PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for PetSafe Elite Litte Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

PetSafe Elite Litte Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard

Ideal for training in the yard, at the park, or on the go. You can train your dog to accompany you ahywhere and heed to your wishes - without a leash. Recommended for dogs 8-40 lbs.
Overall rating:
3.909 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
8 of 11(73%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for PetSafe Elite Litte Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Review 1 for PetSafe Elite Litte Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews

PetSafe elite dog trainer

December 1, 2013
by CSYea
fromBelleville, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
I really hate to review at this time because haven't had a lot of time to work with our Shorkie. She's pretty bullheaded so don't know if it's the trainer or us. We've put it up to 7 (out of 8) and it's just a slight annoyance to her. Our next thing is we're going to get a little bit shaved off her neck. Maybe that's what we need. We'll give it more time.
Pros: durable
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Elite Litte Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Awesome

November 14, 2013
by SEP12
fromWisconsin
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Awesome product. It has changed my dog from stubborn to obedient. No more running in the neighbors yard. Follows my commands and doesn't do his own thing. I am so glad that I ordered this product. Only took 2 days for my 9 year old peek-a-poo to obey.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Elite Litte Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Excellent Product.

October 15, 2013
by Quildon
fromIndian Head, MD
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
I truly had second and third thoughts about my decision to adopt a rescue dog. My dog had a friendly and playful personality but he would take off running chasing anything that moves when he's off leash, he would urinate and defecate anywhere anytime, and would not listen AT ALL. The Pet Safe Elite Little Dog Remote Trainer changed that. Now it's like I have a new dog. There are a few more adjustments that are needed, but in the month I've had the trainer he now walks by my side when off leash. That in itself was worth the money. Forget taking the dog to an expensive professional and do it yourself at a fraction of the cost.
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog, comfortable, looks great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Elite Litte Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Worst product

July 18, 2013
by JaeckelBMW
fromKansas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I purchased 2 collors in April and since then I have had 5 collars sent to me. The information from the company says that the collar will last between 40-50 static corrections and more with tone only corrections. Collars won't even last 24 hours without being used at all. The last set that was sent to me I charged for approximately 12 hours and then un-plugged them, turned them on and let them sit. Within 24 hours they needed to be chaged again. I'm hoping PetSmart will refund my money after this time. I would have returned them sooner but I figured PetSafe would provided a replacement unit that stayed charged for more than 24 hours. My cell phone can last longer and I am on it all day long doing stuff, which is a little sad.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Elite Litte Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews

Recommend, with caution notice...

February 18, 2013
by Beaglerun
fromNorthern Virginia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 11 reviews
So I have had this item since November 2011. Started having issues with it last month - right after the one-year warranty went out.
It worked great for the first year, but then all of a sudden it stopped working at any distance more than ten feet... which I did not find out until I needed it...
I am contempating purchasing another one, but am definitely going to consider my other options.
It is a little too pricey to be replacing every 13 months...
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Elite Litte Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Great way to train

October 22, 2012
by husky1
fromKC, MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have a husky and she is so stubborn that I have tried everything and can not get her to do what I say. The breed in general is this way but I have had and trained 4 husky’s and never not been able to train one. So I went and purchased this collar and love it. I could never let her off leash even at a dog park b/c she would never come back when called. I had to use this for 4 days and after that I have not put it back on her. She comes when called and sits, lays, and off with out it on at all times. I keep it charged all the time just in case she needs a refresher lesson but it has been 6 months. I can even get her to not chase the neighbors cats with just telling her no.
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Elite Litte Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Excellent Product!!

August 15, 2012
by PomSchnauzerMom
fromTwin Cities, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
My husband and I ordered this system with the additional "add a collar" for our pomeranian and schnauzer. We wanted a means to keep them in the yard without the large price tag of building a fence or even installing underground fencing. It has been a small miracle worker. Our schanuzer (16 lbs) is terrified of the beeping sound alone so we only need to "beep" her when she goes beyond our yard boundaries to get her to come back. Our pom (6 lbs) is a little bit more stubborn and independent so we do need to use the shock feature with her sometimes, however, she doesn't seem hurt or too bothered by it. It's enough to make her realize she needs to listen to us when we call her, but not anything that makes us feel we are hurting her. Both dogs love having more freedom than just the leadrope we had to use before. I would highly recommend this product!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Elite Litte Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Little Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard

