PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Molly and Friends Sisal Scratching Post

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Molly and Friends Sisal Scratching Post

Place in front of your kitty's favorite window and this sisal scratching post will soon become her favorite place to play, lounge and nap. Available in assorted colors please allow us to choose.
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
14 of 16(88%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Molly and Friends Sisal Scratching Post
Review 1 for Molly and Friends Sisal Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Excellent!

March 7, 2013
by itsmesteph11
fromDeer Park, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My cats love these. I now have 3 of them. The rope has started to come off of one but the cats got good use of it. Stayed intact alot longer than I thought it would with 4 cats using it. They use for both sleeping and scratching. The little hanging toys are nice because you can replace them if you choose. My cats tore up the first ones in about a week. Easy to clean with a wire cat brush. Whenever you brush your cat just brush the carpet also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Molly and Friends Sisal Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

Great scratching post

December 20, 2011
by zzzzz
fromNew York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My cat loves this post. She loves to scratch it, she loves sleeping on her perch, and she's already ripped the feathers off from playing with it so much. It's not a big deal, the feathers themselves are fairly durable, and the chain is easily stapled back on.
Granted, this is a really big perch and she's smaller than the average cat. It's no problem because she climbs to the top. Haven't had any issues with her knocking it over.
I've owned it for more than a year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Molly and Friends Sisal Scratching Post
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Uber-wobbly and tips over easily

July 22, 2011
by Cesca
fromSacramento, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
While it's priced right and conveniently small, this product is near worthless if your cat is more than five pounds. Not one of my cats can jump onto the cradle without the whole thing going over. One of my cats can pull it over scratching the raffia-tied post. I bought it for savings, and it turns out to have been a waste. Spend more a bit more for something sturdier. This will be money thrown away.
Cons: poor quality
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Molly and Friends Sisal Scratching Post
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

waste of money

June 23, 2011
by Crazycat1
fromconnecticut
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
After reading all the reviews online, I decided this would be the best piece of cat furniture for my 5 year female cat. Oh was I wrong! She will not go near it. I have sprayed it with catnip, placed her food on it, tried to call her attention to it, but all she does is walk right past it. The only way I can get her to use it is by placing it near a windowsill she loves to climb onto so that whenever she feels like it she can also lay on top of the post. I was very disappointed. now I'm trying to figure out what to do with it since it's just money down the drain.
Pros: sturdy
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Molly and Friends Sisal Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Outstanding product

May 19, 2011
by DixieJody
fromChattanooga, TN
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Our cat loves his Molly & Friends perch. He lays in it throughout the day as he sleeps, looks out the window watching the birds or when he is just chillin. This is a perfect way to let your cat be up off the floor in a comfortable place all his own.
Pros: sturdy, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Molly and Friends Sisal Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

April 25, 2011
by rieski
fromMARYLAND
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
THIS PIECE OF FURNITURE IS LOVED BY MY CAT! HE ENJOYS TRYING TO CLIMB UP THE POST AND NAPPING ON THE PERCH. IT HAS SAVED MY FLOORING AND FURNITURE. GREAT FIRST SCRATCHER! NOW, I AM READY TO INVEST IN A BIGGER PIECE OF FURNITURE FROM PET SMART FOR MY KITTY.
Pros: sturdy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Molly and Friends Sisal Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

My cat loves it

August 24, 2010
by Vetten
fromLakeside, CA
This post was a huge hit with my 1-year-old cat. He scratches on it and sleeps on it daily, and loves to play with the dangling toys. It's a nice size that lets him stretch while scratching. We rubbed it with catnip before we brought it in the house, just to make him fall in love with it a little more!
Pros: perfect size, attractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Molly and Friends Sisal Scratching Post
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews

too high!

