PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Dumbo Rat

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Dumbo Rat

Very social Ideal for children 8 & up Will enjoy a cage mate Intelligent, can learn tricks Lives 3 to 5 years Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.927 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(110 reviews) 107
108 of 110(98%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Dumbo Rat
Review 1 for Dumbo Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 110 reviews

Make sure to get him a friend!!

August 27, 2012
by mom506
fromLos Angeles, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have been thinking about getting a new "small pet" for a year now. We had a lovely teddy bear hamster from Petsmart, but he got wet tail and passed away. Hamsters are a little too nervous for our house, so we decided to get a mouse or two. After a hour in the store having a back-and-forth family discussion, we decided mice would probably be too small (and fast) to add to our family, so we decided to get a Dumbo rat (he looked lonely in his cage). After two seconds holding him, I knew he was perfect or us. We took him home, got him settled in and left him alone to get used to his new house. I spent several hours looking up do's and don't's for rat parenting and discovered rats want friends...that having only one rat is like putting him in solitary confinement and can cause alot of psychological issues, as well as medical. We got another rat (also the only one alone in his cage). We took great pains to follow all the helpful hints for introducing non-littermates to each other, shampooing them, putting vanilla on them, putting them in the tub...so no one felt the had to "defend their territory". Anyway, they both got on GREAT, and now our little shy Dumbo Rat is so active and outgoing, he is completely different now that he has a friend. We are incredibly happy with our newest children...now if we could get the cats,dogs and turtle on board...
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dumbo Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 110 reviews

Great Pets ;)

March 1, 2012
by Ratmomofmany
fromLansing, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought two female dumbo rats in January and they are the greatest and sweetest girls, and the person who help me at the store was a wonderful help. Thanks petsmart :)
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dumbo Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 110 reviews

Sweetest Things

February 17, 2014
by tigress17
fromwhite cloud, mi
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
i bought a girl on a whim, and she is the sweetest little girl i have had. You just have to be sure to get two or more, or they will get lonely.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dumbo Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 110 reviews

Love my new boys!

February 1, 2014
by tachi92
fromToledo, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I've been wanting to have a small pet for a while now, and after a few weeks of research I decided on rats. I've had hamsters before but they were always too bitey and skittish; after hearing how loving and sociable rats are I knew they were the perfect choice. I have a toddler-aged daughter and while she won't be able to hold the rats, I know she'll be ecstatic seeing them walk right up to her :) I got the last two dumbo rats the store had. They're about four months old. I've only had them a few hours and they've already stolen my heart away. They're noticeably different in size but both very sweet and loving. The bigger one I've named Drizzt, the smaller we're still thinking of a good name for. Drizzt lets me pick him up and carry him around, but the smaller prefers to be petted from within the cage, but I know it will probably just take some time before I can scoop him out too. They come right up to me when I walk up to the cage and sniff and nibble at my hand while I pet them. The nibbling doesn't hurt at all, it's like a little tickle :)
I have a dog who isn't really used to small animals as a pet, but she's behaving and is mostly ignoring them after a sharp warning. We have cats but they're used to rodents from my hamsters a few years ago and haven't even bothered to check out the new stuff in my room.
I would very much recommend getting rats as pets, they warm up to you pretty easily and are so much fun to play with or to just watch them play. I'm very happy about adding these handsome boys to my family :)
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dumbo Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 110 reviews

Owning rats is the best decision I've ever made.

January 25, 2014
by JeslynMocha
fromWisconsin, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
In the summer of 2012, a mouse stumbling across my foot made me think, "When was the last time I've had a rodent as a pet..?" I remember being littler and chasing my hamsters and gerbils around the flat, but again, being little meant I didn't get too much quality time with little pets like that. Now that I'm much older and responsible, I decided I would get a few mice. Y'know, the cute little furry ones with the twitchy nose. So alas, my mom and I made a mad dash for the nearest Petsmart. I had my mind set on three female mice. Back then, I did not know that Petsmart separated their stores according to animal gender. So to me and my moms disappointment, we accidentally turned up at a male store. We looked at the male mice, then asked the (incredibly nice) Petsmart animal expert where we would find a female store. She directed us to a store fifteen miles from our location, and we said our thanks and she smiled sweetly, then returned to help another customer with their hamsters. As I was leaving the rodent section, a set of cages at the bottom of the stack caught my attention. They looked like mice, but no, they were bigger. I bent down and pressed my finger to the cage, and a young, bright eyed white animal stepped up and sniffed at the glass where my finger was placed. These were, in fact, rats. From that moment I was in love. My mom walked back into the rodent section, and called my name. "Hey, lets go!" I looked at the cute male rat again, smiled, then got up from my place on the floor and followed my mom out the door. As we got into the car, I openly told my mom, "I want rats instead. Did you see those cute ears?" My mom was shocked. "But, they're rats. There's no way they'll ever make good pets," She told me flatly. I was more than ready to prove her wrong. I spent a whole week doing research, making toys, and constructing a supplies list. Finally, the day came. I was crammed full of research on pet store rats, things to avoid, picking a healthy rat, the best toys to buy, etc. My mom called me to the car, and I was buckled in 10 seconds flat. We drove to the female store, where I met my first mischief of rats. I picked a brown dumbo rex who I called Mocha, and a red-eyed hooded champagne I called Jessie. Its been a few years since that day, and Mocha and Jessie have sadly passed away from old age. I currently have a white and black masked dumbo named Zorra, and next week I plan to my faithful Petsmart and get more rats to give Zorra company. My rats have changed my life. They're so fun, cute, cuddly, and super intelligent! Everyone who has met my rats have fallen in love with them, and want rats of their own! Just make sure you have big enough room for them in your heart, because trust me, they take up a lot of space!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dumbo Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 110 reviews

