PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Sun Conure

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Sun Conure

Ideal for children 14 & up Smart & easily trained Can be noisy Lives 20 to 30 years Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.643 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 25
27 of 28(96%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Sun Conure
Review 1 for Sun Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Awesome

October 19, 2013
by RachelManchesters
fromFL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have 6 of these and there awesome. They all play in my room we dont have a cage but coolio
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sun Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Only if you can take the needy and the noise

April 7, 2013
by PaisleyBird
fromPetal, MS
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
To Ozarkbutterfly?
Sun conures look nearly just like a Jenday when they are young. They don't develop full color till past one year old.
I love my suns and all my conures. Be careful with them and always remember, they are noisy, flock animals which makes them needy. They are very sensitive to air pollutants, so do your research as well. Aerosols, candles, cleaners etc can kill your bird. Teflon skillets are extremely dangerous. Again, please do your research and if you do and you take the time and responsibility of bonding and raising a well rounded conure you will have a best friend that brings loads of love and friendship to your life!
please remember also, when they are babes and newly weaned they can be really clingy and "bob and flutter" for food regularly.
ENJOY!!!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sun Conure
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 28 reviews

Sun Conures are VERY noisy!

March 8, 2013
by JulieInMD
fromMD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought a Sun Conure in Florida about 26 years ago. She bonded with me because it was just the two of us. After I got married she became VERY jealous of my husband and would SCREECH (like chalk on a blackboard) every time he came near. She also became very needy, wanting to be on my shoulder the entire time I was home. We bought a blue & gold macaw, thinking that would settle her down, having a companion but it didn't. We also had problems with her having her eggs get stuck. We ended up getting her a hysterectomy at the cost of $600! Before you buy this or ANY bird, go to the pet shop and LISTEN to their normal noises. Then decide if you can handle that on a daily basis with the rest of the stress in your life. Her screech drove me crazy. My husband took her to live with him when we divorced. Being just the two of them, she settled down again and lived to be 25 years old. PLEASE observe the birds before buying. Yes they are gorgeous birds, but they are very needy and LOUD!
+9points
23of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sun Conure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 28 reviews

Believe we have a Jenday Conure instead of a Sun

February 16, 2013
by OzarkButterfly
fromFayetteville, AR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I just purchased on Valentines Day a "Sun Conure" at a local Petsmart. I & my boyfriend have fallen in love with this charismatic beautiful bird with an over abundance of personality, but upon looking at photos of Sun Conures, we believe we actually purchased a Jenday Conure due to the striking differences in color. Our bird has green wings, not yellow with green tipped under plumage and the head colors are mixed yellow, orange and green speckled. All paperwork from Petsmart note our bird as a Sun Conure, but no matter what... We love our new family member. If anyone has any further information that may be helpful, please feel free to comment. Thank you.
+5points
25of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sun Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

February 2, 2013
by judge442
fromGeorgia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought Sunny at Petsmart in Warner Robins. His name there was Cha-Cha and I changed it. I could not have asked for a healthier, friendlier bird. I am amazed at how smart Sunny is and everything I need for him is at Petsmart. He has added a lot of joy to our family and I could not have asked for friendlier staff to help me understand everything I needed for him. He is out of his cage and sits on my shoulder when I am at home. He would not have been this friendly if he were not taken care of at Petsmart. So, thank you Petsmart, you will always be a class act to me.
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sun Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Adorable!

January 30, 2013
by jmuduke21
fromHarrisonburg, VA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This bird is so adorable! My aunt has one and it's gorgeous and fun to play with! I definitely recommend buying one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sun Conure
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 28 reviews

They are wonderful birds but....