June 29, 2010
by rocktavia
fromGermantown, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have a 3 year old orange tabby cat, and just a adopted a new brown tabby kitten. The adult loved this product, and spends his time sitting in the cradle and napping. the kitten was terrified of how tall it was, and couldn't crawl up to the cradle. It was too high for him to jump from too, and he is overall terrified of it. he loves the feather toy though, and can spend hours hitting it.
Unless my kitten is a lazy, rare exception of a kitten, i think this product is much too high for kittens to climb without being scared or petrified. great for athletic cats.
Pros: good price, useful, not "ugly"
Cons: too high for kittens, hard to get down from
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Molly and Friends Sisal Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Excellent Purchase - best thing I have ever bought

April 4, 2010
by Scampy6
fromBarrie
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My mom originally bought a scratching post very similar to this one (except it had a side-ways circular part attached, and was about $30 more) for the first kitten she adopted from Pet Smart. When she brought it home, Sleepy took to it instantly. We also had another older cat in the house, who was 11 years old at the time, who had never had a proper scratching post in her up-bringing (we usually just bought something really basic, and once the kittens became cats, they out-grew it). After about 2-weeks, even the older cat took the scratching post, and started sleeping on it every day as part of her routine. The furniture has NO SCRATCH MARKS ON IT ANYWHERE.
When I finally bought my first kitten from petsmart, my Mom bought me the same one she has, as a 'grandma gift' to the kitten. The best part is, being a kitten, he plays on it ALL the time. He's on it so much, he sleeps on it now, and I have to keep it in the bedroom, so he will sleep through the night. I am very happy with this product.
One thing to keep in mind with any scratching post you decide to buy: The one my mom purchased, she bought in 2007. Unfortunately, the cats took such a liking to it, they have shredded it. The carpet needs to be replaced on many parts of it (in particular, the long stands, not so much the craddle or the circular part). My mom has intentions of buying a new one in another week or so, when she gets back up to Petsmart to pick up more food. So, if you have a cat that really enjoys the scratching post, be prepared: you might need to buy more than one before you know it!
Pros: cats love it, its not too big, its not 'ugly looking' - the colours are natural, suitable for both cats and kittens
Cons: doesn't last long enough
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Molly and Friends Sisal Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

My cat loves this...

October 4, 2009
by emmalee
fromchicago
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
...and purchasing this has saved my wooden table. I was very reluctant to try this bc it's a bit of an investment and my cat was uninterested in the cardboard scratchers, but she LOVES this post and sleeps on the curved bed in the sun. She did tear the tassles off in about five minutes, but the rest of this is more than worth the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Molly and Friends Sisal Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

My Cats Love It !

June 15, 2009
by Daxpax
fromUSA
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I love this piece of cat furniture. My 7 year old kitty loves to jump up on it to take her baths, or just watch the birds outside. I recently got a kitten, and he loves to use it as a scratching post, as a perch, and to play with the toy attached to it. I had to buy a second one !
Pros: don't take up too much room, cats love to perch on it
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Molly and Friends Sisal Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

February 11, 2009
by ice5prncss
fromNJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
as soon as i took it out of the box my cat went crazy for the feather toys. the post is the perfect size for him and he loves sitting so high up.
i haven't had any problems aside from the rug shedding off the post (but that's to be expected) and i found it knocked over this morning which isn't that big of a deal.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Molly and Friends Sisal Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Happily Surprised

January 28, 2009
by Moonbeam883
fromupstate new york
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My cat is a jumper and I feared that he would knock the tower over. But he has not and he takes a flying leap on it. It is very sturdy and just the right height for him to look out the window. The 35" H is actually the height of the top of the curve of the bed, not the center of the bed. He loves the toys attached and the scratching pole. In my opinion, you cannot go wrong with this product and it is very reasonably priced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Molly and Friends Sisal Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Scratching post

January 6, 2009
by NewCatOwner
fromFrederick, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this product a couple of weeks ago after getting a rescue cat. I had a carpet covered scratch post which he did use but Prince still scratched the furniture. As soon as I put this one out he started scratching on it and he has not used the furniture. In the afternoon he takes naps in front of the window on it and sometimes in the middle of the night I hear him swatting at the little bird thingy. This is a great product!
Pros: very sturdy, attractive piece of furniture
Cons: none
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Molly and Friends Sisal Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

This Item Is Outstanding!

August 6, 2008
by RagdollsRule
fromCentral IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Purchased this post, and my SIX cats go crazy over it. Each cat takes his turn resting in the top, and, even with a cat in the top, the other cats take their turns scractching. They love it! Highly, highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Molly and Friends Sisal Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

This is excelient!!

May 30, 2008
by KCGracie
fromMaryland,MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My mom got this for my cats and they use the scratching post non stop and they love laying on top all the time so it is a grate bed and scratching post!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.