VERY good pet

January 11, 2014
by JACKTHESEARAT
fromLA,CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got a dumbo rat a few days ago from petsmart, and she's a total doll, she is VERY social and sweet. The petsmart employe was VERY nice and informative when we got her. The next day some friends came over, and now they all want rats.
Ps The ears are VERY cute!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dumbo Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 110 reviews

Sweet, Loving Pets

December 29, 2013
by JayMig
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have never owned rats before but I have many other pets. I decided I wanted a rat and began researching. When I went to petsmart the staff was very knowledgeable and patient while I was making my decision and researching. When I finally decided to purchase my little dumbo rat I had to get both of them. They were such good buddies. Both of my boys are loving, sweet, and very social. They do nibble on my fingers but never hard or have bitten me. They seems to do it more as a greeting. I have to say I am so happy with the decision to buy my two boys. I am really amazed at how loving and social they are and how involved they become with the family and other pets. They truly are sweet little guys.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dumbo Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 110 reviews

this pet is amazing

December 26, 2013
by aslan
fromidaho priest river
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
i love this pet because i have 2 dumbo get a rat
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dumbo Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 110 reviews

Amazing Pets!!

December 26, 2013
by DumboMomma
fromVA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
For xmas I just got my second dumbo rat as a present! My rat adventure began in summer 2012 when I decided I really wanted a rat. That's when I got Milo James (now 1 1/2):-# He is white w a gray head and a white strip thru that. He is extremely social due to everyday social-ness and love. He really never seemed lonely. Partly I think due to he had only experienced living w other rats at a very young age. But i decided that it would be nice and i felt ready to add another #baby) rat to the fam! So now i also have Hudson Levi, my second "son". Instantly there was a bond between the two! There was a bit of"this is my space" but no real territorial fighting. Now, just after one full day of them being together youll find them cuddled up with eachother in their hammock etc! Very lucky to get the perfect match! PS the young lady that let us look at the baby dumbos at petsmart before xmas was very helpful and seemed to have a lot of experience so thanks!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dumbo Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 110 reviews

AMAZING

December 3, 2013
by Alextheratlover
fromOrlando, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I got my two little girls this summer and i LOVE them! They have been taught several tricks and love to sit on my shoulder as i go about the day. One even licks me all the time! They have very diverse personalities and love to explore. They do require a lot of attention but you'll love it just as much as them!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dumbo Rat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 110 reviews

Rat Momma

November 29, 2013
by RatMom13
fromChicago, Il
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
While I do not condone purchasing rats over rescuing I must point out a few errors in your description of them. Males are are no more "territorial" then female. I own 13 males. Males are calmer and more laid back. Rats HAVE to live in packs of 2 or more, its necessary for them to be happy and healthy. Some of the reviews say they were bitten, but that stopped. Rats nipping is normal and often a sign of them accepting you - you have not been bitten unless you are bleeding everywhere. Rats don't bite as a rule and if cared for properly they are the perfect pet.
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dumbo Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 110 reviews

My Little Dumbo Babies

November 26, 2013
by SassyGirls
fromNebraska
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got two fancy rats back in February. Three months in, one was being well dominated by the other one. So I figured I get two more rats so that the dominating can be spread around. I chose Dumbo rats this time, so happy I did. They are beyond adorable. Those ears are too much. They are just like fancy rats, if only a little bit heftier. I bought a black and white one & a white one with red eyes. Two very sweet little girls named Elephant & Hannibal. They are my two most mischievous of the group. When I got them, Elephant came right up to the glass & Hannibal tried to escape when the guy got them for me. I knew I had to have them both. Seven months later, and a fun time introducing everybody, they are all doing great. Every so often Elephant & Sarsaparilla fight to see who's in charge that day. But in the end, they cuddle up together and sleep sweetly. I highly recommend rats to people who have the time and patience. They require at least an hour out of their cage. Plus healthy treats...with some sweets sparingly. I'm so very happy I decided to have these girls as my little pets.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dumbo Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 110 reviews

Dumbos are the Best!

