PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Sentry HC Good Behavior Pheromone Collar for Dogs

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Sentry HC Good Behavior Pheromone Collar for Dogs

This collar contains calming pheromones that help soothe dogs in fearful or stressful situations. A convenient alternative to diffusers, this collar releases calming pheromones for up to 30 days.
Overall rating:
3.621 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
20 of 29(69%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Sentry HC Good Behavior Pheromone Collar for Dogs
Review 1 for Sentry HC Good Behavior Pheromone Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews

Don't waste your money

March 10, 2014
by Mred
fromMid, Michigan
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Our dog has always been a high strung animal. Every sound or noise has bothered him. We decided to try the pheromone collar, that our vet recommended. Our dog went nuts, he paced back and forth in the house. When we let him outside all he did was roll around on the ground. He only settled down once we took the collar off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry HC Good Behavior Pheromone Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 29 reviews

Has worked well

February 22, 2014
by Shelly328
fromN. Ga Mountains
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This product has worked well for my female BT. She is very anxious and this collar has helped calm her down a good bit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry HC Good Behavior Pheromone Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 29 reviews

Worth a shot for anxious dogs

December 8, 2013
by MomOfaFenceJumper
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this for our anxious, fearful dog hoping that it would at least take the edge of her shyness so she could learn that new people aren't just something to bark at. It's hard to say if it's really doing anything or if by the time I got it a month ago our training and socialization were finally kicking in, but I think she is a bit calmer while we are walking around the neighborhood and while meeting new people (that we are friendly with). She used to bark at nearly anything (cars pulling up next to us in traffic, people unloading groceries in the neighborhood, other dog walkers, etc) and now walks with hardly any barking.
Again, I think it is mainly that we bought this the same time that of a lot of socialization efforts were taking hold, but to me it's worth it even if it helps just a little bit. (For the record, my husband says he doesn't think it's doing much of anything)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry HC Good Behavior Pheromone Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

Saved our dog

April 2, 2013
by BavarianBradley
fromMt. Angel, OR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
With 5 dogs, 4 cats, and 5 kids it can really be disruptive to have destructive behavior. Our dane/mastiff would not get with the program and leave things alone. After eating through 2 walls, a door frame, ripping up our bathroom floor, tearing up and eating part of the carpet, destroying our hardwood floor, tearing up curtains, eating our couch, chewing up a toilet seat, marking everything in site, and terrorizing the cats by dragging them around when he wanted to play, we were at the end of our rope. As I type this he is sprawled out at my feet in a content sleep I have not seen in him since he was 6 weeks old. Very happy with the calm and peace I see in our Moose.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry HC Good Behavior Pheromone Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 29 reviews

Doesn't work

February 5, 2013
by Simba2012
fromBismarck, ND
I have used this product for around 1 month to help with my dog's separation anxiety. I haven't seen a difference in his behavior
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry HC Good Behavior Pheromone Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews

Don't work but smells good

February 3, 2013
by MuffinMomma
fromSummerville, SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
It has been on my dog for over 3 weeks and it hasn't worked at all. It does smell realy good but that has been the only benefit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry HC Good Behavior Pheromone Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 29 reviews

Calmed my dog instantly

January 2, 2013
by Lindsey26
fromOmaha, NE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My dog has high anxiety, and can be pretty hyper at times as well. I bought this item along with a few toys. I gave him the toys first and he started playing with them. As I had him distracted with the toys, I put the collar on him... and he instantly calmed down.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry HC Good Behavior Pheromone Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews

Not Effective; No Scent

December 10, 2012
by littledog
fromSouth Florida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Unlike other reviews, the collar I got did NOT smell...AT ALL! I put my nose up to it and could barely detect a scent. Maybe this is why it didn't work. It had no effect on my dog. I put it on 30mins before I had to leave him alone, and I still got a call with a noise complaint from a neighbor about my dog crying loudly (he suffers from separation anxiety). I also bought the Sentry pheromone calming spray and used as indicated with NO change. My dog didn't even seem to realize that I had sprayed the spray on the sofa or anything. I had my hopes up and I was greatly disappointed. There is no satisfaction guarantee, so I lost my money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry HC Good Behavior Pheromone Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 29 reviews

