PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for SENTRY(r) HC Petrodex(r) Dental Rinse Spray for Dogs & Cats

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

SENTRY(r) HC Petrodex(r) Dental Rinse Spray for Dogs & Cats

Spray this this alcohol-free rinse in your dog or cat's mouth in between brushing to freshen breath and reduce tartar build-up.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
13 of 15(87%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for SENTRY(r) HC Petrodex(r) Dental Rinse Spray for Dogs & Cats
Review 1 for SENTRY(r) HC Petrodex(r) Dental Rinse Spray for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

My dog rejects it.

March 10, 2014
by ja555
fromSimi Valley, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I've used other sprays successfully, so I ordered 3 bottles; there's no way I can get my dog to accept even ONE 'shot'. Since I opened one, I'm returning two.
The good part is that I'm learning NOT to buy things that I don't know.
Cons: didn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SENTRY(r) HC Petrodex(r) Dental Rinse Spray for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

very good!

February 27, 2014
by Stace77
fromHayward WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
this product was described very well & was delivered very quickly..thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SENTRY(r) HC Petrodex(r) Dental Rinse Spray for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

I guess it tastes ok. . . .

January 5, 2014
by CJONES
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
When I first used this on my dog and cats, I was expecting them to freak out and make a run for it. That didn't happen. The cat did smack me but then wanted more when I used it on the dog. The dog licked his lips for a few minutes but didn't seem bothered by it so it must taste ok.
Pros: cleans teeth, taste, freshens breath
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SENTRY(r) HC Petrodex(r) Dental Rinse Spray for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

Yes, but.

November 28, 2013
by FactsRfriendly
fromArlington, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Seems like a good idea, but the difficulty is in getting a 75lb golden to cooperate. Could you come and hold his lips open please?
Pros: taste, freshens breath
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SENTRY(r) HC Petrodex(r) Dental Rinse Spray for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Not for Cats

June 12, 2013
by mike3
fromupstate, ny
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I wasted money on this spray. Maybe it works for dogs but not for cats. My cat hated to be sprayed. Used it twice and both times she ran away and hid under the bed. It was just too traumatic for her. I threw the bottle away. So if you want to use it on cats, please reconsider. She will hate you for it!
-8points
1of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SENTRY(r) HC Petrodex(r) Dental Rinse Spray for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

AMAZING Dental Rinse

February 28, 2013
by MKLnZoey
fromDenver, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I LOVE this product! Most importantly, my shih-poo, Zoey, LOVES LOVES LOVES this rinse even more! It has a light minty scent that Zoey doesn't mind. I brush her teeth with Petrodex toothpaste follow by this dental rinse daily. The two combination keep her teeth clean & breath fresh. If Zoey is happy, mommy is happy! =)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SENTRY(r) HC Petrodex(r) Dental Rinse Spray for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Very effective!

January 12, 2013
by Anonymous
fromDes Moines, IA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Our 1.5 year old vizsla/lab mix had awful breath from her food! It was horrible. Brushing her teeth didn't seem as effective for me, since she just bit at the toothbrush. This product has worked so well for us! I hold up both of her lips at once and spray liberally on her teeth, making sure to get far in the back. She wags her tail, so it must taste quite good.
A great way to help freshen your dog's breath... and it's so easy, too!
Pros: cleans teeth, freshens breath
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SENTRY(r) HC Petrodex(r) Dental Rinse Spray for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Finally something that works!

November 16, 2012
by aln07
fromToronto, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My morkie had that terrible fish breath and nothing I used would work (dentabones, greenies, etc.) I read all of these other reviews and decided to pick up this product today. Im so glad I did. After just one use, his breath is magically not smelly! I am very impressed that for this price, it actually works. Highly recommend it! One con of this product is that my dog hates when I spray it.
Pros: cleans teeth, freshens breath
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SENTRY(r) HC Petrodex(r) Dental Rinse Spray for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Amazing product--MUST HAVE!!