November 14, 2013
by Apples19
fromCleveland, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I picked up two Dumbos from their Aurora location last night. They're a beautiful cream and white color, and I named them Coffee and Donut! At first they bit me, but they soon warmed up to me after I set up their cage and fed them. They're both inquisitive and never stop moving. They even climb up on my shoulder! They are the cutest little things, though it took a lot of convincing to make my boyfriend agree to a couple of pet rats. He loves them too now, and even remarked "they're not as ugly as I thought they'd be." Haha! They appear healthy, with a dry nose, no noticeable bumps, and soft, glossy fur. They're both very young too! Probably just barely teenagers. I'm surprised such interesting companions are so cheap! I highly recommend these rats.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dumbo Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 110 reviews

Amazing

November 6, 2013
by MandiGurlio
fromSussex, New Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
These are truly amazing pets. They are just so cute!! I have one myself and they are the best. They are so social and loving. I definitely made the right decision on buying these. :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dumbo Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 110 reviews

Rats are awesome!

October 27, 2013
by Kenzy
fromNH
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I never knew that rats were such great pets until i owned one of my own! Rats are loyal, energetic love bugs! My rats enjoy giving kisses,playing fetch, and getting petted all over. Rats do require a lot of time so don't expect to be able to ignore them for days! I would not recommend these pets to young children! they need a lot of time, and are not cheap to take care of! do your homework before committing to a rat!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dumbo Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 110 reviews

I LOVE MY DUMBO RAT!

October 9, 2013
by rockangel10
fromLevittown NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have one fancy and one dumbo and I love them both to pieces! Dumbos and fancies are no different, aside from ear shape. The rats are so entertaining and loving, I wouldn't trade them for the world!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dumbo Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 110 reviews

love dem dumbo babies....

September 8, 2013
by Angelade
fromgranite city,illinios
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I wrote a customer review last year,but put it under fancy rats instead of Dumbos,my mistake..anyway my beloved Bijou got lost somehow when I was cleaning his cage.(I locked him in my bathroom)...since then I got two more Dumbo boyz,and I couldn't be happier. I got
Reginald(reggie)3-23-13,then I got Sebastian 5-24-13...they got along great from day one.I am a lot more careful,and super protective of these two..Great pets,cuddle bugs,and kissy faces,the best ever...I do miss Bijou it's a mystery that has never been solved...
I love the quality,and will get my babies from petsmart in the future too....
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dumbo Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 110 reviews

PetSmart seems to always stock Dumbos..

September 7, 2013
by DanielInOhio
fromDayton, OH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
..which is a big plus for those of us who love them. Like their other rats, Petsmart socializes them so you should not get a skittish or mean rat.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dumbo Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 110 reviews

DUMBO RATS ARE THE BEST!!!

September 4, 2013
by cookietherat
fromAlbuquerque NM
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My dumbo rat is very happy. she is smart and cute. she is healthy and LOVES being held. i wish i could get another one!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dumbo Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 110 reviews

Dumbo Rats, Just As All Rats- Perfect

August 12, 2013
by MystycKitty
fromNorth Dakota!
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
The first misconception with these guys is that they are a different breed of rats, Dumbo rats are just "fancy rats" that have a recessive gene to have lower ears. I have three dumbos right now, and just like all rats, they are simply amazing. I'd like to personally point out that people who have never owned a pet rat should not have the right to review about it. Rats are the cleanest, and smartest of all other rodents you can buy. They can learn tricks, their name, and they love to snuggle. Of course, since Petsmart is a bigger company, it will be up to the owner to assume the responsibly of socializing your rat. Fun fact, did you know you can litter train your rat? It takes time, which is something not alot of owners seem to have. Like all rats, there is the possibility of getting a bad rat, one that has been traumatized and will bite or be fearful forever; but since these are rare, I still encourage everyone to go out and get two rats. Rats need a friend, and shouldn't be kept alone; if you have a single rat it can get lonely, bored, and even aggressive; but that shouldn't be a red flag; if you were to leave any animal alone with no interaction, it will regress in social behaviors. So please, if you're thinking about getting a rat, please do! I would much rather have a rat than any other pet.
-Proud Owner of 16 Rats
P.S. Please note that rats also don't stink, but if you don't clean their cage at LEAST every other week, then the cage will start to smell. :)
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next