PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Fancy Rat

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Fancy Rat

Very social Ideal for children 8 & up Will enjoy a cage mate Intelligent, can learn tricks Lives 3 to 5 years Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.86 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(157 reviews) 152
154 of 157(98%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Fancy Rat
Review 1 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

Amazing

March 7, 2014
by Maak
fromMadiosn, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have two male rats and they are the loves of my life. They are so sweet ,smart, and curious. I am planning on getting more. I've had no problems with bitting or agression. I've had small children play with them without problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

AWSOME!!!!!!

January 27, 2014
by Kcggggg
fromCO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I've Had rats for a while.I first bought 2 girls, Emma and Ash, and got a third one, lucy, about a year ago. Yesterday I got 2 boys.Im only 11 but im hooked on the playful little guys
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

Best Pet

January 8, 2014
by Gabe1234
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I love my rats. I would seriously suggest getting males, simply because they are just big, lazy loves. I've had mine for 8 months and have only regretted it briefly this morning. I've been limiting their food because they're getting chubby and they peed in their food bowl as retaliation. Thank goodness they're adorable and thus easy to forgive.
I'd seriously suggest finding a vet who's experienced with rats, ask your local rat rescue who they use. I've had to go three times, twice to get mite shots (only $24 overall for both rats) and once by choice for neutering.
Also, definitely spring for a Ferret Nation. I just ordered one today, simply because cleaning anything else is a nightmare. AND DO YOUR RESEARCH. These are incredibly rewarding pets, but also pretty labor intensive. They need lots of care and love.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

Depends on where you buy

December 31, 2013
by TheWorgenator
fromorange, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have bought three rats from Petsmart, one lived out his full three years of life no problems, and the other two are very sweet and very well behaved.
It depends a lot on which Petsmart you buy them from-Different employees can really affect how the animals behave. Ask if they handle them before you buy one, make sure you really get details about the care they gave them before buying one.
That said, I would recommend petsmart rats, provided they were responsibly handled.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

Great!

December 20, 2013
by iceowl
fromLawton,OK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
I got two females a few days ago.
Got them settled in their cage and a few hours later they are climbing around and happy.
I been slowly petting them and talking to them they are very curious and only a few days into one has already let me hold her and sat on my lap very content.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

I <3 RATS

November 27, 2013
by momo44028
fromHueytown,AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My friend has rats and i was kind of scared of first,but then i held one of her rats and instantly loved them!So ,hands down, I tottaly recomend a rat!
0points
8of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

Amazing Pet

November 11, 2013
by VicRose
fromOntario, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
When I went to PetSmart, i had my mind set on getting a hamster but later decided that a rat was the better choice and I was sure right. She is very friendly and is very well behaved outside of the cage. She has never bit me but id watch out because their nail are pretty sharp! I regret only buying 1 rat while at the store, but i plan on getting another soon!
If you cant decide between a hamster or rat, go rat!
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

rats are the best small pets

November 10, 2013
by KatieF
fromAlexandria, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Almost two years ago I adopted two male ratties, Snoopy and Nibbles, who instantly became the lights of life.
Besides being extremely cute and smart, rats are very smart. They were able to learn their own names and will chill out on my shoulder while I was hanging out around the house. Sometimes I would hang out with them on my bed and they would explore under all of my blankets. After waking up from a nap I could always find one of them curled up against my neck fast asleep.
tl;dr BUY RATS YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

i love my rats

October 30, 2013
by Custmer
fromMicminnvie, OR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
rats are SO good pets I keep them bizzy I love them so much I have two there girls
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

Love Rats!

October 27, 2013
by Kenzy
fromNH
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I never knew that rats were such great pets until i owned one of my own! Rats are loyal, energetic love bugs! My rats enjoy giving kisses,playing fetch, and getting petted all over. Rats do require a lot of time so don't expect to be able to ignore them for days! I would not recommend these pets to young children! they need a lot of time, and are not cheap to take care of! do your homework before committing to a rat!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

Great Pets!

October 26, 2013
by DrTaterTot
fromPhiladelphia,PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I currently own 4 ratties. They all get along well and are happy. Best pets to own.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

I LOVE MY TWO RATS!!!

October 9, 2013
by rockangel10
fromLevittown NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I adopted my girls in January 2013. Not one day in the past 10 months has there been a time where I regretted adopting them. They give me so much love and are extremely entertaining. I actually prefer rats over dogs and cats because of them. As a first time rat owner, I was concerned that thy would be smelly stinky or scary. Not the case at all. THey are the cleanest things, they really don't smell unless i neglect the cage for a week, and they are simply too cute. I recommend getting rats if you are interested, you wont be sorry. Just be sure to get two or more so they have a buddy!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

Why should you own a rat? Read on...

