PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Green Singer Finch

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Green Singer Finch

Ideal for children 14 & up Makes soothing sounds Lives approximately 5 years Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Green Singer Finch
Review 1 for Green Singer Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Life expectantcy of finches

May 1, 2013
by CharleyM
fromRidgeway, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I received a male and female finch for Christmas 1989. The female past away in February 2000 (10 yr 2 mo). The male passed away in April 2013 (23 yr 4 mo). The female was hyper active and attacked the male. The male sang from morning to night until the last 6 months of his life.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Green Singer Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

not 5 years for me

March 6, 2013
by cynwonder
fromVermont
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
I was given an adult male green singing finch many years ago. He sang twice a day in spring and summer and once a day in fall and winter. He would literally run across his perch for lettuce. He was not fond of strangers approaching his cage. He lived for 22 years so I am not sure what this 5 year thing is...
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Green Singer Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Best Song!

June 1, 2012
by DixieDeb
fromRoanoke Va
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I bought my male Green Singing Finch from Petsmart about a year ago. I LOVE his song! They do sing better if they can hear other birds, like near a window. When I had him in a smaller room with no outside noise, he didn't sing at all (for a month). When in a room with my Zebra Finches he still just chirped. So now I keep him where he can hear some wild outside birds.. end enjoy!! He eats very little and makes very little mess. I feed him finch pellets. Mine sings mostly just 3 times a day.. morning (9am), lunch & sunset.. LOVE him!! ;)
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Green Singer Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

green dinging finch.

April 11, 2012
by cindymom
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
we have 3 green singing finch's 2 female and 1 male. they are so relaxing to watch and listen to. I love my birds. We named them the hawk family because of their maks face. Beautiful birds.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Green Singer Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

best bird

February 22, 2012
by thepetgirl
frompa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
this is the best bird i have ever tried to buy and it was the best becuase it was pretty and it was my favorite
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Green Singer Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Beautiful birds!

October 21, 2011
by 13rabbits
fromColumbia, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought a male female pair of green singers and they are very nice birds. They have been classified as "pushy" birds but I haven't seen any evidence of this but I haven't had them with docile finches either. My male doesn't seem to sing much or loudly, but his song could be drowned out by my more vocal finches. They are very pretty and nice to watch. They love their greens and get very excited whn I put fresh romaine or spinach in their cage.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Green Singer Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Prettier song than a canary

March 22, 2011
by Cathie
fromChicago
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought a green singing finch from Petsmart and was very pleased. Has a prettier song than a canary. Highly recommend. Very happy with qualtiy and health of bird I purchased.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Green Singer Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Wonderful birds to have as a pets

September 24, 2010
by birdkeeper2010
fromWaterloo, IA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
(click to see the video)
I have two male Green Singers. I am very happy with them and hope to find some females to put in their cage. They have established the pecking order and they don't pick each others feathers out. The dominant male does a lot of singing and teasing the other male. They are pretty good friends even though one of them seems to think he needs to assert his dominance. Their song is very nice and so are the peeps and cheeps that they make. When they sing they can be pretty loud and sometimes sing for a very long time. One of my Green Singers will start singing when he hears a recording of his own song. Both of my Green Singers are very tame and do not get startled when I am working on their cage. They will not hop on my hand but they will allow me to get within a couple of inches without flying off.
Pros: very good singers, beautiful colors, very tame for a finch, acrobatic, very active, easy to care for
Cons: can be a little on the loud side
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Green Singer Finch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

GREEN SINGER FINCHES

December 12, 2009
by TweetysMom
fromWindsor, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I just saw the Green Singer finches advertised. They are wonderful birds. They love to sing (of course) I could get mine to immitate his name and a few other things when I said it by his warble. I disagree with the life span. My little Tweety was well loved and cared for- and he lived for 21 yrs. The 1st 10+ years once a week under controlled conditions he would be allowed our of his cage inside the house (he loved it) but he stopped being able to fly after that. (Note: the best way to catch a bird is to throw a very light weight small piece of fabric over them. They are too small to catch by hand.) My little guy sang his name & warbled up about to about 1 month before he past away. You cannot hold a finch but they love attention while they are in their cage.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.