PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for PetSafe Pawz Away Outdoor Pet Barrier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

PetSafe Pawz Away Outdoor Pet Barrier

The Pawz Away Outdoor Pet Barrier is disguised as a rock that blends seamlessly into your landscape. It teaches your pet to avoid areas in your landscape using static correction.
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
8 of 15(53%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for PetSafe Pawz Away Outdoor Pet Barrier
Review 1 for PetSafe Pawz Away Outdoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Not good

December 20, 2013
by RESCUELOV
fromTemecula, Ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this product to keep my three dogs away from one part of a fence. I opened it up a few days later to try it out when it was all set up and put the collar on one of my dogs it seemed to work well, we brought her inside took the collar off her, shut off the collar, I even went online to buy two extra collars since it seemed to work so well. Next day I turned the collar on so my mom didn't have to all she had to do was put it on my dog but when she put the collar on my dog and she went outside it was not working my mom told me that my dog was actually standing right next to the rock and nothing was happening so when I came home I checked the collar it was not working so I though maybe the batteries so I changed them out and still didn't work. Mind you I got the other collars in by this time. So I exchanged it when I got it home and pulled the collar out, again the collar didn't work this time it fell apart, I even decided to try out the extra collars I bought online and one out of the two didn't work so I got so tired of the collars not working and having to go back and forth to the store I just returned everything to the store, and got my money back. I think it would be a good product if they could just fix the collar situation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Pawz Away Outdoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great Product

February 28, 2013
by isprettyga79
fromKaty, TEXAS
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I just purchased 2 of these barriers and let me tell you that it works!! I have a 7 month old Doberman and a 2 year old chihuahua mix that were diggin in my new flower beds. I was very upset and to the point of getting rid of both of them. This saved their lives. My Dobi got shocked once and has not returned to the flower bed. My chihuahua is not as smart and has been zapped 3 times. I think he will get it by the end of the day. I need to purchase a few more barriers for my other flower beds as well.
For the price, well worth it
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Pawz Away Outdoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

For $100 expect it to be durable

October 7, 2012
by bfryguy
fromNew Mexico
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I purchased two of these systems as I have two dogs, and before I even got one collar on my dog, the receiver portion of the collar broke. It is a terrible design as it is very finicky design. It has a plastic coin size head that you turn with a screw driver to turn on the collar - when I took it out of the box, one of these heads seemed stuck and when I used the screw driver (they are not designed to turn by hand) to turn it to on, it past right by the on position to the remove position (remove position mean the head just falls out so you can access the batteries) - so I kept turning to get it back to on position and the plastic threads broke off. Also, one of the barrier rocks only worked to 4 feet out, rather than advertised 8 ft radius. After purchase, I realized the collars were so delicate that they would not have lasted anyway - a dog could literally bite right through them (if you have two dogs and they like to play with each other).
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Pawz Away Outdoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

WOW! It actually works...

April 8, 2012
by ERJ145
fromAustin, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have a 65lb. Basset Hound who loves to rip up flowers from my wife's flower garden. Almost in tears after weeks of torment and tearing up all her gardens, she threatened to get rid of my little guy. Well he's not little but you get the point. So I go online, start looking at electronic fencing systems. So many to choose from in all types of pricing. For my needs this was PERFECT. If you need to keep a dog in a large yard or acreage without having to build a physical fence, this is not the system. It was not designed for that. It was designed to keep the animal out of a specific area in an already fenced in yard. I.E. garden or flower bed, pool, A/C so he doesn't chew on wires. I'll get straight to the review now. You can buy this in the store, walk-out and take control of your yard again. Setup is SIMPLE. 4 D batteries, a screw driver, put on and adjust the collar. Done. 5 minutes out of the box and your up and running. Still skeptical I tried it myself on my hand to make sure I wasn't hurting my little buddy. The shock is not painful, it is more a quick discomforting sharp shock, like a zap. It will only put out another short zap if the collar is within the "shock range." It also lets out a very faint audible beep that helps condition the dog to let him know when he hears the beep and he doesn't get away he's gonna get zapped. Remember it is not painful, your not tazering your dog, it's quick and sharp. So after I see what it's like I'm still skeptical it will work on my dog. He has rolls and fat around his neck, and medium coarse hair. You want to put the collar not tight persay, but not loose either so the contact points can touch his skin. You should be able to put about 2 fingers through the collar and his neck. You can adjust the range from 2ft-16ft within seconds. The system is disguised as a fake rock, and you place it where you don't want the dog, in my case the flower beds. So to test it I put a dog treat in the flower bed and called him. He heard to beep, and started to look confused trying to look at his neck. Then when he got within 2ft which is what I set it up, it got him. He never yelped or cried, but I'll admit he let out a faint wimper and ran away. Now most dogs are smart enough to know after the first one or two times they come around that area, they will associate it with that shock. So my fat Basset Hound literally began avoiding the flower bed within 10 MINUTES. Now he goes completely around the garden taking the long way around the yard. He doesn't get zapped anymore because he learned so quickly to avoid that area, and my wife is happy. This product is GREAT! It's simple, cost effective, and most importantly humane for our little four legged friends.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Pawz Away Outdoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Works very well.