August 20, 2011
by JackaPoo
fromMI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We purchased this as a means to train our dog to stop barking when we tell him to be "quiet," along with getting him to stop rough playing with our kids when we tell him to stop and to stop him if he runs out through our garage.
One problem we encountered was PetSafe's directions on using the "tone" button as a positive reward. While this is a great suggestion, we can't do it because we have a PetSafe invisible fence that uses the same tone before our dog gets shocked if he gets too close to the boarder. We decided to train our dog that the tone is a warning for him to listen and if he doesn't, he will get shocked. Our Jack Russell Terrier/Poodle Mix is a very smart and stubborn dog, but he is learning very quickly. He is to the point (I've only shocked him once on the lowest setting) that I just have to show him the remote control or say his name along with the correction (if he can't see me) while pressing the tone button once. He immediately stops what he is doing and either comes to me (if I'm in another room in the house) or looks at me and lays down.
We have had no problems with the batteries recharging (we've charged it twice in the 2 weeks that we've been using it) and leave this collar on him all day when we're with him, turning it off at night or when we crate him. Lucky for us, he stays within his boundaries in the backyard, so we don't have to switch between this collar and our wireless collar.
While I wish this was a little cheaper, it was definitely a worthy investment for us. I will admit that I thought it was kind of cruel at first & was warned that training would take a long time, I have no regrets about purchasing it. I can already see a vast improvement in my dog's behavior inside the house and I'm hoping that will extend to his behavior when I take him out in public.
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog
+1point
10of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Elite Litte Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Great way to lose your dog !

November 23, 2010
by Customer1
fromFrederick, MD
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Don't trust it !!!!
5 months till it broke. And this was the replacement unit. The fist one broke after 3 months. Almost lost my dog. She run off after a rabbit heading for a busy street !! Great way to find out it stopped working. Let me rephrase: It still works, within 10 yards that is, so it tested fine. Exact same problem both units. Going with another brand from here on. Save yourself the money, don't buy.
Pros: great when it works
Cons: poor quality 2 units in 8 months broke
-7points
2of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Elite Litte Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

September 10, 2010
by Nylah
fromNorman, OK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This was a last resort for my dog, Ben, who is a Beagle/German Shepherd and is by far the most stubborn dog I have ever encountered. Most dogs like to please their owners but Ben doesn't seem to care about pleasing us - so long as he gets to do what HE wants to do. We had a bark collar to correct his constant barking (He LOVES the sounds of his own bark), which helped out a little. He began to do this grunt/moan/whine to avoid the correction from the collar. He now does that all the time (he hasn't had to wear the bark collar for months) whether he is free-roam which is most of the time, or in his kennel. He has quite the number of other offenses such as jumping on people, getting into our dirty laundry hamper and shredding underwear, scratching the wall...and overall just not listening. We've taken so many classes, and have done everything that our Vet recommended - but we were on our last straw. We know that he knows the commands for sit, stay, down, off etc. but getting him to obey was frustrating. Our Vet recommended a remote collar, since everything else had seemingly failed. Day 1 with this collar - I was able to take him out, and when he tried to go after the neighbor's cat, I gave him the "stimulation" and he immediately stopped chasing. I was amazed that it worked. We had to use the "stimulation", and even had to use the boost button a couple of times, along with the "tone" many times the first week. Like I said, he's very stubborn. After that first week, we only need to use the "tone" - very rarely does he need "stimulation." The battery life is excellent. I love that the collar and remote are rechargeable, which means less money spent on batteries. I am VERY happy with this remote trainer. You really get what you pay for when you buy this trainer...and I paid for a peace of mind that my dog will listen, obey and not shred anymore underwear, get into the trash, or chase cats.
Pros: rechargeable remote and collar
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Elite Litte Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Amazing Product

April 2, 2010
by accjeff
fromToronto, Canada
You certainly "get what you pay for" in the world of remote trainers. This product surpasses similar competitor model types. Consistent. Reliable. Effective. Substantial battery power remains - even after extended training sessions.
PLEASE CONSULT A PROFESSIONAL BEFORE USING ANY TYPE OF STATIC, VIBRATION, SPRAY OR ULTRASONIC TRAINING COLLAR. YOUR DOG SHOULD KNOW BASIC OBEDIENCE BEFORE BEGINNING ANY E-COLLAR TRAINING PROGRAM.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.