PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for African Aquatic Sideneck Turtle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

African Aquatic Sideneck Turtle

Ideal for children 12 & up Lives approximately 30 years Omnivores Diurnal Enjoys basking Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.905 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 20
19 of 21(90%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for African Aquatic Sideneck Turtle
Review 1 for African Aquatic Sideneck Turtle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Cute turtle

August 18, 2013
by Dabballking
fromWeston,fl
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This turtle is soo funny just looking at it will give a good laugh as soon as I got it it wanted food unlike most turtles when you first get them he also when I put him in started to explorer the tank and digging in the sand I would recommend this turtle to anyone
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for African Aquatic Sideneck Turtle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

I LOVE THIS TURTLE!!! CUTE, KIND, FUN TO RAISE!!!

July 13, 2013
by turtlegal
fromAthens, WI
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have an African Aquatic Sideneck Turtle named Bruno. He was shy for the first few days. Whenever someone would walk past the tank he would hide in his shell and not come out until everyone was gone. If you want your turtle to get to know you, you must be the one to feed him and clean out his tank. That will teach him that whenever he sees your face or smells your smell something good will come after, like food or a clean tank. Now whenever he sees me he pops out of his shell and comes to the front of the tank(Like the picture below). The only thing that is not the best about this turtle is his eating habits, he eats as many as 8 fish a day almost every day! You must keep his tank full of fish and to avoid over paying for fish at pet stores you could go to the local bait shop for cheap, nutrient-full live fish. Over all this turtle is good for older, more responsible children. It never bites(on purpose) and is easy to care for as long as you have the right equipment. NOW GO BUY AN AFRICAN AQUATIC TURTLE TODAY!;)
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for African Aquatic Sideneck Turtle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

BEST TURTLE EVER!!!!!

May 28, 2013
by turtlelover2
fromDuansburg,NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This turtle is fun energetic and is cool to watch.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for African Aquatic Sideneck Turtle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

AMAZING!

March 17, 2013
by TurtleLover123
fromNorwood,PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I got my turtle two years ago and she still brings me joy everyday! I am so glad i decided to get this type of turtle! I hope you decide to get this breed of turtle. I am sure you will noy regret it.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for African Aquatic Sideneck Turtle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

I love my Sideneck! Amazing pet, and very friendly

March 7, 2013
by ChrisRC
fromSan Antonio, Texas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I first got my turtle for my 16th birthday from my girlfriend.... Which was last year, at first he'll seem shy, but in a couple of weeks, he'll love you. He eats fish, worms, shrimp, superworms, crickets, and the floating sticks. Whenever I walk by, he sits at the side of the aquarium and stares. The favorite thing in his tank is THE LOG! Make sure that you get a log for him to hide in. He goes good with other turtles, and the water level should be kept low, since they are bottom dwellers and cant swim well.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for African Aquatic Sideneck Turtle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Love my turtles

March 5, 2013
by Tigerlily78
fromMuncie, Indiana
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I originally got 2 turtles for my niece and nephew but I ended up getting them back due to their over curious cats. I got them at a discount because I also bought the starter kit, food, and heater. I have had them for 5 months now and I love them. They are so adorable and are very easy to handle and maintain.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for African Aquatic Sideneck Turtle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Really cute and nice

December 31, 2012
by TurtleGuy1423
fromPA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My sideneck is named Eragon and I have had him for about a week or two now. He is real cute and fun for us to watch. I highly recommend these to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for African Aquatic Sideneck Turtle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

great animal in health, happiness, and temperment

June 26, 2012
by geckolove27
fromGurnee, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
my sideneck turtle has been behaving with my other turtles, eats well, and seems very active and happy. i recommend these things for your new sideneck turtle!
1. 40 gallon tank
2. minnows, crickets, and reptomin floating food
3. gravel or no bedding at all
4.floating turtle dock big enough for him
5. live plants
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for African Aquatic Sideneck Turtle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

thumbs up!very cute little critter

May 9, 2012
by coors
fromsanta ana CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
it is a very good pet and i like them a lot.
they are very good for children 10+.
i hope you enjoy your turtle.they eat a lot of food.
no matter how much you give them they eat it all
so be careful.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for African Aquatic Sideneck Turtle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Fatty.

November 13, 2011
by Tr0l0l
fromAshland, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got my female Sideneck about two weeks ago. I was looking for an extremely small turtle, like a slider, but they're apparently illegal in Ohio. She was too fat to turn in the box they put her in on the ride home and she was scratching it, (trying to get out), the entire time. The first week she completely hated my guts and just kind of hid under her basking rock, that she still refuses to get onto. She eventually learned that no matter how much she hid she was going to be staying, so now I can't walk into the room without her running to the side of the aquarium I'm at.
But seriously, she's such a fatty. No matter how much food I give her, she eats it all. I could give her the entire bottle of turtle pellets and she'd eat them all.
-10points
4of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for African Aquatic Sideneck Turtle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

i love our turtles

October 10, 2011
by spikeandtank
fromboston, ma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
we have two turtles and they are so much fun. everyone thinks that turtles are stinky and hard to clean up after, this is not true. i would recommend a canister filter for your tank, the water stays clean longer. if you clean the filter once every two weeks or once a week (our case for having two turtles) the water will stay nice and clean for the little guys. having a big (so the turtles won't bite him) placo in the tank is also benefitial.
my two turtles are very curious. they love to bask at night with their little arms spread out, its so cute. and when i get home they run out to greet me. they love to eat and will even eat from my hands. turtles like any pets take time but they are so worth it. i love them!
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for African Aquatic Sideneck Turtle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Amazing.

