PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Rare Parakeet

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Rare Parakeet

Ideal for children 14 & up Easy to tame; natural clowns Smart and easily trained Lives 10 to 15 years Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.608 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(74 reviews) 70
69 of 74(93%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Rare Parakeet
Review 1 for Rare Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 74 reviews

Wonderful Pet!

March 14, 2014
by LeosPeople
fromDenver, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We love our little birds. We got one, a true Albino named Leonardo, at first in February. He took a while to tame but eventually came around and is now a spoiled little baby bird....he doesn't even go in his cage anymore! He just sits on his playpen or the couch or a shoulder. So perfect! Due to working more often, we have purchased another parakeet, a beautiful blue named Spock. We did decide to have Spock's wings clipped for the sake of taming, and so far, it is paying off! Love our birds and they seem to love us! :D
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rare Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 74 reviews

Great

January 14, 2014
by jamesbirdliker
fromontario
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
these birds are the best!! I have three of them and one Green one and they are the best birds and the sweetest bird you can buy, I would recommend these birds to anyone novice or expert!!!!!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rare Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 74 reviews

My Two Darlings

January 2, 2014
by SassyGirls
fromNebraska
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I don't know why I bought two more budgies, but I did. They are still a little skittish, but in no time they'll warm up. Just like my other two did. I got a white one, not albino, & named him Rumplestiltskin. Not gonna lie, he lives up to his name, very leery and watchful. Doesn't do anything until I'm not watching him. My grey & blue one, Sherlock, is my most laid-back one. Not as wild as Bane, not as leery as Rumplestiltskin, & not as loud/boisterous as Spock. He's just there chilling. They are all getting along great. I'm thankful for that. Each day I open their cage and after a while they come flying and perch on top of the cage & have little talks up their with one another. They're not really "rare" it's just a word used to describe non-green & non-blue ones.
Side Note: If you're looking for a boy it's not easy to tell when they're young. Boys - BLUE or BLUE-VIOLET (Unless albino or all yellow...big gamble there) Girls - BROWN, WHITEISH, or PINK (Tricky when a bird my have blue-violet with hints of pink could go either way).
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rare Parakeet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 74 reviews

Good Pet

December 31, 2013
by Hounddog101
fromOrrum NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This is a great bird for beginners and experts alike. They are very social so, they will also be very loud. I would recommend getting at least two, because they require a lot of attention to make sure they stay healthy. But if you cant handle the requirements of a budgie (parakeet) this is not the pet for you.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rare Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 74 reviews

Rose is a fantastic, friendly bird!

December 26, 2013
by Oscaror
fromOntario, Canada
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got my bird on the 23rd of december, she was tame in one day. when my male blue budgie jack saw her he fell in love, and vice versa. She and jack also get along with my diamond dove, so if anyone need s a friend (but not cagemate) for a dove, a budgie may be a great choice!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rare Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 74 reviews

Love our Sky and Lyric

December 23, 2013
by 1980
fromNB,Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Such sweet birds. I would recommend getting two as well.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rare Parakeet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 74 reviews

Great pet but,

November 26, 2013
by sunconurelover
fromWashington,WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
They can be very skittish at first but, it takes time and effort to tame. They can be a little noisy, but most of the time it's when they want something like food, clean water, and or attention. I think they are not beginner birds at all, because they are vary hard to tame.(from my experience.) You must have time to spend with these birds. They can be hard to tame if you don't tame them properly. You can't just think as soon as you get this bird, it's going to hop on your shoulder. It's vary important to make time for any pet bird, if you don't have any time, you probably should not get a bird. AND DO NOT BUY ANY KIND OF ANIMAL ON IMPULSE!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rare Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 74 reviews

LOVE!

August 7, 2013
by DOlsen
fromRiverdale, Utah
We bought our daughter a parakeet after one had passed away. We love our little bird! He's yellow, with teal accents and doesn't bite one bit! Very friendly! If you get a parakeet, I suggest getting a male, because they are more calm and don't bite!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rare Parakeet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 74 reviews

Great Pet

July 12, 2013
by Wyvernfire22
fromLafayette, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I needed a mate for one of my budgies after one of my birds passed away due to old age, so I got another female and named her Charlotte. She bites quite a bit but is such a clown and I taught her several tricks and words to say during her quarantine time. When I introduced her to my existing flock she took to them right away although she fought a bit with Sapphire my other female. Once the hierarchy was established they all got along fine after that. I gave a four star because she is the only one of my parakeets that bites.
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rare Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 74 reviews

