PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Aqueon 16 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Aqueon 16 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit

16 gallon capacity Kit includes everything you need to start Easy to set up and maintain Available in limited quantities at select stores. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
7 of 9(78%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Aqueon 16 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Review 1 for Aqueon 16 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Great Aquarium!

July 10, 2010
by lfergpt
fromClearwater, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I've had aquaria since I was a child and this is one of the best I've had. The quality is excellent, and the kit makes it very easy and quick to set up. It's a beautiful tank!
Pros: nice looking and easy to set up
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqueon 16 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews

tank good, lid cheap

April 16, 2013
by mzclaudia
fromOregon
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews
The part you open on the lid broke within 2 weeks of purchase. The rest of the tank seems fine. I would not buy a bow front tank again though...it 'skews' how you look into the tank and messes with your eyes. Also hard to clean and plant stuff because it looks different from the top than it does from the front.
Pros: easy to install, sturdy
Cons: hard to clean
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqueon 16 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews

tank looks nice BUT

February 6, 2013
by panthersfan
fromAsheville NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Purchased tank,set it up & ended up taking it back. Very cheap hood also water dissapated very fast due to large openings at top.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqueon 16 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews

Pretty tank, hood construction cheap

February 2, 2013
by Manytanks
fromGeorgia
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Tank is very nice. The tank is only 16 gallons but the plants have alot of room and grow nicely in it. Have had my tank for about five years and it has a broken hood. Do not by this tank in Oak, if you want to replace the hood. My tank, hood, and stand in oak were all bought together. I have not found one yet. I am surprised PS would sell this combo without the option to replace the hood separate.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqueon 16 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

nice design and setup but loud filter

January 9, 2013
by silvertip
fromBurnaby, BC, Canada
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Good:
- the glass aquarium show good quality and nice design
- the heater is fully submersible
- the heater provides well-controlled heat (at the default setting, gives 25 degree in Celsius).
- the glass cover and the separate lighting housing (for the fluorescent bulb) gives options to upgrade your light source later (for example: you may not use the lighting housing but instead get an LED light)
- the cover lid is large for easy maintenance
- the filter capacity is adequate for the size of the tank
- the 16 gallon volume with 20 inch footprint gives more options for fish and deco than 10G with the same 20 inch footprint
bad:
- filter noise: the pump itself does not generate much noise. however, when you put the filter housing on the top edge of the tank, it generates quite a bit of noise. You can check it by lifting up the filter housing, not letting it touch the edge - you will find it is very quiet but the moment you put it on the tank, it starts to make humming noise. Please note that the noise tolerance varies significantly from one person to another. But you will be able to hear the noise for sure if the tank is in your room.
a little cure for the noise:
- I don't think you can completely remove the noise. However, you can reduce it by put some sponge material on the edge that contacts the filter housing.
Overall:
Aesthetically, the whole design is very good. If you place this kit in your bedroom, you might find it noisy - office or living room should be fine.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqueon 16 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

AQUEON 16" Bowfront kit

September 10, 2012
by Dotty68
fromLancaster, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Shopped all over the net and found this one at Petsmart for less. Got it home and have loved it ever since. It replaced my old 10 gallon square tank and the shape is exceptionally pleasing. I have six Tetras; three high-fin and three regular and they love it too! Easy to care for and nice addition to my apartment.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqueon 16 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Great SMALL tank

October 14, 2011
by JudieA
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Wish we had known how big our little fish were going to get, when we bought them 4 years ago. Then we would have known they wouldn't fit in such a small aquarium, but we will soon put them in the BIG tank. When that happens, we will convert this beautiful little tank to a nano reef, and I think it will be spectacular for that. It is a beautiful, well built, and well designed tank, and we have had absolutely no problems with it. We highly recomment this tank for small fish (research those before you buy them, because some of them get really big). Our pleco is about 9" long now, and will probably get bigger, and the clown loach is only about 4", but should be 10 to 12" before he's done growing. Otherwise, beautiful tank.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqueon 16 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

nice tank but......

September 8, 2010
by mixer
fromillinois
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews
Have had this tank for 2 yrs and it has always been a great tank, but the light strip (light flickers with a new bulb) has stopped working and trying to find a replacement strip in the original wood grain color is proving to be very difficult and expensive to get one in black even!
Cons: replacement parts
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqueon 16 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

great tank!

February 18, 2010
by Mikethefishguy
fromWisconisn
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
(click to see the video)
this is just a great tank to get started with! I love mine,the only thing I really gave to say is that everything worked great, I bought it with the matching stand at my local petsmart, the stand actually leaned foward about 2 inches when it's on there but a couple shims fixed that.
Pros: great all round proudct
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.