PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Fin(r) Dark Driftwood Ornament

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Top Fin(r) Dark Driftwood Ornament

A dark, hollowed out tree is an excellent way for shy fish to find shelter. This ornament adds a lot of character too!
Overall rating:
4.833 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 35
35 of 36(97%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Fin(r) Dark Driftwood Ornament
Review 1 for Top Fin(r) Dark Driftwood Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Great Decoration

February 19, 2014
by Dobiegirl123
fromNorth Carolina,NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
I love this decoration so do my fish. It’s great for Plecostomus, Kuhli loaches, Cory cats, Shrimp, mystery snail and betas my female beta loves it and sleeps in it every night. It looks great with live plants and sand bottom tank. I plan on buying another one to put in one of my other tanks.
Pros: durable, price, stylish
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Fin(r) Dark Driftwood Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Great center piece for a 10g (or larger)

February 9, 2014
by N12345
fromWilliamsport, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 36 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
I put this piece in my 10g tank and it's the perfect size. My only drawback is that it is much darker than the natural piece of drift wood that is also in the same tank, but the hints of green on it do make it look quite natural. The fish and shrimp also seem to enjoy it as well. Overall a great addition to the tank!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Fin(r) Dark Driftwood Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Cool log and so natural

January 28, 2014
by Jenn51
fromSan Gabriel,CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
My cichlids going play hide and seek inside of this log..
Pros: stylish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Fin(r) Dark Driftwood Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Driftwood Ornament

January 23, 2014
by christoph23
fromPa
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 36 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 36 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I chose this item when the other decor i planned was out of stock. Now that it is in my aquarium, I think its a great piece. There are many different ways you can place it. I first had it laying down but now i have it facing up as if its a tree trunk.
Pros: price, stylish
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Fin(r) Dark Driftwood Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

So Far So Good

January 13, 2014
by Amy100
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 36 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 36 reviews
I got this yesterday for my Plecostomus because he out grew his old home so far he likes it. My other fish enjoys it a lot to and it looks good. I have a 10 gallon tank. I would recommend you shouldn't put this in any thing smaller than a 10 gallon tank. The log looks bigger in person. Its not that expensive for how big it is so you will be getting your moneys worth.
Pros: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Fin(r) Dark Driftwood Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

is it good for active hermies?

December 22, 2013
by trinsterdoodle
fromnew york, ny
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Please tell me if it is a good climbing hide for a hermit crab.
Pros: price, stylish
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Fin(r) Dark Driftwood Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Great for our fish tank.

December 6, 2013
by JMTC
fromMcGill, NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
We purchased this product for our fish tank, specifically for our plecos. We purchased him at about an inch long. Now, he is about 4-5 inches, and has outgrown his previous home. After reading many reviews, comparing sizes and prices, we settled on this one. We put it in our tank, and it looks really nice, and provides him with a pretty good sized home. He took to it immediately and seems to really enjoy it.
Pros: durable, price
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Fin(r) Dark Driftwood Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

GREAT FOR MBUNA CICHLIDS AND COCKOO CATFISH!!

October 12, 2013
by AUBURN
fromAuburn, AL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
I have four of these ornaments in my 60 gallon aquarium. The cichlids and catfishs love them as hide-outs. I have them vertical and horizontal in my aquarium and have not had any problems from them. They are heavy enough for you to have air bubbles coming thru them without any problems,
Pros: durable, price, stylish
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Fin(r) Dark Driftwood Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Top Fin Dark DriftWood Ornament

September 1, 2013
by Hunter323
fromNewYork,NewYork
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 36 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Bought this item for my 10 gallon tank and it looks great!
Pros: durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Fin(r) Dark Driftwood Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

diggin it

August 21, 2013
by ysabear
fromJacksonville, FL
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My fish grew out of his old hiding place, replaced it with this driftwood and he loves it, hides in it, hides under it, he's not out growing this one and it looks very natural.
Pros: stylish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Fin(r) Dark Driftwood Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

GREAT HIDING PLACE FOR PLECO!!!

July 17, 2013
by ncfishliz
fromGreensboro
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
The pleco that I have in my 55 gal tank loves to hide inside this ornament. I rarely see him come out except at night. My other smaller Tin Foil Barbs like to swim through this decoration as well.
Pros: durable, stylish, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Fin(r) Dark Driftwood Ornament
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 36 reviews

Good design. Has a secret feature.

April 17, 2013
by Tadask
fromMarlborough, MA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
After reading all reviews and looking at the pictures of this product , It is still a mystery to me how everyone managed to keep this item at the bottom of aquarium?! It won't sink - just floats! I had to literally tie it up to another piece of decor using plastic ties to keep it at the bottom. Is it just me or people simply keep their secret ?!?!!?
Other than that , this ornament is good quality and looks very realistic.
So, for future buyers - think about attaching a weight to it or buy a plactic ties right away.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Fin(r) Dark Driftwood Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

dark driftwood

April 9, 2013
by BGKlover
fromDickson City, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
looks so much better in tank! my black ghost knife absolutly loves it .... when the light (both day and night light) hits it, it looks great. buy it!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Top Fin(r) Dark Driftwood Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Perfect :)

February 28, 2013
by AshleighN
fromHouston, Tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I recently added 3 blood red parrot cichlids into my tank and they naturally love to have hiding spots and this is perfect. All three of them are usually crammed up inside there and have plenty of room as well.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Top Fin(r) Dark Driftwood Ornament
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 36 reviews

Looks Real

February 24, 2013
by FishDaddy
fromFrederick, MD
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I was looking for something natural looking and had multiple entry/exists for my fish. I picked this up and put it back a couple of times. I finally felt this would work in my new tank. There are small areas of "algae" through out it and it looks great in the tank. There is a small hole on the bottom that allows smaller fish to enter.
I recommend this for those looking for a good place for fish to rest or hide.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Top Fin(r) Dark Driftwood Ornament
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 36 reviews

Looks Real

February 14, 2013
by FishDad
fromMD
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I was looking for something natural looking and had multiple entry/exists for my fish. I picked this up and put it back a couple of times. I finally felt this would work in my new tank. There are small areas of "algae" through out it and it looks great in the tank. There is a small hole on the bottom that allows smaller fish to enter. I recommend this for those looking for a good place for fish to rest or hide.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Top Fin(r) Dark Driftwood Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Very Beautiful

January 7, 2013
by Stone
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
This driftwood is nothing as the picture portrays, it actually looks better in person, and incredible in the aquarium.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Top Fin(r) Dark Driftwood Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Perfect birthing cave!!

October 10, 2012
by MollyBreeder
fromCO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My Molly cloud (r.i.p) gave birth in this wonderful log. My fish today even love it, whatever the reason!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Top Fin(r) Dark Driftwood Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Great piece

October 7, 2012
by newtankowner
fromVa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This has held up great in my tank over the past five years. I have had it situated vertically and horizontally and currently have some of the holes filled with anubias and java fern which make it look more realistic. Shy bottom feeders will love this ornament.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Top Fin(r) Dark Driftwood Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Decorative log

August 11, 2012
by Ainsley
fromTexas, SA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My parrot chiclid loves it! I've had this for over two years now and it hasn't even chipped or cracked. It looks like real wood. I love the fact that it has several holes in it, making it easy for my large parrot chichlid to monuvere in and out of it with ease. It makes my tank look natural. I love it and would recomend buying it. Its a great price too, considering its size and also considering that that orniments are expensive as is.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next