PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Aqueon Betta Bowl Plus Water Conditioner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Aqueon Betta Bowl Plus Water Conditioner

Instantly makes tap water safe for fish & plants Developed for smaller bowls & aquariums Ideal for use with Bettas
Overall rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 13
13 of 14(93%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Aqueon Betta Bowl Plus Water Conditioner
Review 1 for Aqueon Betta Bowl Plus Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Not for My Fish

September 30, 2013
by Sunshine5
fromSan Jose, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
I have a 1 gallon betta tank (no filter) that needed a water change. My process is usually to fill a one gallon water jug of tap water and allow it to sit in the same room as the tank so the temp can equal (I do not use a heater as the room is usually kept at 74F). Once the temps matched, I added this product to the clean gallon water and had it tested before putting it in the tank. The readings came back HIGH in ammonia!! How is that possible when that was clean water and this product is states it's supposed to reduce ammonia?? Had my tap water tested solo and that came back clear so something about this product was not right. Took it back and bought Prime instead.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: didn't work
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqueon Betta Bowl Plus Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Love it! But remember, it's for BOWLS!

September 5, 2013
by Shunican
fromCalifornia
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I've used this product for all of my Bettas that I have ever had. I got almost all my Bettas when they were really small, or just babies, so I would keep them in a one gallon bowl until they got a little bigger, then put them in a 2.5 gallon tank with a filter.
I've used this for every single fish I have had, and I love it. My Bettas seem to like it too, always so active =)
Some people are putting this product in an system with a filter, and then complaining that their water is getting cloudy. If you read the directions on the bottle, this product is meant for Betta BOWLS, meaning a system with virtually/literally NO filtration. I have tried this product too with my filtered systems and same thing, they always got cloudy.
This is excellent for Betta bowls and I will never switch products when it comes to this =D
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqueon Betta Bowl Plus Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Great Conditioner

April 2, 2013
by LemonGrab46
fromDayton, NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
This conditioner made my betta(Captain Black Beard) a my snail(Gary) happy and healthy! Also my plants grew out of control and are every wear but my snail Gary keeps them down by eating the plants. I also bought his algae thins that he gose crazy for
Pros: easy to use, works great
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqueon Betta Bowl Plus Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

Creates a film

January 12, 2013
by pheobe5690
fromRodeo,CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
When I use it, days after, it creates a thin, clear, film at the top of the tank.
Pros: works great, easy to use
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqueon Betta Bowl Plus Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews

It's OK

January 5, 2013
by betta411
fromMississauga ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
This conditioner came with the second betta tank I bought; a minibow 2.5 gallon aquarium. I was using Nutrafin Plus Betta Conditioner before, but I didn't like the small size, so I decided to get this. It was a bigger size, and it was cheaper. When I started using it 6 months ago, it was working fine, but later on, my fish started becoming lazier. I think it was the conditioner because 3 weeks ago when I got another fish tank, I decided to switch back to Nutrifin and when I put it in my fish's water, he started being more active again. This seems to work great for other people, but my fish wasn't too pleased.
Pros: easy to use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqueon Betta Bowl Plus Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

good water conditioner

June 24, 2012
by magicalricepudding
fromRaymondville, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
It makes the water a bit cloudy, but a small filter helps a lot. My betta is happy and he's already formed a bubble nest in the corner of his tank and his fins are growing back from being stuck in a tiny container at the store, and the measurement cap helps a lot! I am very satisfied.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqueon Betta Bowl Plus Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews

Its good, but my water is very cloudy

May 31, 2012
by Animalz
fromToronto, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My fish Mushu loves this stuff he's very active and swims around all day long! The only concern I have is that his water is very cloudy and has a thin film layer on the surface of the water. The first time I used it the water was very clear and about a week later it got very cloudy, I cleaned his tank and rinsed out the gravel and scrubbed his tank with a sponge and hot water to make sure it wasn't dirt, but I'm still finding that after 2 water changes his tank water is still very cloudy. It is still a very good product but I would recommend getting some water clarifier with this so the water doesn't become cloudy like mine.
Hope this helps !
Cheers!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqueon Betta Bowl Plus Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Great product

April 20, 2012
by Txdiver55
fromTexas
I have had my betta Toby since Jan 27th 2012. He's in a 1 1/2 filtered aquarium.i let the treated water sit about 30 minutes before introducing Toby back into his home.Aqueon keeps his home clearer longer. He is very active,and his colors stay vibrant. .great product,highly recommended.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqueon Betta Bowl Plus Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

Great conditioner

January 20, 2012
by GabbyGabs
fromErie, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This is a very good product, I use it for my Betta, who lives in a bowl. It seems like it does make the water a teenie bit cloudy, but it doesn't really bother me. I attached a picture of my Betta, Missy :)
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aqueon Betta Bowl Plus Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Great product!

January 5, 2012
by Hamstersrock101
fromReno,NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got this for my betta fish, it seemed to condition his water. He was healthy his whole life. Great product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aqueon Betta Bowl Plus Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

love it

June 18, 2011
by dolly917
fromBaltimore, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i thought my aunt's betta, Jaws, would die. He wouldnt eat much, more slow than usual (i know bettas a very melow) and his tastles (fins) were breaking off and he was just in bad shape. We are both VERY experienced pet owners, but we just couldnt help him. I bought this last-moment to see if it would help him improve. Long behold, the next week he was eating good, his fins were growing fuller, and he was more active in his bowl. He's still doing great. Thank You Petsmart<3
(= Just Call Me crazy =)
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aqueon Betta Bowl Plus Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

BettaBowl Plus

September 10, 2010
by Tyrone
fromOklahoma
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
So, a friend and I got this today for our Betta, Rhett Winford. It was very easy to use, however it does not tell you how long to wait until adding your new fishy to his new home. But overall it is a good product!
Cherrios!
Pros: easy to use
Cons: no info on how long to wait to put fish in
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aqueon Betta Bowl Plus Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

It Smells Good

June 1, 2010
by CujoMarie
fromLas Vegas, NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
I went to the new petsmart and got this today for my betta Steve, And when I cleaned out his tank and went to put it in the water, I noticed that it smelled really. And the thing about this product I like the most is that on the side of the cap, there are things to measure the amount per size of tank. I would highly recomend this water conditionar over the other ones I've tried.
Pros: measuring cap, smells good
Cons: nothing
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Aqueon Betta Bowl Plus Water Conditioner
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product