PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Red Eared Slider

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Red Eared Slider

Ideal for children 12 & up Lives approximately 30 years Omnivores Diurnal Enjoys basking Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.726 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(73 reviews) 67
71 of 73(97%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Red Eared Slider
Review 1 for Red Eared Slider
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 73 reviews

awesome pets

January 23, 2014
by bigpacu
fromCentral Florida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
16 years ago I got a couple red eared sliders for my daughters birthday. She loved them but in the end I always end up taking care of her pets. lol But I don't mind since i love them too. They were little hatchlings about the size of a quarter. Be prepared because they grow up fast. First they lived in a small turtle bowl then moved to a 10 gal tank. They out grew that quickly and moved into a 30 gal tank. Well after about a year, they went from a 55 gal. to a 150 gal. tank! Until finally, I put them in a small pond I made in my from yard and there they have lived for about 10 years now. Since I live in Florida, they stay out there year round. (Only bring them in if there is a freeze warning). They are happy to be in the sun and I love they way they come to the side and start splashing when I go to feed them.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Red Eared Slider
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 73 reviews

RES are the best!

December 14, 2013
by ExtremeFish
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My turtle is a female that we've had for about four years! We only have her in a 10 gallon aquarium and she's done fine. But she is very shy and doesn't like humans very much. ): But since we've had her in our family for so long and love and care for her a lot I gave her five stars! I see these other peoples comments and hope yours will turn out like most of theirs! Also, don't have RES fish mates, you probably already know but their prey. Our turtle waited for the fish to die out! She's veyr intelligent.
+6points
12of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Red Eared Slider
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 73 reviews

December 2, 2013
by coalc9
fromohio
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
red eared sliders are great pets mine is5 years old and is ginormaus
0points
8of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Red Eared Slider
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 73 reviews

Great Pet!!

August 8, 2013
by ShaTheZooKeeper
fromCA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have had my red eared slider for almost a year and he is fantastic!! Red eared sliders make great pets! They're very messy though. A good filter is a big must! So is a big tank. My turtle absolutely loves going out side, so I take him outside 4 times a week. Also RES have a interesting diet. While they love lettuce worms and crickets; there many other things they'll eat. Mine loves hard boiled eggs ( just the white part not the yellow) mine also loves chicken, papaya, shrimp, and little fish. Turtles make a great addition to any family :)
+25points
32of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Red Eared Slider
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 73 reviews

what a great little friend

August 6, 2013
by eddiott
fromlevittown, pa
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
we bought a RES, he is a male, we named him " red shellton " and while he was quite small when we got him ( runt of liter ? ) with the good foods sold by petsmart he has grown a 1/2 in size within 3 months. we have him in our kitchen and he watches everything we do and is as smart as a whip, looking forward to finding him a friend because we think he's getting lonely ( maybe even get a female ) and breed them, always wondered what and how that was done, have seen hatchings and they are as small as your thumb, great pet, perfect 1st pet for a child but always wash your hands after handling them ( just to play it safe ) and make sure water is clean & treated with reptile conditioner.
+13points
19of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Red Eared Slider
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 73 reviews

I LOVE my turtle

August 2, 2013
by Maddie2716
fromMN
I have a RES named Jimmy he is great! They don't smell and a super easy pets. They are also pretty cheep! All I have is a 10 gal tank from my friend, a swim dock, and a filter. My turtle doesn't have a light because of all the natural light in the room he is in. He is a great pet as is super easy to take care of.
+7points
13of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Red Eared Slider
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 73 reviews

I love my turtle

May 26, 2013
by thisismynickname
fromIndianapolis in
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I love my turtle so much. The most important thing is HAVE A GOOD FILTER.
+13points
25of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Red Eared Slider
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 73 reviews

jarod and murphy

May 1, 2013
by jamie124353
fromarizona
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i love these little guys im 14 and my mom bought me 2 of them :D there names are jarod an murphy they do not bite they are very awsome fun to play with and very very active when awake although i have a male and a female i did not know that when i got them tell i did some research about them online if u have a water turtle or two u may see one is bigger or smaller than the other the smallest 1 is a female the largest 1 is a male i have a red sided and a yellow sided water turtle i love them very much they are just babys though and they may have babies every 5 years the have about 30-45 baby turtles and they do not barie them in sand they carey them on there backs wierd right? yes it is the babys will be barley visable but they are really cool and i hope you or ur family enjoy your turtles :D
+34points
39of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Red Eared Slider
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 73 reviews

Thunder and Lightning

April 2, 2013
by Amazing1234
fromOrem, UT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got my baby, Lightning, when I was 10, and have had her for about two years now. Just recently, though, my friend gave me my male, Thunder.
I've heard males and females fight, but mine get along just fine.
They're living in a kitty pool right now, with some cleaned bricks and fake plants to crawl on, a lot of room to swim, a filter/waterfall, and they LOVE feeder fish. If you get one, I suggest you get fish as big as it's back leg to eat. I also feed them some special pellet mix with shrimp, mealworms, and the pellets. They love it!
+32points
38of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Red Eared Slider
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 73 reviews

