PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for API Liquid Super Ick Cure

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

API Liquid Super Ick Cure

Treats "Ich" (white spots) Works fast, usually within 24 hours Adds slime coat for further protection
Overall rating:
3.692 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
9 of 13(69%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for API Liquid Super Ick Cure
Review 1 for API Liquid Super Ick Cure
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

DOES NOT WORK AND STAINS EVERYTHING!

December 27, 2013
by StevenF
fromKC, MO
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
I've used over 4 bottles of this to try to treat ich in my freshwater aquariums, IT DOES NOT WORK!! Also it stains all the clear aquarium sealant in the tank blue, including decorations. This is the worst ich treatment I've ever used. I'm very disappointing and will not buy any API brand medicine again.
Cons: didn't work, hard to use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for API Liquid Super Ick Cure
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

fish did not get better

January 6, 2013
by K1Loch
fromCalifornia
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews
Used soon as ick is spotted. Followed instruction on bottle. All the fish got worse. After the 4 day interval, instruction specify removal of product with Carbon. No instructions on further treatment.
If I can return this product, I would, but it's my lost, Petsmarts' and API's gain. This product instruction seems to go contrary to the longer life cycle of ick.
oh. we have been ick free for over two years until our recent purchase of fish from PetSmart. (Gee, I wonder where the ick came from.)
Cons: didn't work
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for API Liquid Super Ick Cure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Works great

October 19, 2012
by Chief88
fromHerald California
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
One day a noticed my tomato clown had early sighns of Ick(Small white spots). found this product shopping one day at the local pet store and gave it a try, it worked great. Just follow the directions. The best way to use this product for full effective use is to use at the very first sighns of the ick or marine velvet pairisite, the longer you wait the chances of your pets recovery gets smaller and smaller, and turn off your skimmer or it will remove the medicine reducing its effectivness and remove the activated carbon, it should only take two or so treatments then do a 25% water change and add back in your carbon and turn the skimmer back on, has not hurt the biological bacteria at all. make sure you have a quarantine tank as this will stain the water and any ornaments in the tank. great stuff, remember Treat Early and quarantine your pets befor putting them in the display tank. Ps Ick can also be caused by to low a water tempature so maintaine your water at 76-78 degres. good luck.
Pros: easy to use, works great
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for API Liquid Super Ick Cure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Betta Lifesaver!

October 1, 2012
by BettaLoverAly
fromColumbia, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
I brought a new betta fish home only to find out he had ick/ich the next day so i went out and bought this product. I chose this one because its dosing is easier then others for a 2.5 gallon. The next day after treatment i could see how many white spots fell off him, three days into it and he doesn't have any... of course i am continuing treatment. Saved my veiltail Sunny's life :) thank you API
Pros: works great, easy to use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for API Liquid Super Ick Cure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Works Great

August 27, 2012
by RapMeUpInRibbons
fromDresden, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My black Molly had Ick. I removed my filters and used 5 and 1/2 cap fulls in my 55 gallon tank. It turned the water blue for a few hours, then cleared up. (I removed my large, white decorative rocks during the couple of hours the water was dark blue, then put them back in)
48 hours later, almost of the white Ick spots were cleared up on my Black Molly.
So I treated the tank again with 5 and 1/2 cap fulls, waited another 48 hours. The Black Molly's Ick was totally cleared up. Then did a 25% water change and put the filters back in.
I followed the directions on the bottle and the Ick Cure worked great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for API Liquid Super Ick Cure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

works great

August 25, 2012
by dhb1957
fromIndianapolis
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
just read the directions worked great for me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for API Liquid Super Ick Cure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews

Great at full strength

June 25, 2012
by FIshLover66
fromRI
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
I've had very good luck with this product at full strength. Unfortunately, it is too harsh to use full strength with cories and didn't seem to work at 1/2 dose, so I had to switch to something else.
As long as you don't have scaleless or sensitive fish, I'd recommend this product as it works very fast.
Pros: works great, easy to use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for API Liquid Super Ick Cure
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews

Did not work

February 22, 2012
by Asphodel
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
My fish had a moderate case of Ick. I followed directions to a "T". I removed all carbon from filters, raised the temperature in the aquarium, gave all doses on time etc. However, my fish never got rid of the Ick and I lost two fish during treatment. I am having to switch to a different medication.
Pros: easy to administer
Cons: didn't work
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for API Liquid Super Ick Cure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Great

January 21, 2012
by GoldfishGuy
fromNJ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
This product saved my fishes life! My fish were badly sick with Ick and I put some of this API Ick cure. Bam after 1 week my fish were better than before. Just be careful to take out the decor because they may get stained blue.
Pros: easy to administer, works great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for API Liquid Super Ick Cure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Works fast

May 25, 2011
by minimochi
fromSunnyvale, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews
At first, I used another medicine for a week and my three goldfish did not get better. However, after I used this product, all three of them got better after the second time I use it. Just exactly like the back of the bottle said "repeat doze after 48 hours." And after that, BAM, all was well!
Pros: works great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for API Liquid Super Ick Cure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Worked just fine for me

September 21, 2010
by pj4818
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
I used this product on my 30 gal Ram Cichlid tank after they had ICK for about a week or two. Applied the treatment, FOLLOWED the directions, and it worked just fine.
I also raised the tank temp slowly over the range of the treatment, that may have lead to my success.
Other than the product staining the tank epoxy and some of the rocks, it was a great product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for API Liquid Super Ick Cure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews

i tought it worked ok

September 10, 2009
by animaldreamer
fromtexas,tx
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews
i have a 50 gallon tank and this was the fist time my fish have had lck i sent my dad to the store so of coure he came of with the ceepest one....i used it like five times though so that might be why i thohgt it work..but every time i used it i could see a decrease in the amont of ick my fish had and they had a bad case of it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for API Liquid Super Ick Cure
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

Does not work at all

August 15, 2009
by happi
fromutah
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
i always thought that API is a good product but this one fails. i have used many other API product but this did not work at all. my fishes had ick on them and i added this to my tank and 48 hours later they still have the ick and then i repeat the dose again and then after 48 hours later the ick was still there and i returned this back to the store.
Pros: none
Cons: bad product
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.