PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Diamond Dove

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Diamond Dove

Ideal for children 8 & up Makes soothing sounds Lives 20 to 25 years Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.79 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 18
19 of 19(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Diamond Dove
Review 1 for Diamond Dove
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 19 reviews

Great Birds

September 23, 2013
by BryDL
fromPasadena, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Always great to have doves. They don't go crazy like parakeets or finches. I have a pair of two males and they are great. I got two males because I didn't want any babies. I thought they might fight but they are very gentle. Great birds!!
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Diamond Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

An interesting experience with a dove from above

September 12, 2013
by Henderson10003
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?M
I live in a Manhattan apartment house. I returned home one afternoon to find a little bird on the floor flapping about; so I reached down and picked her up because I thought she might be injured.
Once in my apartment I put her on the floor (I thought it was a sparrow since I had never met a dove before). I went online to Cornell University Orinthology department to see what to feed a dove. I found out, got some seeds and water and put it next to her. She stayed in my apartment, flying freely, for 3 days and then left. The funny part is that she would walk, not fly, behind me from room to room. I let her perch on top of my computer screen one night and similar places the other nights. After about three days, she returned to my window because I had put out some seeds and water (which my two pigeons also like). The little dove is frightened of the pigeons, because they are much larger birds. Anyway she does not "coo" so I guess she is a female but sher returns several times a day (I am retired) to the window sill for some seeds and water and then flys off into the dusk, until the next day.
That's interesting about the 15 - 30 minutes a person should spend with the dove because I talk sweetly and softly to her and then she will eat; if I leave the room, she flys off. I will purchase one soon since this is a wild dove, even though she visits me every day but no longer enters the apartment; interesting.
+20points
24of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Diamond Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Must Have Bird!

August 25, 2013
by equinest12
fromKentucky
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
I got two, a male and female, like 2 and a half weeks ago. T=at first, they would flap around their cage like idiots.... but after a week they became accustomed to their new home. Once they became adapted to their new home, they started cooing. Once you hear them, you will fall in love with them! I'm still working on taming them, but they do adapt pretty quickly and nicely. So far, i can get right next to their cage without them freaking out and sometimes I can put my hand in there without them going nuts. Recently, my male has started bow cooing. The tail display is so pretty! Maybe in a few weeks I might have some eggs... I love mine to death and are SO easy to care for. One downside is that they don't sell them in a lot of PetSmarts. The PetSmart I got mine from was 75 miles away from my home. I called like 10 different PetSmarts before I found one that carried them. They were much smaller than I thought they were going to be... A bit smaller than a parakeet... but they are just as affectionate as parakeets though and not at all like finches. In conclusion, they are a must have bird!
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Diamond Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

it makes a great pet ever

July 7, 2013
by elizabethlizzie
fromselah wa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My dog was so happy to have a friend and it was the dove .My cats don't try to get him but we still put him in a room because I don't want him to die. He is a friendly dove . If you want a dove buy one here. He has a big cage for him too fly but i let him out a little don't ever buy a small cage because they do't like it. Don't also buy a used cage because it can get them sick and before you buy a dove set it up first so its easy also buy this book to learn about doves its a petsmart this is the title doves A complete pet owner's manual it was $8.99 us canada $10.99 book cpom doves brand BARRON'S
+16points
19of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Diamond Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Must Have Bird!

May 30, 2013
by ANIMALLOVER21
fromLivonia,La
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
If you are interested in getting bird get a Diamond Dove. They aren't as messy or loud as a parakeet or finch, and they are really tame! The males are the only one who make sounds and they really aren't that loud either. They are so funny too! I severely recommend getting a diamond dove as a first bird.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Diamond Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Love at first sight

April 19, 2013
by Vriska
fromOrlando, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I absolutely adore my female diamond dove! After my cat passed away, I was absolutely devastated and couldn't bring myself to buy a new feline friend. So I settled for something easier to take care of, however, as someone who likes more interesting pets, I didn't want something like a parakeet, and I wanted a docile bird unlike parrots. Diamond doves are the perfect bird for you if you just want a snugly feathered friend to cuddle with and have a unique sense of pet choices.
+31points
31of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Diamond Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

My Guy is VERY Shy!

April 18, 2013
by JadedSplendor
fromAntioch, Tennessee
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got my diamond at PetSmart a few months ago and he is just a precious little thing, but he is very shy. I now believe that I should have purchased 2 instead of just him, I think he gets lonely for other bird company, I spend time with him alot, but he seems like he isn't too sure what to think of me! None the less, I do adore him and want him to be as happy as possible, so I am going to get him a companion very soon!
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Diamond Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

I have tamed mine!

April 7, 2013
by NikiBelle
fromCanada, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Mine are just lovely! They have lovely little dove babies and are just beautiful members of the family! You sould buy them!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Diamond Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Kind, don't bite, look out for each other, sweet

January 3, 2013
by PeaceandHarmony
fromMadison,Wi.
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I LOVE diamond dove!Their so sweet, they have a calms/relaxing voice and they don't bite!Recently Harmony (female) died and peace(male) was devastated and still is. He has been cooing for Harmony ever since she passed away and when Harmony was sick and couldn't fly peace sat by her all night. So i recemend dimond doves beacause their so sweet and look out for each other and if your thinking about buying one i recemend you buy a pair instead of just one.
Pros: 1.sweet 2.kind 3.don't bite 4.Cooing doesn't bother anyone and at night they don't make noise.
Cons: nothing
+26points
28of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Diamond Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Absolutley fantastic animals.

