PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Fin(r) Digital Aquarium Thermometer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Top Fin(r) Digital Aquarium Thermometer

Displays water temperature in Fahrenheit or Celcius Accurate and easy-to-read LCD screen Made exclusively for PetSmart
Overall rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 11
8 of 12(67%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Fin(r) Digital Aquarium Thermometer
Review 1 for Top Fin(r) Digital Aquarium Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

great product

December 2, 2013
by kennyw
fromTerre Haute, IN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Works great! Have it in my 75 gallon tank and 150 gallon tank. It is easy to read and easy to use.
Pros: price, works great, easy to install
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Fin(r) Digital Aquarium Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Exceptional Product

November 9, 2013
by XxPOSEIDONxX
fromLancaster, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Don't hesitate to purchase. Unit is very simple and accurate. Everything expected from a quality thermometer. Package even comes with another battery as a spare.
Pros: works great, easy to install, price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Fin(r) Digital Aquarium Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Luv it

October 7, 2013
by SPITFIRE911
fromYucca Valley , Ca.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Easy to set-up , put the probe in the back corner and hardly noticeable , big easy to read display , always on and ready to monitor , no need to turn off , do you turn your watch off till you want to see it ? Works great !!!
Pros: works great, easy to install
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Fin(r) Digital Aquarium Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

How can people even use this...

May 4, 2013
by Megan1234567890
fromSouth Carolina
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
WHAT THE HECK. I followed the instructions and "pulled out the clear battery-protector strip" and it turned right on. It seems to work as far as detecting temperature, but there is no on/off switch. I repeat, NO ON/OFF SWITCH. The only way to turn it off is to kill it. You have to go get a tiny phillip's head screwdriver and take out the 2 microscopic screws and pop the battery out while the thermometer is still on. That is the only way to turn it off. And on the package instructions, there is an on/off switch shown on the model.
How about making a product that ACTUALLY WORKS? Great job, Top Fin/Petsmart. You caused me much frustration with this thermometer.
Not worth the 11 or 12 bucks I spent. At all.
-22points
2of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Fin(r) Digital Aquarium Thermometer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews

Incorrect package information

March 8, 2013
by ziller
fromNorthern California
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Package instructions shows a Power switch.
No Power switch switch on product.
Otherwise it is easy to install and seems to be fairly accurate
Pros: easy to install
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Fin(r) Digital Aquarium Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Great Thermometer

January 28, 2013
by Shirobird
fromUtah
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
I tried using the thermometer that came on my heater, but found out it was inaccurate. I bought the stick on thermometer (the sticker kind) and it was a joke. I was hesitant to buy this one, but am glad I did. It reads accurately, and is versatile. My only complaint is that it looks a bit on the ugly side in my tank because of the visible chords in the water.
Pros: works great, easy to install
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Fin(r) Digital Aquarium Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

rust

October 25, 2012
by saltybob
fromksmo
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
It should be advertised fresh or saltwater. It rusts in saltwater, do not buy for your saltwater tank.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Fin(r) Digital Aquarium Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

waterproof... well, almost...

September 30, 2012
by Cehszar
fromMatamoros Mx
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
mine fell into the tank, when I realized, it was "flooded", I just opened and dried it with an air duster, and it still working,
Pros: works great, easy to install, price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Fin(r) Digital Aquarium Thermometer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

Accurate

June 18, 2012
by n7nc
fromwa
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Checked accuracy at 32 deg F. Very good.
Pros: works great, easy to install, price
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Fin(r) Digital Aquarium Thermometer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

Finally something from TopFin that I like!

February 14, 2012
by TheCrazyFishGirl
fromGeorgia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
This thermometer is awesome. It's easy to use and has been proven accurate against three other brand digital thermometers I have. The only con is that it has to be put on a flat surface regularly, using the little kickstand. Since my aquariums are on fitted stands with no nearby flat surfaces, I did a little DIY and superglued suction cups to the back of the two of these I have in such a way that the battery can still be changed but they can be attached to the outside of the aquarium.
Pros: works great, easy to install, price
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Fin(r) Digital Aquarium Thermometer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews

Sorry TOPFIN

September 3, 2010
by croaker
fromCA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
easy to use, but not acurate positive/negative 3 , I compare to my work, two ref. w/digital thermometr. same reading , 43*C , but this one 39*C
-11points
1of 13voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Top Fin(r) Digital Aquarium Thermometer
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews