PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Tetra Slow Release Feeders for Tropical Fish

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Tetra Slow Release Feeders for Tropical Fish

These nutritious feeder blocks for tropical freshwater fish slowly release food into the aquarium for either 5 or 14 days. Great for while you're on vacation.
Overall rating:
1.773 / 5
1.8
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 21
4 of 22(18%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Tetra Slow Release Feeders for Tropical Fish
Review 1 for Tetra Slow Release Feeders for Tropical Fish
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

HORRIBLE

July 17, 2013
by kileybear
frommichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
this product is horrible. i got this for a goldfish in a 1 gallon tank
it turned my water brown after 3 days and my fish was gasping at the top of the water
i will never buy this again
-6points
2of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tetra Slow Release Feeders for Tropical Fish
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

poor product

July 15, 2013
by dawgmilkx
fromCT
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Purchased these and used them When I went on vacation for 5 days. I followed the directions on it and put them in my tank. When I got home they both were intact but with whit stuff growing on them. Would not recommend ths product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tetra Slow Release Feeders for Tropical Fish
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

poor product

July 1, 2013
by fishanddoggirl
fromShreveport,LA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this product and put it in my aquarium for a weekend trip. Later I realized it made my water very cloudy and my fish did not eat the food at all. I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tetra Slow Release Feeders for Tropical Fish
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

Wish I had read the previous reviews.

June 30, 2013
by Jaiden04
fromGreenville, SC
How many pets do you have?5 or more
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I decided to go with this product because it seemed like it was a better-quality product. I put it in a 10-gallon tank and twelve hours later, the water looked like the attached photo--and I have a filter that's rated for a 30-gallon tank! I immediately took the product out, tossed it, and bought something else. Don't buy this.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tetra Slow Release Feeders for Tropical Fish
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

Terrible!

April 16, 2013
by Phia
fromLa Porte
I went to my grandmothers house for the week- my grandfather passed away- I put the vaction fish feeder in and when i came back the plastic unravled and suffacated my fish! It was discusting! I'm never aain going to buy this product!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tetra Slow Release Feeders for Tropical Fish
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews

Fish did not like it

January 28, 2013
by Shirobird
fromUtah
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
First, the gel really stinks. At least for me, I didn't like the smell. Then, the fish hardly picked at it the entire week I was gone and were quite hungry when I got back. I think if I was gone any longer they would have eaten it out of desperation, but they didn't like it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tetra Slow Release Feeders for Tropical Fish
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

Fish disn't touch it

January 19, 2013
by FishMan333
fromCary, NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This food was the only one left so I got it even though it didn't look like the ones I usually use. It felt weird, smelled bad, and most importantly the fish didn't touch it. My fish are aren't picky and have always eaten the normal type of vacation feeder.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tetra Slow Release Feeders for Tropical Fish
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

didn't work

December 6, 2012
by Jaspar
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Got this to give my community tank while I was out of town for a couple days. When I got back, my fish were all hungry and the block was nearly intact. wouldn't get it again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tetra Slow Release Feeders for Tropical Fish
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

Never released food

August 23, 2012
by Steph12
fromTN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This feeder never broke down to actually release any food - it got a strange white growth (maybe the "glue") but that was it. Glad I tested it out before we went out of town.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tetra Slow Release Feeders for Tropical Fish
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

Not Worth the Money

August 21, 2012
by KennyJup
fromNew York City
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I had to go out of town for 3 days decided rather than let my 2 fish starve I would try the tetra 5 day feeder. Wow what a waste. In one of my tanks the product made my filter cartridge dark brown from the gung of the food. My fish didn't touch it. I'm glad my trip was not longer or im sure it would have clogged my filter all together.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tetra Slow Release Feeders for Tropical Fish
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews

Cloudy Water...