August 10, 2011
by Ugly217
fromDecatur, IL
What is your gender?M
I've had my sideneck going on 22 years now. Spectacular turtle, great tank mate, great eater. She does get fat from time to time but it helps to keep them alive during winter months when appetite slows down. Super tough turtle, she's been through some bad conditions but never flinches. I hope to have her for another 20 years, she's been a good friend.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for African Aquatic Sideneck Turtle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

My African side necked turtle

November 19, 2010
by flyersrock
fromPhiladelphia, PA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I am 13 and I got my African Side Necked turtle for my 7th birthday. I am guessing she was a year old when my dad bought her for me. She is a funny turtle who will follow you around in her tank if she sees you, and will look at you for a while. She sometimes runs over to me or swims over hoping for food. She is very entertaining to watch when she is eating but gets scared when she sees something hit the water. Like most african side necked turtles she has a smile on her face. She lives with my brother's female Red Eared Slider. They fight over the basking areas so not a good mix but they are good pets.
They are called African Side Necked Turtles because their natural habitats are obviosly found in Africa, and their heads don't fit in their shells so they put them in sideways.
Pros: fun to watch, interactive
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for African Aquatic Sideneck Turtle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

This is the perfect pet turtle

November 13, 2010
by turtleperson
fromScranton, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is the perfect turtle for beginners. It stays small, and has an awesome little personality. Before long it will start to recognize you and it will eat out of your hand (just watch your fingers). They are not messy, nor do they smell if you know what you are doing. Get a good filter, and take them out of their tank if you are going to feed them messy food. Keep the tank clean and give it a good basking area, and the shell will never develope any slime.
Pros: great turtle
Cons: i only have room for one
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for African Aquatic Sideneck Turtle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

A wonderful addition to our family!

October 13, 2010
by Jennnnn2u
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We got our Arican Sideneck about 1 month ago and we absolutely love her! She really friendly and has even started eating right out of our hands. She has the cutest little face and she is so much fun to watch. Her little ungraceful way of swimming makes us laugh because her little turtle legs and arms splash around. We're so glad that we got her.
Just be careful not to overfeed them and be sure to clean the cage with a net every day. If you overfeed them they will start to stink really bad. We learned that the hard way but once we figured out why she was smelling and we quit feeding her so much, she doesn't stink at all.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for African Aquatic Sideneck Turtle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Personalbe and qwarky!!

August 20, 2010
by pandaluver89
fromRancho Cucamonga, Ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've had my turtle for a while and he is great! Loves to dig in his rocks, lay under his waterfall filter and sleep all laid out on his basking rock. He always looks like hes smiling, which is nice when i come home tired after a long day. He is part of the family and should be treated that way! Adopt wisely turtles deserve a forever home!!
I found out the hard water stains come off with diluted vinegar...hope that helps with cleaning.
Pros: active, friendly, likes exciting suroundings
Cons: cleaning
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for African Aquatic Sideneck Turtle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

AMAZING!

July 9, 2010
by Stefaani
frommanzanita, or
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I absoluteley love my turtle! The picture shown here is nothing like them. Their skin is green and looks like leopard print sort of. The shell is a really pretty reddish brown. I've had my turtle for exactly 6 months now and i don't even know if he is eating the food i give 'em. What do they like to eat is what i'd like to know. But overall, these turtles are the perfect match if you're looking for a shy easygoing pet. My turtle, Donny, has a rock hut thing and he is in there all the time. When I get home in the afternoon i find him out and sticking his head out to breathe.I think that they are scared of noises though, and that is why they always hide. Alo, i have never actually seen him eat!
Pros: nice and quiet
Cons: shell gets slimy
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for African Aquatic Sideneck Turtle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

June 14, 2010
by NicholasB95
fromWI
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
i got this turtle 3-4 days ago and he is very shy. I am having trouble getting him to eat but i think i am going to let him settle n for a couple of days and then try and feed him. he is very interesting an loves to sit at the top of the water and stick his head out (pretty much all he does). he is very pretty to unlike the product pic. make sure you review this turtle before you buy it.
Pros: interesting, fun to watch
Cons: none
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for African Aquatic Sideneck Turtle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Excellent Turtle

May 2, 2010
by RoxyBabe28
fromPasadena ,Maryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This turtle is a very friendly and laid back turtle.
and i find them TO Appear nice looking rather than the red ear slider.
I have had my turtle for 3 years now , they are messy but want reptile isn't they need there cage cleaned at least once a week.
I plan on buying another one soon:)
Pros: laid back and adorable
Cons: a little messy
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for African Aquatic Sideneck Turtle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

turtles

April 21, 2010
by mike2510
fromFitchburg,MA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
this turtle is a regular turtle in all but the part that people don't like is they are not the same looking as other turtles. I say a turtle is a turtle. GO OUT AND BUY THIS WONDERFUL PET!
Pros: messy
Cons: not that pretty
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 next