PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Fin Net Breeder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Top Fin Net Breeder

Isolates and breeds babies within their own community tank Ideal for livebearers and egglayers Adjusts to your tank's water level
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
27 of 33(82%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Fin Net Breeder
Review 1 for Top Fin Net Breeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

Top Fin Net Breeder

February 13, 2014
by doctorjonny
fromFlorida
perfect for my use as a nursery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Fin Net Breeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 33 reviews

Good, but doesn't stay on very well

November 25, 2013
by Haloguppy
fromColorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is a good product but it does not stay on the side of the tank well, I ended up using bent paper clips to keep it on. Which worked alright except for one fall which lost me quite a bit of fry just to catch again. It works with a few tweaks, however if there is a cheaper but similar product available I would get that instead. This works but is overpriced.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Fin Net Breeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 33 reviews

CHEAP!!!!

October 14, 2013
by Bree2theT
fromAlabaster, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
For almost $6 I was expecting A VASTLY BETTER quality. This looks like it could sell for $1. The plastic pieces broke when I tried to put it together. The clips don't stay in place. I could have made something similar with straws a net and got a better quality. Complete waste of money.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Fin Net Breeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 33 reviews

Good but...

September 29, 2013
by Snailgirl
fromColorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this breeder tank for my mouth brooding african cichlid and one of the nails to hold the metal thing in place broke. I put a plant and a shell in and it seems to be holding that up. Is good size and it currently is keeping my femal in closed, but I'm afraid she might jump out because my light hood won't sit properly if I put it any higher. The hood only covers half of the net breeder so she could jump. She hasn't spit out the baby's yet so I don't know how well it will work for them. Over all, I should have bought the plastic one with the suction cups.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Fin Net Breeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

Multiple Purposes

March 20, 2013
by PeachyLovebird
fromCincinnati, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This mesh breeder net isn't just for protecting fry, but can also house weak or sick fish so that they do not get bullied by other fish, or the other way around: the bully can be put in a time out! A good price, the net snaps together and is sturdy. It floats in my tank nicely, and has kept my fish safe.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Fin Net Breeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 33 reviews

Good product that needs a little improvement

March 5, 2013
by EWB46
fromSpokane, WA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The breeder box is made up of plastic frame that is well plastic. I do like this one opposed to an identical one I have of another brand. The Top Fins plastic frame does not have nooks or places for the fry to hide and get stuck in. The mesh screen of my other one has a tie drawstring to make the mesh taught over the frame. TopFin supplies you with a mesh screen that has an elastic band over the top this makes install a cinch! Overall install is really easy if you can play with lego's you can install this item the pieces snap together. The metal clips are left un bent so you can bend it to you your specific tank. I love this feature since my bow front tank has a much larger lip than my 55 or 75 gal tank.
Now the one glaring flaw that most people have already mentioned is the snap plugs supplied to attach the metal hooks. Those plugs do not snap in place and hold very well and you need to be gentle. I am a bull in the china shop kinda guy so that didn't work for me. I remedied the problem with two zip ties. Attached the hooks very well and will not be going anywhere.
In summary great product with one very workable flaw. The item is priced competitive with both internet pricing and local competitors. If you are looking for something more then a mesh bag and plastic frame this product is not for you. I love it and plan one getting a couple more for my other breeder tanks. Item gets 4 out of 5 stars because of the poorly designed plastic plugs mentioned above.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Fin Net Breeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 33 reviews

No no no no no no no.............NO

March 2, 2013
by YOLO
fromFarmington, MI
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This does not float, is cheaply constructed, and overall is just terrible.X_X :( *_* RESPECT THE EMOTICONS
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Fin Net Breeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 33 reviews

Needs LOTS of improvement.

March 2, 2013
by BBGUNZ88
fromAmes, IA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This product is cheap both in cost and in materials. the structure seems to be holding fine but the "hooks" aren't even bent to create a J- hook shape and furthermore are "held" (if you want to call it that) loosely to the frame with plastic "nails" that easily pop out. Mine is currently supported by my plastic plants.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Fin Net Breeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

saved 2 of my babies other 4 were sushi

January 10, 2013
by eatapineapple
fromToronto Ontario
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i got this breeder cause one of my fish gave birth and i really didn't what the other 2 live ones to become sushi and works GREAT and the other fish cant jump over the mesh either
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Fin Net Breeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

Best breeder EVER!!!

October 28, 2012
by fishcare
fromCO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I was a little worried when I saw the price but when I came home I set it in my tank this thing kept my platy safe. It is also big so baby fish have more room to grow than in other breeders. Except that air bubbles can't travel through the breeder and builds a big bubble at the bottom.
Pros: price,sturdy,big
Cons:small netting
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Fin Net Breeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 33 reviews

WHAT YOU SEE IS NOT WHAT YOU GET!

