PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Paw(tm) Easy Grip Flea Comb

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Top Paw(tm) Easy Grip Flea Comb

Closely spaced teeth comb out fleas Rubber handle for increased control Made exclusively for PetSmart
Overall rating:
4.824 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 16
17 of 17(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Paw(tm) Easy Grip Flea Comb
Review 1 for Top Paw(tm) Easy Grip Flea Comb
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

comb

November 2, 2013
by ajp1
fromomaha,ne
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This comb is perfect for our welsh terrier, I use iton her face and legs and it is comfortable to handle
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Paw(tm) Easy Grip Flea Comb
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

It's okay

November 1, 2013
by abcabcade
fromHI
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
pros: the grip is comfortable
cons: not as sturdy as my other comb which is one whole piece of metal. also the length of the usable area of the comb is a bit shorter than my other comb.
overall it'll get the job done for a reasonable price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Paw(tm) Easy Grip Flea Comb
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Do you like fleas?

October 18, 2013
by QTPie
fromGreenbrier, AR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Be prepared to be shocked by how many fleas you will find on your dog. I use a once a month flea medication that gets placed behind the neck and STILL a large quantity of fleas came off when I combed that hard-to-reach area right above the tail. Living out in the country with numerous large dogs in the area can make it difficult to battle fleas. Even treating the yard does not always stop the problem. This is awesome to help your dog stay free of fleas and reach that area where they hide from your dog's best cleaning efforts.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Paw(tm) Easy Grip Flea Comb
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

Helped remove all the fleas from my cat

August 24, 2013
by Floridapetlover
fromPlant city,FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We moved into a new apartment and apparently they do not spray for fleas so my dog brought them in and we have been going crazy trying to get the fleas off our cat and dog. This comb was amazing on our cat but it did not do much on my husky beagle mix hair.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Paw(tm) Easy Grip Flea Comb
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Helped remove all fleas on my cat!

March 24, 2013
by iBored91
fromBrooklyn New York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
We found a cat out in the street and she was covered in fleas. I purchased this and with a cup of soap and this brush I managed to remove all the fleas out of her. It is slightly rough on the skin but it gets the job done.
Cons: expensive
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Paw(tm) Easy Grip Flea Comb
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Cured my kitten of all her fleas!!

February 20, 2013
by KittyKat22
fromMissouri
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I knew this comb was mostly for dogs, but my poor baby Christmas kitten had fleas really bad. They got in her eyes and nose, and she was constantly scratching. I couldn't let my little baby be sad, so I did my research and eventually decided that it would work on a kitty, too. The comb was a little more expensive than I would have liked, but it's amazing! 1 month later, my kitten is 100% flea free, and I still use the comb daily for keeping her shedding to a minimum. This is an amazing product, and anyone who's pet has fleas should buy it. It's gentle enough for her face, and it pays for itself. =D
Pros: gentle, Shed Prevention, shiny coat
Cons: expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Paw(tm) Easy Grip Flea Comb
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

It's great! Love it!

January 30, 2013
by Redheadsays
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I used the Sentry flea shampoo till it was empty but that was useless. So I bought this flea comb and it is amazing! I use it on both cat and dog and it really gets the fleas and their rotten eggs. It even took paint off my hair. Lol multiple uses. Love it love it love it..
Pros: gentle
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Paw(tm) Easy Grip Flea Comb
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Fantastic buy!

January 2, 2013
by LovemyCOlab
fromWichita, KS
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
I don't normally write reviews, but I felt this product deserved one. Fleas have been extremely bad this year and I have been trying to get rid of them for months. This little comb works like a charm. I've brushed my dog and cat with this twice now and have pulled off multiple fleas off both of them. I will be using this repeatedly to make sure the fleas stay away.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Paw(tm) Easy Grip Flea Comb
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

Helps alot!

September 16, 2012
by Clee
fromAmerica, US
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
I just adopted my puppt from the pound and we realzed immediatelly he was covered in fleas & ticks! We got him shots at the vet to kill the fleas and after 2 hours, I bathed him. he had 100-200 fleas and about 3 ticks on him. I was picking them all out with my nails as half we're dead and half alive and I finally flipped. My husband rushed and got this brush and it helped with the dead fleas that we're larger, which did help alot being there were so many of them.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Paw(tm) Easy Grip Flea Comb
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

this one works!!