March 25, 2012
by GreatPyrLover
fromHeath, Tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have a 110 pound great pyrenees mix that likes to tear up the weed blocker in the garden and rip the plants up. We tried everything. We put up a 4 foot fence and she started jumping over it, when I put this rock in the garden and placed the additional wire around the perimeter, she immediately stopped bother the garden, the static shock extends about 2 feet outside the garden. It doesn't hurt, i tested it out on my self and it just scared me. I would buy another one in a heart beat.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Pawz Away Outdoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

works ok

March 25, 2012
by worksok
fromrock hill sc
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
just bought 2 of the petsafe away outdoor pet barrier
i will say as of now (2 days old ) it does work 50/50 i own two felon escape artist it does nothing at all to one of the dogs (she walked right up to the rock smelled it and nothing ) but works on the other one as for the diameter it says it gives off 17 ft i think well the two that i bought has about a 6 ft DIAMETER at most have the rock turned all the way up over all i am not happy with the petsafe outdoor pet barrier for the price i expected it to do as it clams i would not really recommend this product unless bought from petsmart only b/c of there return policy 60 days just keep the receipt hope this helps
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Pawz Away Outdoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Worked in 10 minutes!

January 31, 2012
by AGThornhill
fromThornhill, Ontario, CANADA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this item yesterday because when I let my dog out in the backyard, he was going straight to my garden in the back corner of the yard and would proceed to rip branches off the bushes. When we called him, he'd ignore us. We'd go outside to get him and he'd run away from us. Finally, we'd offer him a treat and he'd come inside. So, basically, he had figured out that if he wanted a treat, all he had to do was ask to go outside and then go destroy the garden! I'd always said I would NEVER buy any kind of electronic correction device, yet there I was yesterday, buying this item. My rationale was that he'd either end up on a short leash and not be able to run around outside, or I could teach him to just stay away from the garden. So I set it up yesterday and let him outside. As usual, after doing his business, off he went to the bushes. As he got close to them he stopped, looked all around appearing to be kind of confused, then turned around and ran in the other direction. I think that time, it was mostly the beeping that had him confused because it beeps and then starts the static corrections. The second time, he went right up to the rock and looked at it, so it couldn't really be hurting him. He stood there, looked around again, and ran away again. This went on like that for the rest of yesterday. This morning, again, he approached, stopped and then went the other way. I think my garden has been saved! My one complaint is that the box specifically uses the words 'waterproof' for the device yet the instruction manual states it's water resistant and not waterproof. They really need to change the wording on the packaging. It was snowing here all day yesterday and there's no way this thing isn't going to get wet. Right now, I have it in a plastic bag so it's protected for the moment. I'm going to move it to a plastic container which will keep it a bit safer from the elements. Over all, I'm super happy with this item. It was way cheaper than the other devices out there and seems to be doing the job. I highly recommend this!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Pawz Away Outdoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Works for our dog

January 25, 2012
by Hazial
fromSouth Dakota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This product worked for our english shepherd. She would wonder to the side of our house where a stray cat would use the loose dirt as a litter box and she would run over there dig it up and well... eat it. To avoid this I've purchased this.
I did notice upon getting it that the collar had to fit tight, not choking the dog, but enough to barely get your finger under the prongs. If the prongs touched the skin it would work, but if your dog has longer fur like my shepherd, you'd have to separate the fur to get it to touch skin or just shave or trim a small spot.
Let the dog wear if for 15 - 20 minutes to be sure it fits.
It's not waterproof it's water resistant, I know it says waterproof but it wasn't with mine.
Also noticed that when the reciever collar wouldn't respond fast with the "boundary line" I'd turn it off and back on and it worked fine, could be old battery.
Lastly, I personally think that if you're dog is VERY persistant with getting to the "off boundary" spot, this might not be a product for your dog.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Pawz Away Outdoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

What a great product!

