PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Eyelash Crested Gecko

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Eyelash Crested Gecko

For ages 10 & up Omnivores Solitary Tree dwelling Easily tamed Nocturnal Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.916 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 70
69 of 71(97%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Eyelash Crested Gecko
Review 1 for Eyelash Crested Gecko
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 71 reviews

I love my crested gecko Topaz so much!

March 17, 2014
by RockStar82
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I recently got my first crested gecko (a juvenile) named Topaz from petsmart. I had been wanting a crestie for a few months and I'm so glad I decided to get one. It had been over 4 years since I had any reptiles and I had been suffering from a reptile withdrawal. Lol. Topaz is happy and healthy, I did a health check before purchasing her. She's in a zoo med 12x12x18 naturalistic terrarium with several hanging artificial plants, a 12" floor plant, a piece of 12" sand blasted grapevine wood, a log hide, bamboo hollow, and the ultimate gecko ledge with food and water bowls. It only took her 3 days to eat and I caught her eating the other night. I was worried it would take longer for her to find her food. She has finally settled in to her new home as she's been very active and exploring a lot the past couple days. She lets me pet her and I've been able to hold her a few times. She's a good jumper and I can't wait until I can start taming her. She's so cute and I love her to death. They are very awesome animals, unique as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Eyelash Crested Gecko
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 71 reviews

Best Reptile Ever!

March 12, 2014
by CrestedGeckoBoss
fromDayton,OH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got it 2 weeks ago. I love him/her. It is a baby. PetSmart treated him nicely and the workers were great. I feed him repashy food. I couldn't ask for anything more. I named him Chai.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Eyelash Crested Gecko
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 71 reviews

Love it

January 12, 2014
by Jilly2000
fromToronto
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
He is a great pet he loves to be held .he really easy to take care of . He never try's to escape .he's a pet you should really try.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Eyelash Crested Gecko
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 71 reviews

I love my gecko but I hate the cuckoo crickets!

January 4, 2014
by nanou
fromfrisco, tx
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I named my gecko Fribble. He is a really great pet. He is a juvenile. He likes being held and he's so fast he can jump in the blink of an eye. He's a good cricket hunter even though he's six months old. I waited a really long time to get him and I'm so happy to have him. He's also very pretty with pretty colors. I'm still having a hard time with the crickets, they jump as soon as they go in the terrarium. But Fribble loves the crickets and it's exciting watching him catch one and eat it
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Eyelash Crested Gecko
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 71 reviews

Awesome first pet!!!!

December 23, 2013
by Crestedgeckolover
fromDavis, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got a baby crested gecko as an early Christmas present. I've never had a lizard before and he is very easy to care for. I probably have had him for almost a month now and he has never tried too escape, I feed him the crested gecko diet with water and every once in a while some applesauce. Over all I love him and this is a very easy pet to take care of. his name is Zeus.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Eyelash Crested Gecko
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 71 reviews

love my baby crested gecko!!!

December 10, 2013
by geckolover100
fromtulsa,OK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I got my little guy a few months ago, and he is a healthy little one. I recommend this gecko for beginners, because they are very easy to care for and are fun little guys.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Eyelash Crested Gecko
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 71 reviews

Great pet

November 7, 2013
by Charcharmander
fromMinnesota
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought my crestie at petsmart about 2 years ago. He is a great pet, and my whole family has bonded with him. One thing to keep in mind is that they are not the easiest to be handled. Regan will let me hold him for a bit, but then he will either jump off or defecate on me. However, he is really sweet and I truly recommend a crested gecko to any prospective lizard owner!!!!
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Eyelash Crested Gecko
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 71 reviews

Do not reccommend

November 1, 2013
by Thisguyfromthatplace
fromChandler, AZ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
So I turn my back for literally a second while cleaning the cage and he disappeared. It has been 3 days and I still cannot find him. That was a $40 gecko that went missing from my room and possibly my house. I have spent every night looking for him (since they are nocturnal). It really is irritating to have bought something that expensive only to have lost it a day after you got it. I would not recommend unless you keep them on leashes and never take your eyes off of them. They are great hiders and impossible to find.
-92points
4of 100voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Eyelash Crested Gecko
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 71 reviews

Perfect for reptile lovers!

October 21, 2013
by Lizzylizardlover
fromEdmonton, Alberta, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got a crested gecko for my daughter a month and a half ago and it's been an amazing pet. It's fun to watch it climb, explore, and hunt for crickets. They are adorable, soft, it likes to be handled, and fairly easy to take care of. My daughter loves it (it's too young to know the gender) and has taken great care of it... In fact, it just started shedding today! I highly recommend it, for all ages.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Eyelash Crested Gecko
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 71 reviews

Amazing lizard for anyone!

August 25, 2013
by Marshmallow123
fromCanada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
My crested gecko was my first ever lizard and I LOVE her. She's a bit flighty, but once I catch her she's great with being handled, and will climb all over my arms until she's on top of my head. She eats great, too, I'll never worry about her starving herself! I definitely recommend cresteds to anyone considering a new reptile, whether it's your first or tenth. Very easy to take care of. Mine never even dropped her tail, which I was really worried about at first, I didn't want to do something wrong to make it happen, but they're hardy little guys if properly cared for!
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Eyelash Crested Gecko
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 71 reviews

Great for first timers!