June 26, 2012
by puggirl
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
after getting the $0.99 plastic comb and have it completely fail (fleas went straight through the comb and you could see the teeth of the comb actually move to allow the flea to pass through) i picked this one up. my puppy came home with a horrible flea infestation and we are not able to use treatments on her yet. this comb did the trick we haven't got them all off yet but there are a lot less of them and i have a happy dog!! definitly keep a bowl of soapy water close by so you can quickly kill them once you remove them.
Pros: gentle
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Paw(tm) Easy Grip Flea Comb
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Amazing!

April 6, 2012
by DaBuzz
fromCollege Station, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Literally got it straight from the box and put it to use right away and it works great. Within the first few strokes down my Jack Russell Terrier's back, I had already gotten 3-4 fleas off of her.
Like someone else already said, be sure to have a bucket of water next to you when you do this so you can immediately dunk the brush in and drown them. Also it is probably a good idea to brush your dog before using this as the extremely fine bristles of the comb got a lot of loose hair off of my dog, which made it a lot harder to get the fleas off once I dunked them in the bucket. They would get mixed in with the hair that was stuck to the brush and would not come off until I pulled them by hand.
Pros: gentle
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Paw(tm) Easy Grip Flea Comb
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Great comb

August 12, 2011
by spanielowner12
fromMemphis
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Recently bought this comb and used it on my cocker spaniel after giving him a flea bath, so I didn't find any ticks on him but I can say this comb was awesome for getting out knots in his legs and ears. Made his longer fur on his legs super soft, big, and puffy like you'd want them to look. Definitely worth the $7 for that alone. Also seems to be very durable as opposed to other combs I've used in the past.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Paw(tm) Easy Grip Flea Comb
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

AMAZING POWERFUL TOOL!!!

July 22, 2010
by Babuwagu
fromAnaheim, CA
I LOVE IT! As soon as I got this from the mail, I tried it on both my dogs and it worked great! I have a cocker spaniel/dachshund mix and a pomeranian. I first tried on my mix dog and the first comb did took at least 3 fleas right away! It was easier though for thinner hair so I had no problem but with the pomeranian I suggest you comb the hair first before using this since the comb is really thin and not designed to detangle the hair. Either way I STILL LOVE IT! It did what it's designed to do. I'm happy that I purchased it and will definitely recommend it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Top Paw(tm) Easy Grip Flea Comb
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Love it!

July 14, 2010
by Crumpitt
fromPortland, OR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought one of the $0.99 plastic combs at the same time as we got this comb. I was thinking that if the plastic one didn't work out I'd have this to fall back on, but if the $1 comb worked well enough I could return this comb.
I am keeping this metal flea comb for sure!
This comb was in the dog section. It's blue. There's a pink one for more money in the kitty section. They are identical. I don't think my cats will ever mind the color.
The cheap plastic comb made a kind of popping sound as it passed OVER the fleas or they passed THROUGH the teeth of the comb. It got a few fleas, but lead me to believe our problem was not as severe as it really was.
When I busted this bad boy out the next day, there were WAY more fleas on my kitties than I thought.
It works great. Sometimes (probably because I'm constantly dunking it and swishing it in a bucket of water) the comb part becomes separated from the handle. Just push it back on until you hear it snap into place.
Overall, this thing works. I have to manually remove some fleas because they get stuck in the tines. I hate that personally because it's gross to do with a towel. I prefer them to be just barely hanging onto it and then to swish them off in the water. Otherwise I need 2 hands to remove the flea and kitty escapes!
5 stars. thanks petsmart!
Pros: works!!!, metal tines, traps fleas
Cons: handle can come apart from comb
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Top Paw(tm) Easy Grip Flea Comb
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Flea Comb

June 7, 2010
by ILoveMyPets22
fromMI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
I bought this just as a comb for my Chihuahua puppy, Pixie. It takes out a lot of hair. I brushed Pixie for about two minutes. The comb was almost full with hair when I was done. Yay! And if Pixie ever gets fleas (I hope not), she'll have an excellent comb to help get them out!
Pros: gets a lot of hair, easy to use
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Top Paw(tm) Easy Grip Flea Comb
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Does the job, price is great

February 27, 2010
by Fuyuko83
fromHouston, Tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
I got this for my cat, even though it was in the dog section. Not only does it get fleas, it captures flea-droppings too. (Gross)
If the fleas are on the big-side, they won't actually get trapped in the fine teeth - or at least not for very long. Be prepared to quickly douse the comb in some soapy-water. Swipe with a rag to dry the comb, then go back to flea-hunting. I've done this countless times, with no visible damage to the comb.
Can't beat it for the price.
Pros: very fine teeth capture dead fleas/droppings, nice grip handle, cheap but sturdy
Cons: teeth too fine to trap large fleas for long...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Top Paw(tm) Easy Grip Flea Comb
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product