PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Russian Tortoise

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Russian Tortoise

Ideal for children 12 & up Lives approximately 50 years Herbivores Diurnal Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.953 / 5
5
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 59
64 of 64(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Russian Tortoise
Review 1 for Russian Tortoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Great pets! very interesting to watch

March 17, 2014
by Attila
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've always wanted a turtle but I've heard aquatic turtles tanks can smell so i got a tortoise. I got a female named her Attila. She was very shy the first few weeks but now she loves to explore her cage. Her bedding is half bark chips and half ground walnut shells and she loves it! I have a half log for her hiding spot but she loves climbing on top of it too. When i first got her from the store she had a watery eye which (google said) was a sign of dehydration but soaking her in room temp. water just up to the top of her chin for 20 minutes a day for a week helped get her hydrated and happy. I soak her about twice a week just so she pees and poops in the water and not her terrarium. I feed her collard greens as her main diet which she loves. Fruits should be avoided in their daily diet and fruits high in sugar should be completely avoided. I highly recommend a Russian tortoise as a pet for people willing to spend some time a day tending to their needs. I didn't want to spend $100+ on a glass terrarium so i bought a 50 gallon rubbermaid storage bin which works just as well. Tortoises live for a rather long time so when contemplating one please think if you can handle them for a long time to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Russian Tortoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

PERFECT PET!

January 12, 2014
by turtletortoiselover
fromSomewhere over the rainbow
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My adorable Russian tortoise is the cutest thing! He has changed my life in the best possible way. He climbs on his log and tries to swim in his water bowl. I am so happy that this buddy will be with me for 50 years!!!!!!!! This is one of the best pets to get. I enjoy having him around, mostly because he is very entertaining to play with. Our sweet little guy will make us happy for years to come!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Russian Tortoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

I LOVE him!

January 9, 2014
by YellowTurtle
fromValley City, Ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have had my little guy for about a year now, and he is so sweet! He is nice and healthy, and I was concerned about this because I read that tortoises sold in pet stores often have parasites. Granted, he can be picky, but I would definitely direct someone who's looking for one to come here.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Russian Tortoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Awesome pets

December 8, 2013
by SMartin
fromCo
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have had my two tortoises for 2 months now and my two daughters and I love them. They make great birthday presents and if you keep them inside they aren't that pricy. My two daughters did lots of research to get tortoises and payed for it all by themselves. We love playing with them and it has made my two daughters bond even more. I love these little critters.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Russian Tortoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Great

November 13, 2013
by Petguy2013
fromNew York, clifton park
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got my russian tortise in the winter and he was in hibernation. He finally came out and is the happiest little guy. Some things you should know about getting them is 1. It takes commitment. These guys and girls live for over 50 years so be ready. 2. You have to take them out of there tanks. I take mine out all the time during the summer and when its cold i let him walk around my room. 3. Be careful on what you feed him. And 4. Check on him a lot. I checked him once and he was upside down in his water(only for a couple of sec) he is ok now. So i would get one they are cool.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Russian Tortoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

October 16, 2013
by etgarcia1
fromChicago IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought my Russian tortoise which I named spike almost two weeks ago. hes just so cute!! I love him and my two kids do too.im training him now so that he can follow me and listen to me.im really happy with my purchase.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Russian Tortoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Perfect pet

July 12, 2013
by Petlover346
fromColorado co
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My tortise missy is the best! She loves to be held she always loves to crawl around the house she's the perfect pet.for my birthday I'm getting a baby tourtise!!!
+18points
23of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Russian Tortoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Good, but high maintenance

June 22, 2013
by sixbunniekewl
fromArkansas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a Russian Tortoise, named Arnold, he is a great pet and is fun to watch. However, he requires fresh vegetables every day, and I have to always change his water. Only get one if you have time to properly take care of it.
+7points
23of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Russian Tortoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Easy pet to own

May 23, 2013
by troman19
fromDetroit Subs, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
We bought our tortoise almost a year ago for our kids, and we love her. She is very easy to take care of and food is inexpensive to buy. I have done a little research online to find the items that she can eat, and it cost me about $1.70 a week to feed her. The initial set up is the most expensive part with having to buy the bedding and lighting. I bought a zoo med tortoise house for around $80, but you do not have to go that costly. She does not do too much so you do not have to worry about them around kids. But they do like to see what she is up to, and they do not mind too much to feed her and clean her poo either. We give Shelly food in the morning and she usually only goes poo once every couple of days. They do go potty in the water and that is the grossest part about a tortoise, but even that is an easy flush away. We are thinking of getting a second one.
+42points
46of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Russian Tortoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Great Entertainment!

May 19, 2013
by FishyWishy
fromColorado, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My friend's Russian tort, Sammy is the cutest tortoise ever! He acts just like a shy puppy. He loves exploring the house and playing hide and seek. On summer days, he tromps through the grass. He loves to splash in the bath tub and, like all animals, shred stuff up. So, putting a daily paper plate in his tortoise house will keep him out of his shell.
+19points
23of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Russian Tortoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Largo Romanov

March 31, 2013
by Lanni
fromLouisiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Since he is a Russian Tortoise, I wanted to give him a Russian name. So, I thought of "Romanov" fromt he once Russian royal family. However, I also wanted to give him a musical theory name because I am a classical music buff. So, I also gave him the name "Largo". In music theory, this means 'very slow with grace'. So, he is a 'gracefully slow russian royal'. I think it's cute! Plus, his nickname is "Go."
-14points
7of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Russian Tortoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Russian Tortoise

January 27, 2013
by BlueDanes
fromNew York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My 1st tortoise died within a week. I called the store and they were wonderful. I exchanged the dead one for a live one with NO PROBLEM. Since then Bruce has been wonderful! She is very easy to take care of and goes to her bowl about the same time every day to let me know she is hungry. She is very gentle and our grandkids LOVE her. I would recommend a Russian Tortoise as a pet.
+31points
34of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Russian Tortoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Amazing!

