PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Zebra Finch

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Zebra Finch

Ideal for children 14 & up Makes soothing sounds Lives approximately 5 years Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.905 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 41
41 of 42(98%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Zebra Finch
Review 1 for Zebra Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

The most adorable birds ever

February 22, 2014
by parisrunway
fromso cal
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I just wanted cute adorable birds to watch, these 2 male zebra finches add more life and interest to our home, they are so sweet, sing, fly, and even do some acrobatic moves for fun, they are not loud, but lovely chirping, i change the food twice a week, change water daily, give spray millet every week, given them a cuttle bone, they snuggle up together and sleep in the daisy nest up high together, the millet is in the other daisy next to their green seed and water feeders, they are so happy in their new home, For finches its recommended they be in a 30w, by 18d, by 18h cage, my cage is 29w, by 17, deep, inside hight is 37, they use every bit of space to fly and play, they love the dome top as they make big flying circles as well
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zebra Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

Very sweet singers

October 13, 2013
by dmour157
fromJamison, PA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got two zebra finches in the summer, and they're very sweet song birds. Even though they don't like being handled, their appeal is not lowered!!! Handling is not necessarily a must for a good family bird! i like birds for their singing, not for their ability to be handled.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zebra Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

My finch, Mailee

September 1, 2013
by BrandL132
fromEscalon, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased a Zebra Finch, and she made a great pet! I named her Mailee, these finches make great pets because they love to be talked to and enjoy people's company. They especially liked to be singed to. My bird loved to dance back and forth on her perches, and chirped along to her favorite song. When she's ready to go to bed, she would make a cute little beeping sound. But I would always call it "chatting." Zebra Finches enjoy having a favorite blanket at night. I would recommend a Zebra Finch as a loving pet for all. :)
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zebra Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

Great Little Feathery Balls!!!!!

July 31, 2013
by jordanspetsnumber1
fromTalladega,AL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
These birds are great! I have a male named Penguin (because he looks like a penguin!). I have him housed with a spice finch, The spice finch named Owl has crooked toe nails and if he get tied up I can always rely on my Zebra finch to help me out!
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zebra Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

Wonderful

July 14, 2013
by Evieen
fromChicago
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got two males from Petsmart, one named Sip and the other Zip. At first they were quiet and scared when we brought them home for the first day but they adapted very quickly. This is a great bird, but I've noticed they are skittish and scared of hands so you cannot pet or hold them. I don't mind since I don't have the time to train a pet so this is a very easy to care for bird. Always buy them in pairs or more because they love being with other zebra finches, they preen each other and snuggle together at night. (along with a large cage) They are adorable, they tweet & sing beautifully and are very energetic. As a warning, they are earlybirds and like to sing loudly at about six in the morning! At night they make quiet little peeping sounds until the lights go off and they go quiet and sleep. I feed them lettuce, seeds, and millet sprays. They like playing with bells mainly, and enjoy taking baths in their water bowl (so change it often!).
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zebra Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

Little balls of energy

June 15, 2013
by krisie
fromTracy,CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I started with 2 females, one white and the other the traditional coloring. I soon added 2 males, also 1 white and one the traditional color. I enjoyed these 4 so much, that soon I bought a large(60"Lx36"Hx24"W) flight cage and added 4 more. I have named them all and my husband says I am crazy...but each and every one of them has their own personality. I always have a story to tell him, as these little guys are full of energy from the time they wake up until they time they settle in for the evening.
I thought I had 4 males and 4 females, however 1 of what I thought was a female, turned out to be a male with very slight orange coloring on his checks. So it is back to pet store to get 2 more females, so the males will stop fighting over the only 3 females in a cage of 5 males.
Their names..Popeye, Goliath(the only baby as a result of my finches and biggest male of the bunch), Samson, Pimp Daddy(all 3 of the females want this guy) and Romeo. The females..Betty Boop, Olive Oyl and Gecarra.
Get yourself a pair of these little guys..they will make everyday an adventure.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zebra Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

Great little finch :)

April 13, 2013
by EgyptianMau
fromDenver, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is a great bird for beginners, especially if you are not ready to handle birds yet. I love how they make a "beeping" noise instead of a chirp! I also accidentally bought a male AND a female... They've had babies twice ^^;
+14points
19of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zebra Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

Love My Zebra Finches I Bought.

March 15, 2013
by sonofjohn56
fromMilpitas, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Great birds, planning to buy more. Very happy.
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zebra Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

Great Pets

March 9, 2013
by RPark
fromCherry Hill, NJ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This was my first pet that does not breath underwater. They are wonderful for first time pet parents. They don't require a large cage and do not need many toys. Because they are small you do not need to invest a lot of money on food so they are good money saving pets. They can also eat fresh fruits and vegetables. NO AVOCADO!!! Make sure a cuttle bone is in the cage at all time. Clean food and water available throughout the day is a must. Provide a second, bigger bowl of water for bathing. Your finch will get stressed out if it is not clean. Good luck!
+26points
27of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zebra Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

great pets

March 7, 2013
by garfield
fromMaryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought a white male & female and a gray male & female years ago and the generation is still going, I've had 14 finches in their cage at once, but I never had the siblings mate together, they seem to know I guess. My first baby born to the white parents lasted 9 years.They are very nice to listen to when their chirping with each other and when they hear different tones on the tv they all seem to start their chirping the same chirp. I love to sit there and watch them do their daily eating and flying from one branch to another and chirping with each other, When I first go to their cage the sit still but after a few minutes they go about their routine. They love to snuggle together in their huts & nest and even cuddle on the branches sometimes.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zebra Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

The BesT Product

February 5, 2013
by jo6828
fromRoswell, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
The Best Pet Ever I have 1 and be geting one thursday. Mine chirrpes and it so adhorable
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zebra Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

Awsome pet

February 1, 2013
by kitkat1
fromMI
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This pet is adorable, nice, and playful. the diffrence between both the male and female is the male has red-orange on his cheeks and female dont. The one thing is zebra finches (not trained) wont sit on your finger. You shouldent let them out to. If you dont want eggs and they may lay some (if you have a female) then you through them out (you should toss them befor they are ferdelized)
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zebra Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

Great little birds!

