. All they require is respect. To help prevent yourself from being bit... (1) when entering the enclosure to handle.remove the snake identify it's position carefully by moving substrate with chopsticks. They have a 3inch pounce-range around their head where they will strike in any direction . They have small serrated teeth, and a painfully powerful bite. (2) To pick them up, do so from mid-body. Do not grab the tail. They are also naturally head-shy. Pet scales lightly before grasping the snake. (3) Please don't make sudden movements... They will either frighten, or persuade to strike.
Up-Sides: Stay's very small. Very handle-able. Easy to store! A 10gal for males, and 20gal for females... simple! They have awesome pounce techniques! Unique in appearance. NOT venomous.
Recommendations: I wouldn't recommend this snake to children, as they can be a hazard to the health of your snake and the snake to the health of your kid. Also I would not recommend this snake to beginners, though it certainly can be done! One of my most FAVORITE pets of all time! They are friendly once you get to know them! ...I swear on that ;)
+17points
31of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sand Boa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 7 reviews

great pet

July 23, 2011
by boaman
fromStuart, VA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Sand Boas make great pets. I currently have one, Sandy. Sandy has never bitten me and is a great eater. She currently eats frozen thawed pinkie mice. Sand boas do not require much to be healthy and happy. Even though they are called sand boas they may climb if something is provided.
+13points
17of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sand Boa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 7 reviews

Great pet low price!

July 9, 2010
by Mark1561
fromRockford, MN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
They are great pets and never bite. They are the easiest snake to care for all they need is sand, water and heating/lighting. The most you will spend is $250 and that is very cheap for a reptile.
Pros: everything
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sand Boa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 7 reviews

December 22, 2009
by petboysmom
fromlos Angles, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We got our sand boa, Sandy, a year and a half ago. He is a great first snake for my animal crazy son. Sandy is very calm and has never bitten. He eats frozen mice well with no problems. He has not had any sheddig problems. The tank set up is pretty cheap beacuse you don't need special lighting. The under tank heating pad provides plenty of heat. All that is needed in the tank is aspen bedding, a water dish and a hide box filled with moist paper towels. My son loves his sand boa.
+9points
16of 23voted this as helpful.