August 2, 2012
by ilovereptiles
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
They are wonderful birds with a great personality but the price is way expensive. I could look somewhere else and see some babies for only $60.
-9points
12of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sun Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Love my Sunny

July 11, 2012
by NightAnimals27
fromRochester Hills, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I love my sweet little Sunny! He is a bit of a biter but he's so loveable and cute. He is not that easy to train but not super hard! We got him at four months... He was a huge puffball when we bought him :). I would recommend for multiple or previous bird owners, but not really for first timers. These are beautiful birds and friendly when introduced properly. Reno, my sunny, gets along so-so with my Green Cheeked, Ruby. He loved to play and loves food! We feed him Ecotrition 8 in 1 Essential Blend for Parrots and Conures he loves that food so much. He also loves his millet! The only thing I didn't expect was his Sun Conure Scream! It's not like any other conure... About three times louder! And when he does it it gets annoying but you learn to control it.
I love my Sunny!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sun Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

I love my sun conure!!!

June 6, 2012
by AmyJ29
fromTallmadge, Ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I've had my sun conure for a little over a year now and I can not begin to explain the amount of joy he has brought into my life. He is more then just a pet - he is my companion. He loves to play-bite and roll over on his back, while I play-attack him. Most of the time he is very gentle, but can get carried away and bite a little too hard. He loves giving kisses, he says "good boy" and "kiss kiss". He loves playing with toys, especially balls that make noise. He needs wood and other toys he can destroy and work out some of his energy on. He loves dried fruit and especially whole-shelled peanuts. He is a very smart bird and will understand new commands easily, but not necessarily obey them all the time, as he is stubborn. These birds need lots of love and attention, and most of all understanding
+25points
30of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sun Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Love my bird

March 21, 2012
by howaboutnone
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got my conure when he was a baby. He's almost one year old. I have four kids and I don't play with him for days when I am really busy. But he is sweet the same as when I pick him up everyday.I try to give him attention, but, at least mine don't care for that much attention.Sometimes he wants to come to me in the morning and wants to be left alone in the evening. He's moody.When he wants to bite he will be doing that until u have to put him back in his cage and get him on a better time.Most of the time he behaves well,kisses and even says he's name(buffet). He has been saying his name for about 6 months. I was impressed how fast he learned, but has not learned anything else since then. I work on kisses and my name, with no lucky. Mabe after some years. Anyway,my kids like to give him pretzels and he loves it. I get concern about his health because he does not want any fruit or vegetable and no eggs, basically only the small seeds.I don't know how far tha isgoing to get him. But I can't force himto eat. He screems only when is out of food, so we rum to give him more. Needs clean water several times a day. Great pet. I would not worry about that much attention that people talk about. Mine conure entertain hinself very well, play with the same toys and likes to lie on his back between 2 perches. It's great even if you have to just look at him. I think mine can be a red fator and not a sun, I am not sure.
-7points
4of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sun Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Sun Conure

April 5, 2011
by ErinS9715
fromLas Vegas, NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought a my very first sun conure named Daisy from my local petsmart, and she is a very friendly and sweet bird! She loves to have her belly and neck rubed, and she will give you kisses, and snuggle with you. She can be noisy sometimes, when she isn't given enough attention, but overall, sun conures are the best pet bird to own, and I would recommend a sun conure to anyone!
+12points
18of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sun Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

ILOVEMYCHILD

January 31, 2011
by Simm
fromCalgary
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
She makes me smile like CRAZY! Shes a huge little clown < 3 ANDD ILOVE HER! Thanks Petsmart (;
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sun Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Lovely birds

December 10, 2010
by birdkeeper2010
fromWaterloo, IA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
My local petsmart had my sun conure for sale for quite a while before I bought him. I enjoyed talking to him and letting him bite my fingers when I was in the store getting things for my fancy green cheek conures. I tried holding him in the store twice and he attacked my hands. I bought him anyway and trained him to step up in about two days. He is now my friendliest bird. I like his loud shrill calls, they make me feel important. The colors on his feathers are amazing, especially the tail feathers. In my opinion sun conures are the best looking conure of all. My bird doesn't go to the bathroom on me unless he has been sitting on me for a long time. I usually give him a bathroom break every twenty minutes and keep a hand towel on my shoulder just in case.
Pros: very friendly companion parrot, awesome loud calls, amazing feathers, potty trainable
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sun Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

November 20, 2010
by stormwulf
fromIowa Park, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i have a sun conure named reese and he is awesome, he gives me kisses and and is real friendly he is a little squaky though but i love him! ☺
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sun Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Beautiful but very loud !