January 22, 2013
by Ejit
fromCO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have one male finch, Morstan, and he is an amazing little guy! He's so active and loves to sing, and he enjoys tormenting my dog. He is rather messy with his seeds, but it's easy enough to sweep up. When caught, he'll sit in my hand for a while before zooming off again. he enjoys high perches, and within his cage, he enjoys hopping from perch to perch.
I microwave eggshells for 4 minutes and give them to him as a good source of calcium, and he really enjoys them.
Also as a tip to other bird owners or if you are considering buying a Zebra Finch, they become depressed when left in the dark and gloomy for too long, so make sure they have a constant source of light during the day for them!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zebra Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

a great pet bird!

January 18, 2013
by petlover10128
fromfl
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
zebra finches are cute little 4-5 inch birds who are known for there zebra mark at the end of there bottom feathers.zebra finches come in varietys of colors and patterns.zebra finches are simply beautiful to watch as they make sweet soothing chirping sounds,and are mostly for children 14 and up.they are normally a great pet and live for up to five years and may live a little longer if you take good care of them.I purchased 3 of these beauty's about 4-5 months ago and they are still very loyal.They don't really like being handled unless they are trained or you are cleaning out there cage.they are not that easy to train since they don't like being handled.there diet its mostly seeds nuts and grains,but they may pick the seeds off of strawberry's and they do eat lettuce and boiled eggs.when feeding them they may make a mess of seeds outside there cage because of all the seeds that may fly out when they flap there wings but its probably best to put like an old rag towel or something under it to make the seeds easier to clean.when breeding they may lay at least 3-4 eggs.and the eggs should hatch in 14 or 20 days,and if they do not hatch in this time they are probably not good and you may need to throw them away and start over. Things you may need for them is things like three bowls one for drinking water and one for toilet water,one for eating too and a nest (optional) millet (optional) toys (optional).things to remember are to make sure you change there water daily because they need clean fresh water,DO NOT feed them alot of millet,and don't forget to feed them.zebra finches are one of the amazing bird breeds and are perfect for any bird lover who wants a sooting sweet bird to keep them company.i hoped this helped :D
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zebra Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

wonderful birds

January 13, 2013
by SWST
fromLas Vegas, NV
we have had 4 zebra finches from our local Petsmart since 2008, 2 males and 2 females, one of the original males is still thriving today in 2013, one of the pairs produced many eggs, they sing and flit around in the cage, they play toys and keep busy rebuilding their nests, they eat and drink well, they really enjoy baths and showers, they are fast and easy to clean up after and supplies are not expensive, they all have their own personalities and habits and have been fun household pets
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zebra Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

Love'n my birds :)

January 3, 2013
by cutebirds
fromGreensboro, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My birds have turned out fantastic. I have had them for three days and they have have already build a nest in the little bamboo thing I got them. It took a while to catch them but now they are so happy. I feed them every day and cover their cage up at night. They are perfect but I have two dogs and the girl, (Katniss) always freaks out like the world is going to end when one barks. Also when I switch their food out. Quick question, when am I supposed to change their bedding?
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zebra Finch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 42 reviews

Great pets, but very loud!

December 27, 2012
by Amanda4636
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought 2 finches for my sister for Christmas, and I really do enjoy having them as pets. They don't smell, need very little maintenance, and are so fun to watch. However, we are considering returning them to the store because of their constant chirping and squawking all day and night. We've tried covering their cage, and moving them to different (and quieter) rooms, but their noise level is just so annoying. I definitely encourage someone to buy these birds as long as they plan on keeping them in a spare room or anywhere that's not a bedroom, because they will keep you up all night and wake you up at sunrise.
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zebra Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

Very Cute Pets

December 26, 2012
by petlover9000
fromCalifornia,CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
These birds really look like zebras(just kidding),but I have 2 Zebra Finches the male is Marty and the female is Maria,And they do pretty good with canaries.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zebra Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

Zebra finches.

October 29, 2012
by zoocage
fromAB
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have had two male zebra finches for over a year now. There sounds are delightful and they sing all the time. They get along just fine asides from the occasional play fight. There cage does not need to be covered at night; as soon as it gets dark out they go to sleep in their little nest. They are so cute! I think zebra finches are a great beginner pet for children and adults alike. Their favourite toy is the hay ball, I would defiantly recommend getting one if you are considering buying these finches. They also enjoy the swing. My finches LOVE millet spray and can eat a whole one in just a day so it is a good idea to give limited amounts to them. Overall, they are an amazing addition to your family.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Zebra Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 42 reviews

Great Little Birds

July 16, 2012
by foxstar4225
fromNJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have 2 of these birds and they are wonderful. But they are very messy with there food.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next