PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Short Haired Hamster

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Short Haired Hamster

Active at night Ideal for children 8 & up Solitary High energy level Lives 2 to 3 years Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.821 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(95 reviews) 94
93 of 95(98%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Short Haired Hamster
Review 1 for Short Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

GREAT

March 13, 2014
by JGH1011
fromNC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
These are perfect pets! I do recommend ordering a Wodent wheel because they are the right size for your little baby and will not damage their backs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Short Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

Great Starter Pet

March 8, 2014
by Goldfish101
fromSan Leandro, California
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a syrian hamster named Sparky. I love him so much he is tan and white and is very sweet he never bites and he likes to be held. he also likes to play with me toward evening when i get home from school
I highly recommend this hamster
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Short Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

Super sweet

March 3, 2014
by HammyLuver2014
fromIndiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
He was so sweet never bit me I loved him I would play with him in the tub and had hours of fun. He was my 4th hammy.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Short Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

Best pet for anyone!!

February 26, 2014
by Hamletbandit
fromMilton, NH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
I just got my long haired hamster I call her hamlet bandit, she is very smart, and she loves her wood chews and at first she was an escape artist, but in 2 hrs as long as I've had her, she is the sweetest little bundle of joy! I hope to have a long time with the hamlet bandit!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Short Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

AMAZING PETS!!!!!

January 27, 2014
by Pumpkinthehammie
fromSome where in this world
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
These little fur balls are a big bundle of joy!!! I got a short haired syrian hamster a week a go (on Saturday it was a week) OMG I love her to death, she is already tamed, and loves to be held! I would definitely recommend this for any seeking hamster owners who would want to hold their hamster. These hamsters are so cute just make sure you have lots of chews because they love chewing. Also make sure you wash your hands before you hold them because if your hands smell like food they will nibble on your hand. Hope this helped have fun with your hamster!
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Short Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

Very Cute and Intelligent

January 27, 2014
by AbubbaDee
fromSt. Catharines, ON, Canada
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The Habitrail Retreat is a very good cage for these hamsters. Be careful, though, because my hamster is smart enough to open the door of the cage and escape.
I used a paper-clip as a "lock." Very cute and intelligent little animal, I use Vitakraft Menu food for my hamster.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Short Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

Adorable

January 27, 2014
by Midna1214
fromNV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this hamster 3 years ago almost 4 and it's still going strong, it has never bitten me. It has escaped twice but we found it in a couple of hours. I feed mine ecotrition food he won't eat any other. I named mine Rhino from the movie bolt because he's brown and has a white tummy like in the movie, he also had short hair. Make sure you hold your hamster for at least 5 min everyday they will soon get to know you and love you, I absolutely love thus hamster! :)
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Short Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

January 26, 2014
by Lauren1
fromTaylor, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
2 weeks ago I brought home the cutest hamster. We named her cuddles. She is so friendly, if I put out my hand she will climb into it. She also loves to climb around in the tubes. Love her!! Hamsters are the best pets ever.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Short Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

Best Pet Ever!!

December 29, 2013
by elizar0404
fromAlexandria, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I just got my hamster Mickey about two weeks ago. I got a long haired which is almost the same as a short haired, she is the cutest most wonderful thing in the world. Mickey is very nice and hasn't bitten once! I would definitly recommend this hamster!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Short Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

AWESOME

December 27, 2013
by kpink
fromloiville,ky
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
They are sooo sweet and cute. if you give them the right amount of love they will love you soon
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Short Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

Great Pet!

November 29, 2013
by KatieL16
fromNE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I purchased my Short haired Syrian hamster 3 weeks ago. I fell in Love with him and named him Wasabi. I have so much fun playing with him everyday. Hamsters are Antidepressants with a heartbeat. You will love your syrian hamster!
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Short Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

so cute :)

November 29, 2013
by molly2988
fromNew York
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Last month i got a female short haired hamster named peach. she is so cute and is already bonding with me. they are so nice and NEVER bite unless they are in a bad mood. It is so fun to watch these hamsters play and interact!! Every morning my hamster peach LOVES it when i feed her cheerios strait out of my hand. :)
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Short Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

amazing

November 7, 2013
by BentheStig
fromwichita kansas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i love this animal it was so energetic and was so cute. Irt would run around in its ball and snuggle up against e when I was sitting on the floor.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Short Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

Theo is the best !

October 30, 2013
by Theothehamster
fromKentucky
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I love this hamster. They are so nice and fun. When we first got him , he escaped and was in our vents. DO NOT PUT THESE HAMSTERS IN BINS. Easy to escape from. We found him and he is amazing. BUY THIS HAMSTER
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Short Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

great pet for kids & adults

October 10, 2013
by KellyAnne
fromPierre Part, Louisiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We have 2 Golden Syrian Hamsters in our family, Runner and Tunneler. (I love the names kids pick!) My kids, ages 2 & 7, were able to hold their hamsters in the car on the way home from the store! They are extremely friendly, playful, funny and are much more amusing to watch then Television!
Essentially hamsters are clean animals and enjoy having toys to play with and a clean cage. I clean their cage every 4-5 days since there is 2 in 1 cage. I haven't noticed a smell coming from them or the cage but since I clean it quite often that might be why!
Make sure their wheel is large enough for them. Their backs should be completly straight.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Short Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

Love her, she is an ESCAPE ARTIST though. lol{=

October 8, 2013
by Lotus
fromcalifornia,LA
such a sweet heart named her Oreo since she is black and white, she loves to chew thinking about breeding her.
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Short Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 95 reviews

Sweet Girl, Screamed at Me all the Way Home

October 4, 2013
by BabiJaiGotHerFirstHam
fromPennsylvania
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
So, I got my sweet little hammy girl a few days ago. She is my first hamster. I've had a guinea pig before her from Petsmart and I have two dogs and one cat. When I first opened her box in the car she yelled (squealed) at me the whole way home. I named her Sydney and she loves her wheel. As far as I can tell she is pretty happy, a little skittish. My advice to all buyers is to get a house for your hamster because I learned too late that they need a little house.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Short Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 95 reviews

cute! fun to watch.

September 25, 2013
by Megan2014
fromUtah
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I bought her Saturday, shes super cute but very skittish. She would freak out when something came near the cage and shes really large as in shes fat. Shes come a long way since then. I can pet her and hold her for a minute before she freaks out. I hope she doesn't get any bigger because I'll have to get a new bigger cage. But she wont take any treats from me yet. shes cute and fun. the short haired hamsters are a lot of clean up, but worth it. she looks exactly like the picture.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Short Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

September 23, 2013
by funsize
fromst.helen
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
its the best hamster ever you will never change your mi nd because its awesome its easy to take care of.
its super slow so it can run around all over. you better take good care of yours.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Short Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 95 reviews

god but problems

August 28, 2013
by puppiesforever123456789
fromohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got my hammy Monday its cute and friendly all white and spots on its ears but it has overgrown teeth but I have lots of chews but my snowball might have bumble foot I hope not hes so friendly and loving hes only bit me once since I got him but my guardian got bit twice trying to get the water bottle out of my cage.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next