August 20, 2012
by kevi9800
fromCalifornia CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Says it dosent cloud water,but it acctually does. Also my fish never eat it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tetra Slow Release Feeders for Tropical Fish
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

POOR HUNGRY FISHIES

May 22, 2012
by TIAKAREN
fromOMAHA, NE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
OMG, bought this for my vacation.....put it in the tank the day before i left, and the whole thing was still in the bottom of the tank when i got home 12 days later.....my fishies were still alive, thank God, but they were sooooo hungry.....
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tetra Slow Release Feeders for Tropical Fish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Awesome product

December 1, 2011
by Moo5
fromChicago, IL.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I was skeptical about buying and using this product from all the negative feedback. But I have to say that I didn't have any issues with this product. My fish ate the food and it didn't cloud my tank. They are still eating it lol. I have two tanks and it worked wonderfully in both. Will definitely use it again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tetra Slow Release Feeders for Tropical Fish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Amazing!

August 2, 2011
by fishbreederlover
fromMI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i went on vacation for 3 weeks and it was awesome none died out of 9 tiger barbs although i used the topfin one for my african cichlids 4 out of 30 survived :( all bred by me D;
tetra is always a sucsess! :D
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tetra Slow Release Feeders for Tropical Fish
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

awful!!!!

March 1, 2011
by KAS123
fromcolumbia, sc
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i bought this so i wouldnt have to transport my fish back home during spring. i put it in a few days early to see if it worked. it doesnt!!! my tank is completely cloudy. the fish dont eat it and my fish couldnt breath in the water. i had to take out all the water, clean and reset up my tank because of this product
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tetra Slow Release Feeders for Tropical Fish
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

not my favorite :(

December 13, 2010
by betta123
fromAustin,TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
i have to say i am not impressed with tetra in this product...
i purchased the 14 day product and found it barely eaten on in my tropicle comunity tank...it made my tank cloudy and it was such a mess....next time i will get my naighbor to look after them...:)
Cons: messy, makes tank cloudy, fish dont eat it
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tetra Slow Release Feeders for Tropical Fish
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews

vacation food

November 4, 2010
by tifdun1
fromcolorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
I wanted to test this food before I went on vacation. I have several kinds of tetras; creamcicle; swordtail; glowfish. They all loved this food. It took them about an hour to learn it was food in a can but once they did they began to chow down. They actually ate too much. One creamcicle ate so much he could hardly swim so I had to take the food out! It did make my water a little yellow but that is probably because I accidentally broke the gel in half.
Pros: fish like it
Cons: fish eat too much; can discolor water
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tetra Slow Release Feeders for Tropical Fish
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

Not What I Expected

July 13, 2010
by Kalulah
fromGA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
Ok, first of all it says on it that it won't cloud your water, well it does. When I got it out of the can I expected it to fizz like many other feeders do. This one is a nasty clump of oozing stuff! No wonder my fish didn't eat it! My fish would not eat it at all and my tank was super cloudy so we had to take it out. I recommend that you do not buy this product.
Pros: no pros
Cons: clouded water, fish didn't eat it
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tetra Slow Release Feeders for Tropical Fish
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

fish won't eat it

July 10, 2010
by zensmama
fromBuford, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
I work at a PetSmart and I thought these looked like an improvement over the usual plaster vacation feeders. I gave these to my fish before a 10 day vacation. I used them in three different tanks with a variety of fishes and at the end of 10 days, they hadn't been touched. If I hadn't had a friend check in on my fish and feed them some of their regular food, they would have gone without food the whole time. Save your money and get the regular plaster feeders. My fishes love those.
Cons: fish won't eat them
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tetra Slow Release Feeders for Tropical Fish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

great stuff

June 25, 2009
by aquaman13
fromLansing, MI
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
these things are great for my fish, especially my bottom-feeders. i like to keep one in my tank even when i'm not going away. they aren't your average time-released plaster block but really a large piece of food jelly. they don't necessarily have a timed lifespan but more so pertaining to how many fish you have. stick one or two in and it will be there until your fish eat it up. like i said, they're great. i would recommend them to anyone.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next