December 5, 2011
by dogowner1958
fromScottsdale, AZ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We have a six month old golden retriever that I could not keep out of the flower pots. Every time I would go to the backyard, flowers and dirt would be everywhere. I placed the product in the middle of the flower pots. The first time she approached; the collar began a faint beep and then zapped her with a small static charge. She was not hurt but clearly did not like it. Now she stays clear and was only zapped once. Now I'm ready to replant.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Pawz Away Outdoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Poor Quality

June 27, 2011
by Bassman106
fromGreenville, SC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I've had this product for several years and I've got 2 dogs that play rough and the receivers are poor quality for the level of outdoor play. Both receivers have broken and I've had to use cable ties to keep the receivers on the collars. Also, the hassle of replacing batteries is a bit much. The batteries in the rock can be replaced and a month later the receiver batteries needs replacing which can add up to multiple trips to the store. I wouldn't recommend buying this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Pawz Away Outdoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

It works with our dog.

June 15, 2011
by DogFamily
fromArizona
We have a 1-year-old Rhodesian Ridgeback (large dog) who chewed the cushions off our patio furniture. Now, when she passes by that part of the patio, she takes the long way around through the yard to avoid the "rock". We move the "rock" over to the eating area when we grill out, and she, again, will not come close. The batteries have lasted a really long time also (several months).
We only gave it 4 stars because, as another reviewer said, in the beginning it did not always make noise when she came near it. I'm not sure why that happened then, but we have not noticed it again after the first day or so, and we have had it several months.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Pawz Away Outdoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Doesnt work

June 22, 2010
by Chey
fromSun City, CA
I bought this today and it will be going back to the store tomorrow. I was really excited to get it because i thought it had some really cool advantages over other systems. unfortunately i got it home and set it up only to find that it was inconsistent in performance. Sometimes it worked sometimes it didnt. And when it did work it didnt shock enough for my dog to even notice. She just kinda itched as if something bugged her and went on doing whatever she wanted. I was using it on a 25 lb. beagle so i would possibly recommend it for smaller dogs but definitely not anything bigger.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Pawz Away Outdoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

NOT WATER PROOF

January 25, 2010
by wxyz
fromCalifornia
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
This product is very effective if it never gets wet. We had this product for 3 months. The first 2 months it did not rain, the last month it did and the "waterproof" unit stopped working because the batteries had corroded and eaten through the plastic. Great product for the desert, anywhere else it is a complete waste of money!!
Cons: not waterproof
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Pawz Away Outdoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews

Did not work with my dog

July 19, 2009
by Alabama
fromTuscaloosa, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
I have a puppy who is 8 months old. She was staying inside the home with my 6 year old dog while I was gone to work. They have a dog door to go outside. The 8 month old chewed holes in the wall and completely destroyed my couch. I bought the product to put by the back door so that she would stay outside and use the doghouse while I was not home. She was terrified of the product but it did not keep her out of the house. She realized that she would just get shocked for a few seconds but could still come inside the house. I gues she thought it was worth it because she would not stay outside during the day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Pawz Away Outdoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Worked the very first day!

May 19, 2009
by LargentFamily
fromManteca, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Last month, my husband and I paid a lot of money to have our neglected backyard relandscaped. Our 2 yr. old Pit/Boxer mix Ellie was having a hard time understanding that it's not OK to dig in Mommy and Daddy's flower garden or in the veggie garden. After a few frustrating days of trying to figure out how best to handle a stubborn and bullheaded dog, we were at Petsmart and seen this product. It was on sale, so we decided to give it a try. We brought it home, set it up and after only being shocked a couple of times, Ellie's now learned that she's not allowed in the garden! It's the best thing. You have the choice of using as is from the box (wireless) or you can purcahse up to 150 feet of burried wire to create a custom barrier. Atfer seeing the results on the very first day, we're most likely goi g to buy the burried wire and creat a custom barrier to completely block off the entire flower bed and garden area. We could not have hoped for a better result with this product! We're 100% satisified and would gladly recommend this to anyone!
Pros: safe, effective, affordable alternative, can add more than one dog on system, product looks good, can be 150 ft barrier with burried wire purchase
Cons: wireless option only to 16 ft., sometimes a delay in transmitter and receiver, collar loosens on dog after long wear
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.