January 24, 2013
by Anonymous
fromBuford,GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Normally I would be hesitant to write a review unless the product is absolutely amazing. In this case the product IS absolutely amazing.What I found was that not only did they have accurate pictures, amazing reviews, ect. but they also had very usefull information. This information consists of many aspects that I never thought even existed. A perfect example is that, I never knew when handling a Russian Tortoise, was to wait to let them expeirence their new surroundings for at least 3-4 days. I highly recommend this exquisite reptile to anyone looking for a gentle pet, a life long friend, and a perfect part to your family.
Sydney
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Russian Tortoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

My Russian tortoise, Turbo

January 17, 2013
by turbosmom49
fromIllinois
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Turbo and I just celebrated our first year anniversary this month. I saw him one day at Petsmart and it was love at first sight. He literally begged me to take him and I just couldn't resist. The people there had done a beautiful job at socializing him. He's a happy little guy and a great pet. In thr summer he plays in the yard under close supervision and in the winter he plays inside. He's become a very important part of our family. I would highlly recommend that you check out the Russian Tortoise for a pet.
+17points
24of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Russian Tortoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

RUSSIAN TORTOISE

January 15, 2013
by ANIMALFREAK1111
fromSingapore,Singapore
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
I am writing this review to people who want mor information on russian torts. I have a various number of animals(dog,cat,mouse,hampster,genuia pig, and two fish) I have had more over the years but they weren't mine because i am younge and was even younger then.
You do not have to take my advice but I have researched for weeks. Even though I am educated, I recommend doing follow up research.
SUBSTRATE: I havn't obtained my russian tortoise yet but I am very soon. I will be using 60% Bed-A-Beast and 40% cypress mulch mix. Other possibilities include coconut coir blocks instead of Bed-A-Beast. AVOID: cat litter,rabbit pellets, newspaper
These turtles need to have the proper lighting. I UVB bulb and heat lamp are REQUIRED for a healthy, long-living tortoise. Half of their cage should be heated by the lamp (pointing down) and half of their cage should be cool. They need a hide on both sides of their enclosure. Enclosures need to be large if you want your turtle to be happy. Most people suggest a 50gallon aquarium,but that won't suffice. A fifty gallon storage tub will work though. I know. I know. YOur saying whats the difference but there is a huge difference, and even with that sized tub i would still upgrade to a 4x2 foot enclosure.
I would also put rocks at the corners because they tend to try to dig out. I am also going to put a smoothe one in the basking area. (Where the heat lamp shines). A water dish they are able to stand in is NEEDED. No deeper than the bottom of their shell.
Food/Diet...this is the probably the most important
Food that they can eat:
Dandelion leaves, Endive, red and green leaf lettuce, mustard and collard greens, and my mostly reccomended, spring mix.You can feed them a chunk of apple every once in awhile. This is the only fruit they should be givin.
FOODS TO AVOID:
all grains, dog and cat foods, and all human food except the various lettuce listed above.
Calcium dust is a good this to use as insrtucted on the package.Some owners say Timothy hay is good to have layed out in some places. I hope this has been helpful to anyone with questions. I stronglt advise doing some follow up research of your own.
+27points
29of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Russian Tortoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

awesome pet

January 4, 2013
by theman
fromWisconsin
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
this pet is awesome i would recomend it to all adults who have children who need to learn responsibilty I got this pet for my son for christmas and he loves it.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Russian Tortoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Speedy is the BEST!

January 1, 2013
by Anonymous
fromWest jordan Utah
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
i got my russian tortoise this Christmas and i named him Speedy. He is awesome i love caring for him and letting him explore my house. I feed him romaine lettuce daily and a strawberry every once in a while. He loves the food and will eat out of my hand. He is the best pet i have ever had.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Russian Tortoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

December 31, 2012
by PETsmart123
fromNorthbrook, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I really reccomend this pet to other people because I have a 11 year old girl and we were in petsmart buying goldfish and food for our robo dwarf hamster. When we were exiting something caught her eye so she ran back in and told me to come. I went and saw 3 russian tortoises in the tank. She was crying and begging me to get one and that time was when the price was 99.99. Not on sale. But I saw how much she wanted it so I said yes. She was so darn happy. After we bought everything we needed, and set up the tank, we put our russian tortoise in. It was a girl. My daughter named it Sammy. And I will put photos of her.
+7points
14of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Russian Tortoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

I <3 TORTOISES

December 29, 2012
by ToRtOiSeLuVerR
fromsc
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
I got my tortoise Tasha on Christmas. She is so cute.
I need to change her water and food every day.She will crawl all over me. I RECOMMEND YOU GETTING ONE OF THESES AWESOME PETS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:):):):)
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Russian Tortoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Great pet!

December 28, 2012
by TortiseGirl
fromIndiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I recieved a Russian Tortoise as a gift on Christmas. I named him Sheldon. He loves to burrow into the bedding and slip into the pool for a bit! He is a very quiet animal; we enjoy watching him roam around his new home. I really love him!
+18points
21of 24voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next