PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Green Tree Frog

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Green Tree Frog

For ages 10 & up Will enjoy living with similar size, gentle reptiles or amphibians Insectivores Nocturnal Good climbers Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.731 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 25
25 of 26(96%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Green Tree Frog
Review 1 for Green Tree Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Hands off Fun

April 10, 2013
by Johnson06
fromShippensburg, Pa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
We got our male tree frog about 2-3 weeks ago.. Gerard Jumper is not only cute, but educational. He also teaches the little ones responsibility. We alternate live crickets with the the freeze-dried ones that are full of his needed vitamins. The kids, ages 5 & almost 7, are able to put the freeze dried crickets in, while I handle the live ones. They help spray him. They've learned that he is nocturnal and the meaning. Although Gerard is at times is active in the day. They love watching him eat the crickets. He's entertaining. Although I've heard that some can be loud, ours really isn't and we find the noise kind of cute. He actually just started it today, once this morning and once tonight.
+24points
25of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Green Tree Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

GREAT!

February 17, 2013
by Paymary99
fromGreer, SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I had my frog for probably 1 1/2 years! They are great pets for young or old! They are fun to watch and hold! I would totally recommend this to anyone!
+21points
25of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Green Tree Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

LOVE HIM!

January 23, 2013
by AmberT
fromShelby Twp., MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got one of these to replace the bearded dragon that I lost. My daughter loves him! They are very easy to care for and a very interesting to watch.
+2points
14of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Green Tree Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

American Green Tree Frog (Hyla Cinerea)

December 6, 2012
by Frogger555
fromIllinois
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought one of these Green Tree Frogs over a year ago. They are relatively easy to take care of. If you happen to get a male, they make loud barking sounds very early in the morning mostly through March and October. They do not require a lot attention other than changing their water dish every day, misting their habitat at least twice a day, and feeding them at least 6 crickets a week (each) plus dusting their food with calcium. You also need to clean their habitat at least once a month. These Green Tree Frogs do get along with other Green Tree Frogs, but if you are planning on getting more than one you would need a relatively large terrarium. They also do well with small lizards such as the Green Anole, Bahaman Anole, or the Long-tailed Lizard. If you are planning on getting one of these frogs, I would definitely recommend doing your research and making sure you have the time for your Green Tree Frog. Over all these wonderful amphibians add a great addition to any family.
+48points
48of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Green Tree Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

carly and freddie my GTF

September 24, 2012
by kroy
fromBecker, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
love them! They r so nice thinking of getting a anole but I highly recomend these, and if u have a cat that plays with them and u dont know how to stop the cat its simple put a basket over the tree frogs, hope this helps it worked with me!
+4points
11of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Green Tree Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

American Green Tree Frog

August 31, 2012
by wiamphibian
fromWisconsin
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I had my two frogs for a couple hours now, they're great! Haven't held them yet to get used to their new habitat but they're fun to watch. Amazing too, when I opened the lid to let them into their new terrarium my one Roscoe had a huge leap into the corner, he/she loves that corner :). These are great frogs, highly recommended in the 12x12x18 size.
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Green Tree Frog
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews

Horrible for a 5th grader

August 18, 2012
by GHEETTHEGIRL
fromChicago
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got this frog years ago when I was in 5th grade, for christmas, all my presents were its tank, its food, its cricket keeper, its plants and hides. I returned everything to petsmart in 2 weeks. Frog would sleep all day and be up all night. Stick to hermit crabs.
-80points
5of 90voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Green Tree Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Green Tree frogs

July 29, 2012
by NativePride
fromLondon Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought 2 green tree frogs from the Wellignton location in London Ontario and very happy with them This is were i will buy anymore if i get any i also get supplies and food from here
-3points
5of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Green Tree Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

nice

July 12, 2012
by miamoo
fromky
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have one of these guys. He is adorible. Everybody should get them.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Green Tree Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

tree frog

June 16, 2012
by frggydex
fromoklahoma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
We just got a tree frog about two days ago. Her name is K.D. She's the sweetest thing. She is fun to watch but does not like to be handled very often. We were changing her water and she jumped onto my grandma's table. My grandma let out a scream and then we caught her. We put her back in her terrarium and my grandma disinfected the table. I really love her and so does my cousin and grandma.
+6points
11of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Green Tree Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Nice pet

