PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Fin Breeders

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Top Fin Breeders

These breeding systems create safe, isolated areas for newborn fry. You can also use them to separate injured or aggressive fish from the rest of the tank.
Overall rating:
2.783 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
10 of 23(43%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Fin Breeders
Review 1 for Top Fin Breeders
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 23 reviews

very poor

January 19, 2014
by olidoesfish
fromsuprise
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got this along with my guppies,mollies. The store clerk said the female guppy was heavily pregnant. Turns out she had her babies 4 hours after me taking her home. i put the fry in the 2 way and they all slipped out but they are still alive a day later they are very good at hiding overall horrible product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Fin Breeders
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 23 reviews

could be better

February 21, 2013
by guppiesRawesome
fromGeary, NB
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have a 5g fry tank, I'd normally have the pregnant fish give birth in there, but if they're too aggressive I put her in a mesh box and when they have their fry in there I have to manually remove them. I thought that the slits on the sides would let them out, but thery're just for letting water in. The box dosen't float well and with the suction cups it tilts too much and my guppy has escaped twice and ate a few fry that were already in the tank. It could be deeper down, but over all useful, not great, but useful.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Fin Breeders
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 23 reviews

Cheap plastic, doesn't last

December 23, 2012
by Radman
fromSt. Petersburg, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
Used one time, had to take out insert to clean the unit. Insert would not go back in, plastic cracked. Cheaply made, would not recommend.
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Fin Breeders
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Amazing!

November 2, 2012
by SL1334
fromRound Rock, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Apparently I have a lot of sexually active fish because I have had to buy 3 of these breeders now. All of them stay in place, none of the little fry slip through, and none of them have broken. I take out the middle divider and let all of the fry swim around. I would probably use one of these as a hospital area if I ever needed one. I would definitely recommend this to anyone.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Fin Breeders
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 23 reviews

Works well

May 26, 2012
by xmrsxmansonx
fromClifton Park, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I've had mine for quite some time and it works very well. It's a bit difficult to clean all the mother's waste, which doesn't provide a totally clean area for the babies.
Aside from that, it works great. I usually transfer the fry to a brand new smaller tank afterwards.
Easy to clean, small enough to store pretty much anywhere.
I didn't need to use the lid. My girls are usually calm enough that they don't cause for fuss or jump out.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Fin Breeders
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 23 reviews

Good for what it is.

April 16, 2012
by Albie
fromOrlando, Fl
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got the simple 2-way breeder for my guppy and molly fry. It works well for what it is. The breeder floats on the top and is simple to use and up-keep. I didn't use it for birthing, as I let the mother deliver in the tank, then scooped them up with a net and place them in the breeder. I didn't get the 3-way breeder, as the slots on the side are too big and fry can escape. The 2-way has smaller slots and does a much better job. I would recommend to the manufacturer that hooks or sucking cups are needed to better stabilize the box. It is easy to knock it over by accident when cleaning.
Overall, this product does a good job and is inexpensive.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Fin Breeders
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 23 reviews

Buy the net breeder

April 14, 2012
by lilsparky588
fromUpstate NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Good concept, bad design. I have molly fry and they can't escape, but the unit isnt stable. Unless you buy the 3 way with the suction cups (which my store didn't carry). Tips very easily spilling all the fry... Taking it back tomorrow for the net breeder.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Fin Breeders
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 23 reviews

complete junk

February 21, 2012
by jamie9999
fromsudbury ontario
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My jack Demsey fry slid right through the slats in the side and died. dozens of fry became 2.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Fin Breeders
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 23 reviews

not a good buy for newborn fry

February 21, 2012
by stylist1015
fromsurprise
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
the baby fry swam right through the sides. saved most of them but had to return the breeder. if the fry were bigger they would be fine but these were just born.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Fin Breeders
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 23 reviews

Top Fin Breeder

December 15, 2011
by cbm1244
fromMooresville, Nc
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got the 3 way breeder and I put my MM swordtail in it. Its concept is good but it does not work the baby fish can get through the holes in the sides.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Fin Breeders
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 23 reviews

Handy

December 13, 2011
by Joannekangaroo
fromcanada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
It protects the eggs which is nice but it is a bit small.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Fin Breeders
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 23 reviews

not for guppies

November 3, 2011
by brianm7
fromOmaha, NE
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
To echo some the the previously stated concerns, the guppy fry swim right through the slats. May be more appropriate for other livebearers.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Fin Breeders
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 23 reviews

I worry about it being unsafe

August 26, 2011
by emily97
fromWisconsin
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have 4 platys in my 10 gallon tank and today I was surprised when I found a baby fry in my tank. The male and one of the females I just added yesterday so I assumed that my red wag female had gotten pregnant in the store. I scooped up the fry and eventually 5 others I found and put them in this. I do not like the fact that this thing floats because my adult fish keep trying to get to the babies and bump this around. Also I feel that it could easily get sunken. I worry about the fry being able to slip through the slits in the bottom. When I bought this I thought it would have clips to attach to the side.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Top Fin Breeders
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Great

August 2, 2011
by x303IV
fromAurora, Colorado
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
The 2 way breeder is perfect sized for 1 5g+ my platy fry aren't able to go through the holes on the bottom they love it and the bigger fish think that they can go through it say they knock them selves on the walls. lol. but i recommend the 2 way because there are no slits on the sides as i heard people saying their fry go threw the slits but the only slits are on the bottom and none of my fry can get through them and my fry are about less then a centimeter long it floats in the water. :)
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Top Fin Breeders
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 23 reviews

Babies escaped!

June 18, 2011
by Kami
fromRiverside, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I put my baby guppies in this thing and they escaped within about 2 minutes. I traded it for the net box.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Top Fin Breeders
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 23 reviews

Poor Design

June 5, 2011
by Bob260
fromFort Wayne, IN.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
It's a good concept to have the female fish above the fry and technically it does work. The problem is the fry can swim right through the slats in the container. If you intend on keeping some of the fry I think the breeder net is a better idea.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Top Fin Breeders
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 23 reviews

nice but

February 3, 2011
by eduardo
fromGA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 23 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
The slots on the side of the chamber are definitely too wide for some fish fry... in my case guppies. I may try a modification by adding netting to it.
As sold this breeder may work well with larger live bearers, such as mollies.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Top Fin Breeders
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 23 reviews

January 5, 2011
by Catfish5534
fromKaty, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 23 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 23 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 23 reviews
This breeder box is excellent for Molly fry. Not so great for platy fry. They slipped right out of it, and I was only able to save four. A couple of the columns at the bottom are broken as well. I prefer the breeder net if you ask me.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Top Fin Breeders
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 23 reviews

Waste of money

November 21, 2010
by Seno
fromMilwaukee, Wi
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 23 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 23 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 23 reviews
I just got this 3 way breeder today. My guppy got some babies and i wantet to put them in this breeder to be safe but they were escaping through the openings in the breeder. Tomorrow the first thing I'm going to do is go and return that piece of junk. The openings are so big and the fry escape. Dont waste your money on this thing.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Top Fin Breeders
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

breeder works great

August 13, 2010
by aquahobbiest
fromNorthern California
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 23 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
this has helped save fry I had in my tank from being eaten by other tank mates. Works wonderfully.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next