November 10, 2012
by Francesca
fromLoveland, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have a 6 year old Maltese. I am ashamed to say, I was terrible about brushing his teeth (meaning I never did) and taking care of his dental care until about a month ago. He has the first stage of dental disease. I got him on one of the fabulous Banield optimum wellness plans, which includes dental cleanings at no cost, and scheduled a dental cleaning for him. In the mean time, I've been using the Arm & Hammer Dental Rinse with Tartar Control water additive every time I refill his water bowl, and the Petrodex Dental Spray once a day followed by one Pur-Luv Healthy Support Hearty Bones Dog Treat. When I took him to his check-up after using these three things for ONLY two weeks, the veterinarian noticed that plaque had been chipping off bit by bit, and said whatever I'm doing is working! I highly recommend these three products, but the Petrodex Dental Spray is phenomenal!! The nasty dead fish garbage smell I once knew is gone for good, now my little guy can point his non-stank breath anywhere he pleases!!
Pros: cleans teeth, taste, freshens breath
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SENTRY(r) HC Petrodex(r) Dental Rinse Spray for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

July 8, 2012
by aquahobby
fromAlbuquerque, New Mexico
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I've used this product on my dogs daily after i brush their teeth and they have never had bad breath. I'm a dental hygienist and the active ingredient in this spray is Chlorhexidine Gluconate. This is actually what we give our patients who have periodontal disease and gingivitis (gum disease). With daily brushing and the use of this spray, dog breath should be eliminated. Of course, there are other factors that may contribute to BO, but that is for the vet to decide.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SENTRY(r) HC Petrodex(r) Dental Rinse Spray for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great!!

February 19, 2012
by NickiW
fromPittsburgh, Pennsylvania
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Day 2 and a big difference already!! A little hard to get them to let me spray it on their teeth but we are working on that with "dental" treats before and after they let me do it!! I wish I would have taken before pictures!! Strongly recommend!!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SENTRY(r) HC Petrodex(r) Dental Rinse Spray for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Very Impressed

February 18, 2012
by RosieRose
fromFresno, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I thought it wouldn't help much, but why not give it a try?
I bought it and used it for 2 weeks. There wasn't a big change, but the yellow on her teeth started fading away.
My dog started getting bald spots and we took her to the vet. He said it was an allergic reaction to someting new (1-1 1/2 months of exposure). I though it might've been out hamster, but he told us to stop feeding her everything we got her, and only feed her the dog food. He also said the spray was a waste of money.
I disagree, it worked on my dog. I stopped using it 2 weeks ago, but her teeth show hardly any sign of yellow.
This is a good product.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SENTRY(r) HC Petrodex(r) Dental Rinse Spray for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Miracle

March 13, 2011
by kimmyn
fromirvine,ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
I honestly thought it would take longer than a week to see results, but on day two with daily morning applications, the bad breath was gone!! My dog squirms a bit when I apply it, but the quick spray only takes less than a minute and he has fresh breath all day long. I can't believe it. I wish i had found this earlier. 5 stars!!
Pros: works great, easy to administer
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SENTRY(r) HC Petrodex(r) Dental Rinse Spray for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Goodbye fish breath!

February 3, 2011
by TiffaneyA
fromStevensville, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My toy fox terrier has had the WORSTE breath since the day I got him 3 years ago, within the past couple months my smooth coat fox terrier has also gotten the dreaded fish breath. Well I bought this spray this weekend and it is a miracle. My dogs used to lick themselves and the whole room would smell, it was nasty. Now, they can give you kisses and you smell nothing! No more nasty breath, it's awesome!
+11points
16of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SENTRY(r) HC Petrodex(r) Dental Rinse Spray for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

July 11, 2010
by Tushita
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My little Shih Tzu had some nasty breath. The vet couldn't find anything wrong except for some mild tartar. I tried dog treats (Greenies, Dentastix) and while her breath improved somewhat, it was still kind of gross. It's definitely NOT pleasant to wake up to stinky dog breath in your face! I even got her teeth brushed but it didn't do much and I didn't want to brush her teeth at home (she will not open her mouth). So I decided to try this product out and it is AMAZING. The best part is you don't have to open your dog's mouth, just lift up the lip so teeth are showing and spray! My dog's breath improved dramatically after the first use. I now use this everyday and the gross doggy breath is gone.
Pros: works fast, easy to use
Cons: none
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.