PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Russian Dwarf Hamsters

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Russian Dwarf Hamsters

Active at night Ideal for children 10 & up Social within the same family High energy level Lives up to 3 years Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.56 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(150 reviews) 147
131 of 150(87%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Russian Dwarf Hamsters
Review 1 for Russian Dwarf Hamsters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 150 reviews

Perfect little angel

March 1, 2012
by Hieywiey
fromBaton Rouge, LA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
They do not bite, they will respond to your voice if you train them to, and they are smart!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Russian Dwarf Hamsters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 150 reviews

Best Hamsters Everrrr

March 12, 2014
by TerrifiedOfHamsters
fromIllinois
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My room mate bought a Russian Dwarf hamster and my boyfriend and I decided it was adorable so he bought me one. I am TERRIFIED of hamsters because of my past experiences with my evil little albino hamster that I had while I was a kid. She is adorable and so sweet, she's only bitten me once but it was a stupid reason. Then my room mate bought a Robo Dwarf since her Russian hamster passed away and her Robo one is evil. So everyone get a Russian one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Russian Dwarf Hamsters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 150 reviews

love my hamsters

March 8, 2014
by missgooeybear152
fromCA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i have 2 hamsters of these and they are awesome their names are gooey bear and miss nibbles they are so adorable u should get these right now i'm playing with them but they fell asleep
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Russian Dwarf Hamsters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 150 reviews

Hamsters can be with other hamsters

February 10, 2014
by calihoula
fromrayville mo
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I got 2 russian dwarf hamster almost 3 years ago. They were two males and not related to each other. i bought them and put them in their cage together. they loved each other and slept together. i lost my one goobie 6 weeks ago to old age. broke my heart and other my hamster lonely for him. i went to petsmart and got 3 more males all from a different cages. Was told once again that they would fight and kill each other. Put them in the cage with my other hamster and all four sleep together and eat together and love each other very much. Say they can't be together well my can and do. Say that based on WHAT..did that lady at my petsmart own hamsters and put them together like i have? To sentence them to a lonely life is not right.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Russian Dwarf Hamsters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 150 reviews

Cute Pets!

January 14, 2014
by Nicki123
fromSan Marcos, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I got my Russian Dwarf, Boris, 2 days ago. When I went to the store, I was nervous because all breeds of the hamsters bit me enough to draw blood when I tried to "get to know them". The pet store associate told me he wouldn't grab any of them because they bite, and that they're not hand tamed, so I was a little skeptical. But with the 14 day guarantee, I guess I couldn't go wrong. After doing research after I got home, I let him be for over a day in his new home (a 10 gallon glass aquarium, works out great!) and the next day I tried "tub training" because he still bit a lot when I reached into the cage. I read that they can be territorial and if you take them to a neutral area, like an empty bath tub with the plug in, of course, then they may not react so harshly and will give your hand a chance. It worked! Boris barely nibbles on me now both in the tub, and in his home. Give them a chance, it may seem rough at first, but knowing how to tame them and what they need to be happy will help a lot. I wouldn't recommend them for under the age of 9 or 10 though. It takes a lot of patience. I love little Boris, and you can love your hamster too!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Russian Dwarf Hamsters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 150 reviews

dwarf hamster

December 29, 2013
by allyboomystic
fromottawa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
i had my hamster for 3 years and he was my best buddy
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Russian Dwarf Hamsters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 150 reviews

so cute!!!!!!

December 28, 2013
by petowner739
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I loved my dwarf hamster he was so cute.But he didn't live long.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Russian Dwarf Hamsters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 150 reviews

Cute but...

December 27, 2013
by Hola
fromOttawa
I did love my hamster (he passed away recently) but he didnt like getting picked up and he slept all day. It was funny though because when he was mad he maid this face. But like they fight with you for you NOT to pick them up. But they are extremely adorable! Get another kind of hamster for young kids, i read reviwes on this one and its very tempermental!
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Russian Dwarf Hamsters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 150 reviews

Great Pet

December 16, 2013
by Hammythepig
fromVa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Our 13 year old bought one of these little guys for a pet. We all fight over who is going to play with him even months later. He is cuddly, you can hold him in one adult hand and he isnt trying to escape. I can even lie him on his back and rub his belly. We can put him down on the floor and he just walks around (well supervised of course) We are not spending the whole time chasing after him. He is awake and using the wheel every night, and sleeping most of the day. But we are heavy sleepers so we dont mind his activity.
We also give him little hampster treats, so when we approach his cage or get some out, he comes to see if we have something good for him.
His name is hammy but because he crams so much in his cheeks I lovingly call him pig.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Russian Dwarf Hamsters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 150 reviews

My Hamster Frosty...