Seems to work

June 23, 2012
by Anonymous
fromBlackwood, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this for my dog who is terrified of storms. We had a storm last night and while she was aware of it, she didn't' shake or try to hide like she usually does. The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars is that the odor of it is really overpowering. It's not a bad smell but it's just really strong.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sentry HC Good Behavior Pheromone Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

Less Barking/Aggression

June 20, 2012
by dunkinmom
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a very high strung Jack Russell with many stress and aggression issues. Main reason for this purchase though was for storm anxiety. He has been wearing for 10 days now. There may be a slight improvement in the storm anxiety, but I am noticing improvements with issues that I was not expecting. His excessive barking that can be transferred to aggression towards whatever is in his path has disappeared completely. These are usually triggered by animals in the yard such as squirrels and cats or even just animal scents. I have been bitten numerous times because I just happened to be right there. When we went out this morning he had a scent on a rat that I have seen running down the privacy fence. He hit on the scent, but then he came right back inside with no issue. Last time (before collar) he was so worked up jumping and barking that I had to spray him with the garden hose to break his lock from the rage. Same issue arises inside house when he sees cat walking across front yard. I just stood next to him while he was locked on a cat out front. 11 days ago I could have been bitten. This is a rescue dog and we have tried all kinds of training. He gets daily walks and exercise. Nothing has seemed to help. I know he has this issue, so I would normally do my best to stop the barking before it escalated to rage. With this collar there is less barking overall so less aggression. No agression at all anymore. I still have my guard up because some reviews said it didn't last the full 30 days. This product is amazing!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sentry HC Good Behavior Pheromone Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews

wish it could have worked ;/

June 9, 2012
by Innie
fromroanoke, va
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have a 5month old puggle and he is a lovable dog, however he is just so hyper. He does not know when to stop jumping EVERYWHERE! my almost 3yr old gets trampled all over. I bought it a week ago and there has been no change whatsoever. Saw the reviews and was so excited to maybe have found something... well maybe it works on other dogs, not mine. next i am going to try the STOP THAT product from sentry. hopefully i will get better results.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sentry HC Good Behavior Pheromone Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 29 reviews

Finally something that helps

May 8, 2012
by CalmedOwner
fromMichigan
Our dog is a 65 pound short haired collie mix. He has anxiety when we leave- chews everything (2 years old). I have tried the treat balls to keep him busy, the bitter apple spray, and every other suggestion. The calming collar worked great for a month, and it is true what it says on the package- it only lasts for 1 month. We even put it in a ziploc bag when we were home. I purchased the thundershirt thinking it was a wiser investment but I am returning that since he chewed just as bad with that on, and I'm off to purchase more collars.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sentry HC Good Behavior Pheromone Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews

Did not work for us!

March 16, 2012
by Anonymous
fromBaltimore, MD
I bought this after reading the reviews, really confident it would work. It did not work for our dog and his anxiety so if you buy this product, I would recommend going into the purchase not fully expecting the results you want.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sentry HC Good Behavior Pheromone Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

Available at some Vets too

October 14, 2011
by SmokiesMom
fromEau Claire,WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews
Like many other posters, I too have a rescued pet. My first experience with the collar came when I had purchased this collar at my local Vet. The collar worked FAR better than ALL the other products Id tried, and let me tell you Ive tried ALL. My Affenpinscher still heads for the dark of the bathroom, but no longer shakes incessantly, pants heavily, nor avoids us as a family for long periods of time as previously exxperienced. She has never been a barker, so that wasnt a concern, nor afraid to ride in the car when its raining/thiunder. As soon as the weatherman forecasts the future dates of possible storms, I put the collar on, then remove it AFTER the chance diminishes or forecast changes. The sooner you put it on the better the results we found, then pack it in a freezer bag until the next storm forecast. Not one of the chew types purchased worked, so dont waste your money. The BEST resullts definitely come from this item. Im so happy PetSmart carries it. The offbrands dont work at all with some leaving a powder on the skin that irritates.
Pros: works great, price, easy to administer
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sentry HC Good Behavior Pheromone Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews

