PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Society Finch

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Society Finch

Ideal for children 14 & up Makes soothing sounds Lives approximately 5 years Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.727 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
11 of 11(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Society Finch
Review 1 for Society Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Love these birds!

February 10, 2014
by felines40
fromBelvidere, Illinois
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I bought the finches back in December, I am so happy that I did, they are so much fun and love their singing! They had a period of adjustment, getting to know me and my habits in the morning. So now when I get up they know and I can hear them "talking". I recommend the society finches to those that would like to have a "low" maintenance birds.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Society Finch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews

Good Finch

October 13, 2013
by BirdBoy303
fromMinneapolis, MN
I think these are the best finch you can get!! But we can't let them out, they're not that kind of finch. I wouldn't pet them if I were you! My finches put their self to bed at about 7:30 in their nest. If you don't get a nest in time you should put a towel or blanket on the cage to keep it dark. They are a playful and like to play with timothy hay. I recommend this animal if you are getting a finch. (9 year old POV)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Society Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

I'm Ready!

August 1, 2013
by jordanspetsnumber1
fromTalladega,AL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I am convinced now to get one of these guys! I am going to house them with my zebra and spice finch! It is extremely cool to me that you can not find these species in the wild! I believe it would be a great bird to show for my upcoming pet program (still in the making!) This will be number 11 in my flock! (Yea 11 not a typo!)
Here is a list of my birds I have
Blue Parakeet- Aubie (M)
White Parakeet- Snow (F)
Yellow Parakeet- Tweety (M)
Green Parakeet- Pickles (F)
Light Green Parakeet- Lime (M)
Grey Parakeet- Buddy (M)
Blue/White/Black Parakeet- Sky (F)
Cockatiel- Mr. Wilson (M)
Zebra Finch- Penguin (M)
Spice Finch- Owl (?)-don't know how to tell!
Upcoming Birds
Diamond Dove- if male- Smoke if female-Diamond
Green Cheek Conure- if female- Brazil if male- Mango
Spice Finch- M or F- Zippy
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Society Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

SOO CUTE!!!

July 10, 2013
by Macoto
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My mom got these lil guys and I love watching the two of them. From what I can tell there is no way to tell the gender because we got all the possible traits on the two birds and they are both male. They make pleasant sounds and look cute too. I'm a parrot person but these are a great investment, you won't regret buying them. (I recommend you buy in pairs)
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Society Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

love these birds

June 15, 2013
by krisie
fromTracy,CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought my first Society Finch and moved him into a large flight cage with 4 Zebra Finches, however he was not happy. I went right down to the pet store and got him a female. He immediately danced up to her, singing his little song. It was love at first sight. I named them Gomez and Morticia and soon moved them out of the cage housing the Zebra Finches and into their own large cage, as they were really annoyed with the noise and bickering of my Zebra Finches. These are great birds and they have the best personalities. Gomez is super protective of his Morticia and has pinched me at least once for messing around with his little house, that he worked so hard to put together for Morticia.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Society Finch
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews

average fair bird

April 6, 2013
by laborday1000
from9200 goodman circle
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I like the finches.they are average and fair.
-4points
4of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Society Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Great Bird!

June 28, 2012
by Ursusarctos
fromSalt Lake City, Utah
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got a Society Finch about a month ago, I already had a spice finch and they got along together great. She is a great bird but she does wake you up at eight every day, they are great birds and I would highly recommend them.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Society Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Great inexpensive but highly entertaining birds

March 11, 2012
by xWolfGirlx
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought a bird about a year or two ago for a wild house finch i had rescued a year prior. she had a broken wing so i wanted a bird that was very social and not too crazy to be with her. when i got zipper he was first freaked out by my house finch but after a month they were chirping together and even cuddled up to each other Petsmarts quality of birds are very high i was pleased at the condition i bought him in. after a couple years my house finch died and i thought zipper would be lonely so again i went to petsmart and bought a cute little female for him the two sleep in their box together every night and sing their cute little song to each other i love their little attitudes and they yell at you if they have dirty water its absolutely hilarious to watch.
+22points
23of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Society Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Entertaining pets

October 21, 2011
by 13rabbits
fromColumbia, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Society finches may not be the most colorful of finches, but they make up for it with their personality. They are so fun to watch, they interact with one another constantly and are so sweet to one another. They make nice noises, sometmies they sound like crickets chirrping. Very fun to watch and easy to maintain.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Society Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Great little birds:)

July 6, 2011
by ManiacAnimalLover
fromNorthern, Kentucky
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We adopted 4 from a bird show about a week ago. They were shy at first, but bounced back quickely. They fly around from swing to perch and sing their little hearts out! Its funny, as they are housed with our 4 Zebra finches (We have a large avairy). The zebras perch together on one side and the societies perch on the oppisite side! They are truly great little birds:D
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Society Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Society Finch are cool

June 4, 2010
by birdkeeper2010
fromWaterloo, IA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought some society finch to keep my conure from getting lonely while I am at work. I got 4 of them and at least 1 is female and 2 are male. I know this because only males sing and only females lay eggs. I am expecting chicks soon because their nest has some eggs and I'm pretty sure the eggs are fertilized based on what I've seen going on. They all get along most of the time but I have seen them get mad at each other. They all usually sleep in the same place and that is typical of these birds from what I've read.
Pros: pretty birds, easy to take care of, gets along with other birds, eats all it's seeds, aren't bothered by people who don't bother them
Cons: sometimes sings too much, they are hard to catch when they escape from cage, they bathe and go to the bathroom in their water, don't want to be handled
+14points
19of 24voted this as helpful.