December 14, 2013
by hamsterluver0813
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a Russian Campbell Dwarf Hamster named Frosty. He is a male hamster. He is adorable!!He is my sweetest hamster ever!! He never bites, he always licks you whoever you are, he only nibbles and it tickles, and more (etc)...... I recommend this for a first time hamster owner. I also recommend winter whites, syrian, and chinease hamster..
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Russian Dwarf Hamsters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 150 reviews

hamster

December 3, 2013
by mgarc49
fromtx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
awww
the little hamster is so cuteeeeee!!!!!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Russian Dwarf Hamsters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 150 reviews

Kinda a Mistake...

November 22, 2013
by Chrome123
fromYorkville, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This hamsters are the cutest thing in the world to me. I got two black ones, Teddy and Bear. They're very calm, but there are reasons to go for other ones. Mine get ticked off at me for no reason, so I can barely take them out of their cage, and when I do I do it with the igloo. Personally I liked the Winter Whites a LOT better. They were so nicer to me, and more calm. Overall, I recommend Winter Whites more than Russian hamsters.
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Russian Dwarf Hamsters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 150 reviews

Why r u reading this get this hamster now!!

November 17, 2013
by Centralbud
fromLondon, Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
These little hamsters are the greatest pets in the world! They are amazing for kids, teens, adults and seniors! My hamsters, sal and poivre, are the greatest. They don't bite, they aren't afraid of you, they are fast on their wheels though, you could be at petsmart right now picking your hamster! Most toys also are too small for teddy bear hamsters (syrian) but they are perfect for dwarves! GO GO GO NOW!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Russian Dwarf Hamsters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 150 reviews

5 stars

November 16, 2013
by animalgirl10
fromil
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I love these hamsters! They are not for begginers tho.My russian dwarf hamsters name is Squirt and he is great! just please dont put these guys in crittertrails, their way too small.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Russian Dwarf Hamsters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 150 reviews

I love my hamster

October 20, 2013
by Chihuahualuver
fromLousiana,LA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Russian dwarf hamsters are so sweet I love mine so much!I highly recommend getting a Russian dwarf hamster they love to cuddle,play,and love to be with they're owner.my hamster did bite me once when he was scared,but once I tamed him he was so loveable!he now falls asleep in my hands and responds when I call his name.i think everyone should get a Russian dwarf hamster.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Russian Dwarf Hamsters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 150 reviews

best little pet ever

September 28, 2013
by beagleluver
fromontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
omg, these are like the best pets ever. ive got an albino female and shes the best! im thirteen and take care of her myself, but be prepared to clean! they arent esecially smelly or anything, but cleaning cages is never fun;), useful hints: never, ever, EVER play with ur hamster without cleaning hands with soap before. they seriosly are going to think ur food cuz they can hardly see and rely mostly on smell. also, never (and i mean never;)) hand feed her/him. cuz even if u dont smell lilke food theyll think ur food. i went through this with my hamster. it didnt rally hurt, i wasnt bleeding or anyting serious, but its upsetting to be bitten by something u luv;) oh yeah, and dont let it to wander around outside cage without ball. i was really dumb first day i got her and she climbed under couch and it took a while to get her out. well, hoped i helped!
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Russian Dwarf Hamsters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 150 reviews

Amazing Pet!

September 17, 2013
by Wasabilover
fromThe Universe
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Yesterday I got my russian dwarf hamster from Petsmart. I was at first very sad when I entered because I only found syrian hamsters. (I hate how big and fat they are. They also need more teeth care.) I then looked and found a cage that said "Fancy Russian Dwarf hamster." I was really happy until I saw the hamster inside it. It was a orange and white small hamster with... RED EYES!!! RED EYES! I was sad but I found a worker and asked to see the hamster. She opened up the mini igloo and inside was the cutest hamster. She had dark gray fur with a black line down her back and a white stripe on her tummy. She is so sweet. The lady let me hold her and she was so sweeet and sniffed my Mom and my hand. SO I bought and went back home. She is a very tame and calm hamster. I tamed her today. It only took 5 minutes! After that if I put my hand in the cage she would climb on my arm and sniff around. I would recommend this product to anyone who wants a small, cuddly and easy to care for pet.
+14points
17of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Russian Dwarf Hamsters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 150 reviews

My new pet: Sparky!

September 1, 2013
by Nora6350
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got this kind of hamster yesterday. I love him. Hes already getting used to me. Great Pet.
-5points
9of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Russian Dwarf Hamsters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 150 reviews

Pretty Good Pets!!!

August 12, 2013
by crokid99
fromNew Haven Ct
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I love my russian dwarf hamster! She is sweet and nice. But she bites like crazy I didnt get to tame her so. But otherwise there are pretty cool pets.
+10points
15of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Russian Dwarf Hamsters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 150 reviews

okay-ish

August 8, 2013
by crazypets123
fromontario, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have 2 but they fight all day 24/7 1 female 1 male . they said they would get along fine but they don't so we had to buy another cage :( . I just wish they would get along. :(
-8points
9of 26voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next