June 15, 2012
by briSWAGanna
fromnoneofyourbusiness
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I really enjoy my green tree frog. It loves to go outside and jump around. Thankfully it isnt fast enough to get away. Im uncertain about its gender but he/ she is fairly large. If you want a green tree frog think about the care. Do you think that you have the time to spray the cage wice a day to keep the humidity up? I would not reccommend a treefrog if you are a young child, or have a young child at home. Therefore the treefrog is a great pet and you would certainly enjoy it.
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Green Tree Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

So awsome I have experienced a frog before.

April 7, 2012
by Izzy111
fromFlorida, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have experienced this before. It was cool I live in the country side.
-17points
6of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Green Tree Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Great and can be mixed with Green Anoles!

March 30, 2012
by Volly
fromColorado
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got my lil gal 3 a week ago and i can say that she is amazing i named her Wally because she loves the walls...haha
well i can say they are great pets and will always be entertaining especialy when you feed them!
they make an exxelent addition to the family and can always be mixed with golfrn tree frogs green anoles long tails bahamans green tree frogs and maybe chubby and dumpy frogs too (idk bout the last two..)
i have mine with my green anole Blink! they love their home and i realy want to get a 20 gallon for them in the future for even more space but anyways i would deffinitely reccomend them to anyone
aahhhh i love herps!
+5points
13of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Green Tree Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

the pet is okay

March 13, 2012
by hops
fromarizona
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Copper is an okay pet he doesn't do much.he just hangs around on the walls of the tank. and does not eat dead crickets (only eats alive crickets).so if you get the frog it would jump a lot at the beginning and then 1 more day it would be board as a hog.so good luck on your new frog.
-16points
7of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Green Tree Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

GTF

November 13, 2011
by KayKayisthebombwithearl
fromWisconsin
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got this little bugger (Tango) about 3 month ago or so. He is the weirdest pet I've every had, meaning, the things he does to me is jsut weird. I know hes just acting himself but its just weird. haha. So, anyhow, they just sit on the glass of the tank and sleep durring the day then at night, if its a male he croaks, lOUD! make sure hes not in your room. I had to put pillows over his tank hes so loud. His eyes get very wide and black and his stomach is fat, its really adorable. You wont regret having these little guys, im planning on buying more.(:
+35points
45of 55voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Green Tree Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Green Treefrog?

August 1, 2011
by Manda222
fromSan Marcos, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I love my frog named Boogie. He was very scared when i first brought him home but he started eating crickets after 2 days in his new habitat. After he ate he started calling and I realized that he is not a Green Treefrog like the store said. His call is that of a barking treefrog and his white lateral lines are absent. He is of the same genus though and is adorable. He does not like to be handled but loves the fresh plants I put in his habitat. Great pet!
+5points
12of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Green Tree Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Green Tree Frog

July 21, 2011
by Kiki234
fromPennsylvania
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have 2 green tree frogs and they are great pets. I use the coco husk bedding and include live plants, as well as fake, a coconut hut, and some bark. They are however not easily handled so they are not good pets for younger children.
+12points
16of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Green Tree Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

green tree frogs

July 10, 2011
by bones5
fromLoveland, CO
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
green tree frogs are cool by sticking to walls and trees. they are also cool by there colors. the colors green and white are my favrite colors.
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Green Tree Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Awesome AND Cute!

March 28, 2011
by leopardgeckodude
fromGimmelshtump, Druzelstien
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
These frogs are so cute and awesome how they can climb up the walls. Seem friendly, even though they like to sleep a lot.
+6points
11of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Green Tree Frog
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

Green Tree Frog

February 12, 2011
by Loaches
fromNY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I had 3 of these frogs and they can't be handled. They are pretty easy to feed and care for and they are very fun to watch in action. A lot of the time they don't move.
-7points
7of 21voted this as helpful.
1 2 next