October 11, 2012
by crodler
fromNW PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I am an avid breeder of freshwater fish, including swordtails, mollies, bettas, platies, and neons. I own several of these net breeders and have been looking to buy more as I've gotten more aquariums.
However... If you order item 3788232 Top Fin Net Breeder, you get Top Fin MESH BREEDER. The packing slip still says item 6655507 "Top Fin 0174 Net Breeder", but the item itself is just a green plastic frame with a net "bag" to go around it. You pull it tight with thin strings and tie it.
You do not get the blue hard plastic panel net breeder shown, and it does not have the suction cup as shown. The stores, at least in this area, do not carry these either. I am beginning the return process.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Fin Net Breeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

great

March 27, 2012
by hamsterfishlover
fromfrisco tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i put it in my 29 gallon and breed guppys and turned out great!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Fin Net Breeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 33 reviews

A Safe Haven

March 20, 2012
by newbieAquariumGal
fromFraser Valley, British Columbia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I was surprised one day to find a Platy fry in my tank. There was only the one, so I used my fish net to snatch him up and keep him safe for a while. I then went to Petsmart and found this product. It didn't look like much when I took it out of the box - I thought it would break while I put it together. But after putting it together it was pretty strong.
The only issue I have had with it is the suction cup doesn't stay stuck to the side very well, but the breeder floats so I just stuck it back onto the side again.
My fry is definitely enjoying himself - no more need to hide in the plants for cover, he has his own shelter.
Overall I would recommend this to anyone looking for a net breeder - once it's put together it is near impossible to take apart!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Top Fin Net Breeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

love this breeder!

February 21, 2012
by stylist1015
fromsurprise
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
perfect! i would deff. recommend this breeder. I have used different breeders and had to return. this one works great!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Top Fin Net Breeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

exxelent baby saver

February 12, 2012
by jackattack123
fromrochester
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i bought this along with 2 guppies my guppie gave birth the night had it and it keeps my to babie guppies safe and the parents can see them and not harm them
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Top Fin Net Breeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 33 reviews

Decent in a pinch

November 29, 2011
by BurghMac
fromPittsburgh
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Assembly is easy, just make sure you pay attention and put it together right. The suction cup is held on by two plastic tubes that you put plugs into to keep in place. The plugs have come out of mine allowing the box to dismount from the suction cup. It is also a bit unstable and tends to sit unevenly. The box itself is fairly sturdy and has never come apart.
I haven't had any fry get through it, but they have gotten over it. To solve that, I simply mounted the suction cup to keep the lip higher out of the water. That has worked so far, no fry have escaped since. I suggest this if you need to keep fry and don't have a fry tank set up for them. It should keep them safe until you can move them.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Top Fin Net Breeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

Works great

October 24, 2011
by JamesD
fromCentral, VA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I woke up one morning and discovered that my silver lyretail molly (which i had just gotten) had frye. I ran out and got this breeder net (despite the reviews) because it was only $5. This net is actually really good!
Once the pieces were SNAPPED together, the unit was actually pretty sturdy. It didtend to be unstable at first, but now I have it attached (using the suction cup) in the corner of my tank (butted up against the side glass) and it doesn't move. The fry seem to enjoy the attached plants and it keeps them out of the jaws of my other fish.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Top Fin Net Breeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

Great!

September 22, 2011
by PetMomma
fromNC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This product was great! Our fancy guppies had fry and so far so good! We weren't expecting the fry this early but the day after our guppy had babies we rushed to Petsmart to get this product! It was a little hard to assemble at first (I didn't realize it had to make a snap sound) but so far so good! Great product recommending it for people with Guppy Fry!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Top Fin Net Breeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 33 reviews

Keepin' him safe!

August 29, 2011
by SonicBlue
fromMineral Wells, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
The air inside the tubes is not staying up with the water level like the advertising says. But besides that, the suction cup is holding well, I really like the elevated barrier on top to prevent water flowing in the net. The holes in the netting is very small, which keeps the baby in and the others out! My little molly baby enjoys his net very much! Would definitely recommend! :)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Top Fin Net Breeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 33 reviews

Good product

June 18, 2011
by Kami
fromRiverside, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I had originally got the 3 way breeder, but my babies escaped through the slits! So I got this to replace that one. It seems to be doing its job. It is a bit flimsy, but does the job just fine. Wish it were the under/over breeder style though. Good product for the price.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next