October 6, 2010
by lfdorries
fromChampaign, IL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We had one of these Sun Conures. Raised it from a baby, was very friendly and smart. Never did talk, but boy would it make a good alarm. It was extremely loud. One of our neighbors 5 houses down still has theirs, and we can hear it quite well in the Summer. So if you want a beautiful, smart bird this is for you. But don't expect he or she to be quite...
Pros: beautiful colors and smart
Cons: loud
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sun Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

I Love my Sun Conure, BUT...

August 21, 2010
by MissKristen
fromVancouver, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I work at a PetSmart and totally fell in love with the Sun Conure we had there and eventually decided to get him. However, be prepared to drop A LOT of money the first week or so! It was probably a total of $1000, and I got my cage from a friend.
Also be aware that they do require a LOT of attention. My Conure isn't too terribly noisy but he definitely has his tiffs where he is, and it's mostly when I leave the room. They can also bite VERY hard and be some what of a annoyance at times. For instance, mine bites holes in my shirts, breaks my jewelry, naws on my laptop... etc etc.
Which can all be corrected with Training. It just so happens my Conure started to molt right after I got him, so he's near impossible to train, and he's stubborn to begin with. A training program would definitely be beneficial if this will be your first bird!
I don't have it in me to give less than 5 stars cause they can make amazing pets.
Pros: very friendly, beautiful, playful
Cons: expensive, loud
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sun Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

IMPORTANT IF LOOKING INTO BUYING

August 17, 2010
by Tweety1
fromWashington State
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I purchased a sun conure from petsmart 7 years ago. They are very loving pets. But you have to be careful. If not given sufficient amount of attention (people say 1 hour a day, but they demand more like every second of your life) they can succumb to tendencies like biting (which hurts VERY badly, they take chunks out), screaming(you would have to hear a sun conure scream to understand how annoying it is), or even pulling out their own feathers out of frustration. It is a very long commitment, purchasing a sun conure. So take it seriously and research. They need a big cage (the bigger the better), fresh fruit, lots of toys, patience, time to train them, and of course a lot of love. Also know that it is not common for suns to talk, but they make adorable noises.And it takes time every day to clean up messes.
If you are ready for this responsibility, take on this pet. They are full of wonderful energy, love and spunk :)
Pros: loving, fun, spunky
Cons: can be loud, messy, they neeed a lot of attention, can bite
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sun Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

sun conture!

May 29, 2010
by animalgal67
fromlakeville MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i bought one of these because all of the reveiws were excellent so i brought one home and he was like a priceless work of art! he is really sweat and i wouldnt give him up for anything! $600 is soooo worth it!
Pros: cute, funny, beautiful, loving, tamed
Cons: none
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sun Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Great Pet Companion!

April 30, 2010
by 9Labyrinths
fromAZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought my Sun Conure from my local Petsmart. He is a great little bird with a boisterous voice. He is such a love and likes to clown around. He is a joy to be around. These birds require considerable amounts of interaction, play time and nutritious foods. I would highly recomend this type of bird to a customer who is looking for a wonderful bird companion. Please, note that these birds are somewhat noisey and messy. But, with that being said they are great little birds with big hearts and are fun loving as pets.
Pros: great friendly pet
Cons: noisey and messy
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sun Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

A True Beauty

April 13, 2010
by Savannah22334455
fromEdmond,Ok
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Very Beautiful Bird, I don't have one but they sure are beautiful! They are really noisy
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next