July 11, 2012
by MiloGracie
fromCamarillo, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Diamond doves are perfect. I love them so very much. I got two doves from Petsmart and they had a baby shortly after :) Although I have not tamed the parents, I plan to take the baby out and tame her :) very easy to tell male from female :) Petsmart employees did not know until I told them what I read XD Males have larger rings around the eyes, while females tend to have thinner rings :) Definitely a beautiful animal, you will never regret buying them, they make lovely sounds :) mainly quiet, but when they are noisy, it's not annoying in the least. :)
+22points
26of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Diamond Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

July 9, 2012
by 3rpc
fromcollins mississippi
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
great birds I got 2 . get 2 because the will go through separtion trama
+4points
11of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Diamond Dove
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 19 reviews

May 22, 2012
by sandcrab
fromAlabama
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
These birds are very nice. I have about 25. The males have big eye rings and the females have very small eye rings. The also have two babies. They are a male and female baby.
+9points
18of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Diamond Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

LOVE THESE BIRDS!

September 6, 2011
by ILOVEBIRDS
fromPheonix, AZ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I love these birds and they are sooo neat! Mine is 29 years old!
0points
11of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Diamond Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Sweet~Pea n' Cherry

May 14, 2011
by myhouseisazoo123
fromUSA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My mom bought my daughter an ADORABLE diamond dove for Christmas last year. She named him Sweet~Pea. With her own money she bought him a girlfriend and named her Cherry. They are EXTREMELY easy to breed. They aren't hard on your budget at all either!!! Overall they are great birds, only shy the first week or so, and are a joy to have around. Would DEFINITELY recommend this to a friend!
+42points
44of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Diamond Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Awesome pet!

March 21, 2011
by BirdLover36
fromNC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I got one of these and they're great! They're a bit shy, but they're still really active! Mine loves to be let out of it's cage to fly around. If you don't have an aviary set up for your Dove, make sure it gets to be let out of it cage at LEAST once a week. Some can be really friendly, and some can be a bit shy. They have blue and graying colored feathers, with little white spots on their wings! They have beautiful orangeish colored rings around their eyes! They do have have high metabolisms, so make sure they have food and fresh water at all times. They need good sized cages so they can stretch their wings and jump from perch to perch. You can teach your Dove to sit on your finger also! They're very gentle and make BEAUTIFUL coo noises! Mine doesn't like toys all that much. They love to have a weaved basket nest in their cage for them to sit in. Makes a great pet if you have the time to take care of it! A VERY nice bird! I'd recommend it to bird lovers!!! :)
+44points
46of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Diamond Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

A delightful companion

April 21, 2010
by Jimbcus
fromColorado
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
A gentle little bird, very sociable without the noise or mess of a parakeet or a finch. She loves to sit on my shoulder and coo in my ear or ride the back of my hand while I move my computer mouse
Pros: quiet, inexpensive to maintain
Cons: a very messy eater and scatters bird seed
+39points
44of 49voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Diamond Dove
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 19 reviews

Great Pets

January 24, 2010
by AnnGirl
fromWindsor, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I suggest that with any doves and pigeons you keep at least 2. They make great pets but can last even longer then dogs or cats, so make sure you can make the commitment to keeping them for that span. I don’t suggest you buy them for your kids if your not willing to pick up the slack that most kids leave as they grow up or lose interest. However if your ready for the commitment these are animals you can invest in and it will pay off.
I advise getting as big of a cage as possible. A cheap way of constructing a home for them is neat idea storage cubes, or converting an old dresser into a cage for them. However store bought cages may last long and are easier to clean.
As for the birds themselves, do your research (as you should with any pet) and make sure you can provide all the things it needs, especially time out of the cage to fly. These guys are social and will want you to interact with them.
Furthermore I usually say buy from a breeder with most pets but I’ve found petSmart the birds are just as healthy and come in a nice variety.
Pros: great voice, calm, easy to handle, long lives
Cons: over all care can be expensive
+23points
29of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Diamond Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Laid back but full of personality

November 17, 2009
by BellaNKatie
fromPhiladelphia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My little dude loves being cuddled and will sit calmly on people, sometimes for almost an hour if there is food for him. However, despite his laid back nature he is very, very fast. If he doesn't want to be held - good luck catching him. If he is in the mood he will come running and step up on my finger like a gentleman.
He is a ground bird so I have to be very careful when he is out. I have taken what I feel is a justified risk in letting him have out-of-cage time in one of the rooms. I'd suggest investing in a large cage which is not only set up to allow flight but also ideally to give their dove room to walk about.
Some doves need careful supervision as they are not the brightest birds. Mine gave himself what had to have been a huge birdie headache running into the couch leg. The first time I could understand as his vision seems poor. Doing it about five times in a row didn't make much sense. I'd think he was just a very dumb specimen but I've known plenty of other doves that were not too bright.
Nonetheless I wouldn't trade him for anything.
Pros: sweet natured, very laid back, loves attention
Cons: very fast, too tame to always be compatible with finches, not very smart
+30points
36of 42voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Diamond Dove
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 19 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product