August 11, 2013
by Mimmieux
fromTuscaloosa, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Crested geckos are the perfect pet for those just venturing into reptiles. They thrive at room temperature, meaning they don't need any special heating. They are also nocturnal so they do not need any UVB bulbs either. They get all of their nutrition from their food, which needs to be a varied diet of insects, fresh fruit, and commercial diets (IE: Repashy CGD). Keeping their humidity up is as easy as misting lightly in the morning and heavily at night, or differently depending on the area in which you live and how humid it normally gets. The only thing I would like to add is that hatchlings and small juveniles do not need 20 gallons of living space, if anything this will stress out your animal and inhibit their ability to find food. Accommodate your animal as it grows. This species is also highly independent and can end up attacking and killing cage mates. The best substrate to keep your new gecko on would be paper towels so you can better monitor poops and overall health, then you can make the decision to switch. Personally paper towels, while not incredibly aesthetic, are my preferred substrate as it's clean, easy to pick up after, and I don't have to worry about my gecko accidentally swallowing it and becoming impacted. Really, these guys are just really great overall and I would recommend them to anyone just getting into reptiles!
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Eyelash Crested Gecko
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 71 reviews

The best pet ever !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

July 23, 2013
by GavinR
fromPA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have had one for about 2 years they are easy tame great live for the perfect time they are simply awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!¡!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! They are great !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
-2points
8of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Eyelash Crested Gecko
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 71 reviews

Worthy PETS

July 15, 2013
by KnightOfLight25
fromHeaven
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
The are cute, friendly, and easy to take care of!!!
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Eyelash Crested Gecko
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 71 reviews

I love my Crested Gecko!

July 4, 2013
by Hal15
fromPortland, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got my crested gecko Paul about a month ago, and at first he was VERY jumpy. He is still a juvenile, so I expected that. But he has warmed up to me a lot recently. He lets me touch him and pick him up without struggling now, unlike before. I had trouble getting him to eat a little, but got him to eat applesauce at first, then crickets, and some CGD. He is doing very good now, which makes me happy!
Also, all the CG's at my PetSmart had their tails still attached, unlike the other places I went, which is a sign that PetSmart takes good care of their geckos! Great job!
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Eyelash Crested Gecko
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 71 reviews

AWESOME

June 29, 2013
by panthergecko77
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
my panther gecko died so i got a crested gecko. i havent named him yet. so far he is really calm and nice and my mom really likes him because he doesnt eat live food.i need to get him more fake plants and a taller cage. so far he is epic.
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Eyelash Crested Gecko
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 71 reviews

Best Reptile Pet

June 28, 2013
by EG117
fromGresham, Or
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I recently purchased my crested gecko and I am loving him! He's easy to feed, (I feed him repashy superfood supplement and crickets.) He's also very easy to handle and got used to me right away. I have had other reptiles like bearded dragons and leopard geckos, but this has been my favorite reptile yet.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Eyelash Crested Gecko
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 71 reviews

Good reptile pet

June 23, 2013
by animalguy
fromJacksonville,FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My crested gecko is a baby and about 4 inches long. He goes to town when he eats mealworms and crickets. He loves to climb on vines and plants that I hanged up. He hides in the plants, wood hideaways, and his caves. They are AWESOME lizards but they arboreal and can get up to 10 inches. A golden rule of thumb is if you want multiple geckos is 10 gallons every gecko. During winter you should use a heat bulb and a zoomed heat pad underneath the cage. The warm side should be 85 maybe to 95 degrees and the cool side should be 80 and below. There diet is crickets, mealworms, and superworms. For décor you should add wood hideaways, caves, food and water dish, vines, and plants. You should use a 100 watt UVB bulbs and red night lights. For substrate use coconut fiber. grown up the should be in a tall 20 gallon tank. Overall they are awesome pets to have.
-10points
7of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Eyelash Crested Gecko
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 71 reviews

Great Pet.

May 28, 2013
by LadyZ21
fromRiverview, Florida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I'm a first time Gecko owner. I purchased him at my local Petsmart. Great service. He is perfectly healthy and growing well. Great for older children. The Crested Gecko is not temperamental at all and beautiful to look at. You can have a lot of fun building them a beautiful terrarium to mimic their natural habitat. Petsmart offers a great selection of everything you need except the Repashi Crested Diet which you can get from an exotic pet shop or online.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Eyelash Crested Gecko
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 71 reviews

Best pet ever

March 15, 2013
by Ilovecrestedgeckos
fromAshland,Ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have had my crested gecko (cupid) for a few weeks now.My mom got me him for valentines day he loves to be hand fed and held he jumps around on my hand. When i get him out he is dark but when i put him back in his terrarium he is almost my skin color. he is one of the kinds that have the pattern on their back. i would definitely recommend this pet to anyone.
+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Eyelash Crested Gecko
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 71 reviews

March 14, 2013
by LizardLover4466
fromBuckeye,AZ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I had an eyelash crested named nigel he was my favorite pet ever i love them and highly recommend this gecko.
-4points
5of 14voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next