Good for older kids and fun to watch

March 21, 2013
by Becca667
fromGa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have had my RES for a month now and he's pretty cool. I would not recommend a RES for younger kids because they don't like to be held and can bite. But for older kids and adults they are amazing pets and fun to watch. Although I think mine hates me >.<
-2points
13of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Red Eared Slider
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 73 reviews

LOVELY PETS

March 4, 2013
by MonopolytheTurtle
fromSan Diego, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The red eared slider turtle is an amazing pet and fun to watch hunt fish. The only bad thing is the cleaning the mess left behind gets in the filter.
+3points
10of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Red Eared Slider
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 73 reviews

Red Eared Slider

February 17, 2013
by Kreviw
fromSauk Rapids, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
First off RES females get about 12" or larger and males get about 6"-9" sometimes larger. Do not buy if you are not willing to commit. RES can live up to 40 years if taken care of properly. They need both UVB/UVA lighting, basking dock, filter that filtrates more then what sized tank their in, a good diet, and big habittate(get the largest you can buy.) I have two RES I love them dearly. They both have a bold amazing personality. I have had them for almost a year and it was truly the best thing I ever invested in! Yes they can be a lot of work when it comes down to cleaning the tank but its totaly wurth it.
+16points
22of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Red Eared Slider
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 73 reviews

RES L<3VE!

January 28, 2013
by Shadowestrada
fromHenderson, NV
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I love my baby! Her name is Jordyn! She loves to bask! She is also a little piggy when it comes to eating! I would recommend them to all future turtle owners. I love watching her in her natural environment. Buy one if you want a fun pet.
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Red Eared Slider
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 73 reviews

Awesome pet

January 23, 2013
by Shua
fromColeman, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Found my lil Squirtle about 3 years ago hanging out in my moms backyard. Put him in my 75gal tank with a tropical community and he has been fine ever since. He isnt as sweet as some others turtles seem to be, but he lets me and my children hold him, and has never tried to bite anyone. He has escaped twice, both times after changing the tanks water and refilling the tank to full. Great pet to have and both my sons (3yrs old)(2yrs old) love to watch him as he swims and eats.
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Red Eared Slider
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 73 reviews

Great and Healthy turtles!

January 22, 2013
by ChristaMarie
fromPennsylvania
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We have always gotten animals and accessories from Petsmart and we have 2 red eared slider turtles and they are wonderful! Very healthy, bright colored and alert!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Red Eared Slider
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 73 reviews

My little Timothy!

October 19, 2012
by KaiKai217
fromColorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
The Red Eared Slider is my very first pet that is indeed a reptile. He is fantastic! I love him so much. :) If you really do want an almost lifetime friend this is it! But be warned, they love attention. :)
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Red Eared Slider
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 73 reviews

Great Pets

October 13, 2012
by TurtleGuy
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have 4 Red Ear Slider turtles (2) males (2) females and just love watching them in their big natural looking habitat. They each have their own personalities and are great with each other. They love to bask and swim. Yes they are a little messy in the tank but that can be fixed by purchasing a nice external canister filter. Now I only clean the tank once a month (still do weekly water changes). These turtles are great for any beginner .Here is some general advise for a beginner: If you consider in purchasing a RES turtle remember purchase a large habitat first ..... 10 gallons per 1 inch of the turtle. This will save you money in the long run. Females can max around 10-12 inches. Males are smaller and can max around 7-8 inches. Also purchase good lighting, They require UVB bulbs and a heating basking bulb. You are also going to need a heater for the water. Filtration is most important and think of it this way the bigger filtration you get the less work you have to do in cleaning your tank. I learned all this by picking up a few turtle books. They are great pets and everyone who comes to my house just loves watching them. Enjoy!
+36points
36of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Red Eared Slider
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 73 reviews

love my turtle

August 16, 2012
by grayndrob
fromnc
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
ive had my res about six months i love him he is not at all afraid of me and keeps me great company. I do haft to clean his tank at least once a week but i recommend using caribsea substrate i had no idea you could use bedding for these guys def noooo gravel they'll eat it but the caribsea protects there shell and keeps the tank looking better you can get here for like 12 bucks def worth it!!!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Red Eared Slider
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 73 reviews

Great Pet

August 16, 2012
by Shirl61737
fromOld Greenwich, CT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Myrtle, our 15+ year RES is a cherished pet. Bought at the size of a 50-cent coin at a NYC street fair by my 8 year-old granddaughter, now 21 years old. Started out with a 30-gallon tank and now into a new 75-gallon tank. She needs every bit of that size tank and has a sizeable basking area for her 12+ inch body. She's big! Had her checked out by a Banfield vet and she's amazingly healthy. Sometimes difficult to find new foods to feed her. She likes the Hikari Krill along with fresh meat, veggies and fruit. We clean her tank once a week and have two Tetra 401i filters in it. It's good to know that because she's so healthy she should be with us for many more years.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Red Eared Slider
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 73 reviews

I JUST LUV MY BABY RED EARED SLIDER TURTLE!!!

August 3, 2012
by bettaluver247
fromWashington D.C
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
WONDERFUL PET! Mine allows me to handle him for a couple minutes and just loves his attention. He is so playful and active. I did not purchase him from Petsmart but the store associates help me pick out the right products for him to have. I just LOVE my turtle! Great for anyone, Low maintenance, Inexpensive to take care of. I just love him!!! :D :)
+27points
29of 31voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next