September 26, 2013
by TheRatKing
fromWay Out Yonder
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Everything you've heard about rats as excellent pets is true. The average rat is smarter than the average dog of high intelligence, no joke...they can learn some tricks in as little as an hour. They are always glad to see you; they aren't grumpy and tempermental like hamsters, nor standoffish like rabbits. They love affection, and return it in kind. They are quiet and don't smell like mice, are clean, and always up for fun.
First time owners are never prepared for just how smart rats are. They catch on far faster than any dog, and share similar signs of affection. Even more surprising (and more telling,) rats have recently been proven to understand casual relationships, an intelligence trait shared only by higher primates and aquatic mammals. I won't go into it here, but look it up for yourself. You'll be amazed.
They are sweet, highly intelligent, and always fun. Come join us in the Rat Kingdom!
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

Awesome!!!!!!!!

September 17, 2013
by Doodler87864
fromIL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got my two female rats from pet smart. They were so well socialized they just wanted to hop on your hand the minute you get them!!!!!!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

PetSmart has the best chain store rats

September 7, 2013
by DanielInOhio
fromDayton, OH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
PetSmart, not selling live feeders, has tended to have more solid lines with their rats than any other pet store. They do not sell 'questionable' patterns like High Whites (that I have seen) which can carry genetic megacolon. They are also socialized by their employees, which no other big chain pet store that I am aware of does.
The only 'flaw' with their rats is that they don't tend to get a good variety of colors/patterns. You will mostly see hoods, which are 'safer' but it would be nice to see them get in some of the rarer patterns like Blues or Cinnamons.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

Favourite Pet!

September 5, 2013
by AshNicole
fromKingsville, Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Rats are absolutely amazing pets. Raising them from young is the best way to do it. They grow to be like loving cats. They will never bite you unless you got them as an adult and they weren't cared for correctly, but it is extremely rare. They are very intelligent animals, and can be trained to do some amazing things. They are so tame, and love to be cuddled. I would recommend rats as pets to anyone, unless the children are very young and unaware of how to treat an animal. You do not want a young child hurting these small creatures! They are cheap to care for and easy to care for although alike ever pet, there are things you need to pay attention to ! Do not ever use pine or cedar for your pet rats. These trees have toxins that cause respiratory infections which rats are already extremely prone to. You want something along the lines of aspen or recycled paper...and nothing with baking soda in it. They can eat many things such as fruits and vegetables, seeds and grains, cat food and dog food, rat pellets etc. Their bedding only needs to be changed once a week which is quick and easy . If you raise from a baby I suggest bathing them once a week after cage cleaning so they are used to it. Otherwise many rats don't like water much and will become scared and panicked. There is a product you can use which is a powder instead of bathing which soaks up dirt and smell and assists them in cleaning themselves. I would suggest rats over hamsters and mice any day, seeing as they don't always become tame. Rats are amazing. I have owned 7 at a time, and now currently have 6. They live to be 3 years give or take, it all depends on the health of the rat so keep them healthy and happy and be prepared for a great companion !
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

female rat health

September 3, 2013
by skunkabee
fromchicago,Illinois
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased a female rat and she was so compatible with me, just the sweetest loving little animal and I just adored her. Unfortunately after almost a year she developed a tumor and i took her to a vet (one that works with smaller pets) and had it removed. Just as she was almost fully healed I noticed another one starting, she passed away about a week later. The vet said female rats are at high risk of tumors due to their mammary glands and having them spayed will greatly reduce the risk, also a diet that is low in fat. Just an fyi if you wanted a female rat.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

Awesome!

September 1, 2013
by Kaaaty
fromNew Mexico
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I wanted to get my son a small pet that would have some personality and show affection. Hamsters and gerbils only want to get away from you and escape their cage. Rabbits lizards and guinea pigs were not the right choice for one reason or another. We researched some more and found out that rats are the perfect little creatures! We purchased 2 rats from petsmart (one dumbo and one fancy) they are named Thelma and Louise.They were squirmy when we first held them at the store but don't let's that worry you, they calm down a ton once they get to know you. They are so sweet and get excited when you walk up to the cage. We actually litter trained ours within about a week so their cage is always tidy. They are the best little pets! You will not regret your decision.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

Reggie the Rat

August 27, 2013
by HopeKling
fromNashville, Georgia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i bought a male pet rat over a month. He is amazingggg. i put him on the floor and he follows me everywhere. he loves cheerios and every one loves it when i bring him with him me.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

Sweet, friendly, cuddly, the perfect pet!!

August 20, 2013
by Catsratsfishchickens
fromMy
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I got a fancy rat named Nova to keep my dumbo rat Luna company. The second the met they were best friends! They have the best personalities!! Luna loves to cuddle, acts like a mother to nova! Nova is a little ball of joy!! They love carrots and yogurt and stash it then beg for more!! Eating food with their little hands is ADORABLE!! Nova can jump 4x her length it's amazing!!! The only con is a short lifetime so enjoy them while u can!!! Easy care fun lovable pets!!!!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next