Happy Home

July 9, 2013
by deedavisisland
fromTuscaloosa, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
We've always had pets, dogs, cats, Finches a Parakeet... and then we were pet less. Feb 2012 we went to PetSmart and purchased 3 Parakeets, 2 Rare by my Husband and I and 1 Blue by my Daughter. It was love at 1st Chirp! The small cage turned into a medium, 2 more Rare Keets were purchased, followed by a large cage. Our Family looked forward to PetSmart visits to purchase special treats and toys. By Feb 2013, we had 2 babies born out of 3 eggs. Amazing to watch our babies grow! Our Keets entertain us with their antics and vocals. We LOVE our cheerful 'Chippies' :)
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rare Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 74 reviews

Great little companion pet

July 8, 2013
by Seyanophis
fromMontana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I got my first parakeet from Petsmart this year. I have had it for a little over a month now and it will already climb on my hand. It's a smart little bird too. So far everything about it is wonderful, it is in great health. If I ever get another bird it will be from here.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rare Parakeet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 74 reviews

Good pets

June 6, 2013
by Grish
fromSomewhere
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I got my budgie from PetSmart. I love him like a family member, we taught him how to give kisses and talk. They can be noisy, though.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Rare Parakeet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 74 reviews

very helpful

April 27, 2013
by Anonymous
fromtoronto , ontario
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
great info to read if you are thinking of buying or already have .
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Rare Parakeet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 74 reviews

adorable,average parakeet

April 20, 2013
by laborday1000
from9200 goodman circle
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I like parakeets.they are fun.they are also adorable.
pros:adorable,active,manual perching bird
cons:messy,expensive,poopy
+3points
11of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Rare Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 74 reviews

Love my little angel

April 17, 2013
by Tere8848
fromhigh point, nc
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have had my little Budgie since Feb 2010. She's a little diva. Although she's still afraid of everything that moves even me, I love her to death. I already removed the roof top of her cage and she has explored a few times flying around. They say it takes time for them to trust you...but I have a feeling mine is going to be a bit harder to gain trust if ever. They say use spray millet to train or entice but mine hates it wont touch it. :( I still love her though.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Rare Parakeet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 74 reviews

These are not good pets

April 7, 2013
by NikiBelle
fromCanada, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have had so many of these birds. They are not rare, I find them on the streets for free. Anyway, every morning they screech and screech at 5 am and are very annoying pets. I would not reccomend them.
-88points
10of 108voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Rare Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 74 reviews

Awesome, but yet not tamed

April 1, 2013
by Shubhzilla
fromNorth Bergen,nj
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Great social pet but so far it's been like only 3day so yet to be tamed :(
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Rare Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 74 reviews

Lovely birds!!!!!!!

March 17, 2013
by Ashley7254at
fromDELAWARE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have had parakeets before from petsmart, but I was too young to know how to treat them properly. So when I got them this time I thought they were going to be extremely hard to train, but 1 day after I brought mine home he lets me stroke his feathers, feed him, and is ok with my "scary" hand now. They have a beautiful assortment over there too. I have a yellow one named Charlie and he also responds to his name!! I love them, and on Friday I'm going to get him a little companion! :D *He only started eating when he saw my sister's bird so DEFINITELY get 2!!!! LOVE THEM!!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Rare Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 74 reviews

Love my Parakeets

February 13, 2013
by Stormi
fromCastle Rock Co
What is your gender?F
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My boyfriend and I decided to adopt a Parakeet. I researched and found out that they would be perfect. We bought our first Rags and by the weekend we planned on getting another one called Ollie he’s a fancy Parakeet. They both are very sweet & only a little shy, Rags had been already setting on my finger by the time we brought Ollie home and he’s a little jealous of my attention towards Ollie. My babies are very healthy, friendly & I am quite confident that I will be able to tame both of them and have takers to boot. Ollie is a curious little guy and listens very intently to everything I say. I suspect he’ll start talking first. I know they say if they’re together they’ll never want to learn but I think these two want me around and I notice they seem to miss me when I am gone. Rags does that’s for sure, Ollie is a little shy at the moment but he’s let me touch him a few times
It was adorable they were sitting together on their perch and I went to lift Rags onto my finger he loves that but decided to try Ollie first. So Ollie put one foot on my finger and the other one he hung onto Rags… I wish someone took that pic it was a sight to see.
I would recommend getting a Parakeet from Petsmart They’re obviously doing something right. My guys are wonderful. They are clean, they never make a mess and that is awesome!
+18points
19of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Rare Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 74 reviews

such a sweet animal

February 11, 2013
by budgie12
fromtexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i bought my bird about a month ago and he is the most silliest thing ive ever had. he will get iin the shower with me and sit on my sholder. he also loves to sing to some music when i play it. i highly recomend getting one!
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next