PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Fin(r) Brown Driftwood Corner Aquarium Ornament

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Top Fin(r) Brown Driftwood Corner Aquarium Ornament

The feel of real driftwood adds authenticity to your aquarium and provides your fish with multiple places to seek refuge.
Overall rating:
3.812 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
11 of 16(69%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Fin(r) Brown Driftwood Corner Aquarium Ornament
Review 1 for Top Fin(r) Brown Driftwood Corner Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Makes water dirty

June 21, 2013
by anonymousfishy
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
After only a few hours of putting this in my tank the water got really cloudy so I took it out and noticed the paint was coming off. It took a week of water changes to get my water back to normal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Fin(r) Brown Driftwood Corner Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews

Fades fast, but very attractive

June 6, 2013
by AAAA
fromNew York, Rochester
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 16 reviews
It is a gorgeous addition to my 29 gallon planted tank, however the overall quality of it isn't very good. I've had it for several months and it's got a bit of algae on it which is understandable as-well as being a good 3 shades lighter in certain places. You get what you pay for so it's a cheap and lower maintenance option to real drift wood, and my fish don't notice the difference.
Pros: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Fin(r) Brown Driftwood Corner Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

fish love to hide in it!

April 9, 2013
by BGKlover
fromDickson City, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
we have a large piece in our 60 gal tank. the fish absolutly love it. there's plenty of hiding spaces for them. looks great in the tank ....
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Fin(r) Brown Driftwood Corner Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Cichlids and loaches love this thing

February 11, 2013
by dvdjhll
fromSalt Lake City
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Looks very realistic in my 55 gallon tank. (large sized ornament). My cichlids and loaches love this thing. Lots of nooks and holes for them to play in. Seemed pricing when buying but then all these typse of items seem pricey. Worth the money if it lasts like it should.
Pros: stylish
Cons: price
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Fin(r) Brown Driftwood Corner Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

Looks nice

January 1, 2013
by Marinajh
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
I got this, because I wanted a good, realistic-looking aquarium, and I haven't been dissappointed.
Pros: stylish
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Fin(r) Brown Driftwood Corner Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Great for my use

September 1, 2012
by Samdog
fromSuburban Chicago
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I generally decorate with real wood and rocks, but finding driftwood that has the look and function I'm seeking sometimes can be problematic. I saw this at PetSmart, and it was just what I wanted for one of my 60 gal tanks.
It looks great as is, but I primarily use it as an anchor for my Anubis. The rhizomes slide nicely into the holes (which doesn't discourage my loaches and catfish from seeking refuge inside it as well), and the plants have flourished. They do largely cover the ornament, though.
After reading some reviews here, I looked at new ones in the store, and, yes, mine does seem to have faded a bit over the past year or two. But it still blends so well with the real wood in this tank that it is difficult to tell which is which.
I remain very satisfied with this piece.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Fin(r) Brown Driftwood Corner Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 16 reviews

May 9, 2012
by frampy
fromohio
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
i have had this piece for about four months all of the nice dark brown color has faded out and it is now light tan.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Fin(r) Brown Driftwood Corner Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Great for African Cichlids

February 11, 2012
by jgcgillin
fromJonesborough, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My African Cichlids love this. There are plenty of places for shy less dominate fish to hide and play.My pleco's favorite place to hang out is under this.
Pros: durable, stylish
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Fin(r) Brown Driftwood Corner Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

Looks good.

February 3, 2012
by LeoDaddy
fromomaha
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
I bought this for my freshwater 30 gallon. At first I wasn't too sure I really liked it, it seemed cheap and poorly made. But when I filled the tank and seen it under water and with the tank light on, I changed my mind. The only negative thing so far is some of the 'legs' are hollow all the way to the bottom and I fear small fish would get stuck. So to fix this problem, I just filled the hollow 'legs' with gravel.
Pros: stylish
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Fin(r) Brown Driftwood Corner Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 16 reviews

Looks pretty, fades and clouds tank.

January 12, 2012
by Steve21157
fromWestminster, MD
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
I've got to admit that this looks very nice in my 36gal tank.
However, when it was first put in the coloring slowly seeped into the tank so the water was colored brown and the decoration slowly changed to a light brown.
After several water changes, the color appeared to stabilize (much lighter than originally and a bit lighter than I preferred), and things seemed to be normal. But now I'm seeing cloudy water and it appears to be getting even lighter (at this point nearly all the brown color is gone and it's mostly white.)
I can't say I'd recommend this, since it makes a mess and in the end you don't get the original look of the decoration. They need to do a better job of sealing the coating.
Pros: stylish
Cons: price
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Fin(r) Brown Driftwood Corner Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

October 13, 2011
by Shadav
fromWestfiel, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
very neat looking decor. Though do keep in mind size! I bought the xtra large one for a 10 gallion tank thinking it'd be perfect...it barely fit.
Thankfully we just have a snail, 2 zebra fish and a glofish and they love sleeping under it and swimming around it...unfortunately they don't seem to get the idea that they can actually go inside it...
between this and an airraider there isn't room for much else. We've removed the valcano to give the fish more swimming room.
Pros: stylish
Cons: price
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Fin(r) Brown Driftwood Corner Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Awesome center piece

September 6, 2011
by Dan7192
fromSeminole, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought this item (Extra Large) 2 months ago to put in my 55 gallon oscar tank and it looks amazing. I have two 6" tiger oscars and a pleco, all three love to hide under it and go inside it (well the pleco does the oscars can't fit inside it anymore) and it is the only ornament in the tank with 2 air stones behind it and it makes my tank look complete.
Pros: stylish, durable
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Fin(r) Brown Driftwood Corner Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 16 reviews

Clouded Water

December 13, 2010
by TiaB
fromBristol, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 16 reviews
As far as appearance this piece is beautiful and my cichlids love to hide in it. My tank has been crystal clear with no problems at all until I added this piece of driftwood to my tank. My water got very cloudy and after about a month I could not figure out what was making it that way. After thinking about it for a while, I realized this had been the only thing I had done different so I removed it from the tank. After only a couple of hours my water is now clearing up after taking it out. I could not give a good quality rating since it clouded my water meaning something is apparently coming off of the driftwood. I am returning to the store to see if I can get a refund. I bought it because I assumed it was safe for my aquarium since that is what it is for.
Pros: beautiful and fish like to hide in it
Cons: finish coming off and clouded water, kinda expensive could be a little less
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Top Fin(r) Brown Driftwood Corner Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

driftwood

November 7, 2010
by jmos00
fromMichigan
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
we have this piece of driftwood in our tank and our fish are constantly in and out of it. the tank is african cichlids and some loaches. it is nice that it does not color your water like real driftwood.
Pros: doesn't change color of water
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Top Fin(r) Brown Driftwood Corner Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Cool decoration!

January 31, 2010
by benzeel
fromPomona, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought this for my new 20 gallon tank and it looks really nice! I really like it! Check out the photo. The price could have been a little lower. I bought the x-large one.
Pros: looks great
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Top Fin(r) Brown Driftwood Corner Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews

Okay, but pricey

October 18, 2008
by erma
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
This product is really beautiful, but it QUICKLY fades. My cichlids loved the holes for hiding places. However, the holes are easy to clean and hard to get to. It is very unique in appearance, but its way too pricey!
Pros: looks cool, great hiding places
Cons: too expensive, fades easily
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.