not for everyone

August 29, 2011
by mcginnis
fromUS
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews
my family and i just got a 2-year-old min poodle from the shelter. he's a great dog except for his anxiety issues. during car rides he would whine, pant, and bark. when we would leave him alone in the house, he would whine, yelp, and bark very loudly. we bought this under the suggestion of one of the workers. he said it worked for another client whose rescue dog had the same problems but worse. we immediately put it on our dog for the car ride home and it seemed like it was doing more harm than good. i knew it couldn't immediately cure him but i thought that his reactions would at least lessen. instead, he barked even louder than he had before. we tried to use it several others times and still no positive results. when we went to the store to buy groceries, we came back two hours later and we could hear him all the way from the garage which is about 25ft away from our apt. we tried to return it but we couldn't. i suggest you buy with caution. it might work for some dogs, but not ours.
Cons: didn't work
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sentry HC Good Behavior Pheromone Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

July 10, 2011
by AngelVal100
fromTucson, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My Havanese that i got from a local rescue gets nervous when she's in the car or during thunder storms. We didn't know what to do, she would hide in a dark room or her crate shaking and panting. We found this online and decided to try it. The petsmarts in Tucson apparently don't carry it. Well we went to Scottsdale a week or two later to visit my brother and we stopped by the petsmart there, they had it so we tried it on the ride home. It took a little while for it to work but soon she just laid down on the ground and it was all better. We put it in a zip lock bag when we weren't using it, has lasted a few months, we probably baught it about a year ago in september!!
Monsoons just started here so we had to take it out again. We used it at least 15 times by now, and almost all the powder is gone so i think we're gonna need to go to Scottsdale soon! Oh well its worth it and it lasted almost a year if you arent using it every day and you keep it in a ziplock bag. Oh and we didn't cut it to the right size like it says, we just had to wrap it around Lily's neck an extra time or two. :)
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sentry HC Good Behavior Pheromone Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

WONDERFUL!

July 4, 2011
by kelbel
fromBonney Lake, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I bought this collar for my Great Dane around the fourth of July. She gets very stressed out with all of the fireworks. Within ten minutes of putting it on her, I could notice a difference. She relaxed a lot. She was able to lay down and relax despite all the commotion. I would recommend this to anyone!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sentry HC Good Behavior Pheromone Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

Works Great!!!!!

June 12, 2011
by ErinB
fromSalisbury, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This product works very well. My dog was not a good car rider. She would whine and would not sit still at all. We put that collar on her the day before we letf on a 5 hour drive and she was perfect in the car. She laid on the back seat and slept or when she was awake she sat and looked around with no whinning. I would recommed this product to anybody with a dog that has similar problems. ITS GREAT!!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sentry HC Good Behavior Pheromone Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

Calmed down my Rescue

February 25, 2011
by Menne
fromMinnesota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews
I have a rescue dog who had been abused by a previous owner and he was always stressed out when my brother would come into the house.
I bought this collar to help calm him down and to help with some nervous marking. After a day with the collar on, it really has made a difference!
My dog, Eddie, is completely comfortable being in the same room as my brother and his ears are no longer back in fear.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sentry HC Good Behavior Pheromone Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 29 reviews

February 22, 2011
by MAQ44
fromNY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews
We were hoping that this product would work on our 4mth old Springer Spaniel because she's quite hyper and we just brought in a new puppy. The only good thing that came out of it was it's a pretty color and it smells good. Otherwise, it didn't work which was disappointing.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next