PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Fin(r) Craggy Sea Rock Aquarium Ornament

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Top Fin(r) Craggy Sea Rock Aquarium Ornament

Ideal for both aquariums and terrariums this sea rock is filled with nooks, crannies, holes and caves to make your fish or reptile feel right at home.
Overall rating:
4.471 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
15 of 17(88%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Fin(r) Craggy Sea Rock Aquarium Ornament
Review 1 for Top Fin(r) Craggy Sea Rock Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

March 4, 2014
by Igrindell
fromTucson. AZ
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
looks good in my 40 gal Cichlid & Catfish aquarium on issue is when cleaning be careful the all fish are out of the holes when taking out of water alittle pricey but good buy
Pros: stylish
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Fin(r) Craggy Sea Rock Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

55 gallon tank

February 8, 2014
by happyaquarist
fromChesterfield, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Looks great in my 55 gallon tank and the fish love it! I have a semi aggressive tank and the angelfish, rams and dwarf gourami love all of the hiding spots. I highly recommend for the sense of security it gives the fish. Reduces stress after they establish who gets which spot. Very large piece not for smaller aquariums.
Pros: durable, price, stylish
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Fin(r) Craggy Sea Rock Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

January 13, 2014
by mantec
fromCascade, IA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
Absolutely love this! So do the fish. they swim through the holes and caves. Great value! Big piece and with the sale on it I was amazed at how low it is. thank you
Pros: price, stylish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Fin(r) Craggy Sea Rock Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Fantastic

December 25, 2013
by Saffikeagan
fromDallas
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
I've had one of these for 2 years in my 55g. I love it. My first tank full of fish just kind of ignored it, but now that I have a semi-aggressive tank with a cichlid, the fish love the "rock" too. At first, I was worried because it didn't look very real. Now, 2 years later, it's all covered in algae and good stuff, has darkened in color, and looks fantastic. One wouldn't know it wasn't a real rock at all. It's light weight, easy to reposition, etc. I've a new 100g tank now, and I want to get several more of these for that tank.
Pros: stylish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Fin(r) Craggy Sea Rock Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Great decoration!

December 22, 2013
by Dave999999999999999999
fromMinnasota, MN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have one in my 25 gallon tank and my fish love it! My fish like going in it, and my African dwarf frog likes hiding in it, because he's camouflage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Fin(r) Craggy Sea Rock Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

I like it.

November 6, 2013
by josephus
fromCitrus Heights, California
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Looks and performs good in my takn.
Pros: durable, stylish, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Fin(r) Craggy Sea Rock Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Expensive, but great

September 27, 2013
by Anonymous
fromHuntington, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
I have two of these in my 110 gal cichlid tank and love them so much i want a couple more. I like the light weight of these instead of real rock because it is easy to manuever and clean. I also like the fact that everytime i add a new fish in, i reconfigure the rocks so that it confuses my community of current fish and make them claim new territories. This allows the new fish to be more at ease since they are not looked at as a new intruder to their claimed territory. I have done several different configurations with just two rocks. Can't wait to be able to afford a couple more of these so my cichlids can have an even more exciting playground. Better price please!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Fin(r) Craggy Sea Rock Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

great product

May 11, 2013
by mitchy
fromnl
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have a 125 gallon tank. I bought two of these fake rocks my fish love them. Great for cichlids. Lots of hiding places. Would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Fin(r) Craggy Sea Rock Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

May 10, 2012
by kiwis85
fromtn
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
makes water cloudy
Cons: price
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Fin(r) Craggy Sea Rock Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Great for looking and excellent for cichlids

February 14, 2012
by steffano
fromDanville, CA
What is your gender?M
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
I add one to my 75 gallon tank! Love the look and want another one, that's how much I love the look of this faux lace rock. My African cichlids love swimming through the holes too. I mixed it with some real lace rock and they look great together.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Fin(r) Craggy Sea Rock Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

DONT BUY! The paint rubs right off

November 28, 2011
by RRsTank
fromHouston
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought 4 of these for 2 of my tanks, a 55g and a 125g. I had to remove 2 to clean some diatoms off and I took it to the sink and just used my finger to rub the diatoms off and the rock turned white due to the paint rubbing right off!? I went to a spot that didnt have diatoms and that was still gray and I just rubbed my finger on it and the gray paint rubbed right off again? After seeing that I didnt even touch the other rock so now I have a rock that is white on top and another rocks with diatoms all over it.
I bought them exactly a month ago but put them in a few days later so they didnt even last a month! VERY DISAPPOINTED seeing as they are $50 a piece! I didnt hold on to my receipt but luckily I used my petperks card so Im waiting on copies of my receipts so I can return them and get my money back!
Buy with caution!!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Fin(r) Craggy Sea Rock Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Great

October 2, 2011
by FishyGracie
fromTN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
I love this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 I bought it for my 36 gallon and it looks great. I just set up a 36 gallon bowfront yeasterday, and I am getting my fish in a few days.
Pros: stylish, durable
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Fin(r) Craggy Sea Rock Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Excellent Choice for African Cichlids!!!

July 19, 2011
by FurAndFins
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
This Craggy Sea Rock is an EXCELLENT choice if you have African Cichlids, as Mbuna are "rock dwellers", very aggressive and territorial. I purchased this product for my 55 gallon Malawi tank, and my cichlids absolutely LOVE it!!! The fry are able to hide in the smaller crevices, away from the larger cichlids when they need to flee. Not to mention price and appearance...it is significantly less costly than purchasing live rock, much qicker & easier to clean than invidual rocks, and has an authentic sea rock appearance.
Pros: stylish, price, durable
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Top Fin(r) Craggy Sea Rock Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

Best fake rock out there

December 12, 2009
by Spyd3r
fromMichigan
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
I tried using real rocks for a while, I'd always have to take them out to clean. The weight of a real rock this size is at least 20-50lb, this thing barely even weighs a pound, so much easier to deal with, not to mention it looks great and has caves, hiding places and tunnels. Only problem is its completely hollow and has some compartments way up inside some fish namely my clown loaches go into and don't come out for many hours, would have been better if the inside was sealed off. Not recommended for use in a 12" wide tank as the rock is 10" wide at its widest.
Pros: great looking
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Top Fin(r) Craggy Sea Rock Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Awesome

October 15, 2009
by TraciT522
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
I bought this item for my 55 gallon cichlid fish tank, my cichlids love it so much as well as I enjoyed watching them swim in it, that I purchased another one along with the dragon as a bubbler and my tank looks awesome. Thanks PetSmart for always having quality items in your store. At a affordable price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Top Fin(r) Craggy Sea Rock Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

5 Stars

February 20, 2009
by PEKO
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I also have a cichlid tank and didnt want to use real rock. So I read the 1st review on here and decided to give it a try. Just put it in and my cichlids love it. Looks great and has many holes for the fish. I have a 30 gallon long, so what I might do is get another one and put them side by side. Just the 2nd one would be flipped around. Dont want the same rock side by side. Im going to try and upload a pic. Dont mind the rock to the right, thats temporary. And some plants will be added soon.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Top Fin(r) Craggy Sea Rock Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Better than real rock.

August 12, 2008
by steveb12
fromCape Coral, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
After looking for rocks for my cichlid tank, I came across this. This did the trick and the fish love it. I actually made some of the holes bigger and created some for the bigger fish. Best way to go instead of real rock.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.